Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 470 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Hotel, interesting happenings My overall rating is pretty high, but there were a couple things that were a little odd about our stay. The first was that when we or the room next door flushed the toilet, water started coming out of our faucet. The second was that house keeping knocked on our door at 8:30 wanting to clean our room on the morning of our checkout. Overall, it was a charming hotel in a great location and I would come back. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay I had several room requests prior to my arrival, all were met without hesitation. Valet parking attendants were very helpful in getting us heading out in the right direction. Front desk to housekeeping all are very pleasant and friendly! November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by bathroom too small The hotel was beautiful, the only downsize was the bathroom. November 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Free" bottled water First time I had stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel this past weekend (for 37th Wedding Anniversary). I had every intention of writing a very positive review, along with sure-fire plans to again stay at this facility. But not after just receiving my final bill with a $2.17 charge for water. SAY WHAT?!?! Turns out you camouflage a chargeable bottle of water into looking like one of the two free 2 bottles that are clearly complimentary. Instead of simply not putting a 3rd bottle in the room that has a fee, or putting bright red warnings that the 3rd bottle that it is NOT free, you no doubt plan to re-coup 500% of the two free bottles by hood-winking your guests into thinking the 3rd one is free also, and then charging them. Yes, it is only $2.17. But i won't tolerate such a blatant nickel & dime scheme. There are several other SPG choices in San Antonio for a Gold-For-Life member like myself to choose from such that I will never have to give the Sheraton Gunter Hotel my devoted SPG business again. How's your business plan working now??!! November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyment Had my family reunion in San Antonio and everyone had a Great time!! October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Very nice hotel and great location. Staff was very helpful. Food and beverage had many options at a reasonable price with good quality and great service. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay if attending Majestic event We always enjoy staying here when we go to the Majestic. October 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ruined History Who paints beautiful hand carved wood white? This WAS a historic hotel which now looks like any other new hotel. Very disappointed. October 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice place Nicely renovated & decorated. Bathroom area could've been nicer...but it was clean. Bed linens were super soft, but mattress was just ok. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gem! I had stayed it this hotel prior to the big updates and can say this new version is much better. Loved everything about this hotel and will definitely be back! October 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Staff Responsiveness The HVAC system in my room did not allow the fan to be on constant, so each time it came on, there was a loud clicking noise followed by a loud boom that made it impossible to sleep. Unfortunately, it came on very frequently. Finally, at about 1:00 AM, I called the front desk to see if there was anything that could be done, other than having me pack up and relocate, which I didn't want to do since I had to get up at 4:30 for a flight (that option wasn't offered, in any case). Other than an apology, there was nothing suggested by the front desk. When I went to check out, the front desk agent offered a sincere apology for the situation, but offered no compensation, and continued to process my bill. After several minutes of being on the computer to do this, I finally asked if he could at least take off my parking expense. He said he would do that, so it took several more minutes on the computer. Because I had called valet for my car to be brought up prior to leaving my room, I had expected that by the time this unusually long check-out process had finished, that my car would be waiting for me. It was not, and when I asked the parking attendant (sitting in his booth) about my car, he said that there had been a "miscommunication" and then brought my car. From when I left my room until I was in my car, it had been almost 30 minutes, so I arrived at the airport just as the flight was boarding. When I arrived home and checked my on-line bill, the parking had not been taken off of my bill, so I had to call the front desk and explain the situation. The agent on duty immediately adjusted my bill and sent me the corrected copy. This is not the typical service that I have experienced at full service Sheraton properties, so I was very disappointed. I had stayed at the Four Points near the airport the night before, and only moved to the Gunter so that I could enjoy an evening with friends at the Riverwalk for my second and final night in San Antonio. I will not do that again, and will stay at the Four Points on future visits to this city. October 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Want the "Old" Gunter I have been staying at the Gunter hotel for 30 years, but had not stayed there since 2013. I was very disappointed that the new owners decided to put white paint on all the old dark wood that I loved so much and then made the entry into a Las Vegas style showroom. The staff was excellent as always. I would recommend it only because of the staff. The "updated" decor has ruined that nostalgia of wonderful old building. October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenient location convenient to downtown sites, river walk, clean hotel...a/c was loud in our room, bathroom outdated, no refrigerator! October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel We enjoyed our stay at the Gunter. San Antonio is full of friendly people! Our room was clean and spacious. If we return, we'd definitely stay here again. October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dancing in San Antonio Great location if you are attending the Majestic Theater of going to River Walk, however, the hotel has under gone a complete renovation that did little to add to the value or ambiance of the location. The rooms are very nice with ample space but the lighting is dim and the bathrooms have little storage space for the ladies. The dinning room is small and not well lit so do not plan on reading the newspaper at breakfeast. The food is above average and the bar service and availiable beverages are excellent. The staff did not know what channels were on the room TVs and when I called to ask about FOX news the desk clerk said they would get back to me, I am still waiting for the call back. We have stayed at this hotel several times and liked it just fine, but this stay did not measure up to the standard which we have come to expect out of the Gunther. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond While we only live 20 miles outside San Antonio, my wife and I made a reservation at this hotel to celebrate our 31st anniversary. Location was key as we were going to take in a show at the Majestic (across the street). I was initially concerned about the mediocre reviews however the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Customer service (on the phone) took my special requests and Jacques (at check-in) confirmed that all was in order. We were booked in a club level corner room that was large, tastefully decorated and had quality linens on the bed. Definitely a touch of class. The only shortcoming during our stay was due to street noise. Although we were on the 11th floor, street noise was still quite loud.....but that is to be expected with any hotel in the heart of the city. Thank you for making our stay special. October 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hit or Miss Our stay started with the incredibly unhelpful woman at the front desk informing me that the suite I believed I had reserved was just a living room with no bedroom. Even though we had also reserved a bedroom. She moved us into a regular king size room, without any discussion as to the availability of an actual suite we which had obviously been trying to reserve. My problem with this is two fold as (1) I felt she was incredibly short and not accommodating at all (my husband and I were traveling with our four year old and two year old) and (2) I am at a loss for why your website would have ever advertised a living room without a bed room. There was no clear mention anywhere that there was no bedroom with this living room. I have stayed at many hotels and booked considerable number of rooms online and I have never experienced anything like this. Onto the next problem, we were moved into a room that had standing water on the floor. Standing water. Thankfully, everyone of the bellhops we encountered at the hotel were outstanding and he helpfully had our room changed and moved all our belonging to it. The restaurant in the hotel is another example of the downfalls of the hotel. The service was nonexistent and our bill was incorrect twice. On an up note the valets were fantastic. They were quick with the car or an apology for the wait, and just generally delightful. My sisters wedding was also well done. We cannot say enough good things about Mustafa. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My experience Didn't know our room was next to a room where a young woman was murdered in 1965. I was somewhat upset about that and I really didn't get a good night's sleep. Overall, I've stayed at this Sheraton before and will do so again, but not on the 6th floor. Also, there was a stinch, sewer smell, maintenance really needs to check that out, all the above was mentioned to clerk when we checked out. September 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location A very nice location and close to many restaurants and shops. The hotel itself has a very nice charm, yet still modern facilities. Great for family or business. September 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool, Historic Hotel The Gunter is a piece of San Antonio history, but that comes with a bit of a price. The rooms are decent sized, but bathrooms a little small. It does have a little bit of a musty smell and the AC runs all the time to keep the room cool. The WiFi would not work on my phone or iPad - - the front desk girl said it would only work on a laptop. I'm not an IT geek, but that just doesn't make sense. Also, SPG Gold really doesn't mean anything anymore (and we are Starwood Vacation Club members). You have to pay extra to get Club Level rooms and access. Doesn't seem right. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST Staff, The PERFECT Hotel Experience Too many words to aptly describe the level of excellence that my family and I experienced during our stay! It was just MAGIC!! From beginning to end! EXTRA SPECIAL emphasis on, and much gratitude to Amy, and Victoria at the Front Desk, as well as Steve, the bellman who so graciously and sweetly welcomed and assisted us upon our arrival! The ENTIRE staff here has been nothing but pleasant smiles, even when just communicating over the phone! We only wish we could have stayed longer. It was our family's first visit to San Antonio, and sadly, it was for a funeral of a loved one. But, as I've said, the experience (because of all of these people who very obviously enjoy and take great pride in their jobs here at this beautifully charming hotel) felt more like a 4 STAR Resort VACATION! Amy, I have to say went so far above and beyond to make us, me specifically, feel welcome, comfortable, appreciated....even uplifted! She very much personalized our experience, and you couldn't ask for better service than that!! THANK YOU, and keep up the GREAT WORK! September 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst experience among all Sheratons we booked two club level rooms but were given two rooms at a lower level floor until we pointed it out. air-conditioning in the room is leaking shampoo, wash and conditioner are not re-filled at all, despite the fact that we left $5 tip at room staff at club lounge are not friendly September 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Berger Wedding Attended wedding at Sheraton, so staying here was convenient, but not worth the price difference compared to staying elsewhere. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasant surprise We originally booked this hotel because of the price and good reviews. We look forward to our next trip to San Antonio as we know exactly where we'll be staying. Your hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely recommend to our friends. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our time was great The hotel is beautiful, clean and the beds are comfortable. The Club Lounge is wonderful. The bathrooms are tight though. That would be my only complaint. The staff is very courteous and knowledgeable. A few blocks from Riverwalk but close enough to all the excitement and far enough from the noise. My family and I had a great time for our first time being in San Antonio. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Great downtown location and the blend of an old hotel with recent refurbishments. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very accomodating The new concierge floor is a key element for me as a business traveler. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't have asked for more! This past weekend we stood at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel for the first time and we couldn't be more pleased with our stay. The customer service was amazing and the quality of service was great! For being such a historic hotel we expected little quirks here and there, nothing that would ruin your stay. We definitely plan to stay here again. Thank you for such great service and making our anniversary trip memorable! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Beautiful Hotel! Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. The best part was that it was pet friendly MIA & Henry are part of our family and we were happy to know we can stay at an elegant hotel and not have to downsize just because we have a pet and for no extra cost. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what my first visit was. Restroom in room to small, couldn't shut door without trouble, outside noise very bad. Bar/restaurant service slow/bad had to hunt them down to pay out., waited at least 20 for someone to come around. Did not receive the AARP discount, nor free parking and breakfast like advertised. August 12, 2014
  • 2015-11-30 T08:33:14.545-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_470, tr_470
  • loc_en_US, sid_1291, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>