Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 414 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Great downtown location and the blend of an old hotel with recent refurbishments. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't have asked for more! This past weekend we stood at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel for the first time and we couldn't be more pleased with our stay. The customer service was amazing and the quality of service was great! For being such a historic hotel we expected little quirks here and there, nothing that would ruin your stay. We definitely plan to stay here again. Thank you for such great service and making our anniversary trip memorable! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Beautiful Hotel! Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. The best part was that it was pet friendly MIA & Henry are part of our family and we were happy to know we can stay at an elegant hotel and not have to downsize just because we have a pet and for no extra cost. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst experience among all Sheratons we booked two club level rooms but were given two rooms at a lower level floor until we pointed it out. air-conditioning in the room is leaking shampoo, wash and conditioner are not re-filled at all, despite the fact that we left $5 tip at room staff at club lounge are not friendly September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our anniversary! During checkin, the staff casually asked the reason for our stay, and I mentioned it was our anniversary. Since we were redeeming points for a free stay, I was pleasantly surprised that we were given a prime corner room on a top floor! We went out for dinner and dancing, and when we returned, the staff (no idea who, or I would mention them by name) had placed a tray with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. What a surprise! My wife thought it was all my idea, so of course I took the credit, but that was such a thoughtful touch by the staff! Please thank them for me. Our Anniversary stay was wonderful! Thank you! The hotel is a 100+ year old landmark, but is nicely renovated and up to date. As you can see, the staff is great, and really makes the difference. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Berger Wedding Attended wedding at Sheraton, so staying here was convenient, but not worth the price difference compared to staying elsewhere. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Geat This was a great experience. The SPG club is fabulous and the attended was right on top of everything. The front Desk people were amazing. The hotel is beautiful and immaculately maintained January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by True San Antonio Experience When you travel for work and stay at chains you sometimes wake up and forget what city you are in. Not so with the Gunter. This is a great historic hotel with uniquely decorated rooms. The staff is consistently friendly, efficient and ready to assist with whatever you may need. Because of this I frequently stay at the Gunter when in town for business, Fiesta events, or concerts at the Majestic and Empire theaters. All are within walking distance and you avoid the hassle of post event traffic. Plus you can grab a quick nightcap at Barrons which has a beautiful antique bar. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Old Historic Property With GREAT STAFF Sheraton Gunter is a beautiful old historic property, wonderfully restored. The location is superb, a block from the Riverwalk and walkable to all the downtown sites. Staff is outstanding, exceeding expectations in every respect. The front desk, concierge, reastaurant staff and bell staff were ready and willing to do all they could to make our stay the best it could be. They only criticism might be that the street noise at times was an issue, but ear plugs were provided in the bathroom and only were needed for a very brief time one evening. We thoroughly enjoyed evverything about the Gunter. If you want a cookie cutter hotel, this is not for you, but if you want to enjoy old world flavor, the Gunter is exceptional. December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room 620 (636) Very interesting room..... I will be back!!! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to relax We live in San Antonio, and have stayed at the Sheraton Gunter several times, just for a getaway. This was our first visit since the renovation was completed. Very, very well done. LOVE the new look, yet still captures the history of the hotel. Location is convenient to Majestic Theatre right across the street, Buckhorn Saloon a block away, riverwalk across the street, and San Fernando Cathedral - a couple of blocks - but a must go to at 9 p.m. for the light show. Fantastic! Joseph in the Club Level made us feel welcome, and went out of his way to make sure all guests were relaxed and taken care of with great appetizers and beverages. Great restaurant and café, and wine bar is really, really nice. ONLY issue we had - at check in I asked for a 4 p.m. checkout since we are Gold members. I was told Starwood had changed their rules recently, and now only Platinum members were given 4 p.m. checkout. The latest for Gold was now 1 p.m. I called Starwood from the room (which was very lovely, by the way) and was told there was no such rule change. I called down to the desk, spoke to the same staff member, and this time she told me it was a rule of Sheraton Gunter - they grant 4 p.m. checkout only to Platinum members. I am calling the hotel manager, Steve Cook, today. Don't agree with "random" hotel rules that violate Starwood policy for members. Other than that, we loved our stay, and will definitely visit the hotel again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY NICE SHERATON HOTEL Best location in downtown San Antonio ,with walking distance for cafés, restaurants, mall, Riverwalk,etc... Professional staff . They just renovate most areas, like the lobby, restaurant and bar, Club Floor and Platinum SPG lounge, and rooms. Remember that is a 100 year hotel, with a lot of history behind the walls. Good rest and sleep quality. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff, Pleasantly Historical Hotel This hotel was built in the very early 1900s. They have done a great job of keeping in touch with the historical roots of the building. It is conveniently located right downtown. There is plenty of parking across the street if you choose not to go with the valet parking. If you opt for valet parking they have implemented a text based program, which makes retrieving your car extremely painless. The renovations to the lobby and club lounge are now complete. Amazing. The lobby looks great, and the club lounge is huge! This property is the best of the SPG options in town. The touch of old San Antonio and a great staff make it an easy choice. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Riverwal location, very clean & historic building I am in sales and cover San Antonio and this is my place of choice. I really love the history behind this hotel and it is a walk back in time. With that note, please know the bathrooms are small. Some of the rooms are small. If you have ever traveled to Europe or visited historic buildings, you know they were smaller than we are used to today. I've stayed at many hotels in S.A. and most of the rooms are this size. Why stay at a cookie cutter hotel, same old, same old? Try this place. Parking is a little pricey at $28 for valet (only option), but they are fast and your car stays safe & covered. You want your car covered out of the Texas sun. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very accomodating The new concierge floor is a key element for me as a business traveler. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service & tradition This is probably the most positive hotel experience I've had in two decades. The hotel knew that I was in town for a special occasion, which they recognized up on my arrival. Both the GM and the Director of Rooms introduced themselves upon check in. Today, so many hotels focus on hitting the minimum threshold, which they see as points and minimum benefits per the loyalty program. This classic hotel's team focuses instead on guest recognition and guest needs. There are a ton of hotel options in San Antonio, but I will only choose the Gunter in the future. Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment, which looks gorgeous. Great location and well-appointed hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location cannot be better Travelled with my in laws + 4 year old daughter and at the end of our trip we all could not be happier. 2 doors away from the Children Museum 1 block away from a river walk entrance and 5 minutes away walking distance from everything we wanted to visited or take a tour for. This is the 3rd hotel we have stayed in the river walk area and by far the less noisy and take in account that it was Fiesta time.Due to our status we had access to the Business Lounge which was great May 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by surprised On all my trips to San Antonio I had never used this hotel and I hesitated because it had a low star rating? What a delight--the lobby was great, my room was large, well decorated and had real wood shutters! My dinner one night was a sandwich in the bar very late and all was very good. The front desk representative who checked me in was the most delightful friendly person I have met at a front desk in over 40 years of traveling--Victoria! I will definitely return here. January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This hotel will take your breath away when you walk through the doors! The colors and style are simply amazing. The rooms are a nice size and even with four of us in the room we never felt cramped. You might want to ask for a "room with a view", as we looked at the other wall of the hotel rooms and it was very unattractive. Every staff member I came in contact with greeted me warmly and always inquired on how my stay was going. I found that to be a nice touch. Parking is expensive at the hotel, but we parked int he public garage just across the street for much less and it worked out fine. The hotel is within walking distance of just about anything you might want to do or see. I highly recommend this hotel! August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Hotel With Character "They don't build them this way anymore", is the best way to describe the Sheraton Gunter. A grand hotel with ageless architecture which is carefully and well-maintained. The hotel's staff is as friendly and customer oriented as any that I have met. Restaurant and room service provide excellent food. I would stay here again. Thanks for your fine service and hospitality. March 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Rooms Are Tiny, The Bathrooms Even Worse I have stayed at the Gunter before and I wasn't happy. I had heard it was redone and I decided to give it another try. My room was old, the toilet had to have been 50+ years old. There were long dark hairs (not mine) in the shower. The bed was so close to the desk I could barely use the desk chair. No room to put anything in the bathroom. The door jam looked like it had termites. Perhaps I was just given the worst room in the hotel. The restaurant/bar looked lovely, but I did not have the chance to use. The TV on the workout equipment did not work. There was no water in the workout room. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Security Security personnel are non-existent at this hotel. Had two ladies fighting in the hallway (club level). Called security repeatedly, and they did not come and do anything about it. Over 30 minutes of listening to them cursing & swearing right outside our door. Lasted until past midnight. Across the hall, guests had left a dog in the room. The dog barked non-stop all night. Again, security refused to address the situation. They actually had the nerve to get upset with another guest in our hall at 3AM, asking the other guest what they expected the hotel to do. Totally unacceptable behavior for a hotel of this caliber. November 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference at the Gunter Outstanding service and food. Could not have been better. April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Atmosphere I have stayed at many hotels but non with the ambience that the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio has. I don't know if it's the historic building or it's employees or both. Whatever it is, it's the best hotel and my entire family's favorite hotel. The moment you walk in, you feel relaxed at at ease. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Halloween with the kids Had a great weekend at the hotel with the kids. This was our 3rd visit to the property. Decided to upgrade to the club level and just loved Ben!! He was awesome and so friendly and gave us information to resturants in the area. Good Job Ben cant wait to visit again!! November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff, Location, and Atmosphere I stayed for only one night in a gorgeous suite here. I used an upgrade request, and boy, did it pay off. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very accommodating, and the whole look and feel of the hotel was spectacular. I was born and raised in San Antonio, so this is the first time I've stayed at such a grand hotel in this city. The location was in a prime area, so although parking was a little high for my taste, we were able to walk anywhere we needed to go. My only complaint would be the small bathrooms in the room, but this is an old building, so I won't deduct points for that. It was by no means unclean, just on the small side for 4 girls staying in one room. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio This hotel was wonderful. Beautifully restored historic hotel with very professional staff, clean rooms and nice extras. Centrally located in downtown--only mintues to Riverwalk and The Alamo. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay Sraff was excellent. Valet attendants very helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Only draw back to our room was room next to AC and ventilation systems....quite loud and made getting to sleep a bit difficult. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Years Brought in the new yr at your hotel and I enjoyed my stay. Friendly staff and rooms were very welcoming. I will definitely be visting with my family there again soon. Thank you January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great environment and location We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a wonderful mix of old and new. Very clean and pleasant decor. Perfect location to wander the streets of downtown and the Riverwalk. July 5, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>