Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

  • 1380 Harbor Island Drive
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1220 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel I have Ever Stayed At This has been hands down the worst Starwood as well as worst hotel experience I have ever had. From the moment I checked in at the front desk to the cleanliness of my room, and finally to checking out nothing has been even close to acceptable. I checked in on the morning of September 13th at which time I was told my room wasn't ready, which was completely fine, and I proceeded to go out and explore the city of San Diego. Roughly 4 hours later I returned to the hotel at which time I checked in and the front desk attendant apologized for the wait and stated "I apologize for the wait, but we were able to get you a room in our Lanai building with a bay view and it is one of the best rooms we have". Upon reaching my room (5308) I first found that the view was that of an old generator and tree, nothing that I had been promised. The next thing i noticed was a refrigerator sitting on the floor set ajar. Upon opening the refrigerator I was greeted with rotting food that had been left by a previous guest. At this time I went to the front desk and spoke with a manager (Jerry) and asked that the refrigerator be removed immediately. The next day, Monday September 15th, I asked for an additional towel for my room. Upon receiving the towel I noticed that it was NOT CLEAN. The towel had stains all over it. I then used one of my old, dirty towels to shower. Today, September 16th, I checked out of the hotel. Upon checking out I asked to speak with a Manager again regarding my stay which i was greeted by Leyonetta (sp?) who told me there was nothing that she could do to make it better. During my time speaking with her I missed my shuttle and asked if she could help me get a ride to the airport which another shuttle happened to pull up at the same time. I walked outside to get on the shuttle and was told by the Valet that the shuttle was not going to the airport and I would need to get a cab. He had a cab pulled up for me and I hopped in following the shuttle that was departing the airport. The cab I was in followed the shuttle (that wasn't going to the airport according to the manager and valet) all the way to the airport. Finally, I called the hotel one last time at which I was told "well there is nothing we can do if the shuttle driver wants to change his route". This was THE WORST hotel experience I have ever had. Not simply the worst Starwood experience, but out of any hotel I have ever stayed in my entire life. I appreciate a response and like to have a conversation with a senior manager as soon as possible as the way I was treated was completely unacceptable and at this point will never stay in a Starwood hotel ever again September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the views The view from our side of the hotel was spectacular and beautiful with the bay and the city lights. September 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shabby old furniture and paint peeling... I was stunned to be brought to my room to find the ceiling stained, the wall paper peeling and the furniture nearly to bare threads. Even the bellman made a remark about the state of the room on the 11th floor of the marina tower. We requested a change (not only because of the room state but because the staff disregarded my request to be away from the elevator and put me exactly abutting it) only to find a room in similar condition on the 8th floor. At that point the front desk said all the rooms are in the same condition. I excepted the room and was happy to depart the next day. The bellman was exceptional, including running down to the front desk to retrieve the key to the new room. December 19, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel staff The checkin process was clumsy. We parked at tower one (where we checked in). However, our room was in tower 2. We were also hit with a $24 parking fee which was acceptable but should have been made known upon registration. The room (694) was excellent as was the bed). However, upon leaving the hotel, we asked the shuttle driver to drop us off at the first tower, he declined saying he had to first drop off an airline crew first. We simply asked to be let off abeam the parking lot. It would have taken only a minute. We were on a tight schedule. He still declined. We are both in our seventies and had that long walk with our baggage. It seems that some guests are more important than others. F. Arenas September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greated by the Hotel Staff upon arrival. Great location, view, food and service by the Hotel staff . September 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great New Room After a Very Long Wait We booked weeks in advance and prepaid for a double bed room as we are 2 men traveling together. Upon arrival, they offered a king bed room that was not acceptable. We were asked to wait 30 minutes while a "rush" had been placed on cleaning a suitable room. This wait stretched from 3PM uttil after 5PM when I called Starwood Preferered Guests and they intervened with this hotel's management.. The room we got then was a fantastic newly furnished room that looked like it came off the cover of an interior design magazine. Close examination revealed EVERYTHING including wall and floor covering was brand new. Not a scratch or smudge on anything. Thank you SPG for your help. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 41st anniversary trip We had a great experience. We love S.D. and have become spoiled bySPG but your hotel was truly more than I expected.Fab property, great location and top quality, friendly service. Jessica at rooms controller and Cecilia at the concierge desk went out of their way to make sure every part of our stay was tops. As usual, the facility was clean and exceptionally well maintained. Most of all, friendly. Wait staff, valet, guest services, all made us welcome. As I told Jessica, after 40 yrs in customer service,I notice the little things and appreciate those that do the same. Thank you. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I liked your hotel very much, but the parking is for the birds. This is the first hotel we have stayed at that charged for parking. September 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable We did NOT stay in the Sheraton Hotel, we were put in a shady motel (they called it the Lanai tower) that was connected by a bridge. If I wanted to stay in a motel I would have booked a Motel 6 for $80 a night, not the Sheraton for over $200 a night! When we walked out of our room we walked right into a parking lot with a walkway that had filthy carpet. Seriously, who puts carpet outdoors? We were told when booking we would have a private patio with a view of the bay or downtown San Diego. We had neither! Our patio was an extension of the pool deck with no view and no privacy at all! We could not even open the blinds because everyone at the pool could see in our room. The noise from the pool also kept us up late and woke us up very early. We also called guest services about our issues more than once and NO ONE ANSWERED! Also, there was no available self parking spots so we were forced to valet for $32 a day. This place is not up to Sheraton standards and I will never stay here again. Sheraton should be ashamed to put their name on this property! August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All amenities pertaining to the hotel were excellent. The hotel was particularly clean. It was conveniently close to everything in San Diego. It has a wonderful view of the Marina and the city of San Diego. It also, provides a nice walkway around the hotel and the marina. The hotel also provided rentals for bikes, wave runners, paddle boats and all other water activities. September 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Food, but odd Room Had dinner in the Bay Tower restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised by delicious food. Very impressed for a hotel cafe. The Bay Tower room was a bit of a crunch for two beds and in our case 3 people. The one restroom was the only existence of a mirror which does not work for more than one woman in a room. This was a real bottleneck for our trip. Typically, there would be a second mirror on a wall in the room. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service Precious and the rest of the front desk staff did a great job making us feel welcome and valued guests. They showed a genuine interest in making sure we were comfortable and addressing our unique needs (traveling with an infant). September 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Great Experience The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Starwood and Sheraton property. Clean, well designed and decorated, plenty of amenities and very comfortable and nice sized rooms. My favorite part about this hotel is no matter which side you are on, your room boasts beautiful views. The South facing rooms view the city and what a wonderful view that was at any time of the day or night. My only complaints are the bed and the shower. The bed was a very uncomfortable "full" sized bed that moved a lot if my wife or I rolled over in bed. The shower in our particular room ended up being broken and due to the nature of our stay, we didn't find out until right before we were checking out. I believe that under different circumstances and given the opportunity, the hotel staff would've fixed the issue for us in one way or another. They were very apologetic and made up for it as best they could, I appreciated that. September 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst Stay Ever Booked least expensive room with cash and SPG points for overnight stay after flight arriving SAN after midnight. Expected nice comfy room in Marina Tower, but we were directed to the Terrace Wing--dragging our suitcases down a long winding labyrinth of hallways at that hour was not fun-- where our ground floor room had an unlocked slider door, and immediately outside was a parking lot, walking trail and two piles of dog do. Our upstairs neighbor was smoking and talking loudly on his cell phone from his balcony. Our air conditioner (unit outside on patio) was covered in black mold. We have stayed in much better rooms at this hotel and were very disappointed that this was the best they could do for this night. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Staying at this hotel is like living on the water with a cool breeze. We left Phoenix at 110 degrees and arrived here to 70 degrees. We stayed using our Starwood points and were upgraded to a Marina Suite. All the amenities plus great views from two balconies. well worth extra points needed. The only drawback is the bathroom is really small for such a large Suite (600 sq ft). The Club lounge on the top floor offers a great view and some munchies for free but the drinks cost.. We drove but if you flew in you would not need to rent a car as they have an airport shuttle as well as local shuttle bus stops at the hotel to take you on a tour and cost only 3..00. It you drive to these same places you will have to pay for parking. Parking at the hotel is a little steep at 22 dollars per night or valet for 30 dollars. August 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by older hotel.... This hotel is an "older" Sheraton with small rooms and bathrooms. The hotel is located near the San Diego airport which is convenient however when you open the sliding glass doors you are overcome by jet fuel odors and noise! The walls are "thin" and I was able to hear noise from the rooms nearby. Did not get an upgrade with my Platinum status ... had to ask for the amenities and no upgraded room. The Club Lounge was nice. The location is great for the airport but you must take a taxi to do anything else in the area... nothing nearby (stores, shopping, tourist attractions, etc.). January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay! beautiful property, excellent SPG recognition, Anthony was terrific with our check in experience on 8/31! September 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Run don't walk from this hotel For a Supposed 5 star hotel that charges 200 dollars a night, this would be a place I would run from and not look back. I stayed here for a business conference and found no real value in this property. There were many problems and Sheraton needs to look at this hotel closely. We arrived and the first thing I notice for a premium hotel was the dirty and un-vacuumed carpets in the hall ways that did not get vacuumed the entire four days I was there. The hallways were dinged up, needed paint and the baseboards had layers of dust. The room was dirty and the furniture and pictures had not been dusted in months if not years. There was a 1/2 inch on dust on the pictures, baseboards and wardrobe. The bathroom was worse that a gas station bathroom. We arrive about 1:30 in the afternoon and called housekeeping. When I returned to the room at 5 I had to call again before they sent someone up. The person they sent did a quick clean in bathroom and a quick vacuum. They failed to address any of my other concerns my entire stay. On our day of our arrival we went to Quinn's for lunch. I had the bacon cheese burger and fries (at $16.00). High prices for subpar food. The burger did not come with bacon or cheese. The server was rude and did not want to correct the problem. When I insisted, the burger was returned to me 10 minutes later. They put cheese and bacon on the burger and then microwaved the whole plate, lettuce, tomato; onion and pickles were all hot and wilted. The server was put out when I asked for ketchup and mustard. I asked for the manager. The bar person came up and told me he was the manager. When I told him of my dissatisfaction, he told me he was sorry but that is how the food came, he could not do anything about it and I still would be charged for it. I went to the front desk, the clerk expressed her apologies and told me that she would have hotel management contact me. I am still waiting. I ate breakfast in the Harbor View restraint twice and regretted it twice. The service was ok. The food was overpriced ($17.00 for an omelet and $4.00 for a cup of coffee) and poor quality. Rubber eggs, cold potatoes burnt tasting, cold coffee and cold toast was the normal. We also go to experience a false fire alarm at 11:30 pm. We were asked to leave the room. No explanations of apologies for the false alarm. The coffee service was incomplete in the hotel room and that situation was never corrected the entire trip despite several calls to housekeeping. This hotel has a long way to go to live up to being a premium hotel. I have stayed in other properties owned by other companies that were 5 stars in service, food and cleanliness categories at 90 dollars a night. If another conference is ever scheduled here, I will find another place to stay and just drive over for the conference only. I am still waiting for management to contact me as I was told. (Don’t think it will happen.) January 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Clueless Staff-Unorganized I live in the far reaches of North County San Diego to we decided to spend the night at a hotel near the airport since many have a rate that includes parking. It just seemed easier to drive and stay at the hotel than try to arrange a car hire to have us at the airport at 5:00 am. The rate advertised said up to 10 nights valet parking included. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00 PM gave the car to the valet and informed them we were staying on the rate that included the parking and the date we would be returning. At the front desk we told the clerk that we had parked our car under the rat that included the parking. My belief was that Platinum level loyalty to the brand might be worth something... but it did not appear to matter to this hotel. 1) Se were placed not at the main hotel but several blocks away at the "second tower". 2) There was no WiFi in the room 3) The front dest staff was constantly on the phone while I was attempting to check in causing a long delay. 4) There was no Platinum recognition and to the best of my knowledge there was no upgrade. I asked if an upgraded room was available and was told no, not in this hotel. 5) The front desk person spoke only in broken English appeared confused the whole time. I mentioned twice that we had the rate that included parking and she acknowledged. 6) The first shuttle in the morning was late in the morning with standing room only. 7) After about 23 hours of flying from a cruise in Europe we return to the hotel after our trip we gave the valet our ticket and was asked for the room number. Since it was eleven days since we checked out we did not remember the room number and were told we needed to go inside. The person at the front desk was on the phone so we waited, and waited, and waited. We explained the situation and she asked for our confirmation number... so out came the laptop and I search for the confirmation number, she said there was no reservation with that number. I then provided my SPG number... she said there was no reservation... I then unpacked my suitcase to find my statement from check-out. I hand the clerk the statement and she said she could not find the reservation... I asked her to PLEASE look again and upon a further search she found my reservation and said we owe for the parking eleven days. (elapsed time from hotel arrival to now is 20 minutes) After arguing for several minutes and showing the rate on the SPG web site this confused person was able to call the valet. The valet then wanted to charge us for valet parking... after more calls we paid for one additional day of parking. Elapsed time from hotel to getting our car from the valet over 45 minutes. I stayed at this hotel in the main building several years ago in a Club Level room and had a good experience. I told my wife it was a nice hotel when I made the reservation but found it was not what it used to be. Perhaps the service and the rooms are nicer in the main building but I will most likely choose another hotel in the future or just arrange a car from home because staying here did not save any tim or frustration. I am not giving up on Starwood but would suggest others ask questions when making a reservation if considering a stay in this property. November 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blessed It exceeded our expectation. We are so blessed by the staff. We checked in with Mylene and received a very warm welcome. She took the time to answer all our questions and gave us enough info about the hotel. We love her positive attitude. Made the start of our anniversary celebration special. Checked out with Marta. And once again blessed by her service and help. Can't wait to go back if there are any good deals. Yelp review was wrong this time. Needed to stop by and wrote a responsive great review on yelp. Keep it up! Blessed by your commitment and service. January 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incredibly disappointed We have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis now as our daughter is in college here. Apparently since I'm just a preferred status member that doesn't mean anything. During my recent stay our confirmed reservation made well in advance was ignored. I booked for 2 beds on the harbor side and instead received a king and a roll away on the marina/airport side. I called 2 days prior to arrival to indicate it would be a late night arrival and request a refrigerator. There was no refrigerator and my confirmed room was given to someone else with the excuse that the hotel was booked full. I was told I could have some Starwood points and one night of complimentary parking. We never could get in and out of the parking lot as they failed to active our room card for parking even after 3 requests to do such. We had to call the front desk each time we needed to enter/exit the parking lot. We were charged for coffee/pastries that we did not purchase and had to wait a long period of time for a manager in the restaurant area to adjust our receipt. We arrived very tired, late at night and it took an hour to complete the check in, receive our luggage from the porter and acquire the roll away bed even though there was little to no activity at that hour of the night. Our room was cramped with the roll away and we were unable to have guests visit in our room the next morning as we had planned. We were not offered an upgrade but only told that we would have to move into another room the next day if we wanted our confirmed room with 2 beds. I was very kind to the person checking us in as it was not his error but I would like to know the Starwood policy for allowing a confirmed room to be "given away" . I am reconsidering our stay at this hotel in the future even though we have had lovely experiences in the past. I am concerned that I will arrive again to be told my room was "given away". I would like to speak with the person who decided to make that decision and let them know how unprofessional and inconsiderate that is.Obviously that is not a concern of theirs! On this stay we also discovered that the telephones in the rooms have the incorrect address listed on them. The address is that for the Marina facility and not the Bay tower. We gave the address to a driving service when we left for dinner only to discover that it was the incorrect address! This could be a major issue if a guest was giving the address out for emergency services. I find all of these problems completely unacceptable for a Starwood hotel and don't feel that receiving some points and free parking covers our inconvenience. We did sincerely appreciate the most excellent bartending services of Nick in the Bay Tower Lounge. He is extremely courteous, professional, fun and friendly. Beautiful facility but unorganized reservation staff and lacking in some guest services areas. September 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer Care? I requested a correction be made to my bill on the day of checkout. I assumed it was but found out later than no change was made. I called the property and was told to fill out an online form. After completing the form, I was instructed that it would take 1-2 days to receive a response. This could have been resolved in a matter of minutes - in fact it should have been resolved while I was still on property. Unacceptable. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Bay view room. Nice property, very modern, expensive as expected. I was on Club Level for 3 nights. Fantastic view form there. (CL) food was inadequate for upgrade charge. Cold breakfast and light snacks for the evening could have been better. They charge $6.50 for an import beer and automatically add 20%. I did not like that, let me tip. My room was 1104, great view, BUT, there is a generator running the activity tent in the back and it ( generator) runs all day. That is what you hear all day. So sitting on patio was diminished. All in all a nice place. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok SPG line slower than other line for check in. We had a barking dog in the next room. The club room is great with outstanding views and great food. August 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left me surprised and dissatisfied I was very surprised when it took over 2 1/2 hours to receive drinking glasses to my room from room service. The conference rooms and the general areas of the hotel were extremely cold and uncomfortable. During the registration process the hotel boasted of an over the water view, it was more like through the pine tree, over the parking lot and street and part of the air port then over the water. During lunch at Quinn's Moore, there were a bunch of gnats flying all around us and the booth upholstery was very dirty. On my last day, I found that the bathroom towels were dirty or stained. I was very dissatisfied with the stay and will report this to the conference committee. January 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again! I am a loyal Starwood member, but was very disappointed in this recent trip to your property. Unfortunately, this hotel does not uphold the Starwood brand. Apparently I need to be more cautious in which room type you book (marina or bay). The website fails to tell you the bay is actually an old hotel you own down the road. It does not reflect any of the pictures on the website that I could tell. Check in was delayed because your computers were down. After some time we were able to change rooms and get a Marina tower. However, the rest of our issues demonstrate a poorly run team with very broken communication processes. We had the misfortunate of traveling with a child that got sick during the vacation. This resulted in us needing some housekeeping assistance. The first night it took 2 calls, 1 hour, and 3 visits from a housekeeper just to change sheets. Second day 3 hours, 4 calls, and 1 manager to finally just get a regular room cleaning/replacing of towels. 3rd day 45 minutes, 2 calls to get more towels. The one manager we did speak with said you were very busy that weekend with a conference. If you anticipate a full hotel with guests, than staff accordingly. Overall the property is missing the mark on many details. The doors of all the rooms on the 8th floor sounded like jail cells slamming. Many of the doors (including ours) did not close all the way without a firm push. This results in many guests leaving their room assuming the door closed behind them. I saw 3 other guest rooms that I could have walked into because the door didn't close. I never saw the pool staff ever clean the deck chairs. There was some sort of green animal excrement that was on the same deck chair the entire vacation. The list could go on, needless to say I would never recommend this property. In addition, I left several messages with guest services asking that the general manager follow up with me. To this date, no one has responded. I see the general manager does respond to trip advisor so I posted my negative review there hoping to finally get a response. Although the housekeeping manager credited us 1 nights points, I feel as if they whole trip should be refunded in points. August 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Outrageous The stay was fine. The prices at the hotel were on the high side, but reasonable. Until check out, when we were charged $11.49 for ONE bottle of water from the mini bar. I'm sorry, but that's simply outrageous gouging and it really left me with a very negative impression. Plus $22.00 per day to park in a rutted pot hole filled dirt lot where you had to walk between construction vehicles and cement trucks to get to the hotel should have given me a clue that this hotel is "out of touch". December 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfriendly Upon arriving the young girl at the desk never greeted me with a welcome to the hotel. She seemed put out that I was asking her questions. I had asked that our room be cleaned but was not on first day. We had to wait downstairs at 4:00 while they sent someone to clean it. The next night at 9:00 there was men in the next room doing some repair work to the washroom. We did get $50.00 off our bill for that. Upon leaving the young man did not ask how our stay was or a thanks come again! He did say I had a mini bar charge which I didn't. As a Starwood customer I would never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone. February 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Work The best part of this hotel is the entrance and lobby area of the main hotel. It is definitely a "hotel" so don't expect anything more. The food is decent. Our room was very dirty and stayed that way during our 4 day visit. The pool area was also dirty and there was no real service. It is well located in San Diego but there is nothing around it. We are SPG members and always use points for free stays. At 10,000 points per night it is not a deal at all and more of a let down. December 13, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall not satisfied Even though I changed my room from the first floor to the fourth when checking in, the fourth floor room was not ready by 3 pm. Overall, employees' attitude on the phone and on the booth are not good. Some parts of bath room was not clean. August 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 42 next>>