Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 402 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff in Historic Hotel Lovely old hotel and very friendly, helpful staff. Good location and nice amenities April 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff Service Thank you Reymond for an enjoyable breakfast, your excellent service made my day.! July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL IS GREAT!!!!!!!!! WE ENJOYED OUR STAY THE ROOM WAS GREAT AND THE LOCATION WAS WONDERFUL!!!!! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional service Such a beautiful, classic hotel with classic service - so rare these days. November 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Much better than last time. I enjoyed the larger room and higher floor. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the location and history Short stay but was very nice. Really enjoyed the history of the hotel. October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Historic Hotel Perfect Location for River Walk, downtown San Antonio and shopping. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zero Hotel No closet. No TV reception Starwood Preferred membership a nothing. April 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Staff was wonderful. Hotel is interesting with a great location. January 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff & Amenities Staff members could use a little sensitivity training. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Had a great time. Staff was great!! Room was great!!! August 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location was the most and the people was all nice. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Place to Stay in San Antonio Great place, great location, outstanding staff. June 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coach1983 The hotel is close to sites in San Antonio. December 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by business trip great place to stay, convient location May 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Less is Less Requested early check in. Got to hotel with no record of request. Waited till regular time to check-in. Checked in with my wife and 3 kids to a club room with visible wear and tear, but most disturbingly- a soiled and stained carpet that hadn't been vacuumed for a new arrival. Within minutes of getting into the room my infant picked up a toothpick, a safety pin, a piece of muffin, and assorted shreds of plastic wrappers/paper. The hotel was nice about it in giving us a room upgrade, but the whole process of checking in and moving to another room cut into precious vacation time and left us with an overall impression that this hotel was hanging on a thread. Another example is we called down to make sure there were towels at the pool and was assured there were. We get there- no towels. At least one other family in same predicament. Other dad goes down to front desk to ask to send towels and they say they will send them. At least two other families waiting for towels. Pool isn't that crowded. Swim for 40 minutes but still no towels. Bring the three kids back wet to the room through cold lobby. Ongoing construction in the lobby and what seemed to be minimal staff didn't help. On the positive side all the staff we did find were courteous and apologetic. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel Everything about my stay was great! March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meeting Staff is very friendly and helpful. August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel Good Hotel for meetings 100 - 200 May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gunter Excellent stay -highly recommend July 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff was OUTSTANDING Love the hotel and the location. October 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very friendly staff Comfortable, friendly, & clean. April 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below my Expectation Upon checking in I waited to be recognized for my platinum status, I was not. I mentioned to the woman I'm platinum, when she did recognize me and she said yes I know. I was not told about the internet. I was then asked if I wanted points or a movie. The room was definitely NOT an upgrade. It was old, dingy, needed paint and the shades were very dusty. The desk chair showed much wear beyond the leather. The plate of salad I had in the bar the evening I checked in had stains on it and I had to send it back to be cleaned. The following morning at breakfast the waiter brought me cold coffee in a pot half full clearly used by another guest. The oatmeal was also cold and had to be sent back to be reheated. The put in the microwave instead of dishing a new bowl. There were two small towels left in the bathroom, the bathroom had no fan and the shower curtain smelled of mold. The toilet was institutional, without a seat. The best came when checking out at 4:00 am on a Sunday, no other guests in site, the gentlemen at the desk never said two words to me, not a thanks, not a how was your stay, nor was I asked if I wanted those points, since clearly I did not watch a movie. I stood in the lobby waiting for the very nice valet and the desk clerk went back in his office while I stood there alone at 4:00 am. January 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Impressed My usual Four Points was booked for the evening, so on a lark, I decided to try this property. It's a beautiful old building in an interesting and fun part of San Antonio. That being said, my room was not up to snuff. I arrived very late from having been on the road all day, so I really didn't take the time to look the room over before bed. The next morning, being the coldest morning of the year thus far, i went to the thermostat to turn up the heat a little and found the control plate ripped off and unusable. Ok, so no big deal. Then I noticed that there was a lot of long brown hairs everywhere in the bathroom (certainly not mine) and that the tub was dirty as well. Being in a rush, I figured i would just put up with it and get moving. However, there was no hot water when I turned the shower on, very little pressure and the tub drained very slowly. Not a comfortable experience. This being said, the beds are comfortable and I did get a continental breakfast in the lounge. I also mentioned the problem with the bathroom when i checked out and the desk attendent removed my 28 dollar valet charge, which I appreciated. If you want to stay in a grand old hotel in the middle of it all, Hotel Gunter will do just fine, but I prefer the modern conveniences of a Four Points where the internet, parking and water bottles are free. I won't be back to this property. November 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location and a mixed bag of service I waited a few weeks before writing this review to let things soak in. I stayed with my family over a long weekend in February with my family. We had 2 rooms. The stay started out well and the service at the front desk was wonderful. They were helpful in finding us 2 rooms close (although not adjoining as requested) and were able to get a couple of roll-aways to accommodate as well. The location is also great to explore San Antonio in the riverwalk/Alamo area. The lobby is very cool looking and has a lot of character. Other than that though, the hotel really is lacking. Our bathroom was small and cramped. There was little space to put your toiletries. The mirror was cracked, the shower is made for someone who is less than 5 feet tall and had a draining problem. The furniture in the room was falling apart in many cases and the noise from the street was really loud. Finally, the cap it off we used the club lounge and on Monday morning February 18th I had one of the rudest examples of SPG service ever. We had gone in there with our kids like normal who really love the club lounge and are generally well behaved. The person managing the room was so incredibly rude it is hard to described. Rolling his eyes, ignoring our group, not responding to polite requests for items to be refilled, etc. That guy really needs a lesson in etiquette. So, in summary, good location, rooms that need updating, and service that needs some help. March 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunther San Antonio This is an older hotel that is in need of some restoration. Beautiful hotel with some truly great ambiance; however, during my recent stay I was disappointed with a couple of issues. First, the desk chair in my room was shedding the faux leather covering so badly that it was not possible to sit in it without the material sticking to my shirt. When I contacted the front desk regarding this matter they indicated they woul replace my desk chair, but such never occurred during my three night stay. Perhaps they planned to do this and failed to do so because housekeeping never serviced my room the day after I inquired about a replacement desk chair. I called the front desk the first day of my stay about the desk chair issue; and no housekeeping service was provided on day two of my stay. When I contacted the front desk about no housekeeping service having been provided I was advised that such would be provided shortly, but alas after returning from dinner my room had not seen any housekeeping services. Front desk staff seemed to be unresponsive in addressing needs I made them aware of. I was attending a conference at this hotel and stayed at this location because it was the host hotel for the conference. I would not recommend this hotel based upon my experience and would encourage the association that selected this hotel for their host location to look elsewhere in San Antonio in the future. Disappointed in attentiveness to issues by front desk. However, the bed was incredibly comfortable and room was quiet. October 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by NICE HISTORIC HOTEL!!!!! I stayed here with a friend of mine. Finding the hotel is easy however, they charge $28 dollars to park in their parking lot per night or you can valet for $30 bucks a night which, personally, i think is a litle steep. We parked at a parking garage that is owned by the city for $14 bucks for every 24 hrs. Upon checking in, we were greeted by Marc, who took very good care of us upon checking in. My friend went to her room and I went to mine. Upon walking into the room I noticed that the room was a little warm, but at that particular time I didnt put too much thought into it because since there room was previously vacant, I assumed that the hotel turned the A/C up to a certain point where it would come on at a later time. The room was very nice, bed was very comfortable and the pillows were to die for. Once my friend and I got into our hotels rooms we decided to sightsee. Upon returning to th hotel several hours later, I noticed that it was still quite warm in my room but I thought that since I had been walking around for several hours and came back hot that was maybe the reason why. I went to bed for the evening and woke up around 2am because it was so hot in the room that I couldnt take it. I called down to the front desk and told them about the situation and they moved me right away to a antoher room which was two doors down. Since there was an issue with the previous room the hotel provdied a free breakfast voucher for me to use which I was greatful for. The food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious!!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will be staying with the Sheraton again in the future. December 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Sheraton Standards I chose this hotel mainly because of my SPG Membership. The hotel is in the historic part of San Antonio and the lobby is Art Deco which is very nice, However the room that I was allocated on the Club Floor (not an upgrade I might state) I had views of Air Conditioning Ducts next door rather than those of the city. When I later asked for a different room I was told that I could go down to the lower Non Club Floor but not given a different room on the same floor. The room was rather bland and for an art deco hotel the room is rather featureless with not a hint of "Art Deconess" the furniture is ordinary and shown no signs of "classicism" The bed was comfortable nevertheless. The air-conditioning is very loud and periodic with a sudden "blast" of AC coming out every 5-10 minutes and certainly wakes you up at night. The bathroom is very small and very basic. The shower over bath I am sure has caused many elbow injuries as the useless vertical iron "rail" is too close to the showerhead and in my opinion serves no purpose except to cause elbow damage. There were no slippers provided in the room and not that I needed the minibar, it had been ripped out of one of the cabinets of the room. The maid service was disappointing and at least on 3 occasions when I returned to the room by 4-5 pm the room had not been made up and had to go to reception and wait to have the room made up. The Club Lounge served very basic continental breakfast and no hot dishes in the morning. The evening "refreshments" were also basic and usually only one "warm" dish. Also the hotel is not very close to the convention centre nor to the river-walk area. Somewhat disappointing stay at the hotel I must say. December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Relaxing Weekend at the Gunter The Sheraton Gunter is a wonderful historical building who's staff is very proud of her. Although the hotel is currently going through some renovations in the lobby and restaurant, the crew is usually done between 4pm-5pm. We didn't hear any noise at least on the club floor. From the valet attendants to the Managers of the hotel everyone was friendly, approachable and great historians of this beautiful hotels. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the corner rooms on the club floor. The room had windows all the way around and shutters that opened for a view down St Mary's street. The room was spacious and the bed was super comfy. We could see the IBC plaza and Riverwalk. The Riverwalk is right across the street with an entrance right to the Riverwalk. If you stay here I suggest paying for the upgrade to the club floor. You will not be disappointed. The club lounge is comfy and Benjamin, the club lounge host keeps it well stocked with water, soda and snacks during the day. The continental breakfast is simple and nice but the evening appetizers are very nice with several options. They also offer several complementary options of wine & beer. The pool was another feature I liked. Although it's not very big it was very inviting and refreshing after a hot day of visiting the missions. The building blocks the afternoon sun so it a wonderful oasis of shade to catch up on reading and getting some fresh air. Two of my favorite staff members were Elizabeth (front desk associate) and Benjamin (club lounge host) . Both always had a smile on their faces and willing to make our stay special. If you make it down to San Antonio, think about giving the Sheraton Gunter a try. I hope you find it as charming as we did. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping and front desk needs improvement! Sales staff was great in setting up our conference, but I felt that the hotel was below Sheraton's usual standards. When I asked someone to come pick up some laundry so that I wouldn't have to get dressed to take it down one morning, I was rudely told that I would have to bring it down myself...that they had no one available and that it was "customary for the guests to have it down to the front desk before 9 am."(It was 8:40 am and had to be in by 9 am). When I took it down, there were 2 people at the desk , no guests waiting for service, the bell hop was at his station, and there was an employee vacuuming the carpet. I also took a couple of items down before 9 am a couple of days later, which were supposed to be delivered back to the room by 6 pm. At 6:45 pm that night, I had to call the desk and have them find the items and send them up. The ice machine was out on our floor, and I was told they didn't know when it would be repaired (a part had been ordered). My room keys became de-magnitized several times during my stay and had to be replaced each time. It's very frustrating to be locked out of your room several times during a 6 night stay. The Club Lounge was open for snacks 24 hrs, but had no milk available for coffee, tea, or the provided cookies or cake. The Club Lounge staff, however, was very friendly. We also loved the gentleman at the bell desk.Housekeeping left dirty glasses in the room for 3 days, and did not replace the dirty glasses next to the ice bucket or in the bathroom.The liner in the ice bucket was not replaced 3 out of 6 nights. At lunch, an associate found lipstick marks on his napkin. Although we loved the history and character of this grand old hotel, some of the staff seems to be in need of further training in hospitality and service. September 20, 2012
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 next>>