Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi
  • Per soggiorni superiori a 90 giorni, chiamate il numero +(1) 866 539 3446.
  • La prenotazione può essere effettuata con un massimo di 550 giorni di anticipo.
  • Ricontrollate le date.
1 camera 1 camere , 1 adulto 1 adulti , 1 bambino 0 bambini
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 458 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel exceeded our expectations. From the moment we drove up, the staff at the hotel made us feel welcome. Every member of the staff we encountered was Texas friendly and helpful. For example, my coffee maker didn't perk right and it was replaced immediately by the professional woman who cleaned our room. All questions were answered patiently and politely. I appreciated the green initiative and the flexible way it was applied. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is well-located The location was outstanding and the staff was excellent-from housekeeping to front desk to concierge. The common areas of the hotel were good, but the room was old and needed attention. Carpet stains, aging bathroom, and overall diminished appearance of the room didnt fit the rest of the hotel. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A 5 Star Visit! My husband and I would highly recommend this hotel to all our friends! We were really pleased with all aspects of the hotel...from our room to the excellent service we received during our short visit. We have decided that this will be the hotel we will be staying at from now on. Overall we were extremely happy! July 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location First I would like to say this is a great location for the downtown area. Now the bad news(sorry). Very old hotel. Moldy smell in the hallways and I had mold in my room along with dirty carpet. No free WiFi in rooms.Parking $28.00 per day? The next time I visit this hotel wont be on my list. July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was incredible!!! My husband and I were supposed to go to San Antonio together to a convention but due to a back surgery, he could not go. I went alone, stayed in the Sheraton Gunter and had a wonderful experience even though I did not have my husband there. The breakfasts were good and the evening repast. The last day my flight did not leave until 9 pm, therefore I was concerned about sightseeing then having to fly without showering. I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while I was out, and then I was able to use the pool shower and the pool so that I was refreshed for my flight!! I am soooo appreciative of that "extra" touch for me!! Thank you sooo much. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No tv channels in room Lovely hotel and staff but I wanted to watch TV in the morning and at bed time. The TV in our room never worked. The manager said they were switching over to HD and thus far nothing has worked for few days now. I was there the weekend of the Open Championship. All I wanted to do was watch it. July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as nice as it should be The pool has weird stuff floating on it. Gross. Also it was so full of chemicals my skin started burning. Disappointing on a hot day. Room was hot even with ac running full on. Pillows too flat when you lay on them. Flushing toilet was awkward - you have to lean over and reach down to push lever behind the lid cover. Light switch to inside bathroom was same as outside sink area so you can't go to the restroom at night without turning light on and disturbing the other people in the room. Room had curtains on only one window. There are 3 windows and the other 2 windows had the rod and curtain rings but no curtain. Wooden shutters were lovely though and did a good job of keeping out the light. TV - finding regular TV then channel surfing is not as easy as it should be. Why can't there be a channel guide we can switch to using the remote instead of channel surfing until you find something Ok to watch? The club lounge was fine. The attendant was very quick to clean, serve, whatever you needed. Food was Ok and at least there was plenty of it. The TV screen in there was fuzzy though. Overall not a bad experience but not something I would look forward to again. Especially for the price. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is visually appealing yet comfortable. The hotel has a very attractive look to the inerior yet was comfortable and relaxing. The front desk staff was professional and very helpful. Our room met all of our expectations and more. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Classic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio The Sheraton Gunter Hotel is a classic with the beautiful entry and lobby one expects to find in a historical hotel located in old San Antonio. The rooms, service and food are great and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located across from the old Majestic Theater and is within easy walking distance of everything you want to see and do such as The RiverWalk, Alamo, and great restaurants. A Trolley will take you to the Mexican Market for about 25cents! Unless you want to go to the beautiful shopping malls you can park your car in the hotel lot and forget it. We come to San Antonio for 1 or 2 nights often and always stay at the Gunter. There is a nice Club Room on the 12th Floor with good wines and food. July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Victoria at the front desk was amazing. She absolutely made out stay enjoyable and provided an upgrade without asking. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Stayed here many times over 20 plus years. Hotel services and little extras appears to have declined. Staff friendly and accommodating. Rooms clean but worn. Towels are small and thin. Didn't even get complimentarily news paper. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff Service Thank you Reymond for an enjoyable breakfast, your excellent service made my day.! July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Close to river walk Room was small and needed some improvements,but location was good and lobby was gorgeous. Pricey for what we got. Clean pool. June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some minor problems Water was leaking from bathroom upstairs into mine and drew a hole in the ceiling. Lock on the doorkey did not work for the whole lenght of my stay, even tough they told me it would be fixed "right away". June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This was the second time we stayed at the hotel and had a wonderful time. It is located in a great place close to museums and the river walk area which offer a lot of entertainment. The staff were excellent to work with and very friendly. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time in San Antonio! We had a wonderful time in San Antonio, the staff was very friendly and if you are not a club member, you definitley should join! The continental breakfast, availabilty of beverages and evening hours were a wonderful addition to our trip! It was very nice to have a cold bottle of water available after having a wonderful time walking around the river! June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Staff I have to give 5 stars to the staff at your hotel. I have traveled on many occasions and stayed at a wide variety of Hotels. I have never been treated so well at any hotel by every member of the staff. And I am not the type of person that wants to be treated special and given upgrades, or extra amenities. Just treated friendly like a friend in town. From the very start the Concierge and parking staff greeted us with a very friendly attitude. The front Desk was very friendly and Very fast. She had my room key in my hand before I could find my credit card. I was at the hotel for the Labor management convention, and the staff that took care of us where wonderful, Very friendly, very good at their job. professional and they did not give me the impression they was there to cater to my every need but there to do their job and treat me as a guest. During the social, one of the waiter/bust persons even cracked a joke to me and my wife while sitting at a table sharing an adult beverage. I thought what a perfect time for him to leave his impression on us. It was not a business moment but a Social. And last but not least the person we came into contact with the most at the Gunter was our housekeeper. She was magnificent. She worked long hours, and every time we passed by her she was smiling and always had something positive to say. She was always around, I felt like we had our own security officer on our floor she was present so often and she noticed everything. She really seemed like she loved what she does. And maybe interacting with people is what she loves about her job. But she was a very pleasant person to interact with leaving or returning to the room. I really wish I could remember her name to leave her personal credit. The only negative things I have about the hotel is that my bill does not match my receipt. But it has not cleared my checking account yet. So I am waiting to see what they process on my card. The second is that the Hot tub was not hot. The only suggestion that I have for the hotel is that some of the hotels I have stayed at have adult hours for the pool and spa. close the pool at 9 or 10 to kids. and let the adults have time without all the kids around splashing and screaming. My wife and I like to just sit by the pool and drink our drinks in a adult surrounding. But hey the Gunter did have a wonderful bar. Loved it. The gym was very clean and well maintained. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and the friendly atmosphere. Hats off to your management team, They must have one very good recruiting process. The staff they have hired really left a good impression on my wife and I. Thank you Gunter Sheraton. June 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff & Amenities Staff members could use a little sensitivity training. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Much better than last time. I enjoyed the larger room and higher floor. June 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a lot of history. I liked the history associated with this hotel. I was especially excited when I found out that I was staying in Room 636 and then found out the story that took place in the original room. That is awesome! I went and ask the registration personnel if I was staying in the actual room and they told me I wasn't. I was disappointed. Oh well. But I liked the hotel. June 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room for improvement but still recommend. A little disappointed on room cleanliness (i.e. carpet, bath tub, tiles) and furniture a little run down. The bed and pillows are my favorite of all hotels. Reason why I stay at the Sheraton Gunter!! Excellent distance to riverwalk and walking distance to all the fun spots. June 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Historic Hotel Perfect Location for River Walk, downtown San Antonio and shopping. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Definitely Not Up to Par Carpet was filthy. Didn't notice it until we went into shower and saw dirt on the shower floor. Vending machines didn't work. Put us in a room where all night you heard the roof air condiitioning units running. Didn't even care about my complaints when I checked out. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff Particularly Benjamin on the concierge floor lounge. He is a very people and customer centric person who started (and sometimes ended) our day with smiles and excellent service. We certainly were made to feel welcome in San Antonio by all the staff, but Benjamin was at the pinnacle of welcoming. Not a hotel you want to stay at when the San Antonio Spurs win a big game. The fans have a habit of driving through the streets honking their horns for hours and every sound from the street resonates through the rooms. We were on the 11th floor and couldn't get any sleep from 11 PM when the game ended until almost 2 AM when they finally all went home. Could use some refurbishing. The desk chair in our room was stained and ripped up to the point that we didn't want to sit in it. A grand hotel with a rich tradition, great staff but not in the same league with some of its neighboring competitors. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolute favorite hotel I have stayed at The Gunter several times and I can honestly say that it has been a complete pleasure every single time. I have stayed on the Club Floor each time and the attentive service that I have received each time is unparalleled to any other hotel visit. My boyfriend and I recently stayed to see Jerry Seinfeld performance at The Majestic. The convenience of just going downstairs and across the street is great. The room was comfortable and elegant. The room was clean and well equipped as always. I used the robe and it was thin but comfortable. You can tell that the rooms are older but that has always been part of the appeal for me. The historical story of the hotel is intriguing. Staying on The Club level gives you access to The Club lounge. Benjamin is an absolute mecca of information about the area. He is very attentive and a joy to talk to. We had hors d'oeuvres in the evening before the show and they were fresh and delicious. We had the breakfast as well. The staff was very kind and attentive every time that we had any interaction with them. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. June 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good old hotel in good location I have read some people complaining about this hotel saying there are worn items here and some age to it. Well, yeah, it has been here since the 1800s so there will be some wear. Being a Starwood Platinum member, I know my Sheraton hotels. This is comparable to most in terms of room decor and setup, but it also has that feel to it of an older establishment. The lobby is very cool if you like that antiquity of it, as is McLeod's bar, located across from check-in. The staff was very courteous both at check-in and in the lounge. The hotel is conveniently located just about a block from the Riverwalk. Being on the edges of the touristy area, though, means some of San Antonio's seedier residents may be wandering the streets around the hotel. Shady and seedy people, but mostly harmless. All in all, a good experience. I usually stay at the Westin Riverwalk but this hotel did just fine. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Stay in San Antonio It was our wedding anniversary, and when we arrived at the beautiful, historic Gunter Hotel, I turned into a "bride" again! The lobby immediately begins the spell of by-gone splendor with dazzling chandeliers and plush carpeting. The amazing corner room with its King-sized bed, covered in luxe white bed linens, and the dark wood-slatted windows gives one the feeling of elegant, seductive seclusion. From our check-in to check-out, we were enchanted and will definitely return, again and again. June 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smell Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel. I was very disappointed to say it was an SPG hotel. Usually SPG is top quality. My room smells of mildew. My shower head didn't spray water from the appropriate nozzle, instead, it shot out from the wall. I also found trash in the room upon arriving which gives me the impression the room was not cleaned properly. Very unfortunate. June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bittersweet This was one of the more "elder" hotels in downtown San Antonio and this was obvious by the rooms and building. Our desk chair outer laminate covering was flaking off and our bathroom was terribly small. My shower was spent dancing in and out of a bi-polar stream of water with the temperature alternating between fire and ice. Despite the what the hotel was lacking in moderness, the staff more than made up for the building's short comings. The front desk was more than friendly who greets you more like family than anything. Also, upon arrival we were upgraded so that we could enjoy the club lounge which gave us access to complimentary snacks and beverages. My wife and I had briefly mentioned that we were vacationing prior to our anniversary a week later. That night we returned to our room to find a plate full of delicious chocolate covered strawberries with a hand written note wishing us a “Happy Anniversary”. The valet and concierge were more than helpful and knowledgeable about the downtown area. Loved the staff but disappointed with the building. Despite the building, I would stay here again. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Stay with my Family Great Service at check in. Good information from the concierge desk. Excellent Service in the Restaurant. Omelette cook very personable. Couldn't have been a better stay! May 28, 2013
  • 2015-06-30T13:15:24.888-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_458, tr_458
  • loc_en_US, sid_1291, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16 next>>