Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel

  • 150 West 500 South
  • Salt Lake City,
  • Utah
  • 84101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 373 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Close to Downtown and Light Rail Line HOTEL: • Great location near the heart of downtown, light rail stop is just a couple of blocks away • Lobby provided free internet access, checker board tables, fireplace and comfortable chairs • Shuttle service was prompt and as long as they didn't have an airport run, they would take you all over downtown • Plenty of free parking for hotel and conference guests on the north and east side of the hotel • Starbucks on property CONS: • Check-in desks were stand-alone islands; each had 2 large computer screens on them which hid the view of the staff member greeting you. This set up also left guests without any room to sign papers or place your purse/briefcase so guests either balanced them on their bent knees or placed them on the floor which made retrieving paperwork and IDs cumbersome and very inefficient. • The 3 elevators to the main hotel rooms were backed up when the conference would break and access to the stairways was locked. • Pre conference gatherings were held in the conference center lobby, which was stifling hot due to the large glass windows and provided little seating space. ROOMS: • Comfortable beds with 4 feather pillows per bed, soft down comforters • Large flat panel TV that swiveled for viewing anywhere in the room, offering premium channels • Dresser drawers were equipped with quiet shut hardware which keeps room noise down • Plenty of closet space and room for suitcase stand inside room • Corner had a reading chair with table and lamp • The computer desk had a bright light and 3 plugins which made charging electronics convenient CONS: • Room air conditioner never got below 70 degrees, even with both sets of curtains closed. A ceiling fan would be nice to at least keep the air moving. • 4th floor north side had tiny balcony with view of roof top air conditioners • DO NOT get a 3rd floor north facing room, the balcony is facing a brick wall BATHROOM: • Environmental friendly water saving toilets with 2 flushing options • Large oval tub, good sized soap/amenities and large towels • Large high counter-top area, plenty of bright lighting and 2 electrical plugs CONS: • Variable shower head was clogged with hard water deposits so the flow wasn’t working properly STAFF: • Front desk, gift shop and cleaning crew looked professional, were friendly and accommodating. • All employees I encountered spoke English • The waiters/bar tenders at the banquet hall were fast and efficient with clearing tables, refilling drink glasses and were very polite to guests. July 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Expectations and Sheraton Quality Below Expectations and Sheraton Quality As a Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum member, I tend to gravitate towards Starwood properties, of which this Sheraton belongs. (It is the only Starwood property in Salt Lake City.) I was in Salt Lake City for five nights but could not book the Sheraton for the first night, so I stayed elsewhere for the first night. When I arrived, I noticed that valet parking was not available, although their Web site indicates its availability. Since there was nobody outside, I parked and walked in to the front desk to register. I asked the clerk if there were a bellman available for luggage assistance. She said that nobody was available but she "would try to get someone." I waited for over ten minutes before I saw a bellman unlock their luggage storage area. I continued to wait until I returned to the desk clerk and reminded her that I was waiting for a bellman. She then called him over to assist. He was friendly, and quickly assisted in moving my luggage from my car to my room. On the plus side, self-parking is free, with spots available on the side or behind the hotel, with a bit of a walk to the front entrance. During the check in process, I found it very difficult to hear and understand the clerk. Also, little to no Platinum recognition was offered. My room was a standard room on their so-called Preferred Guest floor. No Platinum suite upgrade was made, even though suites were available for booking. (From what I've determined from others, suite upgrades are on a "depends on how we feel" basis.) It was clean and functional but certainly nothing to write home about. The lobby is exceptional. It has a lodge-like feel, with an enormous fireplace and comfortable seating. There is a large "conference table" in the lobby, with plenty of chairs and lots of electrical connections. Great idea! Breakfast, in short, is horrendous. Finding a clean table was a challenge. The offerings on their buffet spread were limited. The scrambled eggs were dry and hard as a rock. Other "hot" entries were not. It was also the most unkempt buffet I have seen in a long time. They offer eggs to order, too. I ordered two eggs over medium. When delivered, the yokes were hard and one was broken already. The server (there may have been more than one) appeared over burdened with busing tables and "trying" to keep the buffet bar clean and waiting tables. I had four breakfast coupons (my rate included breakfast), but after my second breakfast fiasco, I threw the last two away and are elsewhere. I stayed four nights at the Sheraton Salt Lake City. I don't think I've written this before about a Sheraton stay, but I was definitely not sad to leave. May 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room 408 When I arrived the room temp was 75*. I turned the stat as low as it would go and in the morning it was still 75*. I then went to the front dask and asked them to have maintenance to please lower the temp. Also the tub had 3" of standing water after showering. Also, the basin when brushing you teeth or washing hands would fill up also. Back in the room after 12 hous of meetings the room temp was still 75*. I then called the front desk and explained everything once again. Back from dinnerthe room had cooled by 1* and never did get below 70*. Neither drain was cleared the hole time of stay. Not the way to make people come back! May 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No SPG recognition I made this reservation several days in advance and had my platinum ambassador call to confirm a late-night arrival for me. When I arrived I was given a standard king room and told that nothing else was available, despite the fact that the hotel was showing suite availability just a few hours prior. My colleague who checked in at the same time and is SPG Gold received an upgrade to a parlor suite. I go out of my way to stay at SPG properties (45 miles from my destination in this case) and it is absolutely unacceptable to be treated with such indifference in light of my loyalty. My room was subsequently moved the next day, at my request, but no apology was given. January 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Renovated Property with Character My wife and I traveled to Salt Lake City for a short sight seeing trip before heading to Provo for a football game. We were impressed with the Sheraton. While obviously older (the exterior gives that away), it has been maintained well and renovated. The room was a suite, and was tastefully decorated. The on-site restaurant was a great place to grab breakfast, and had quality ingredients in the food selections. The staff were courteous and professional. Our only real complaint was the very slow wifi connection - pathetically slow. But we weren't there on business, so it was only a minor flaw in an overall great experience. December 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff, Not So Great Room The staff was helpful and friendly. The banquet food was good. The gloomy lighting in the room and common areas was awful. They DO make CFL bulbs that emit a warm, yellow glow. Sheraton should get some. The lighting in my room evoked a parking garage emergency lighting feel. Would have been a deal breaker for me if I wasn't there for a convention. Floor lamp had a short and didn't work. The room lacked a refrigerator, and although I requested one at the front desk (for additional charge), it was never delivered to my room. The towel bar in the bathroom was broken on one end and kept snagging my nightgown. I did appreciate the free WIFI and the in-house Starbucks. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Three Great Stays We recently stayed there three separate times, and each time had a great experience. Thanks to Veronica at the Front Desk and T.C. in the Club Lounge. September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brooke at front desk Sheraton is very fortunate to have such a professional at the front desk. Brooke went beyond my expectations to make sure my stay was enjoyable. September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything was good for me. I asked the room directly at the counter from a late flight. The staff at the counter figured my SPG gold status very quick and assigned me to a high floor level room with an unbeatable price. I asked for a wake-up service, they did it in the right way. Though I only stayed for about 7 hours, I would still recommend this hotel. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great experience I have been skeptical of this property in the past due to minor issues (in retrospect) such as outdoor signage, etc.. The property is making improvements in these minor areas and the staff is without a doubt one of the most committed teams I have seen in my travels. The service level is simply outstanding; from TC in the lounge, to the front desk team, to the shuttle team, there is no request that cannot be met. On two separate occasions I have had flights cancelled and have had to stay an additional unplanned night. The team has always been able to accommodate me- even if the property was sold out. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Salt Lake City for business or pleasure. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great reception, food service needs some improvement Checked in late and front desk staff was wonderful, acknowleding my SPG status, then giving me a few options for a room. I ended up with a suite that was wonderful. I tried calling room service one evening and was told to "hold for a moment". I could hear people talking and joking around in the background, but no one ever got back on the line to take my order. I ended up going to the fastfood place across the street. August 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by 0 for Two Checked into the first room, desk was dirty, hair in the bathroom, glass door was cracked and the closet door handle fell off in my hand. I call to ask for an alternative, for both a clean room and one with a view other than the back of the hot tub hut. I was moved to the room next door. While cleaner and had a functioning door handle, there were several things left to be desired including TV smears, and a couple of hairs in bathroom and fingerprints on the glass balcony door... The room was full of brite white CFL lights leaving the room feeling very sterile and cold inspite of the recent and nice upgrades... December 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value for money This is an excellent hotel for category 2 spg award redemption - the spg level was clean and nicely appointed with plenty of outlets both at the desk and bedside. The bed was excellent. I appreciated the spacious lobby with large sitting area, huge fireplace, and outdoor seating and firepit looked great although it was snowing when I was there. The AAA breakfast rate offered a great value because the breakfast buffet was actually quite decent and the service was very good. I especially appreciated the late serving time (until 11am) on Sunday! My only complaint, not unique to this Sheraton, was that there were no identified recycle bins anywhere in the room, nor in the hotel. December 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Stay My stay here was terrible. I arrived after dark and had to park in an unlit, unstaffed parking lot which felt very unsafe. The hotel room was lit only by glaring flourescent lights, even on the bedside, giving an institutional feel. The room was not clean, with visible dirt & grime. I ordered a salad from room service for dinner, and it had wilted and rotten lettuce, and was truly inedible. The staff was very nice and helpful but I recommend against staying here! January 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff Everyone was very helpful and very nice to the waiters in the 5th Street Grill to the people at the registration desk. The bed was way too hard and had a bit of a dip in each respective sleeping position. The furniture was worn and the shower tiles chipped and unprofessionally plastered but it was very clean. You could tell the cleaning staff took pride in their work! August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manager Aaron Magee is amazing Long story short, my husband and myself were not happy with the Sheraton. We had honesty written off all Sheratons and SPG Hotels because of a few unhappy and all around nasty employees. The following morning we received a phone call from Manager Aaron. We met him and explained what had occurred only hours earlier. Let me assure you, there was NOTHING he could do in my mind to make not give a terrible review, call corporate...etc. However, after speaking with Aaron for a small amount of time I felt that was not how Sheraton treats its customers. He was patient and just said all the right things. We ended the lovely conversation speaking about the wonderful things Salt Lake has to offer. Next time we are in town, which is often due to family, we will be staying at the Sheraton. But, only after I call to confirm Aaron is still happily employed. It was unfortunate our circumstances arranged the meeting, however, having managers who are capable to remedy issues AND have people skills make those situations less frustrating. On another note, the bar off the lobby is ADORABLE! And, pay a little extra for the club rooms. Although we didn't make the free breakfast and early night snacks, we really enjoyed the tea and water. September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never walked so much Low price and low quality Sheraton hotel, with a nice swimming pool, a non-functionning sauna, a poor restaurant (closed early) and poor room service (lot of food, but bad food). And kilometer-long corridors. I got a 2-floors suite at one end of the building and my Platinum card gave me access to the Club at the other end, 10th floor. Never walked so much, but I was obliged to do so, as there is no fridge in the room, no minibar, no fresh water. Another thing is the free transfer from airport to the hotel: I asked for it in my booking file, and never got an answer, so I finnaly had to take the taxi. August 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by SOOOOOOOOO DISAPOINTING Upon check in I waited 15 mins in line as there was only one person working the check in. My room key didnt work first go around. The heater was broken in my room and maintenance had to come and fix it. Wi-Fi was spotty in my location and had to go to lobby to work. Ceiling paint was pealing and so was "stuff" in tub. Went to get shuttle at 0800 and found it left at 0750 had to wait 30 mins for next but it didnt show so had to get the concierge to drive me to airport at 0838. Best thing about this Sheraton was the bar tender who invited me in got me on the net to work and talked to me about beer. April 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by About the green project The Sheraton offers clients the option of not washing linens and towels in return for a $5 a day voucher toward food at the hotel. (Might I add, the food is excellent). However, when I called and asked that the vouchers be run up to my room it never happened. In addition, the vouchers cannot be used anywhere else and credit toward room service cannot be offered without vouchers in hand. The point???? Actually, saving water is worth it in and of itself, but don't offer vouchers if they are not actually given. Right?! In most every other way I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. March 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor SPG Recognition This was my first SPG Club level stay. At check-in, the associate was unable to find my SPG account details. After over 10 minutes of trying to find my information, I decide I would deal with that detail later. The associate made no mention of amenities available for guests staying in SPG Club level rooms. Not knowing, I did not use any of those amenities of which I was informed upon check-out from the property. There was nothing in the room that promoted them either. The associate that assisted me on check-out found my SPG account information with about 5 clicks of her computer mouse. First impressions are critical. Communicate and promote the added value for which your guests have paid. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Except for a few things I normally love staying here but this time, check in was sheer chaos, long line of people but part of the problem were other customers. The club room was very nice, the outdoor pool also very nice. My wife to be and my dog were very comfortable and happy, same as I felt. The havoc was a little noisy and the room temp was hard to regulate but not that off-putting. Thanks! August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this hotel I checked in late, around 10 and was handed keys to a room where the AC was not functioning, the temp in the room was 87 deg and it took them 2 hours to give me a different. The excuse front desk had was that their AC system had broken down earlier - i would have expected them to tell me that at check in. Upon talking w/ other guests, they said their rooms were freezing. The front desk had no clue on how to handle the situation, couldn't find me a room for 2 hours and then somehow showed up with a key to a room directly opposite my initial room. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I travel monthly, mostly business. This was by far the best stay that I have had in years. The SLC staff were wonderful. I was there 6 nights. Staff deserving recognition......Austin, Dave, Hugo, and Zach. Give them raises. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience The location of the hotel is perfect. There are several very good restaurants within walking distance. There are also several grocery stores about a mile away. There is plenty of parking and the staff was very nice. We did not use the pool, but could see it from our room and there was always someone in it. I will stay here again when in Salt Lake. September 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not A Sheraton The deferred maintenance, house keeping staff and sense of the lobby caused me to feel this was a high 2 star or 3 star hotel. I have not marked any of the recommendations except 'business traveler' and that's a stretch because the property is just a little too far from everything. I marked 'business traveller' because the meeting I was at was well taken care of, the food was fresh and tasty and I had a sense of caring from the staff. So, probably weddings would be good too. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good The restaurant options needs to be improved and menu is limited dinner options. There are no pizza options to order August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay The hotel is spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It has easy access to the airport and downtown. August 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Suprisingly bad Reserved my room on line - was given the opportunity to upgrade to the "club" level. Got to the hotel was told no upgrade was available because the Star members get those rooms first - I declined the invitation as was told no upgrade was available - even though at the time of reservation it was and I tried to upgrade immediately after that. I was told by the lady at check in that my room would over look the court yard. It over looked the street to the west. I found animal feces in the closet - I picked it up - it had been there a while. I will never stay here again. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel need help I stay at the Sheraton SLC at least 2-3 times a month. It seems to me that this hotel is starting to need some help. I think it's time for some updating. The gym is in desperate need of updating. As in all service business you need to evolve or die. The restaurant breakfast service is still suffering. If they get a few customers at the same time they are overwhelmed. I hate to speak badly of this hotel. I love the staff. The people are great; they really know how to make you feel like family. I know that a hotel can only improve the facility when the corporate people give them the funds to do so. So please give the SLC Sheraton some money to update their property. Let’s make it a property that everyone wants to stay at. March 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a remodel I was upgraded to a suite, which was not very impressive. I walked into a dark room as the switch near the door didn't work. After stumbling around for a few minutes using my cell phone as a flashlight, I was able to get a lamp turned on. The bathroom was VERY spacious, but felt empty, the shower and toilet were crammed into the corner, but I had enough room to dance in the center. The hotel layout is difficult to navigate, and the bar staff was inattentive. This was my 2nd stay, was giving it a second chance because of my loyalty to SPG, that won't happen again. October 19, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>