Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 464 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs to improve Inter-Personal skills The hotel overall is fine. I do have some constructive criticisms which are meant to improve the performance of the hotel. First of all, no recognition was provided to a Gold status member. Not even an acknowledgement of the status. There is a special line for members at check-in but no one is there to assist. If staff cannot go above and beyond to extend some extra favors, e.g. make them feels special, at the very least acknowledge their membership. For example, how hard is it to say, "Sir/Ma'am thank you for being a loyal member of SPG or thank you for being a Gold or Platinum member."? Second of all, if staff do not know the answer to a question be polite and say "Let me ask a manager who may help you with a question." In my case, the staff answered my question wrongly and I was forced to go to the Members benefits online to prove my point. I don't have to go to this extent. If a customer feels strongly about their position, acknowledge that he/she might be right and don't encourage them to prove themselves correct. The staff can simply say "Sir/Ma'am you may be right on this let me call a Manager who might be able to shed better light on this." An important goal of a customer engagement (as far as customer service is concerned) is to make the customer feel comfortable and satisfied. This is the industry standard. Even if the customer representative is correct in his/her position but he/she managed to cause the customer dissatisfaction then the overall outcome is not favorable to both. You will just alienate your customer and fail to gain their loyalty. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jewel in the Heart of San Antonio This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel in several years, and it will be the first of many. The newly renovated Club Lounge is top notch and when I saw that the offerings were fried quail and lamp chops I was hooked. The complimentary beer and wine doesn't hurt either, as well as the congenial Club Lounge Staff, particularly Joseph.... August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Stay Ever I have never wrote a review before but after my stay at this hotel I decided that I needed to for the sake of other future guest. There were some positives but so many negatives. First we called 8 hours before arriving and asked to have a roll away bed available for are stay the staff on the phone said yes that this was not a problem and that this would be available when we arrived. When we arrived there were no roll way beds available so no big deal we called guest services and the sweetest gentleman sized one of the two rooms we reserved and brought one over. We had to call back downstairs to get a cot since the roll away would not fit in the 2nd room. The staff on the phone told us there were plenty available so to go out and when we got back they would send one up. When we got back from the Riverwalk the cot was not there and there were no more available so we had to sleep on the floor. The TV in this room did not work when we mentioned it no one was ever sent up to fix it and when we mentioned it again at checkout they didn't even ask which room did not have a working TV all they could do was say sorry and look at me in a dismissive manner. The 3rd strike was the next day we went to use the pool and it was closed with no sign on the door or anything. We went downstairs and asked if they could let us in and the front desk staff said yes they must of forgot to open it mind you this was at 9:00 am and the pool hours are 5:00 am to 12:00 am. So we say ok no problem we take the kids back upstairs by the pool door and wait for an additional 10-15 minutes and still are unable to get in. So we call back downstairs and they notify that the pool will not be open till further notice with no explanation or apologies. I'm sorry for this long drawn out review but I can say when you are 2 moms traveling with 2 babies and 2 ten year olds you can see how no bed to sleep on, no TV, and no swimming pool is not much of a vacation!!! I can say that the valet was awesome and the gentleman that brought a rollaway to 1 of the rooms, and the gentleman that helped with are luggage at arrival were great they were very personable and helpful. I think what upset me about the entire stay was the lack of empathy and customer service I know there is nothing you can do if the pool is not working this is just an unfortunate thing. But as for the rest it could have been prevented or there could have been some effort to fix the problems but there was nothing and this is what caused so much of the dissatisfaction. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I always stay at this hotel whenever I travel to San Antonio and this was the first time I have had a horrible experience. I was not impressed by the staff response to my requests. The room was not as clean as expected. There was mold stains in the grout of the tiles in the shower. The tub would fill up with water while taking a shower. The smoke alarm unit appeared to be hanging instead of being securely attached to the wall. It was just a bad experience overall. Not sure that I'll ever stay there again. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed Room was extremly dusty and not properly cleaned I have pictures to prove this August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Rooms Are Tiny, The Bathrooms Even Worse I have stayed at the Gunter before and I wasn't happy. I had heard it was redone and I decided to give it another try. My room was old, the toilet had to have been 50+ years old. There were long dark hairs (not mine) in the shower. The bed was so close to the desk I could barely use the desk chair. No room to put anything in the bathroom. The door jam looked like it had termites. Perhaps I was just given the worst room in the hotel. The restaurant/bar looked lovely, but I did not have the chance to use. The TV on the workout equipment did not work. There was no water in the workout room. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We had a wonderful time staying at your hotel, it is centrally located and everything is near by. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by gunter review I have stayed at the Gunter many times over the past 20 years so they must do something right. we always have enjoyed the proximity to the river walk, without being on the walk. I will say the front desk staff on this trip was not as caring and accommodating as in the past. To the point at check in I almost turned around and walked out. 4 hours later, after leaving and calling back to confirm the room, "Amy" whom answered was very pleasant and made things right. My first encounter with Elizabeth was terrible. I also noticed that food trays from room service stayed in the hallways as long as 24 hours, not a good example of cleanliness. Over all the bell staff, and valet did an amazing job as usual, and the Café was amazing. We did get shorted towels, however we called and they made things work. We realize it was a busy weekend due to weddings etc, however our opinion is that we had just moved over from the Mokara, on the river walk due to a meeting I had, and they went out of their way to give you that "WOW" felling. I got that in the Café only with the Gunter on this trip July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, could be cleaner Great stay overall with all equipment in good condition and 2 Showtime channels make for good entertainment, but tiled flooring for some reason was not very clean. You can't tell walking around barefoot unless you have sensitive feet or until you go to shower and the black grime comes off in the wet tub. Unfortunately I was too busy with work to use the fitness room or pool. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice Building, Bad Hotel We arrived in the evening and got settled into our room. Ordered room service at 9:45 and were told a 30 minute wait. At 10:43 we received a call from room service that they were out of some of our selections, after reordering and them assuring us that even though our other food was already ready but wouldn't get cold we received our order at 11:10....nothing was hot except for the food that was reordered. The room service staff was full of excuses. They also forgot part of the order. The room never cooled down and stayed quite humid, maintenance came in to try to fix it, banged around on the a/c up in the ceiling, got it cold for about an hour after which we left, when we returned later that evening the room was once again humid and not cold, in fact the sheets felt wet bc of the humidity. We were too tired to argue with the staff about it and choose to tell them in the morning at check-out, the lady acted like she could care less. The restaurant was under staffed and we were sat and then waited for 10 min for someone to come over to get our breakfast orders, eventually got up and walked down the street to bagel shop, which was yummy with great service. Valet service was impeccable, they had our car waiting every time we came down and even helped us clean it out at one point. The hotel itself was beautiful, the staff just isn't attentive and doesn't seem to know what they are doing. Attention to detail is key when in the service industry. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected more First time in SA. As Starwwod owners, this was the first hotel that did not honor a late checkout request. The Restaurant Market on Houston is not ready for prime time. The service was ...odd, the food, bad. On the upside, we realized my husband had left some clothing articles in the closet. We live in Ca. My call was promptly responded to and the clothes were found and are being returned. July 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Super disappointed I've stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past, but lately the charm has gone. While I miss the old look, I am ok with the new paint and boutiquey look; but the staff seems to have let the new look go to their heads. Not nearly as nice and hospitable as they once were (even though many are the same people). July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunter not what expected! Hotel was not very clean nor spacious enough for comfort. July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Usually dependable but not this time. I have stayed at the Gunter many times. Normally it is great. The Staff is great and I almost always get upgraded to a corner suite. But this time something went wrong. The A/C in room 813/815 (bedroom) did not function properly. the Quesadilla I ordered for room service was terrible (sitting atop blackening lettuce??). And then little things started ticking me off, like why I have to go through 4 independent stations, 3 religious stations, 3 PBS stations, Azteca, Ion and Gala before ever reaching a network station (ABC). Shouldn't those stations be on the back end and the stations people are looking for be first up on the dial?? I think ESPN is like channel 35 or something. Why? And why can I see the unfinished wood supports under the new curtain forms? Could you paint them? And why are the same 4 non-descript pictures (aligned in a little square) in both the bedroom and the living room? And why are the same three meaningless and ugly pictures on the hallway wall repeated again just 30 feet down the hall? And what is the one picture with just some random design? UGLY. Sorry, normally these things wouldn't bother me, but I hate it when things are done halfway. All of those little things at the end are just not paying attention to detail. And why the big revamp of the lobby, but the rooms have the same carpet, chairs, and ugly brown wallpaper? Are you planning to re-do the rooms too? Lastly, the new workout room is nice and roomy -- almost too roomy. Maybe you plan to put in more lifting equipment, or at least some additional weights (other than just dumbells), but more equipment would be nice. The food issue is not new - the Gunter room service has never been great, but it should be at least appetizing to look at. A revamp of that menu would be nice. On the plus side, the lobby re-do is nice and the young lady at the bar was delightful. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff Great staff. The hotel is beautiful. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing! We've had a lot of good experiences at Sheratons, but not this one. We asked for feathers to be removed prior to our arrival-they were not; we took them off the bed and put them in a corner, and they were simply left there by the cleaning staff. The toilet hadn't been checked, and didn't work, which was hugely embarrassing at 5am; and the internet was down, with no estimate for a fix, for the two days we were there, which was a massive work problem. Not impressive, especially for Platinum guests. At least the reception guy on checkout gave us 7,000 points, which at least was something. July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Consider Valet Parking Fee Be advised that there is only Valet Parking available on site at $28.00 per day. The only option is parking in a public parking space at $9.00 per day across the street. Valet Parking is listed as a plus on the website not a near requirement. The only explanation offered was that other hotels do this also. If you have a car, be sure to consider this in your decision to stay here. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our anniversary! During checkin, the staff casually asked the reason for our stay, and I mentioned it was our anniversary. Since we were redeeming points for a free stay, I was pleasantly surprised that we were given a prime corner room on a top floor! We went out for dinner and dancing, and when we returned, the staff (no idea who, or I would mention them by name) had placed a tray with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. What a surprise! My wife thought it was all my idea, so of course I took the credit, but that was such a thoughtful touch by the staff! Please thank them for me. Our Anniversary stay was wonderful! Thank you! The hotel is a 100+ year old landmark, but is nicely renovated and up to date. As you can see, the staff is great, and really makes the difference. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT A GREAT STAY Was here over the weekend with my 3 teenage kids. Requested early check-in by noon and room wasn't ready til after 3pm. Some kind of yellow stains on the conforter. Went to take a shower and there was a used bandaid in the shower, was sure then that the room hadn't been cleaned completly, had housekeeping come up and remove the bandaid. Was told sorry that the lady who cleans normaly was on vacation. Asked for them to coem clean the shower and now one ever showed up. The best part of our trip was the Club access.. Friendly Staff and Food was good and fresh. No I will not be staying here again. Also for the price really needs some inprovements in the bathroon area. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hospitality - Staff goes out of their way We had a splended stay during the July 4th weekend when we stayed at Sheraton Gunter hotel. I had booked three rooms and Victoria, the front desk Manager went out of her way to upgrade all our rooms to club level, with free parking and even extended our check-out time to 6 pm for all the rooms. The rooms have all been upgraded and the lobby is huge and elegant. We all were so happy with our stay that we are going to stay in this hotel every time we visit San Antonio. Thanks Victoria and thanks Sheraton! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great environment and location We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a wonderful mix of old and new. Very clean and pleasant decor. Perfect location to wander the streets of downtown and the Riverwalk. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay Sraff was excellent. Valet attendants very helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Only draw back to our room was room next to AC and ventilation systems....quite loud and made getting to sleep a bit difficult. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by things have changed Loss of Barons restaurant was bad for the hotel. Parking is to expensive. If room was cheaper our stay would be more worth it. Lobby colors went from elegant to blah. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall not bad The hotel itself is nice. It has lots of historic value and well maintained. At check in I felt rushed though and there wasn't even a line of check-in's, just me. I recommend a little less of getting people rushed through check-in and more time connecting with guests. Judy in the restaurant was extremely nice and very helpful. The food was fantastic as well. One thing that bothered me was the height of the counter that had the bacon, sausage, and potatoes during breakfast. I'm only about 5'6" and the top of the counter was about up to my eyes (it made me feel small). I know this is a historic hotel but I felt more like an employee in my room's bathroom due to the type of toilet and the type of toilet paper. Other than that It was a nice hotel with helpful friendly staff. keep up the good work with the team members! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful & Charming Experience A great place to stay. Lots of history here, each room is unique. The staff upgraded us to the Robert Johnson suite, what an interesting story and room. Great lobby and lounge. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a hotel with character and charm. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problem with noisy neighbors I had to call 3 times on Saturday night starting at 12:26 AM, to report the noisy next door neighbors. The 3rd time I called, the front desk told me that they were having a party and that security gave them a warning. I told him it was 1 o'clock in the morning and my adjoining room door let all the noise into my room and it sounded like there were 100 people in that room. He said he would attend to it himself, and then the noise stopped. Unexceptable June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My review This hotel has historic significance, which is part of its charm, although you don't feel that from the very modern lobby. The bathroom in the room had a certain "industrial" feel to it which was unlike other Starwood properties where I've stayed. In other Starwood hotels, I felt very warm and friendly front desk staffs. The experience here was different. I was also disappointed that when I made my reservation (via phone to SPG). I was told I'd be on a club level for my trip with certain benefits, but there was no club lounge available during my stay. It's a case of missed expectations. The hotel's location is fine--a comfortable walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We ate in the restaurant; the food was good and the staff there was helpful and friendly. I normally don't review hotels, but felt like I needed to with this recent experience. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hot hotel The cooling equipment of this hotel was probably the worst I have experienced in many years. The conference rooms and break out rooms were hot! June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel overall was good Except for the obvious disrepair (ballroom ceiling had fallen in this week), the rooms were updated and very comfortable. Staff was generally very helpful and responsive; one employee at the Houston Market was particularly rude and would not give us a table height table to sit at. Luckily other employees there over compensated for his rudeness and came to our aid. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel is below Sheraton standards. There was a rectangular vacant spot on the wall of our room, which appears to have been a mirror at one time but now is only a discoloration with seven holes in the plaster. There was no refrigerator in the room. The hotel has only something resembling a coffee shop but no real restaurant with a real menu. Glad the Palm and Bohannan's were next door. The staff, especially in the lobby bar, were great. June 26, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T10:01:03.565-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_464, tr_464
  • loc_en_US, sid_1291, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>