Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 446 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Cool Hotel I've really enjoyed by two stays here when coming to San Antonio for business. The hotel is in a very cool historic building that they are in the process of renovating. Great looking lobby. Slight dust and work noises, but nothing much really. Once they are totally done, it's going to be one sharp looking hotel. The front desk is always very friendly, outgoing and seem to genuinely want to help make your stay great. Located a short walk from the Riverwalk and other attractions. If you are not RIGHT on the Riverwalk,this is a great place to stay. I also enjoy the bar as well. Friendly bartenders that pour good drinks and are good with conversation. This is def my go to place when coming to San Antonio. November 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I gave one star because I had to The room was very drafty - I don't think there was any insulation at all around our room. We could hear the neighbors coughing through the night and his electric razor the next morning. The hotel stank - smelled very musty - like there had been a flood and not properly cleaned and dried. The carpet in our room was filthy. We requested a king size room - I spoke with Jason prior to our arrival and he confirmed that our reservation was for a king size deluxe room. When we arrived, we received a room with two queen beds. We called down to the front desk and spoke with Amy. She was very irritated that she had to deal with our situation because in her words, "I'm off the clock!" As it turned out, a gentleman traveling alone in our group had received a king room and he traded with us - therefore not causing Amy any more grief because she was being inconvenienced. We came with the group of dancers and cheer squads for the Alamo Bowl. The food that was served to these young women, who are by definition very much athletes, was horrendous. We/they were served a cold soggy egg burrito for breakfast and a cold sandwich for lunch the first day - lunch didn't include a beverage. The second day the athletes were served a biscuit sandwich and a poor excuse for a Caesar salad (which consisted mostly of lettuce with less than an ounce of chicken) again without a beverage. This was the last meal these athletes received prior to their performance in the Alamo Bowl - we were with them for the game, rode back on the same bus which arrived after 11:00 pm that night. Thankfully, we were able to provide our granddaughter a hot meal from another facility prior to departing for the Alamo Bowl. Other girls who were traveling with a chaperone didn't have that luxury. Most places that include breakfast and lunch in their program provide a healthy buffet with a variety of foods - I guess you're not most places. Needless to say, I will not be staying at your facility again and will recommend others to find different lodging should they be visiting San Antonio. With the exception of Amy, the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful .... this is the only positive to our visit. Actually, the reservation number above was for an additional night to our stay with the Worldstrides Heritage Group. We had planned on staying over and celebrating New Year's Eve in San Antonio - but the room was so horrid, we decided to travel back home instead. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Classic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio The Sheraton Gunter Hotel is a classic with the beautiful entry and lobby one expects to find in a historical hotel located in old San Antonio. The rooms, service and food are great and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located across from the old Majestic Theater and is within easy walking distance of everything you want to see and do such as The RiverWalk, Alamo, and great restaurants. A Trolley will take you to the Mexican Market for about 25cents! Unless you want to go to the beautiful shopping malls you can park your car in the hotel lot and forget it. We come to San Antonio for 1 or 2 nights often and always stay at the Gunter. There is a nice Club Room on the 12th Floor with good wines and food. July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! I love the charm and character of this older hotel. Bed was comfy, linens were great, hotel staff exhibited that great Texas hospitality. I'm looking forward to staying here again. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel allows pets This was my second time staying at this hotel and I believe it was even better the second time around! The staff is always so friendly and helpful. I was allowed to bring my dog, which took off a load of stress since I didn't have to board him. The staff was even friendly towards my dog! We were there seeing the Blue Man Group and the hotel was right across the street from the Majestic Theater. Talk about convienience. It was a very pleasant stay. I will definately go back to the Gunter Hotel and recommend it to my friends. February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic hotel near San Antonio's River Walk This hotel has lots of history in and around its location which is situated just a few blocks (short walk) from the Alamo. However, because of the Gunter's status as an historic hotel, renovations have been limited in some areas - bathrooms are smaller than those found in more modern hotels and standard room sizes tend to be somewhat smaller as well. The staff was great. The hotel was under renovation during our stay which likely took away from some of the finer points the hotel has to offer. There is a pool but it was not heated while we were there even though the website info said it was...there is also a "whiirlpooll" (not to be confused with a hot tub) but it was not working properly and barely functioned...if you didn't mind the water being cold. $28 valet daily parking can add up, too. October 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for our trip The Sheraton Gunter fit our plans almost perfectly for our recent trip to San Antonio. Ideally located for any of the multiple opportunities the downtown offers (the Alamo, the Riverwalk, the theater district), the hotel served as a great launching point for our plans. The room was spacious, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the privacy was excellent. We would most definitely stay there again. The only drawback was that the pool is not ideally placed to enjoy any sunshine. March 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Free" bottled water First time I had stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel this past weekend (for 37th Wedding Anniversary). I had every intention of writing a very positive review, along with sure-fire plans to again stay at this facility. But not after just receiving my final bill with a $2.17 charge for water. SAY WHAT?!?! Turns out you camouflage a chargeable bottle of water into looking like one of the two free 2 bottles that are clearly complimentary. Instead of simply not putting a 3rd bottle in the room that has a fee, or putting bright red warnings that the 3rd bottle that it is NOT free, you no doubt plan to re-coup 500% of the two free bottles by hood-winking your guests into thinking the 3rd one is free also, and then charging them. Yes, it is only $2.17. But i won't tolerate such a blatant nickel & dime scheme. There are several other SPG choices in San Antonio for a Gold-For-Life member like myself to choose from such that I will never have to give the Sheraton Gunter Hotel my devoted SPG business again. How's your business plan working now??!! November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My experience Didn't know our room was next to a room where a young woman was murdered in 1965. I was somewhat upset about that and I really didn't get a good night's sleep. Overall, I've stayed at this Sheraton before and will do so again, but not on the 6th floor. Also, there was a stinch, sewer smell, maintenance really needs to check that out, all the above was mentioned to clerk when we checked out. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Supreme Service I chose this hotel to propose to my girlfriend. The hotel staff was so accomidating. They helped me with every step of my proposal. Brandon (the night auditor) helped me early in the morning (at the end of his shift) toe notes on 3 dozen roses. Thurston (the bellman) took my inital call and was excited to help, and was there to help tie on notes as well. Every night when we would return to the hotel, the staff would approach us with excitement. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historical Hotel and Great Service Great experience with front desk. Stayed twice. Once we tried to check in early. The room was not ready, so we went to the Gunter Bakery to eat lunch (great food) and Chris came and brought us our keys. Next time it was very busy. We had a connecting room which was not yet ready, but Amy came up to our room when it was ready and brought the keys. She even checked the key to make sure it worked on both rooms. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our time was great The hotel is beautiful, clean and the beds are comfortable. The Club Lounge is wonderful. The bathrooms are tight though. That would be my only complaint. The staff is very courteous and knowledgeable. A few blocks from Riverwalk but close enough to all the excitement and far enough from the noise. My family and I had a great time for our first time being in San Antonio. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel We stayed at this hotel because it was in the SPG program and it was across the street from the Majestic Theater where we saw a performance the night of our stay. The room was very large and so was the bathroom. The bar was very cozy and the staff was great. I was disappointed to find out that I couldn't get any SPG points because I booked it through hotel.com. Otherwise, I recommend it to anyone. November 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could Have Been Great! Lobby, Cafe, and Bar area were great. This is a historic hotel with alot of charm! Ended up staying in two rooms. 1st room had dirty comforters with stains, and old bathroom with mildew on the bathtub. Second room had a leaking HVAC system that cracked the ceiling and had water dripping into my waste basket until maintenance fixed the issue. Would have loved to give the hotel a higher rating! October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Consider Valet Parking Fee Be advised that there is only Valet Parking available on site at $28.00 per day. The only option is parking in a public parking space at $9.00 per day across the street. Valet Parking is listed as a plus on the website not a near requirement. The only explanation offered was that other hotels do this also. If you have a car, be sure to consider this in your decision to stay here. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in San Antone I stayed at the Gunter for the first time last week. Outstanding hotel in an outstanding location next to the River Walk. All of the hotel staff were excellent from check-in to check-out. My room was superb - roomy and comfortable. Excellent access to computers both in the Club and in the lobby. The Gunter is a classic hotel from another era that truly stands out in downtown San Antonio! May 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel I loved this hotel! The only issue we had was a noisy baby next door and the hotel immediately moved us to a quieter room. The bed was incredibly soft & fluffy. I loved the history of the hotel. All the holiday decorations were gorgeous. The location was close to the Riverwalk and downtown attractions. There is a Starbucks right across the street. Score!! :) December 1, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Be Careful Hotel is decent, however it appears they have no quarems with ditching your reservations for better opportunities, even when everything is sold out. Mon - Thurs reservation (SPG Lifetime Gold Member). Flight was canceled, called hotel and said I still need Tuesday - Thurs, I've seen the past hotels may cancel reservations when this happens. I said "do not cancel my reservation, how can you assure me I will have a reservation Tues - Thurs?" Lady said, I'm 100% positive, we will not cancel. Emailing and noting in profile. Called on Tuesday, reservation was canceled AND they decided to charge me. They get 2 starts because they removed the charge when I called. This practice frustrates me as frequent traveler. There was a conference in town and everywhere was sold out. It's clear they could easily back fill my reservation, they chose to leave me on the street so they could be assured an extra buck in case I didn't arrive on Tuesday. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunther recently stayed at the Gunther which is a great hotel EXCEPT for something they are doing. THEY ARE MODERNIZING and changing the architecture of this historic hotel. WHY??? They painted all the gorgeous varnish woodwork white and are adding shade around the gorgeous chandeliers in the lobby. WHY ?? you all need to fire your architect !! December 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic hotel with character. The Sheraton Gunter has been our choice for a hotel when we are staying in downtown San Antonio. The location is great with the Riverwalk, Majestic Theater and restaurants a short walk away. The bathrooms are small, but the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We have been regular guests at this hotel when we travel to San Antonio. December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely experience altogether We only stayed one night but we were treated like royalty. We so appreciated the little details and customer service. There were only two things that we thought were less than awesome, and that was the price of parking and the fact that the club lounge had no service on weekends. Isn't that when most people travel? Seems an odd policy. March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Beautiful Hotel! Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. The best part was that it was pet friendly MIA & Henry are part of our family and we were happy to know we can stay at an elegant hotel and not have to downsize just because we have a pet and for no extra cost. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasant surprise We originally booked this hotel because of the price and good reviews. We look forward to our next trip to San Antonio as we know exactly where we'll be staying. Your hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely recommend to our friends. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful historical hotel in best location with fabulous staff From the valet parking staff to the front desk, housekeeping, concierge level and bartending staff, couldn't ask for more professional, expert service. Great recommendations for places to eat, visit in San Antonio. Location is perfect to visit any part of the city. I love historic hotels, this is one of the best. January 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Gunter Sheraton meets all needs The Hotel staff was wonderful. Cheerful greetings and smiles made my family feel welcomed. We had some special requests and the staff accommodated every one. Rooms were spacious and enjoyed the history associated with this historic building/hotel. Great location--walking distance to all riverwalk attractions. February 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check In I checked in late and was never recognized as a Platinum member. My room was over a very busy area so sleeping was difficult. I went downstairs the next morning and an amazing front desk person named Amy changed my room and took very good care of me. It redeemed my stay and I will return thanks to her! February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great except for the bathtub. Our stay was great, nice and helpful staff. Our only complaint is the bathtub non slip mat, I would prefer the type that is fixed with suction cups so that it can be easily removed and/or cleaned. Otherwise it should be checked regularly, to verify that it is properly fixed to the tub. May 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need renovation The toilet in our room had mold around the rim of the inside. The carpet was dirty and old and needed to be replaced. The air conditioner was loud. The room was very noisy with street noise which is why we found ear plugs next to our sink. Hotel is very tired and needs upgrading. March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful & Charming Experience A great place to stay. Lots of history here, each room is unique. The staff upgraded us to the Robert Johnson suite, what an interesting story and room. Great lobby and lounge. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a hotel with character and charm. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by magical at Christmas time A wonderful location, close to everything we wanted to do. The wi-fi was a problem, kept dropping off my laptop, and it seems unfair to want to charge a separate fee for each device, i.e. laptop, smartphone, ipad. OVera;; we loved this fine, historic hotel. December 8, 2011
  • 2015-03-28T18:10:03.936-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_446, tr_446
  • loc_en_US, sid_1291, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>