Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique relative à l’âge requis

Les hôtes doivent être âgés d’au moins 21 ans pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 439 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mrs Dusting was needed behind the bed and in corners. Dusty air blew in through the heating and cooling vents. November 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Hotel, interesting happenings My overall rating is pretty high, but there were a couple things that were a little odd about our stay. The first was that when we or the room next door flushed the toilet, water started coming out of our faucet. The second was that house keeping knocked on our door at 8:30 wanting to clean our room on the morning of our checkout. Overall, it was a charming hotel in a great location and I would come back. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST Staff, The PERFECT Hotel Experience Too many words to aptly describe the level of excellence that my family and I experienced during our stay! It was just MAGIC!! From beginning to end! EXTRA SPECIAL emphasis on, and much gratitude to Amy, and Victoria at the Front Desk, as well as Steve, the bellman who so graciously and sweetly welcomed and assisted us upon our arrival! The ENTIRE staff here has been nothing but pleasant smiles, even when just communicating over the phone! We only wish we could have stayed longer. It was our family's first visit to San Antonio, and sadly, it was for a funeral of a loved one. But, as I've said, the experience (because of all of these people who very obviously enjoy and take great pride in their jobs here at this beautifully charming hotel) felt more like a 4 STAR Resort VACATION! Amy, I have to say went so far above and beyond to make us, me specifically, feel welcome, comfortable, appreciated....even uplifted! She very much personalized our experience, and you couldn't ask for better service than that!! THANK YOU, and keep up the GREAT WORK! September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! From check in to check out the staff made this visit very enjoyable! First rate service from every staff member we encountered. Facility was great also, but the staff is what made this visit memorable. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by True San Antonio Experience When you travel for work and stay at chains you sometimes wake up and forget what city you are in. Not so with the Gunter. This is a great historic hotel with uniquely decorated rooms. The staff is consistently friendly, efficient and ready to assist with whatever you may need. Because of this I frequently stay at the Gunter when in town for business, Fiesta events, or concerts at the Majestic and Empire theaters. All are within walking distance and you avoid the hassle of post event traffic. Plus you can grab a quick nightcap at Barrons which has a beautiful antique bar. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Old Historic Property With GREAT STAFF Sheraton Gunter is a beautiful old historic property, wonderfully restored. The location is superb, a block from the Riverwalk and walkable to all the downtown sites. Staff is outstanding, exceeding expectations in every respect. The front desk, concierge, reastaurant staff and bell staff were ready and willing to do all they could to make our stay the best it could be. They only criticism might be that the street noise at times was an issue, but ear plugs were provided in the bathroom and only were needed for a very brief time one evening. We thoroughly enjoyed evverything about the Gunter. If you want a cookie cutter hotel, this is not for you, but if you want to enjoy old world flavor, the Gunter is exceptional. December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to relax We live in San Antonio, and have stayed at the Sheraton Gunter several times, just for a getaway. This was our first visit since the renovation was completed. Very, very well done. LOVE the new look, yet still captures the history of the hotel. Location is convenient to Majestic Theatre right across the street, Buckhorn Saloon a block away, riverwalk across the street, and San Fernando Cathedral - a couple of blocks - but a must go to at 9 p.m. for the light show. Fantastic! Joseph in the Club Level made us feel welcome, and went out of his way to make sure all guests were relaxed and taken care of with great appetizers and beverages. Great restaurant and café, and wine bar is really, really nice. ONLY issue we had - at check in I asked for a 4 p.m. checkout since we are Gold members. I was told Starwood had changed their rules recently, and now only Platinum members were given 4 p.m. checkout. The latest for Gold was now 1 p.m. I called Starwood from the room (which was very lovely, by the way) and was told there was no such rule change. I called down to the desk, spoke to the same staff member, and this time she told me it was a rule of Sheraton Gunter - they grant 4 p.m. checkout only to Platinum members. I am calling the hotel manager, Steve Cook, today. Don't agree with "random" hotel rules that violate Starwood policy for members. Other than that, we loved our stay, and will definitely visit the hotel again. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Time Spent 2 nights at the hotel. Great time, comfortable and friendly staff. November 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too outdated coupled with lack of cleanliness I booked a two night stay at Gunter for a short Spring Break trip to San Antonio with my family. We picked this hotel based on its location along with a semi-favorable reviews on trip advisor. The first room we had checked into has carpets that were folding up and was very outdated. We would be fine with that (we've stayed in several old/quaint hotels in the past), but it was evident that cleaning had been neglected for a while. The handicap/safety bar was loose from the wall and tape (?) was used to hold it in place. We had to get another room. The second room (the staff was understanding) as marginally better but not enough to make us feel like we wanted to be in the room for any length of time. Again the room felt dirty. Loose change could be seen in the corners of the room (and it wasn't ours!). In short, we felt the hotel had reached a tipping point in terms of uncleanliness. If a few items were out of order they probably would of been dealt with, but with so much on their plate they probably felt overwhelmed. In short we ended up checking out early and made the trip back home. Not much of a Spring Break but we tried to make the best of it. Not something we would of expected at an SPG hotel. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room 620 (636) Very interesting room..... I will be back!!! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay I had several room requests prior to my arrival, all were met without hesitation. Valet parking attendants were very helpful in getting us heading out in the right direction. Front desk to housekeeping all are very pleasant and friendly! November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our anniversary! During checkin, the staff casually asked the reason for our stay, and I mentioned it was our anniversary. Since we were redeeming points for a free stay, I was pleasantly surprised that we were given a prime corner room on a top floor! We went out for dinner and dancing, and when we returned, the staff (no idea who, or I would mention them by name) had placed a tray with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. What a surprise! My wife thought it was all my idea, so of course I took the credit, but that was such a thoughtful touch by the staff! Please thank them for me. Our Anniversary stay was wonderful! Thank you! The hotel is a 100+ year old landmark, but is nicely renovated and up to date. As you can see, the staff is great, and really makes the difference. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Free" bottled water First time I had stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel this past weekend (for 37th Wedding Anniversary). I had every intention of writing a very positive review, along with sure-fire plans to again stay at this facility. But not after just receiving my final bill with a $2.17 charge for water. SAY WHAT?!?! Turns out you camouflage a chargeable bottle of water into looking like one of the two free 2 bottles that are clearly complimentary. Instead of simply not putting a 3rd bottle in the room that has a fee, or putting bright red warnings that the 3rd bottle that it is NOT free, you no doubt plan to re-coup 500% of the two free bottles by hood-winking your guests into thinking the 3rd one is free also, and then charging them. Yes, it is only $2.17. But i won't tolerate such a blatant nickel & dime scheme. There are several other SPG choices in San Antonio for a Gold-For-Life member like myself to choose from such that I will never have to give the Sheraton Gunter Hotel my devoted SPG business again. How's your business plan working now??!! November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by bathroom too small The hotel was beautiful, the only downsize was the bathroom. November 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORSE EXPERIENCE EVER I went to the gunter twice, in a period of two weeks. Once right before Christmas and once right after. The service was mediocre at best, the valley and bell boy's where excellent. We where sent 3 blow driers that did not work. Twice we ate at the restaurant for breakfast and the service was the worse service we have ever had. I would tell the guy making the omelets "light oil" and with an attitude he would do what he wanted totally drench them in oil. This happened with me, my wife and daughter, then on our second trip i brought my mother in law with us and the same thing happened. The service was horrible. To be frank horrible doesnt describe it. The waiters where not really taking care of the table. It was bad. As an SPG customer this was disappointing. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Riverwal location, very clean & historic building I am in sales and cover San Antonio and this is my place of choice. I really love the history behind this hotel and it is a walk back in time. With that note, please know the bathrooms are small. Some of the rooms are small. If you have ever traveled to Europe or visited historic buildings, you know they were smaller than we are used to today. I've stayed at many hotels in S.A. and most of the rooms are this size. Why stay at a cookie cutter hotel, same old, same old? Try this place. Parking is a little pricey at $28 for valet (only option), but they are fast and your car stays safe & covered. You want your car covered out of the Texas sun. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff, Pleasantly Historical Hotel This hotel was built in the very early 1900s. They have done a great job of keeping in touch with the historical roots of the building. It is conveniently located right downtown. There is plenty of parking across the street if you choose not to go with the valet parking. If you opt for valet parking they have implemented a text based program, which makes retrieving your car extremely painless. The renovations to the lobby and club lounge are now complete. Amazing. The lobby looks great, and the club lounge is huge! This property is the best of the SPG options in town. The touch of old San Antonio and a great staff make it an easy choice. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service & tradition This is probably the most positive hotel experience I've had in two decades. The hotel knew that I was in town for a special occasion, which they recognized up on my arrival. Both the GM and the Director of Rooms introduced themselves upon check in. Today, so many hotels focus on hitting the minimum threshold, which they see as points and minimum benefits per the loyalty program. This classic hotel's team focuses instead on guest recognition and guest needs. There are a ton of hotel options in San Antonio, but I will only choose the Gunter in the future. Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment, which looks gorgeous. Great location and well-appointed hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC SAN ANTONIO HOTEL The Gunter is a Great Hotel with a superb location in downtown San Antonio, near everything, including the River walk. Houston street is the one with restaurants and cafés , just in front of the Majestic Theater. The new lobby make a nice contrast withe the old school luxury hotel atmosphere. More than 100 years of history. Very good bar and hotel restaurant The Market, with terrace. If you reserve a Club Room the best ones you can use the Club Lounge, and Oasis for relax and drinks, with a nice tv and more. The Staff is very Professional and friendly. The rooms are not big but very clean and with all the amenities you need for a fantastic rest and accommodation. Mr Cook the GM and all the staff and managers are doing an excellent job so every guest have a fantastic experience in the Gunter my Home in SA. Old School and nice Texas Atmosphere. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location cannot be better Travelled with my in laws + 4 year old daughter and at the end of our trip we all could not be happier. 2 doors away from the Children Museum 1 block away from a river walk entrance and 5 minutes away walking distance from everything we wanted to visited or take a tour for. This is the 3rd hotel we have stayed in the river walk area and by far the less noisy and take in account that it was Fiesta time.Due to our status we had access to the Business Lounge which was great May 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by surprised On all my trips to San Antonio I had never used this hotel and I hesitated because it had a low star rating? What a delight--the lobby was great, my room was large, well decorated and had real wood shutters! My dinner one night was a sandwich in the bar very late and all was very good. The front desk representative who checked me in was the most delightful friendly person I have met at a front desk in over 40 years of traveling--Victoria! I will definitely return here. January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My experience Didn't know our room was next to a room where a young woman was murdered in 1965. I was somewhat upset about that and I really didn't get a good night's sleep. Overall, I've stayed at this Sheraton before and will do so again, but not on the 6th floor. Also, there was a stinch, sewer smell, maintenance really needs to check that out, all the above was mentioned to clerk when we checked out. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY NICE SHERATON HOTEL Best location in downtown San Antonio ,with walking distance for cafés, restaurants, mall, Riverwalk,etc... Professional staff . They just renovate most areas, like the lobby, restaurant and bar, Club Floor and Platinum SPG lounge, and rooms. Remember that is a 100 year hotel, with a lot of history behind the walls. Good rest and sleep quality. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Hotel With Character "They don't build them this way anymore", is the best way to describe the Sheraton Gunter. A grand hotel with ageless architecture which is carefully and well-maintained. The hotel's staff is as friendly and customer oriented as any that I have met. Restaurant and room service provide excellent food. I would stay here again. Thanks for your fine service and hospitality. March 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Rooms Are Tiny, The Bathrooms Even Worse I have stayed at the Gunter before and I wasn't happy. I had heard it was redone and I decided to give it another try. My room was old, the toilet had to have been 50+ years old. There were long dark hairs (not mine) in the shower. The bed was so close to the desk I could barely use the desk chair. No room to put anything in the bathroom. The door jam looked like it had termites. Perhaps I was just given the worst room in the hotel. The restaurant/bar looked lovely, but I did not have the chance to use. The TV on the workout equipment did not work. There was no water in the workout room. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Security Security personnel are non-existent at this hotel. Had two ladies fighting in the hallway (club level). Called security repeatedly, and they did not come and do anything about it. Over 30 minutes of listening to them cursing & swearing right outside our door. Lasted until past midnight. Across the hall, guests had left a dog in the room. The dog barked non-stop all night. Again, security refused to address the situation. They actually had the nerve to get upset with another guest in our hall at 3AM, asking the other guest what they expected the hotel to do. Totally unacceptable behavior for a hotel of this caliber. November 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by CONFUSED I AM CONFUSED WHY YOU WOULD BRING IN A NYC DECORATOR TO REMODEL A LANDMARK TEXAS HOTEL. THIS CONFUSION IS EVIDENT IN THE AMALGAMATION WHICH OFFENDED OUR SENSES UPON ENTERING THE NEWLY REMODELED HOTEL. SUFFICE IT TO SAY WE WERE DISAPPOINTED WITH OUR STAY. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Atmosphere I have stayed at many hotels but non with the ambience that the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio has. I don't know if it's the historic building or it's employees or both. Whatever it is, it's the best hotel and my entire family's favorite hotel. The moment you walk in, you feel relaxed at at ease. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Halloween with the kids Had a great weekend at the hotel with the kids. This was our 3rd visit to the property. Decided to upgrade to the club level and just loved Ben!! He was awesome and so friendly and gave us information to resturants in the area. Good Job Ben cant wait to visit again!! November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff, Location, and Atmosphere I stayed for only one night in a gorgeous suite here. I used an upgrade request, and boy, did it pay off. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very accommodating, and the whole look and feel of the hotel was spectacular. I was born and raised in San Antonio, so this is the first time I've stayed at such a grand hotel in this city. The location was in a prime area, so although parking was a little high for my taste, we were able to walk anywhere we needed to go. My only complaint would be the small bathrooms in the room, but this is an old building, so I won't deduct points for that. It was by no means unclean, just on the small side for 4 girls staying in one room. August 9, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>