Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • Santo Antônio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 436 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dancing in San Antonio Great location if you are attending the Majestic Theater of going to River Walk, however, the hotel has under gone a complete renovation that did little to add to the value or ambiance of the location. The rooms are very nice with ample space but the lighting is dim and the bathrooms have little storage space for the ladies. The dinning room is small and not well lit so do not plan on reading the newspaper at breakfeast. The food is above average and the bar service and availiable beverages are excellent. The staff did not know what channels were on the room TVs and when I called to ask about FOX news the desk clerk said they would get back to me, I am still waiting for the call back. We have stayed at this hotel several times and liked it just fine, but this stay did not measure up to the standard which we have come to expect out of the Gunther. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenient location convenient to downtown sites, river walk, clean hotel...a/c was loud in our room, bathroom outdated, no refrigerator! October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond While we only live 20 miles outside San Antonio, my wife and I made a reservation at this hotel to celebrate our 31st anniversary. Location was key as we were going to take in a show at the Majestic (across the street). I was initially concerned about the mediocre reviews however the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Customer service (on the phone) took my special requests and Jacques (at check-in) confirmed that all was in order. We were booked in a club level corner room that was large, tastefully decorated and had quality linens on the bed. Definitely a touch of class. The only shortcoming during our stay was due to street noise. Although we were on the 11th floor, street noise was still quite loud.....but that is to be expected with any hotel in the heart of the city. Thank you for making our stay special. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Hotel With Character "They don't build them this way anymore", is the best way to describe the Sheraton Gunter. A grand hotel with ageless architecture which is carefully and well-maintained. The hotel's staff is as friendly and customer oriented as any that I have met. Restaurant and room service provide excellent food. I would stay here again. Thanks for your fine service and hospitality. March 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Security Security personnel are non-existent at this hotel. Had two ladies fighting in the hallway (club level). Called security repeatedly, and they did not come and do anything about it. Over 30 minutes of listening to them cursing & swearing right outside our door. Lasted until past midnight. Across the hall, guests had left a dog in the room. The dog barked non-stop all night. Again, security refused to address the situation. They actually had the nerve to get upset with another guest in our hall at 3AM, asking the other guest what they expected the hotel to do. Totally unacceptable behavior for a hotel of this caliber. November 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by CONFUSED I AM CONFUSED WHY YOU WOULD BRING IN A NYC DECORATOR TO REMODEL A LANDMARK TEXAS HOTEL. THIS CONFUSION IS EVIDENT IN THE AMALGAMATION WHICH OFFENDED OUR SENSES UPON ENTERING THE NEWLY REMODELED HOTEL. SUFFICE IT TO SAY WE WERE DISAPPOINTED WITH OUR STAY. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasant surprise We originally booked this hotel because of the price and good reviews. We look forward to our next trip to San Antonio as we know exactly where we'll be staying. Your hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely recommend to our friends. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Atmosphere I have stayed at many hotels but non with the ambience that the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio has. I don't know if it's the historic building or it's employees or both. Whatever it is, it's the best hotel and my entire family's favorite hotel. The moment you walk in, you feel relaxed at at ease. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our time was great The hotel is beautiful, clean and the beds are comfortable. The Club Lounge is wonderful. The bathrooms are tight though. That would be my only complaint. The staff is very courteous and knowledgeable. A few blocks from Riverwalk but close enough to all the excitement and far enough from the noise. My family and I had a great time for our first time being in San Antonio. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Halloween with the kids Had a great weekend at the hotel with the kids. This was our 3rd visit to the property. Decided to upgrade to the club level and just loved Ben!! He was awesome and so friendly and gave us information to resturants in the area. Good Job Ben cant wait to visit again!! November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff, Location, and Atmosphere I stayed for only one night in a gorgeous suite here. I used an upgrade request, and boy, did it pay off. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very accommodating, and the whole look and feel of the hotel was spectacular. I was born and raised in San Antonio, so this is the first time I've stayed at such a grand hotel in this city. The location was in a prime area, so although parking was a little high for my taste, we were able to walk anywhere we needed to go. My only complaint would be the small bathrooms in the room, but this is an old building, so I won't deduct points for that. It was by no means unclean, just on the small side for 4 girls staying in one room. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio This hotel was wonderful. Beautifully restored historic hotel with very professional staff, clean rooms and nice extras. Centrally located in downtown--only mintues to Riverwalk and The Alamo. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Years Brought in the new yr at your hotel and I enjoyed my stay. Friendly staff and rooms were very welcoming. I will definitely be visting with my family there again soon. Thank you January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference at the Gunter Outstanding service and food. Could not have been better. April 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Run down property and horrible experience! Stayed for 3 nights and had to change rooms 3 times. First Room - Filthy carpet where my white socks got black walking, found TV remote under the comforter which had big stains and wonder if sheets were ever changed, desk chair was like 25 years old and entire fabric was ripped off. Bathroom looks like never maintained and dirty, Heater did not work Had blood stains on bathroom walls. I requested room change and 2nd room which i was sent was dirty and WIFI did not work so asked to move to another room. 3rd room was little better, however very sub standard rooms. 2nd night my heater did not work which was on Saturday and since they were sold out i had to sleep in cold room. I had made very clear to have engineer fix the heater in morning which did not happen so i had to request front desk to fix. The heater was fixed and i got sleep on my last night. I experienced so many issues during my stay and NOT once I was contacted from any managers to find out if everything was fine. After all this issues, I expected some sort of compensation for this horrible experience. This property is completely run down and i just don't understand how Starwood allows such poor performing properties to run??? October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by honesty of staff I was a guest at your hotel on 8/6 with Delta Airlines. We are new to your hotel and as a flight attendant who has stayed in San Antonio for years, I am very glad to be staying at your beautiful establishment. After 26 years of flying I have never left anything behind in my room. This was not the case for my stay with you as I left my I-pad on the desk. I didn't realize it until I got home later that evening. You can imagine my anxiousness. I immediately called the hotel and was transferred to loss prevention. I spoke to Joseph and to my surprise he told me it had been turned in by housekeeper Rachel. I couldn't believe it! He told me to call his boss, Jimmy, the next morning to make arrangements for its return. When I spoke to Jimmy the next morning he was so gracious and told me how things like this were normally handled. He shipped it overnight to my home and I received it the next morning. I can not thank everyone involved enough, especially Rachel. Her honesty and integrity is something I don't see very often in my line of work! I have told this story to many of my friends and co-workers and everyone has the same shocked look on their face as I did when Joseph told me he had my I-pad. Please except my sincere thanks to everyone involved. I hope to come back soon and thank them all in person. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but will not be staying any longer... My family and I have stayed at this hotel several times (4) but this will probably be the last. The hotel is good overall, great value, great location and fantastic staff that meet our needs/ concerns. We were highly disappointed that they greatly reduced their SPG club lounge hours and it has become a hangout for kids and loud groups of younger adults.. There is no longer breakfast or evening reception services on the weekend; including Friday when the majority of people stay at hotels. This policy has recently changed in the past 2 weeks with new ownership and because of this, we will be staying at other hotels that have better values for SPG members. We were very disappointed with this change.... January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Great downtown location and the blend of an old hotel with recent refurbishments. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Beautiful Hotel! Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. The best part was that it was pet friendly MIA & Henry are part of our family and we were happy to know we can stay at an elegant hotel and not have to downsize just because we have a pet and for no extra cost. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Cool Hotel I've really enjoyed by two stays here when coming to San Antonio for business. The hotel is in a very cool historic building that they are in the process of renovating. Great looking lobby. Slight dust and work noises, but nothing much really. Once they are totally done, it's going to be one sharp looking hotel. The front desk is always very friendly, outgoing and seem to genuinely want to help make your stay great. Located a short walk from the Riverwalk and other attractions. If you are not RIGHT on the Riverwalk,this is a great place to stay. I also enjoy the bar as well. Friendly bartenders that pour good drinks and are good with conversation. This is def my go to place when coming to San Antonio. November 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I gave one star because I had to The room was very drafty - I don't think there was any insulation at all around our room. We could hear the neighbors coughing through the night and his electric razor the next morning. The hotel stank - smelled very musty - like there had been a flood and not properly cleaned and dried. The carpet in our room was filthy. We requested a king size room - I spoke with Jason prior to our arrival and he confirmed that our reservation was for a king size deluxe room. When we arrived, we received a room with two queen beds. We called down to the front desk and spoke with Amy. She was very irritated that she had to deal with our situation because in her words, "I'm off the clock!" As it turned out, a gentleman traveling alone in our group had received a king room and he traded with us - therefore not causing Amy any more grief because she was being inconvenienced. We came with the group of dancers and cheer squads for the Alamo Bowl. The food that was served to these young women, who are by definition very much athletes, was horrendous. We/they were served a cold soggy egg burrito for breakfast and a cold sandwich for lunch the first day - lunch didn't include a beverage. The second day the athletes were served a biscuit sandwich and a poor excuse for a Caesar salad (which consisted mostly of lettuce with less than an ounce of chicken) again without a beverage. This was the last meal these athletes received prior to their performance in the Alamo Bowl - we were with them for the game, rode back on the same bus which arrived after 11:00 pm that night. Thankfully, we were able to provide our granddaughter a hot meal from another facility prior to departing for the Alamo Bowl. Other girls who were traveling with a chaperone didn't have that luxury. Most places that include breakfast and lunch in their program provide a healthy buffet with a variety of foods - I guess you're not most places. Needless to say, I will not be staying at your facility again and will recommend others to find different lodging should they be visiting San Antonio. With the exception of Amy, the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful .... this is the only positive to our visit. Actually, the reservation number above was for an additional night to our stay with the Worldstrides Heritage Group. We had planned on staying over and celebrating New Year's Eve in San Antonio - but the room was so horrid, we decided to travel back home instead. January 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hit or Miss Our stay started with the incredibly unhelpful woman at the front desk informing me that the suite I believed I had reserved was just a living room with no bedroom. Even though we had also reserved a bedroom. She moved us into a regular king size room, without any discussion as to the availability of an actual suite we which had obviously been trying to reserve. My problem with this is two fold as (1) I felt she was incredibly short and not accommodating at all (my husband and I were traveling with our four year old and two year old) and (2) I am at a loss for why your website would have ever advertised a living room without a bed room. There was no clear mention anywhere that there was no bedroom with this living room. I have stayed at many hotels and booked considerable number of rooms online and I have never experienced anything like this. Onto the next problem, we were moved into a room that had standing water on the floor. Standing water. Thankfully, everyone of the bellhops we encountered at the hotel were outstanding and he helpfully had our room changed and moved all our belonging to it. The restaurant in the hotel is another example of the downfalls of the hotel. The service was nonexistent and our bill was incorrect twice. On an up note the valets were fantastic. They were quick with the car or an apology for the wait, and just generally delightful. My sisters wedding was also well done. We cannot say enough good things about Mustafa. October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool, Historic Hotel The Gunter is a piece of San Antonio history, but that comes with a bit of a price. The rooms are decent sized, but bathrooms a little small. It does have a little bit of a musty smell and the AC runs all the time to keep the room cool. The WiFi would not work on my phone or iPad - - the front desk girl said it would only work on a laptop. I'm not an IT geek, but that just doesn't make sense. Also, SPG Gold really doesn't mean anything anymore (and we are Starwood Vacation Club members). You have to pay extra to get Club Level rooms and access. Doesn't seem right. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! I love the charm and character of this older hotel. Bed was comfy, linens were great, hotel staff exhibited that great Texas hospitality. I'm looking forward to staying here again. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Classic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio The Sheraton Gunter Hotel is a classic with the beautiful entry and lobby one expects to find in a historical hotel located in old San Antonio. The rooms, service and food are great and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located across from the old Majestic Theater and is within easy walking distance of everything you want to see and do such as The RiverWalk, Alamo, and great restaurants. A Trolley will take you to the Mexican Market for about 25cents! Unless you want to go to the beautiful shopping malls you can park your car in the hotel lot and forget it. We come to San Antonio for 1 or 2 nights often and always stay at the Gunter. There is a nice Club Room on the 12th Floor with good wines and food. July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel allows pets This was my second time staying at this hotel and I believe it was even better the second time around! The staff is always so friendly and helpful. I was allowed to bring my dog, which took off a load of stress since I didn't have to board him. The staff was even friendly towards my dog! We were there seeing the Blue Man Group and the hotel was right across the street from the Majestic Theater. Talk about convienience. It was a very pleasant stay. I will definately go back to the Gunter Hotel and recommend it to my friends. February 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Consider Valet Parking Fee Be advised that there is only Valet Parking available on site at $28.00 per day. The only option is parking in a public parking space at $9.00 per day across the street. Valet Parking is listed as a plus on the website not a near requirement. The only explanation offered was that other hotels do this also. If you have a car, be sure to consider this in your decision to stay here. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic hotel near San Antonio's River Walk This hotel has lots of history in and around its location which is situated just a few blocks (short walk) from the Alamo. However, because of the Gunter's status as an historic hotel, renovations have been limited in some areas - bathrooms are smaller than those found in more modern hotels and standard room sizes tend to be somewhat smaller as well. The staff was great. The hotel was under renovation during our stay which likely took away from some of the finer points the hotel has to offer. There is a pool but it was not heated while we were there even though the website info said it was...there is also a "whiirlpooll" (not to be confused with a hot tub) but it was not working properly and barely functioned...if you didn't mind the water being cold. $28 valet daily parking can add up, too. October 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for our trip The Sheraton Gunter fit our plans almost perfectly for our recent trip to San Antonio. Ideally located for any of the multiple opportunities the downtown offers (the Alamo, the Riverwalk, the theater district), the hotel served as a great launching point for our plans. The room was spacious, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the privacy was excellent. We would most definitely stay there again. The only drawback was that the pool is not ideally placed to enjoy any sunshine. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful & Charming Experience A great place to stay. Lots of history here, each room is unique. The staff upgraded us to the Robert Johnson suite, what an interesting story and room. Great lobby and lounge. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a hotel with character and charm. July 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>