Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique relative à l’âge requis

Les hôtes doivent être âgés d’au moins 21 ans pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 411 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Renovations" ruined this historial hotel This is the very worse we have ever seen in 'renovations'. The beautiful lobby shown on the website is no longer in existance. All of the beautiful wood has been painted stark white. The beautiful chandaliers have been covered. They have taken all of the beauty out of everything in the lobby. There was no respect given to the history of this property. We will not return again and will no longer recommend it as one of the most beautiful hotels in San Antonio. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Metropolitan Hotel Gorgeous hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. It is old world with an art deco touch. The room was spacious (two queen size beds). The restaurant downstairs (Market On Houston) was phenomenal. I had the Napoli flatbread pizza. The hotel had a "South Beach" feel and just a block away from the Riverwalk. You will not be disappointed with your stay. June 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel did not meet my expectations for the price. The Valet and front desk personnel were courteous and helpful. The room was dirty when I arrived and there was hair in the bathtub. The heat didn't work and I could not get the room warmer than 65. The following day housekeeping did not replace the coffee or breakfast menu. Other than that they cleaned well. Barron's food was just not very good. One evening I was told that I could not order from the menu that the buffet was my only option. I relented and fixed my plate. Then they took menus to the table in front of me. I was leaving and not going to pay for my meal. Service was just not up to par. April 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rating Of Sheraton Gunter Hotel For the price of 1 day at the hotel...it was ridiculous for the pricing. The rooms weren't the greatest. The bathrooms were dirty. The tub had a mat in it with a black ring around it. Around the knobs in the sink were nasty. Toilet nasty. Showers walls dirty with grit all in them. Hated the carpet in the hallways, very hard to pull luggage. Just basically not what we expected especially when coming from the Westin. Didn't really get a good nights sleep...walls paper thin and could here toilets flushing all throughout the night and loud people in the hallway. Glad we only had to stay for one night. February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Recommend stay somewhere else First of all, good luck with finding this hotel if you are an out of town traveler. Second, when I got to my room, I remembered why I stopped staying at the Sheraton. This hotel is sooo old that it is ridiculous. I was afraid to use the bathroom! I was afraid the elevator would stop on me. They charge for valet parking and neglect to tell you that there is no other parking. My Internet services were crappy at best and I was up all night because of the noise from the hallway and downtown. I am a small person and the bathroom made me feel claustrophobic so I can only imagine someone of avg height and weight would feel. The staff was wonderful but even they cannot compensate for this hotel. March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great meeting The entire staff was extremely helpful and all my attendees had a great time. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant The Sheraton Gunter Hotel has a charming antique feel, with enough modern amenities to make it easy to forget that the building is over 100 years old. Victoria, at the front desk, made our stay especially memorable by upgrading the rooms at check-in. The only negative experience of the stay occurred during checkout- to no fault of the hotel staff. Another guest was attempting to check-in early (11:30A.M.) and his room was not yet ready. His puerile fit of impatience only highlighted the helpful nature of the front desk agent, who attempted to switch him into another room for immediate check-in. February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipped...but Recovered Initial visit to this hotel found room provided us was already in use, as we opened the door to go in for a rest after a long drive. Immediately headed back to desk for new room and noted wife being a travel agent was not impressed so far. Staff provided another room and it was acceptable. Towels for such a hotel were not very thick..but size okay. Did not get hand towels on second night....which we would expect...every night, so had to improvise. We have to come back to San Antonio in Nov and Dec...as son is in US Air Force Reserve, should I stay with you again......? Need a good reason sure. October 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shocked I have made it a personal preference to stay in Starwood hotels whenever possible, however, this hotel should be demolished. My room had cigarette burned carpeting, stained carpets, and mold in the bathrooms. To make matters worse, this was for a room on the club level floor. While eating at the hotel restaurant, the food was cold, the menu was the same each evening, a pasta buffett. Overall, it is by far the worst hotel I have stayed at in years. I will never stay there again, and I will make sure that if anyone asks me about the accomodations, I will recomend that they stay elsewhere. December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great experience After traveling overseas, I have been jaded on hotels and the services offered. This hotel renewed my enthusiasm for travel. The room was huge and the temperature easily controlled. The bed was more than comfortable. The hot water and the water pressure more than ample. The location made for easy access to public transportation. The guest services personnel gave recommendations for great restaurants and places to see. Room service was fast; the food arrived hot and the portions were more than ample and tasted good. The gift shop had everything and a drugstore is less than a block away. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time in San Antonio! We had a wonderful time in San Antonio, the staff was very friendly and if you are not a club member, you definitley should join! The continental breakfast, availabilty of beverages and evening hours were a wonderful addition to our trip! It was very nice to have a cold bottle of water available after having a wonderful time walking around the river! June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retired US Army Officer This was the 2nd time we have stayed with you and my wife is cliniquely deaf, could not use the benefit of closed caption to watch our favorite evening shows. It was our 53rd Wedding Anniversary and my 74th Birthday and we were looking forward to staying with you because of the proximity of the River Walk and St. Marys Church services. The two technicians visited our room and said they would fix it, nothing, though I asked the desk the next am, same, nothing! May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Less than expected This hotel was a little disappointing because of its location. My expectation was it would be a little closer to the main portion of the riverwalk and the Alamo. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great update it's been a year since i visited the Sheraton Gunter and i was shocked when i entered the lobby, instead of seeing the old dark wood mission style that i've become used to the lobby was a dazzling white with all new, beautiful, lobby. Everything was fantastic I have to say though one thing that actually saddened me was in all the upgrades the hotel has gone through, the only one i thought they should have left were the old plantation shutters in the club rooms are gone, replaced with very nice curtains. Everything was very well done! April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I loved the location...close to the Riverwalk and only about a 15 min walk to the convention center. :) Room was huge...but, needs a little TLC. My carpet seemed very dirty and there was no way, I would lay in that tub for a bath. It really needs a new spray coat on the tub. Best suited for one person, since there is no counter space. But, the overall room was huge! Also, they provided our group with free internet (wireless in room). Could never get a signal in room 409 for "sheraton link"...so, I went to lobby OR just signed on via Sheraton and got the the pay version. But, they were nice enough to credit it back! Overall, I would return...just hoping for a different room that was a little more "useable" :) November 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Interior We have stayed at the Gunter in the past and really liked the stained woodwork. Painting all the woodwork white really changes the character of the hotel and in my opinion, not for the best. There were areas blocked off that were available before. It was a little disappointing. Maybe the hotel is still in remodel mode. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Comfortable! The hotel is very nice and comfortable! The mattresses are the best I've ever slept on in a hotel, none better. The staff made me feel like royalty, very personable and friendly! They have renovated the hotel lobby, I would like to have seen the pre-renovation still intact - just loved the "step into history" feel that it was 3 years ago when I was there. Also, the gift shop was gone. Was looking forward to aquiring a book on the hotel's history this trip. But, overall, you can't go wrong staying here! April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, central location to downtown attractions I was here for a business trip and for the most part it was a great stay. There were a few cleanliness issues in the room; sticky residue on phone & hair in corner of bathtub. All of the staff was great, with the exception of Steve, the Concierge/Bell guy. He was rude and unprofessional, though I felt confidant upon reporting to management that it would be taken care of. The hotel is undergoing renovations right now, however, that hasn't affected the beauty of the place, nor the quality of most services and amenities. It is an easy walk to the Alamo and to Riverwalk as well which were a plus. There were great restaurants within walking distance as well...try Blanco's, Rosario's or Acenar for some great authentic Mexican food. September 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sleepless Night I stayed on the 11th floor, one of two concierge floors, and apparently a floor that Sheraton is supposed to keep free of dogs. However, one of the adjoining rooms to mine had a dog that barked throughout most of the night. The room on the other side was filled with a large group of people having a party at 2:30 a.m. Multiple calls to the front desk for help were not productive and apparently we could not switch rooms because the hotel was at capacity. I knew it was a bad sign when the room came with complimentary ear plugs. Luckily, we stayed only one night. October 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so charming. The hotel is in a great location, unfortunately is needs a lot of work. The rooms are very small, and not at all charming. The bedskirt had what I hope was coffee stains, the bath tub leaked, and was rusty - the commode leaked whenever the toilet was flushed. I notified the hotel staff, and was asked when I was leaving - not asked if they could come look to repair it, or change me to another room. I ordered room service for lunch, and asked for a copy of the itemized bill and the person who brought my food, could not speak English, he just nodded, and did not have an itemized bill. The hotel is in the middle of renovations in the lobby, I'm hoping this will mean the rooms will be updated - the carpet is obviously old, and rumpling. October 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Desparately Needs to be UPDATED We checked in on a Friday. Took our luggage to the room to unpack and relax from the trip. Went to the pool around 6:30 PM, the towel bin was empty and there was no phone at the pool to request any. So having to use our room towel for the pool, I requested more towels as soon as we returned to the room. I had to request for a second time on Saturday morning for towels and they finally brought some. The bathroom tub needed a good cleaning. The rubber bath mat in the tub had mildew all around the edges and underneath. Great water pressure in the shower though. The carpet in the room was disgustingly stained. And the desk chair seat was torn and should have been tossed or at least recovered. The only positive was the bed was wonderful. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My recent stay The room and staff were good. The front desk people and servers in the banquet rooms were great. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, but had a lot of traffic noise and the Internet was intermittent - it kept stopping and making me sign in again. The banquet food itself was tasty, but the meal choices (which very well may have been the fault of the planners, rather than the staff) was repetitive over the four days and high calorie. More variety and healthier choices would have been good. April 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as advertised I have stayed here several times this year and they have yet to get my bill correct. I have discounted parking but am charged at the higher rate. I also never see the bonus, bonus points as advertised for my account even though I am told they will do something about it. I also cant believe there are so many versions of a "free breakfast" but it still takes someone making an adjustment after I find I am billed. I w May 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but... The room wouldn't cool below 75 at night. Mechanics worked on the coils, and the room then cooled to 72 for the remainder of our stay. The bathroom is past needing refurbishing. The shower tile and grout is old and dingy looking, as was the floor tile and wallpaper. I hate what the hotel is doing to the beautiful, historic woodwork and plaster reliefs. They're painting all of it white. There's no going back without spending a fortune. Trendy and Modern is out of place in such a historical setting. Sell the hotel to someone who will love it. August 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Couldn't even get hot water!! I didn't have hot water the first 2 days on the day I was checking out I had hot water. I hadn't even been there 24 hrs and the key was messing up so had to get a new one! Staff was very rude at front desk when I would complain my room wasn't turned over. On Saturday I went to the front desk to ask them to send housekeeping for towels and what not. The staff tells you one thing and then somebody would call back and say another. They sure weren't on the same page. When I checked out they asked on how the stay was I said horrible and said ok. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Overall Good customer service. Clean comfortable rooms. Good location. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay Great stay. The location for our stay was perfect. Everything that we wanted was in walking distance. We will definitly be staying here again on our next visit. May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel gets two thumbs up! Stayed at the Sheraton for a business trip and the hotel was great. The staff was very courteous and glad to help with anything I had. Room was very comfortable with a great view of San Antonio. Only knock on room was a real lack of electrical outlets and the doors allow too much noise in. I kept hearing the maintenance people on their push to talk radios while laying in bed. The meeting room we met in for business was nice and the meal they provided was healthy. Would recommend to all travelers since the Riverwalk is real close too!! August 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisest Hotel Room I have ever stayed in A beautiful old hotel - but the rooms and windows were not insulted. Any time a truck or bus would go buy the building (which was frequent all night long), it would seem as though the windows were open. One morning the trash trucks were right outside the building for quite a while. Finally on Saturday night there were several rooms with very loud parties going until 5:30 am! The staff was overwhelmed trying to keep them quite. A beautiful place in a great location - but I am sure there must be better options, especially for the price March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location right off of the Riverwalk We drove in from Houston and I wasn't pleasantly surprised when I pulled into downtown and got to the hotel. The bellman was very cooperative and informative. I parked directly across the street from the hotel and paid $9 for the night as everything was within walking distance and we didn't need to leave until the morning. We checked in with no problems and got a room on a high floor and away from the elevator, as requested. We fought the rain throughout our stay, as it was the third most rain on record the city had ever seen and everything was flooded. Hotel was centrally located just a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk and walking distance to The Alamo. Breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent and reasonably priced compared to other hotels I've stayed at. May 27, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 next>>