Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 461 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I always stay at this hotel whenever I travel to San Antonio and this was the first time I have had a horrible experience. I was not impressed by the staff response to my requests. The room was not as clean as expected. There was mold stains in the grout of the tiles in the shower. The tub would fill up with water while taking a shower. The smoke alarm unit appeared to be hanging instead of being securely attached to the wall. It was just a bad experience overall. Not sure that I'll ever stay there again. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed Room was extremly dusty and not properly cleaned I have pictures to prove this August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Rooms Are Tiny, The Bathrooms Even Worse I have stayed at the Gunter before and I wasn't happy. I had heard it was redone and I decided to give it another try. My room was old, the toilet had to have been 50+ years old. There were long dark hairs (not mine) in the shower. The bed was so close to the desk I could barely use the desk chair. No room to put anything in the bathroom. The door jam looked like it had termites. Perhaps I was just given the worst room in the hotel. The restaurant/bar looked lovely, but I did not have the chance to use. The TV on the workout equipment did not work. There was no water in the workout room. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We had a wonderful time staying at your hotel, it is centrally located and everything is near by. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by gunter review I have stayed at the Gunter many times over the past 20 years so they must do something right. we always have enjoyed the proximity to the river walk, without being on the walk. I will say the front desk staff on this trip was not as caring and accommodating as in the past. To the point at check in I almost turned around and walked out. 4 hours later, after leaving and calling back to confirm the room, "Amy" whom answered was very pleasant and made things right. My first encounter with Elizabeth was terrible. I also noticed that food trays from room service stayed in the hallways as long as 24 hours, not a good example of cleanliness. Over all the bell staff, and valet did an amazing job as usual, and the Café was amazing. We did get shorted towels, however we called and they made things work. We realize it was a busy weekend due to weddings etc, however our opinion is that we had just moved over from the Mokara, on the river walk due to a meeting I had, and they went out of their way to give you that "WOW" felling. I got that in the Café only with the Gunter on this trip July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, could be cleaner Great stay overall with all equipment in good condition and 2 Showtime channels make for good entertainment, but tiled flooring for some reason was not very clean. You can't tell walking around barefoot unless you have sensitive feet or until you go to shower and the black grime comes off in the wet tub. Unfortunately I was too busy with work to use the fitness room or pool. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice Building, Bad Hotel We arrived in the evening and got settled into our room. Ordered room service at 9:45 and were told a 30 minute wait. At 10:43 we received a call from room service that they were out of some of our selections, after reordering and them assuring us that even though our other food was already ready but wouldn't get cold we received our order at 11:10....nothing was hot except for the food that was reordered. The room service staff was full of excuses. They also forgot part of the order. The room never cooled down and stayed quite humid, maintenance came in to try to fix it, banged around on the a/c up in the ceiling, got it cold for about an hour after which we left, when we returned later that evening the room was once again humid and not cold, in fact the sheets felt wet bc of the humidity. We were too tired to argue with the staff about it and choose to tell them in the morning at check-out, the lady acted like she could care less. The restaurant was under staffed and we were sat and then waited for 10 min for someone to come over to get our breakfast orders, eventually got up and walked down the street to bagel shop, which was yummy with great service. Valet service was impeccable, they had our car waiting every time we came down and even helped us clean it out at one point. The hotel itself was beautiful, the staff just isn't attentive and doesn't seem to know what they are doing. Attention to detail is key when in the service industry. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected more First time in SA. As Starwwod owners, this was the first hotel that did not honor a late checkout request. The Restaurant Market on Houston is not ready for prime time. The service was ...odd, the food, bad. On the upside, we realized my husband had left some clothing articles in the closet. We live in Ca. My call was promptly responded to and the clothes were found and are being returned. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Super disappointed I've stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past, but lately the charm has gone. While I miss the old look, I am ok with the new paint and boutiquey look; but the staff seems to have let the new look go to their heads. Not nearly as nice and hospitable as they once were (even though many are the same people). July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunter not what expected! Hotel was not very clean nor spacious enough for comfort. July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Usually dependable but not this time. I have stayed at the Gunter many times. Normally it is great. The Staff is great and I almost always get upgraded to a corner suite. But this time something went wrong. The A/C in room 813/815 (bedroom) did not function properly. the Quesadilla I ordered for room service was terrible (sitting atop blackening lettuce??). And then little things started ticking me off, like why I have to go through 4 independent stations, 3 religious stations, 3 PBS stations, Azteca, Ion and Gala before ever reaching a network station (ABC). Shouldn't those stations be on the back end and the stations people are looking for be first up on the dial?? I think ESPN is like channel 35 or something. Why? And why can I see the unfinished wood supports under the new curtain forms? Could you paint them? And why are the same 4 non-descript pictures (aligned in a little square) in both the bedroom and the living room? And why are the same three meaningless and ugly pictures on the hallway wall repeated again just 30 feet down the hall? And what is the one picture with just some random design? UGLY. Sorry, normally these things wouldn't bother me, but I hate it when things are done halfway. All of those little things at the end are just not paying attention to detail. And why the big revamp of the lobby, but the rooms have the same carpet, chairs, and ugly brown wallpaper? Are you planning to re-do the rooms too? Lastly, the new workout room is nice and roomy -- almost too roomy. Maybe you plan to put in more lifting equipment, or at least some additional weights (other than just dumbells), but more equipment would be nice. The food issue is not new - the Gunter room service has never been great, but it should be at least appetizing to look at. A revamp of that menu would be nice. On the plus side, the lobby re-do is nice and the young lady at the bar was delightful. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff Great staff. The hotel is beautiful. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing! We've had a lot of good experiences at Sheratons, but not this one. We asked for feathers to be removed prior to our arrival-they were not; we took them off the bed and put them in a corner, and they were simply left there by the cleaning staff. The toilet hadn't been checked, and didn't work, which was hugely embarrassing at 5am; and the internet was down, with no estimate for a fix, for the two days we were there, which was a massive work problem. Not impressive, especially for Platinum guests. At least the reception guy on checkout gave us 7,000 points, which at least was something. July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Consider Valet Parking Fee Be advised that there is only Valet Parking available on site at $28.00 per day. The only option is parking in a public parking space at $9.00 per day across the street. Valet Parking is listed as a plus on the website not a near requirement. The only explanation offered was that other hotels do this also. If you have a car, be sure to consider this in your decision to stay here. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our anniversary! During checkin, the staff casually asked the reason for our stay, and I mentioned it was our anniversary. Since we were redeeming points for a free stay, I was pleasantly surprised that we were given a prime corner room on a top floor! We went out for dinner and dancing, and when we returned, the staff (no idea who, or I would mention them by name) had placed a tray with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. What a surprise! My wife thought it was all my idea, so of course I took the credit, but that was such a thoughtful touch by the staff! Please thank them for me. Our Anniversary stay was wonderful! Thank you! The hotel is a 100+ year old landmark, but is nicely renovated and up to date. As you can see, the staff is great, and really makes the difference. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT A GREAT STAY Was here over the weekend with my 3 teenage kids. Requested early check-in by noon and room wasn't ready til after 3pm. Some kind of yellow stains on the conforter. Went to take a shower and there was a used bandaid in the shower, was sure then that the room hadn't been cleaned completly, had housekeeping come up and remove the bandaid. Was told sorry that the lady who cleans normaly was on vacation. Asked for them to coem clean the shower and now one ever showed up. The best part of our trip was the Club access.. Friendly Staff and Food was good and fresh. No I will not be staying here again. Also for the price really needs some inprovements in the bathroon area. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hospitality - Staff goes out of their way We had a splended stay during the July 4th weekend when we stayed at Sheraton Gunter hotel. I had booked three rooms and Victoria, the front desk Manager went out of her way to upgrade all our rooms to club level, with free parking and even extended our check-out time to 6 pm for all the rooms. The rooms have all been upgraded and the lobby is huge and elegant. We all were so happy with our stay that we are going to stay in this hotel every time we visit San Antonio. Thanks Victoria and thanks Sheraton! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great environment and location We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a wonderful mix of old and new. Very clean and pleasant decor. Perfect location to wander the streets of downtown and the Riverwalk. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay Sraff was excellent. Valet attendants very helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Only draw back to our room was room next to AC and ventilation systems....quite loud and made getting to sleep a bit difficult. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by things have changed Loss of Barons restaurant was bad for the hotel. Parking is to expensive. If room was cheaper our stay would be more worth it. Lobby colors went from elegant to blah. July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall not bad The hotel itself is nice. It has lots of historic value and well maintained. At check in I felt rushed though and there wasn't even a line of check-in's, just me. I recommend a little less of getting people rushed through check-in and more time connecting with guests. Judy in the restaurant was extremely nice and very helpful. The food was fantastic as well. One thing that bothered me was the height of the counter that had the bacon, sausage, and potatoes during breakfast. I'm only about 5'6" and the top of the counter was about up to my eyes (it made me feel small). I know this is a historic hotel but I felt more like an employee in my room's bathroom due to the type of toilet and the type of toilet paper. Other than that It was a nice hotel with helpful friendly staff. keep up the good work with the team members! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful & Charming Experience A great place to stay. Lots of history here, each room is unique. The staff upgraded us to the Robert Johnson suite, what an interesting story and room. Great lobby and lounge. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a hotel with character and charm. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problem with noisy neighbors I had to call 3 times on Saturday night starting at 12:26 AM, to report the noisy next door neighbors. The 3rd time I called, the front desk told me that they were having a party and that security gave them a warning. I told him it was 1 o'clock in the morning and my adjoining room door let all the noise into my room and it sounded like there were 100 people in that room. He said he would attend to it himself, and then the noise stopped. Unexceptable July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My review This hotel has historic significance, which is part of its charm, although you don't feel that from the very modern lobby. The bathroom in the room had a certain "industrial" feel to it which was unlike other Starwood properties where I've stayed. In other Starwood hotels, I felt very warm and friendly front desk staffs. The experience here was different. I was also disappointed that when I made my reservation (via phone to SPG). I was told I'd be on a club level for my trip with certain benefits, but there was no club lounge available during my stay. It's a case of missed expectations. The hotel's location is fine--a comfortable walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We ate in the restaurant; the food was good and the staff there was helpful and friendly. I normally don't review hotels, but felt like I needed to with this recent experience. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hot hotel The cooling equipment of this hotel was probably the worst I have experienced in many years. The conference rooms and break out rooms were hot! June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel overall was good Except for the obvious disrepair (ballroom ceiling had fallen in this week), the rooms were updated and very comfortable. Staff was generally very helpful and responsive; one employee at the Houston Market was particularly rude and would not give us a table height table to sit at. Luckily other employees there over compensated for his rudeness and came to our aid. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel is below Sheraton standards. There was a rectangular vacant spot on the wall of our room, which appears to have been a mirror at one time but now is only a discoloration with seven holes in the plaster. There was no refrigerator in the room. The hotel has only something resembling a coffee shop but no real restaurant with a real menu. Glad the Palm and Bohannan's were next door. The staff, especially in the lobby bar, were great. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend stay Close to the River walk attractions. Quiet. We loved the room and the Club Level appetizers. Everyone was very friendly when we arrived. The next morning, club level breakfast was disappointing and there was no one to greet us like the night before. It just wasn't the same quality food or service. could have been an off morning. overall a good experience and would stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very comfortable Had a great stay. The staff was very nice and the room was very comfortable. This hotel is in a great location for leaving the car behind and taking a walk to the river or Alamo. Would stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to relax We live in San Antonio, and have stayed at the Sheraton Gunter several times, just for a getaway. This was our first visit since the renovation was completed. Very, very well done. LOVE the new look, yet still captures the history of the hotel. Location is convenient to Majestic Theatre right across the street, Buckhorn Saloon a block away, riverwalk across the street, and San Fernando Cathedral - a couple of blocks - but a must go to at 9 p.m. for the light show. Fantastic! Joseph in the Club Level made us feel welcome, and went out of his way to make sure all guests were relaxed and taken care of with great appetizers and beverages. Great restaurant and café, and wine bar is really, really nice. ONLY issue we had - at check in I asked for a 4 p.m. checkout since we are Gold members. I was told Starwood had changed their rules recently, and now only Platinum members were given 4 p.m. checkout. The latest for Gold was now 1 p.m. I called Starwood from the room (which was very lovely, by the way) and was told there was no such rule change. I called down to the desk, spoke to the same staff member, and this time she told me it was a rule of Sheraton Gunter - they grant 4 p.m. checkout only to Platinum members. I am calling the hotel manager, Steve Cook, today. Don't agree with "random" hotel rules that violate Starwood policy for members. Other than that, we loved our stay, and will definitely visit the hotel again. June 23, 2014
  • 2015-08-03T19:35:12.896Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_461, tr_461
  • loc_en_US, sid_1291, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>