Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

  • 1380 Harbor Island Drive
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1221 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some work Beautiful location and most of the staff very helpful. Hotel completely overwhelmed with our convention. Very slow food service in bar, which was only restaurant open at night. Starbucks in AM had line so long that it was impossible to get coffee in time to get to meetings. Not staffed for numbers. Had an 'outside' access room with a slider that would not lock again once I opened it, since it was off track. Had to get maintenance to lock it, and then could not open it again, which defeated purpose of access to outside. Carpeting in hallways to these rooms is filthy and access required carrying luggage up and down a set of outside stairs. No bellman assistance upon check-in, which I assume was again a staffing issue. Nice feature to have free access to computers, but several did not work and I was told that IT would have to eventually fix them. by the staff person I called over for help. Printer down the whole time which meant going to the Kinko's on site and paying for that service. Meeting rooms on lower level should not be in use at all. No air conditioning made it very uncomfortable. Luncheon hosted by event in ballroom had good food. Service poor. Our table never got coffee or tea and lunch was served to half the table with a wait for others to be served. October 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment! Expected so much more from a Sheraton Hotel. The staff was unfriendly from the moment we got out of our vehicle. They refused to allow us to put our luggage on a baggage cart ourselves. Stated only staff allowed to use them. The front desk was very nice and helpful though. Not impressed with rooms. Carpet was dirty and needed shampooing. Noted scuffs on walls and baseboards were very dusty. Our daughters room had the entry light into room flickering and would not come on at all upon entry. Did have an awesome view and that helped us overlook some of the flaws. But then the second night we had this awful noise coming from above. Called to front desk and stated would check on it. An hour went by and the noise continued. (sounded like a tennis shoe in dryer) Called again and then finally they responded within 5 minutes. (had running toilet above us for hours) The third night of our stay our daughter came back from a wedding off the property and was unable to park in the self park area and was told to drive around until someone left. REALLY!!! They charge $22 for self parking each day! We did get some compensation after speaking with the manager but we will NEVER recommend or stay at this Sheraton even with the awesome view we had. Oh yes, they started ripping out the pool the 2nd day into our stay. October 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good choice for San Diego Overall a nice hotel if you can get a good deal on the rate. I'd definitely stay here again. You're still close to everything and you can park your own car. The hotel appears to be split into 3 different buildings: Marina Tower, Bay Tower, and Lanai. Marina Tower appears to be the main building (this is probably the best building since it's close to the lobby, etc.). The Bay Tower is further out on Harbor Island and the Lanai building is more like a motel-type building attached to the Marina Tower (from what I gathered). Pros: -Good location: near the airport and downtown -Self-Parking is available -Full Service Starbucks in the lobby (i.e., a real Starbucks) -Nice, clean hotel with great views -Shuttle for $1/ day will take you downtown Cons: -You can't walk anywhere from this hotel (for the most part). Everything is 2-3 miles away, but there is a shuttle that will take you downtown area for $1 a day. Can't beat that. -Self-parking is $22/day and for that I was allowed to park in a dirt/ gravel parking lot. Still a better deal than valet which is closer $34/ night. -There is some kind of salsa dance club in a permanent-looking tent right next to the hotel (Marina Tower). Unfortunately my room was relatively close to it so I heard the booming music in the evening. The music shut down around 10PM or so. September 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Didn't expect $22 /day parking Fee & airport noise We had to pay $22 /day parking fee. We told the front desk manager when we checked in that we were not informed about the parking charge when we booked our reservation. The manager said, "Did you tell the reservation that you have a car?" and she added, "The parking fee is stated on their website." We told her we didn't book it online. We would think that the person at the central room reservation would inform as about parking charges when we made the reservation. The hotel has a nice view of the marina but we didn't expect to hear the noise of the airplane taking off every so often at the airport which is located across the hotel. The food at the Club Level can use improvement. The only night we were there, the machine for the hot water to make tea was out of order. The staff at the Club Level could have had someone brought in a free standing hot water tank but instead the staff brought us each a cup of hot water from downstair. The staff never ask if we need a refill of hot water. The staff is professional and kept removing our dirty plates. Overall we had an ok experience at the hotel. We would recommend this hotel if our stay with them in the future is a better one. If we're invited back to stay with them, we'd consider it for the fact that we like giving people a chance to better their products and services. August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved the view!! We stayed in a deluxe king room in the Bay Tower. Let me start with the positives: the room was a comfortable size, very appealing and clean with plenty of seating. Super comfy bed, slept well. But the best thing about this room was the incredible view! The patio was a nice size and you just could not get any better views of the bay. We watched sailboats out our balcony every evening. And as an unexpected bonus, we received free Wi-Fi in our room as a gift. The only real negative was that the bathroom was tiny -- only one person could get ready at a time. Also, the mini-bar didn't allow you to put any of your own items in it for refrigeration, which was not appreciated. And the "green" option we chose is apparently so they can have less maids. When we asked for clean towels one morning (which they told us to do), I was told to throw the old ones on the floor & they would replace them promptly. When we returned to our room that evening, the dirty pile was still there and no clean towels. We had to ask again. A fresh batch was then delivered shortly but I had to finish folding them myself. We did enjoy their BTL restaurant, which served delicious full breakfasts (we would split the huevos rancheros dish), and also the Starbucks cafe for lighter sandwiches. All-in-all, I would highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable, scenic stay. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort with a great view We enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Bay Tower in San Diego. The balcony overlooking the marina and the airport were definitely our favorite parts! My husband was very happy that he could brew Starbucks coffee in the room. The food we ate for continental breakfast with our conference and at the hotel restaurant was of good quality. The temperature control in the room was difficult to deal with. When we arrived, we were freezing, the room was at 60 degrees and would not warm up. We had no option to run a fan without it blowing cold air out continuously. When we asked the front desk about this problem, they promptly sent someone up to the room to look at the problem. The problem was solved, however, by switching the furnace on so that all we got was continuous heat blasting. There was no in between. We balanced the temperature by opening the balcony door to get air flow when it was too hot. Also, the room key did not work in the parking lot to get in and out. Every single time we had to call the Valet to help us get through the gate. Other than those two things, the hotel was great, the staff was very nice and the fitness and pool facilities were adequate. I would have appreciated someone at the front desk to have told us we could use our room key to access the facilities at the neighboring Marina Tower... we did not know this until our last day there. October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location and views What this Sheraton has going for it is views, views, views. Go for a higher floor room in the Bay Tower (although it is a 5 minute walk from the main hotel) and ask to look at the bay and harbor views to see which you prefer. The Bay Tower also has nice size rooms. The rooms do have a "standard" look that suggests that the designer had more of a fancy motel in mind than a hotel per se, but the decor is perfectly fine. While the hotel is not fully a resort (spa is small as are tennis possibilities) the island has plenty to offer (pools, view-gazing, walks on the island walkways, good workout room), and its location allows you to access the larger area of San Diego easily--as long as you have a car. If you don't have a car, things get much much trickier, although renting a bike seems like a good possibility. The food is quite good, as are drinks in the various bars/restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful, including the restaurant/bar staff, until I lost a UBS drive. A guest told me he had found it and turned it into the desk, but from there on no one claimed any responsibility--the desk people said that I should check with lost and found and lost and found said I should check with the guest people, but no one seemed to take charge. While one staff member was very helpful, no one ever called to follow up; I had to do all the leg work myself. April 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Excellent Stay I want to focus on the hard working staff in the Club Lounge. We arrived on a friday evening and went to the Club Room for breakfast on saturday morning, 8/3/13. For some reason, possibly some guests registering for fewer guests than they actually had in their room, there were more quests than expected and the room was short staffed. One girl in particular, Melanie, impressed me with her effort to please and keep a smile on her face. Many of the guests were impatient and actually rude as Melanie did her best to keep the food stocked and tidy up after the unruly guests. There was a slab of butter on the floor none of the guests bothered to clean up, just rudely pointed it out to her. As she got on her hands and knees to wipe up the mess, people continued to complain about being out of coffee or granola. Melanie graciously explained that more product was being brought up from downstairs and would arrive shortly. But all the people wanted to do was complain. I was impressed with her gentle nature and ability to remain polite in the face of adversity. This was a busy facility, but I feel the staff did all in their power to accommodate their guests throughout the facility. In addition, my daughter and I rented Eliptigo bikes on Sunday morning and had the time of our lives gliding around the Marina area. You could not ask for better views or weather! We love San Diego! August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Subpar experience From start to finish I was underwhelmed by this particular hotel. First off, the room was fine, but I really disliked how the beds were made. There's a fleece lining underneath the sheet that made the mattress surface lumpy and uncomfortable. On the plus side, the pillows were nice. Even when checking in, I asked to add another name to the room. Even though I confirmed it with the person who helped me, when the other person checked in, his name was nowhere to be found, and I had to be called to confirm he was allowed a key. I was never presented with a paper bill (or even email bill) at the end of my stay. Usually at other locations, the staff slips the bill under the door so that I can have a copy even if I do remote checkout. As for late checkout, I called and asked if it would be possible. I was informed I could have an extra thirty minutes. Otherwise, I would be charged $10 for each hour I stayed after. Even though checkout was noon, and I'm pretty sure we had the "peace please" sign on our door, staff kept checking in on us starting from 11. And then again at 12. And at 12:30. I mean, I get it. You want us out. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this location to friends or family. Also, the food, from Quinn's to the restaurant overlooking the marina, was below average. It's hard to mess up a bbq chicken pizza, but it was the most tasteless pizzas I've ever eaten. September 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great front desk service - lousy service at Quinn's Overall I enjoyed the hotel. Juan at the front desk was very gracious with me. I had made my travel reservation a while back and forgot to change the reservation to arrive one day later than I had originally thought. I wasn't charged any fee and Juan was gracious with me despite my error. He even upgraded my room b/c I have gold status. My experience at Quinn's however, was atrocious. I wanted to make an order for takeout. I approached the bar and was told to place my order there. However, everyone (bartenders, waitresses) just kept walking past me like I wasn't there, even though at least one of the bartenders and waitresses knew I was there to place an order. The bartender told me he'd be right with me but never was. Then, I finally insisted on placing an order with a waitress that approached the nearby cash register. Keep in mind that everyone acted like they were doing me a favor throughout. No attitude of customer service whatsoever. She told me my order would take 10-15 minutes. I just said that since it would be that long, I would just sit down and eat in the restaurant. She said fine. I went to sit down and the waitress covering my section walked past me several times and didn't even offer me a glass of water. After a long day, I just walked out. I was too tired and paying too much for a burger to be treated like everyone was doing me a favor. Very disappointing. March 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wont be back My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Sheraton San Diego 8/11-8/13/2012 and I must say I was very unsatisfied due to the following encounters: -Check in was nice and smooth she told us we would be using our room key to enter and exit the parking lot from then on. When it came time to do so the man at the gate to exit the lot said our card had been deactivated and we needed to let the front desk know. When we returned later that day we did so and she told us the woman before never activated our room key for the parking. Very inconvenient. - Went to use the Wi-Fi and was not able to log in because the last name on the reservation was spelt wrong, I do remember giving her my boyfriends ID so clearly it was not even looked at when she asked for it… also inconvenient. - Got into our room, went to take a shower and there were two very long black pieces of hair in the tub. (I am blond and my boyfriend is red so needless to say it was not ours) I didn’t think there was much more in a hotel that would gross me out until later that night…. - Blood on one of the pillows, that was disgusting! - Two spiders in the bathroom. Needless to say our stay at the Sheraton was less then mediocre. I feel these are some major issues that occurred during our stay and it should be brought to someone’s attention. (I would have done so in person however there were a lot of people checking out at the same time and I did not have time to wait.) August 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Put us up at wrong hotel and shipping fees I was hesitating to book at this place in the first place because I read some reviews where guests were put up in the wrong tower - there are 2 and they're about 10 minutes apart from each other walking distance. I was sure this wouldn't happen to us since the hotel would've seen these reviews. However, it did happen to me. I made a reservation at the Bay Tower, but the hotel gave us room at the Marina Tower when we checked in, which is closer to the airport so there's a lot of noise. I pointed it out to one of the front desk personnel and they were nice about it but not really making any effort to apologize or move us to the other tower. To my further dismay, the front desk staff apparently isn't very well trained. I was shipping a package to myself so I wouldn't have to check a bag on our flight and I called ahead to make the hotel aware and they said to go ahead and ship it. I was surprised when 3 weeks after my departure from the hotel I was charged a handling fee for receiving the package. One would think they'd be made aware of the charges if they call the hotel prior to shipping a box (and it was a very small box). I've also wanted to ship the box back, because there was onsite FedEx Office. Just my luck, they were closed on a business day I was leaving on so I had to ask the hotel to ship the box back too... another charge. San Diego has a lot of great things to offer, but next time we'll travel here, we're staying elsewhere. January 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is lacking We spent ten days at the Bay Tower Sheraton and found much to be lacking. Number one: the parking was a continual hassle even though we had a room card it rarely worked in the automatic gate and we needed assistance often. Number two: the jacuzzi was unavailable the entire time due to a maintenance problem, this should have been corrected promptly. Number Three: The rooms have no small refridgerators. Most other hotels do provide this option as the eating venues in the hotel were expensive and it took a car drive to find reasonable restaurants. The buffet was a joke. For $21 the food was extremely limitied and when we went down to eat at 10:30 a.m. everything was basically gone. They brought back some additional food after several guests complained. Number four: there is no free wi-fi available. I checked other less expensive hotels and free wi-fi was the norm. Number five: I was issued a 20 percent off food voucher for the Marina and Bay tower and most times when I presented this card it was not taken for what it was. One time when it was denied I needed to go to the front desk to get them to inform the staff that this was in fact a legitimate deal. Number five: there should be self-service laundry in the Bay tower. It is provided in the Marina tower which is not at all convenient if you are staying in the Bay tower. On the plus side, the location is very good due to the views although its isolated from easy to walk restaurants and shops. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed Preface: I don't EVER complain at a hotel. However, after lugging my bags and a disabled child to our room, found that it hadn't been cleaned from the previous guest. Called the front desk to advise, only to get transferred to a voicemail. Lugged everything back downstairs, waited in line again, only to be told that we could be changed to another room--"which wasn't going to be as good" or "wait for the room to be cleaned". I was obviously distraught--tears were a good sign of that--and the clerk still said, "check back with us in 30 minutues." Even then, the clerk and maid asked why I thought the room wasn't cleaned-- "Ummm, because the bed isn't made, trash is on the floor, and a coffee cup is on the table with leftover coffee!" They should have looked instead of making me feel like a liar! It took an off-site call to get a room right away. Note: our reservations were for 5 nights. Then the shower in the new wasn't working and the bathtub wouldn't drain. They did fix it as soon as we reported it. I reserved the room for 2 adults and 1 child--we were left a whole TWO towels!! Called and made reservations for an additional room for 2 nights. When we went to check in my kids, they wouldn't give us a AAA discount. The clerk said we had to make the reservations online. It took talking to a manager to receive that discount. There was only one place to eat "on the island" which was in the hotel. Food was GREAT--but certainly overpriced. And I travel tons on business, so I am not unfamiliar with how hotels should run. December 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor, insufficient and dishonest service No end of problems with this hotel. Check your bill and be prepared for multiple errors, rude service, and overwhelming incompetence. Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers nothing but a hassle. Sheraton San Diego erroneously charged my credit card without permission; I discovered the error when I checked my credit card online; the room was to be charged to the company that booked the room (a client). The billing error put me in an awkward situation with my customer. Eventually, this error was corrected. But only with constant follow-up. Then, Sheraton San Diego charged me for parking, though I did not have a car (I took Amtrak's passenger train which stops near the hotel). When I explained the mistake, and asked that the charge be removed, a manager promised to oblige. That was over three weeks ago. A week later the charge was still there. So, I called again, was on hold for 15 minutes and, after calling back because the call was disconnected, I spoke with another manager who made the same pledge. That, too, was a promise not kept. Finally, I spoke with a third manager named Daniel. He promised in an e-mail that the charge would be removed. It was not. In fact, the parking charge has still not been removed and it's been nearly a month. I'm fed up and cannot in good conscience recommend this hotel. My problem is unresolved, I've bee wrongly charged for services I did not ask for or receive, and I am considering next steps. Save yourself the agony and choose another hotel. July 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great facility but staff needs work The property is beautiful and the room had a wonderful view of the Coronado bridge and downtown. The room was clean and comfortable, however, the staff is well below Starwood standards. I checked in early and they were to call me on my cell when my room was ready. Several hours later I checked at the desk and the room was ready but no one ever called. The staff did not go over any Gold options, did not explain the Wi-Fi (some Sheraton's you have an access code other you just log on and hope the bill is credited), did not offer a 4:00 PM checkout and when I went to use the Club Room my key was not programmed for access requiring an additional trip to the desk. When I went to check my bags while I was waiting for my room the two people at the bell desk sat there and talked about work for five minutes while I waited. I know it was five minutes as by then I was curious to see how inattentive this staff could be so I was looking at my watch. Now I just checked my personal credit card (the one on my profile) and they charged my stay on that card and not the card I presented at check-in although the room was not a prepay. I now must attempt to credit one card and charge the other (Starwood billing is another nightmare as I'm still waiting for a call regarding a stay in August). The upside is I lived in San Diego for eight years and the renovation of the property was excellent as I know what it used to look like. Honestly, I would stay there again as the views and room were wonderful but don't expect Starwood standards with the staff. September 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not matching 5 star standards Unfortunately I must admit that a few details have really annoyed me which also lead to my assessment that the quality of services provided is not marching with the standards Sheraton should have… 1. We went with clients at the Tapatini Wine bar and were shocked about 2 misshaps: (1) we ordered the first wine on the list (Mumm), which had 90 points… the waiter came back telling us that it was not anymore available and said suggested we take the Chandon (2nd item on the list)… despite our deception and moreover surprise that the wine was still on the list and that the bar tenders is not saying it straight forward (there was almost no one at the bar…) we accepted and had to drink a sparkling wine which was really bad (Chandon)… (b) we than temped a wine which is called “baby Amarone”… honestly it is just scandalous associating the wine you offer with the appellation “amarone”, one of the best Italian wines…it is simply misleading, especially as the wine you offer is really of low quality - the worst thing though was to be confronted with a waiter (want to be somelier…) which insisted and even dared to say that the offered wine was indeed an Amarone!!!! 2. The first night I ate the 3 chocolate items in my minibar… first the “kit kat" must have been there already for quite a while as pretty melt…second… and mor anoying is that these 3 items have only been replaced after 2 days! 3. I wanted to play tennis with a teacher… I was just given the number of a coach… thus I had to sort it out i.e. try to organise it!! The coach was unfortunately not very available… —> I’d expect that the hotel organises the lesson for me…+ if one coach is too busy (which is OK as independent)… I’d expect the hotel to have enough alternatives to address my needs! All in all, 3 small experiences which underlined in my eyes how far the hotel is from matching excellence … very disappointing! Best regards Stefano Ermacora March 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice water views, terrible parking charges This is a big hotel with two sections in the main building and a completely separate section across the parking lot. Facilities are good, with 2 pools and a decent gym. Also restaurant and bar. I had an upgraded room as a Platinum member which was nice and roomy, with standard bath. Service was a little spotty. Front desk forgot to ask what I wanted for my Platinum amenity, and couldn't answer some basic questions I had at check-in. I asked to speak to a manager and waited close to 15 minutes for someone to appear. Called for a robe and it never came - had to call a second time. The club lounge was nicely decorated and roomy, with good view, okay snacks in the evening and better choices at breakfast. No drinks specials, seemed like regular menu from downstairs. It seems that families frequent this hotel so there are lots of unsupervised children in the lounge - and that's with the parents present! Running, playing, squealing, etc. That was both in the evening and in the morning. Certainly doesn't make for a business like, adult atmosphere. Beware of the parking charges. They are high and there is no where nearby to park without using the lot. Especially annoying because the hotel sits in the middle of a parking pad that is acres in size and has hundreds of empty spaces. And, to add insult to injury, if you arrive by plane the shuttle from the airport and back is free, but if you arrive by car and have to park it will set you back close to $30.00. The lounge atmosphere and parking charges are enough to make me think twice the next time I need a hotel in San Diego. June 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Broken I travel at least twice a year for anywhere from 3-7 days. My wife and I recently visited the San Diego Sheraton on Harbor Island for a conference. After checking in, we were blocked from convenient access to our room from the parking lot because of construction. That's to be expected, I suppose. When we arrived at our first room (yes, I said FIRST), the key card did not work. Walked to the front desk for new keys, return to room. No dice. The battery on the locking mechanism apparently died. 30 minutes into our stay, we finally get into our room (thanks to the friendly security guard who "jimmied" our door open and replaced the battery. Think: I locked my car keys inside -- and you're on the road to envisioning the device this gentleman used -- far too easy to enter a locked room.) We were greeted by a chilly room with a non-working heater. We had a room change. Was that heater working, you ask? No. However, it was no inching towards 1am and we had an early morning. So we had to brave the cold. We slept in our clothes in the 50-degree whether. The next morning, despite the best efforts of a friendly repairman to fix the heater, we reached our THIRD room -- which had a functioning heater. What are the odds? I won't even go into the lack of modern amenities (no where to dock an i-pod/pad/etc; a TV system with a channel guide but no program information?? -- c'mon! At least set a TV guide next to the bed.) And throughout all of this, no attempt to compensate us for our trouble. It's going to take a lot for me, my wife, or my company to invest add'l resources in any Sheraton. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by totally disappointed This WAS my favorite SAN airport hotel but this time they really let me down...and I am a Starwood member. I paid for a deluxe upgraded larger room with a living space so I could entertain guests. I received a dingy room with one bed and chair....minibar was raided...and I was looking over the airport. It was a small room with NO living space or sitting area. I was very embarrassed in front of my guest as there was no where to sit but on the bed. Strangely enough, on the front door it had a sign that said VIP suite. I think they stuck us in the extra adjoining room and didn't open the other part of the suite! I called for a manger bit she would not come up. The room also had some weird wooden French door that blocked all views....which wasn't much anyway. She said she would offer me another room but it was a "downgrade" from what I booked. I took it and it was much better. I had to take all my luggage MYSELF down to the front desk and get new keys then go back to the new room. I put my breakfast order on the door before 9 PM. In the morning it was still there - -- so no breakfast. When I went to the business area to get my boarding pass the printers would not work. The guy at the front desk would NOT print my pass for me, instead he wasted 20 minutes fooling with the printer. WHILE I WAS trying to hold my temper and get to the airport shuttle before I was late for my flight. I explained all of this to the front desk manager / room controller Jessica and all she could say was "Sorry". POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. I will put my loyalties elsewhere next time. It just seemed like NO ONE CARED!!!! July 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed! We chose Sheraton because we've stayed at several and enjoyed our stays. The long-term parking also helped as we were going to be gone several days so we booked here for an overnight stay before our early 6 a.m. departure. Sadly we were assigned a room in the "Lanai" section. This was a very long way from the front desk, restaurants, etc and we were given the wrong directions to get there by front desk staff so it took us almost 20 minutes to find it. One of the maids finally had to show us the way. It was right across from some construction/renovation area and obviously it had not been used in some time as the clock was still on daylight savings time. It smelled horribly of mildew. We called from the room and were transferred to guest relations who wanted to send housekeeping to spray the room! Not wanting to experiment with that we asked for another room. When guest relations tried to transfer to front desk no one answered after about 10 rings. We then walked all the way back to the front desk, stood in line again and got another room finally. The person who helped us kept telling us how he was "upgrading" us which really didn't make it better - just a simple apology and a new room would have been fine. The room we were "upgraded" to was similar to the other room minus the odor and was in the tower instead of out in the lanai section so I'm not sure why we just didn't get that in the first place. Upon check out the next morning a manager with the checkout person and said he saw we had a problem. I explained what happened and he told the person to give us a $25 discount. That was very nice and his attitude was certainly better. December 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2 SHERATON HOTEL I was unaware that there were two hotels when I made reservations online. I felt the online review or rooms and information needs much improvement. I requested a room change as our room overlooked the airport and harbor road, I called the front desk and they forwarded my call to the room changer guy who was not there but a answer machine came on. When I called back the front desk they seemed rather put out and told me I had to come down to the lobby. The best experience of our stay came when our luggage guy intervened and took care of the problem right there, he called the front desk and got us a room change, he then went down and go our door cards and came back up to take us to our room. I gave him my wallet and let him know how much I appreciated that intervention. He save us at least 30 minutes and I know my interaction with the lobby clerk would not have gone well. The room that we eventually got into was great. It was clean, nice we enjoyed our stay in the room. I did not like the fact that you had to walk over to the other hotel to get the "Good" stuff. They had the better restaurant, the pool and a much nicer gym. It would have been nice to have known this when I initially registered. You guys need to really stress the fact that you have two hotels with two different set ups. I was here for the marathon which your concierge had no clue that the marathon was this weekend. Later on in the day when many other marathoners started showing up they did provide a shuttle service to the start but they would charge $8.00 per person. What? Free shuttle service to the airport and a fee just yards away to the start of the marathon. Please! June 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great hotel, lousy staff I was in San Diego to attend a medical convention and my husband accompanied me. I made the reservation at the last minute through the convention website and we were both very impressed by the hotel, the amenities, the breakfast buffet and even the price. Due to some personal financial problems, I knew that there would not be sufficient funds in my bank account when it came to checkout time. Around midnight of The day of our departure I called my boss, explained the situation and he gave me his credit card information to use. I went to the front desk, explained my dilemma and the woman on duty, Joyce, told me they could not take his cc information and that I would need him to sign an authorization form. I understood this and asked her to send it to me electronically so that I could forward it to my boss, he would sign it and fax it back. When I had not received it an hour later, I went back and told Joyce that I had not received her email. She very rudely agreed to rescan it and email it to me. I waited at the front desk until I got it, while she did not show any compassion and went back to her office. I then had to ring the bell once again and ask her for my final bill so that I could let my boss know what was going on his cc. She was again rude about my request and then told me the server was down. I told here I would wait in the lobby near the business center until she could get it for me. Just as I was dozing off, since it was now about 4:30 am, she shook me and dropped the bill in my lap. At that point I see that they ran the bill on my debit card, even though I had explicitly told her, and her supervisor Tina that although there was enough money in my account at that moment, I had my mortgage payment due to come out. Sure enough, the Sheraton got their $1200.00, then my mortgagee payment and several other small purchases bounced, costing me over $100 in NSF fees!! Despite the lovely hotel, I would never stay there again just because of the incompetence and overall rude attitude of the front desk staff. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So Close to Being Great I stayed at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina for 3 nights for a conference. I had some good and some bad experiences with this property, as follows: GOOD: 1. I was in a room in the Lanai Tower and it was very nicely furnished and appointed. Each room had a private balcony which was a very nich touch and it made the room very relaxing. 2. The lobby area that provided free Wi-Fi was a very nice feature of the hotel. It had ample seating, plenty of outlets and made for a very nice place to get some work done. 3, The overall amenities of the hotel were great. The pool was enexpetedly large and the gym was one of the best I've seen at a hotel. BAD 1. I stayed here for a conference and as such, spent a lot of time in the conference hall and event center of the property. It absolutely astounded me that the hotel did not offer WI-Fi in this area of the hotel. I would have gladly paid for Wi-Fi in this area but I wasn't even given the option to do so. I was advised that the organizer of my conference should have purchased a "block" of Wi-Fi for its attendees but at a minimum I think a hotel that is predicated on business and business travel should at least offer a paid Wi-Fi solution. 2. I had a few minor interactions with staff that left a bit to be desired. It took me three staff members to finally get a straight answer on the Wi-Fi issue referenced above. The first two I talked to were absolutely sure that the Wi-Fi I paid for in my room would carry over to the conference center and that clearly was not the right answer. Also, my room had AC issues that I called down to the front desk for some help from engineering but after two hours of waiting I needed to get to bed so I called the front desk back to call the request off. All in all, I would come back here but I suppose it was just slightly dissapointing to go through the minor issues that I did. January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing I recently stayed at the Bay Towers for a work conference. It was very convenient - closeness to the airport (yet no real airport noise) and free shuttle were great. However, after my first day I was disappointed. 1) I found what appeared to be black mold (or nasty dirt) on the air vent. I brought it to the front desk's attention and asked for it to be looked into. nothing.... I often was out of my room early and back late due to meetings, so I even gave my cell number to be updated. One staff said they had plenty of rooms and could move me if need be - another said they were very concerned about it and yet NOTHING was done for more than 24 hours. At one point, I checked the vent again and found that it looked as though it had been wiped done (though not well). So was it mold? What the heck - this was blowing into my room? I inquired and again left my number. Nothing. 2) I was asked if I wanted to participate in the Green initiative, where housekeeping would bring me clean towels and coffee supplies - but not wipe things down to conserve on cleaning agents. I did - and DID receive the $5 / day coupon (a nice incentive). However, I had to stop and ask a housekeeper for more towels and coffee supplies - giving up after a day or two. 3) when reserving my room in August, I was very clear that it was being booked on my company credit card. At check in, I was asked for a cc for "incidentals" and I gave them my personal card. The entire stay was then charged to my personal card. Each of these things alone (maybe except #1) would not be a reason to write a negative review. However, I found the entire stay disappointing and was actually happy to switch hotels for the remaining 4 days I stayed in San Diego after my conference. So much for Starwood Preferred guest....or any quest for that matter. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refreshing Got a room in the Marina tower overlooking the harbor - Beautiful! Staff service was great - from room, to dining, to front desk, to the valet service. We especially enjoy the Big Bay Downtown Shuttle ($1 a day) service. We were always greeted with friendly smiles & courteous service, so we were somewhat perplex with the negative ratings. Maybe we were just too self-reliant and weren't expecting royal treatment? Our room was clean & temperature comfortable. We chose "green"; so even though we didn't have anyone coming in to make our beds & clean the bathroom, we were still able to get extra towels whenever we needed them - no fuss, no attitude. We dined in several times - was always greeted with a smile. We were surprised when a staff member came over to apologize for the delay in serving us during a full-house, outdoor luncheon. Not a problem for us - we were enjoying the harbor view, we didn't even notice the time passing. Checking in & out was pleasant. When we checked in, we were informed of all rules, regulations, fees & special offers. We were given a room with our choice of room view; and after getting the keys to our room, we were given a quick detail of other services available in the lobby. Checking out was not a problem either. Even though there was a missing credit, it was taken care of right away. My credit card was charged the exact amount according to the statement. The staff outside the hotel took care of our travel needs; whether it was for a taxi, the free airport shuttle, or the Big Bay downtown shuttle. All in all, we had a really good time. There was so much things to do in San Diego, we barely had time to hang by the pool. The only suggestion I would make is for a better game room. Hey, nothing's perfect. The whole purpose of our vacation was to enjoy everything we can, and we did. July 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as expected I was very let down at this hotel. I called 3 times ahead of time, my boyfriend called once, to assure adjoining rooms (we have a 7 and 13 year old). All 4 times we were assured. We got there an hour early for check in and were told our rooms were ready - ACROSS THE HALL from each other! Then we had to wait until they could get 2 adjoining. The girl at the front desk barely spoke English so that made it even more difficult. Then we didn’t get the marina view I wanted, we got the bay so we had to move the next day. In fact, when we were checking out, another woman was checking in with someone who needed an ADA room. I overheard the woman say “how could you not have the room, I called several times to confirm I would have one.” I turned to her and let her know the same thing happened to us at check in with adjoining rooms. The AV equipment was working during movie night at the pool and my boyfriend offered a simple suggestion to fix but they wouldn’t take it and spent 45 minutes trying to fix while kids are waiting - a lot left! Every day I had a message waiting light on my phone and cleared it and it came right back, with no explanation from the front desk. And don’t get your car detailed before you go because valet - even though we asked them not to - parked his car EVERY day in the line of sprinklers so now we have to get 5 days of water spots off the car. The food was pretty much the same between room service and all the restaurants. When at the pool, I asked for a grilled chicken breast and they brought me slices of pieced together chicken meat that had congealed gel on it - gross! The mozzarella panin was good but messy. In the end, if you are just passing through and need a one nighter from the airport, this is your place. However, I think I need to find a new hotel in San Diego because I don’t know what would bring me back to this one. June 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel has poor indoor air quality This hotel facility is designed poorly. It is basically a sad, docked carnival cruise ship except worse, because the air quality is very poor and stale, and air conditioning is kept at full blast in conference arenas unnecessarily so. There is so much dust in the hvac system that myself and others developed dry throats that no amount of water could resolve. Speaking of which, water was not replenished in receptions consistently. A bartender should not say 'we don't have water.' Isn't there some law against that? They have installed overly fancy water machines automate water dispensation but they are too loud to use during conference talks and some did not work. They are not as discrete as simple pitchers. Then again, the pitchers that were available sometimes were not consistently kept full. It was very frustrating to not have water. The food options for lunch for vegetarians is poor. There should be more options that can be palatable to a growing numbers of patrons who prefer to eat healthily and less meat. There are no dining options outside except for a deli and a pizza place, which had long lines at rush hour (ie, location is terrible and there is a lack of a nice neighborhood feeling.) The bar is impossible to order from; they only had one staff for a packed room one night. The hotel room lacked a mirror over the desk and electrical outlets by the desk where a hair dryer can plug into. The room design is clearly by a male and oblivious of how two people might coexist. The bathroom light would not turn off. oh, to top it all, there was a faulty fire alarm in the middle of the morning that was hugely disruptive. In short, basics were not met: air, water, food. The first thing they need to fix is the air quality issue. The humidity is so low due to the air conditioning, combined with dusty recycled air that it cannot be good for patrons nor workers. November 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I love this hotel but.... I stayed here maybe 2 years ago and I LOVE the view and actually had a really good experience. This time, not so much. Check in time was at 3. I got to the hotel at 3:45 only to be told that my room wasn't ready. No big deal. I asked how long it would take until my room was ready and was told no more than 30 minutes. The girl working at the front desk took my phone number and said they would call when my room was ready. I decided to go for a walk to waste time. I walked a ways and no phone call. After a little while longer, there was still no phone call, so I decided to walk back to the hotel to check and see if my room was ready. It was 4:45 at that time. I had to wait in line to see if my room was ready. It was finally ready but they had never called to let me know. I was sure they were going to at least comp my parking or something but they did not. I didn't want to make a big deal and let it ruin my weekend so I just went up to my room. Everything looked ok except for the greasy hand prints on the sliding glass window. I made the best of my situation because it could have been worse. Fast forward to the next day when I am checking out. I was not told that if you self park, you need your key to get out of the parking lot (so don't use express check out). I used express check out and went to my truck and couldn't get out of the parking lot as there is no attendant in the little booth. So I had to park again and go get another key so I could leave. It took another 20 minutes until I was finally able to leave. When I checked my bank account to see what they charged me for the room, it was almost $100 more than it was before I left and I didn't use any internet or the minibar or anything. I didn't get a receipt emailed to me to let me know what the extra charges were for either. Like I said, I love this hotel but I don't think I will be staying here for a while. February 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel I stayed here during San Diego Comic Con 2013. I was very happy about the room size, bed, pillows, staff, etc. I understand that since I arrived at a very busy time, they were extremely busy at first. They went from almost zero occupancy to 100% occupancy in just a few hours. So, you have to give them a little slack for that. There is no way that they were going to be super fast on the first day. But every time we needed something other than the first day, they met our needs. The staff is really cool. And the view from the hotel was Beautiful!! Here are my complaints however: This happens at about half the hotels that I stay in. The showers have very little water output. It makes my shower take three times longer and more frustrating than enjoyable. Another thing that bugged me is the little vending machine in the room that charges outrageous prices for food and drink. Honestly, I would rather this not waste room in the room. You could put a vending machine in the ice room like everyone else does. 2 years ago, we stayed at a hotel, and were greeted with a complimentary gift basket of fruit, snacks and bottles of water. I know this is San Diego, but you shouldn't have to pay for parking. Parking should come with the cost of your hotel. Sure, a valet fee but just to park? Because it is on an island which basically has only 3 hotels, there is no where close to walk to for food after midnight. The only way to get food after midnight is Expensive room service, Expensive in room Vending machine, or the vending machine on the first floor. Ohh... there is always delivery. Because of the deal that I got, my internet was included, but normally internet here has a fee. Internet for guests should always be included. But, on a positive note, the internet connection was very good. It didn't go in and out like most hotels. All in All, a wonderful hotel. Awesome staff. We will stay here again. July 22, 2013
<<prev 38 39 40 41 42 next>>