Sheraton on the Park

  • 161 Elizabeth Street
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 17 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 928 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always A Great Experience As a Platinum Member I visit the Hotel regularly.Recently I booked two rooms/suite for a stay with our Son,Wife and Daughter.The service we received was nothing less than 1st Class in every way.Jodie,The manager in the lounge went out her way to make us all feel relaxed and Welcome at all times. Thank you everybody for yet another great stay.Would Highly Recommend to Everyone!! August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall Good But There's Inconsistent SPG Platinum Benefits Delivery Everything about this hotel was great and certainly met my expectations until I checked out. I went down to the lobby at about 6am on June 27 to check myself out of the hotel since the Club Lounge did not open until 7am. There were 2 associates manning the front desk at the time. One of them happened to be at the SPG Elite Counter so I walked right up to the counter to let him know that I would like to check out. However, he rather tersely asked me to wait in line. That would have been perfectly understandable had there been only one associate at the front desk but there were two counters serving guests and one of them was certainly at the Elite counter. So my question then is, why have an SPG Elite counter when you do not deliver such benefits to your Elite members? That is just inconsistent delivery of Elite member benefits and not what I'd expect from SPG. Finally, the way that your associate responded could have been a bit more polite and less condescending. July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service needs improvement My trip was coordinated by the Starwood ambassador program but it seemed that much was lost in translation. At the requested check-in time, which was a mere one hour earlier than the regular check-in time, the room wasn't ready, although my ambassador mentioned that it should be no problem. What made me felt worse, was that the hotel staff simply said that my ambassador made a mistage, that the hotel never guaranttees early check-ins. As I was travelling with my family, I really wanted that Starwood could do something to ensure it would be something a bit more special. Many questions were asked, including name and age of my family members. But in the end, absolutely no personal touch could be found. A few subsequent communication via the ambassador program with the hotel also failed. Not sure if it is the failor of the ambassador program, the hotel, or both. It was disappointing. Staff also lacks a bit friendliness. Met three staff members in the corridor during my 3 day stay. None offered any greetings. January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 40th Anniversary We booked a room for 5 days to commemorate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. I can't think of one single negative thing to say about our stay at the Sheraton on the Park. The staff was extremely professional, well groomed, and polite. Our room was excellent. May 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by ZERO recognition of SPG platinum member Frankly speaking, the food, beverage and service at the club lounge are pretty good. However as the platinum member I have never been upgraded into a standard suite at this hotel, every time the front desk told me that they don't have any available room for upgrade. I booked the city view executive room this time. Since I knew I couldn't be upgrade to the suite, I requested to have a corner room which is a bigger than the normal room. the hotel even couldn't find a park view room for me. at the end I haven't upgrade to any better room as the platinum member. I travel to many cities in the world, almost every time I have been updated to a suite at other SPG hotels except Sheraton on the park. very disappointing. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality assurred Exceeded our expectations, we had a such a nice stay we extended our trip so w3e could enjoy another night there November 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG membership does not mean much Poor recognition of SPG membership levels. Platinum does not mean much and front desk staff unwilling to provide the stated room upgrades/standards etc. August 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unkind Treatment by Staff My wife was struck ill with diahorrhea during the night and had an accident in bed, with a small stain resulting. Were shocked to receive a bill for a $300 cleaning fee. Though still ill, she went to talk to management, who initially refused to change the fee. Later, when I spoke to them, the manager lowered the fee to $150. The hotel could have easily absorbed this cost. As a result of their unwillingness to bend and also the embarrassment they caused, we will not stay at any Sheratons in the future. October 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over-charged I booked and paid for this room in advance, including an extra $110 for a third person to stay on a rollaway. When the rollaway wasn't in the room, I had to ask for it. After I checked out, I discovered that the hotel had charged me $81.20 for the rollaway by deducting the amount from my credit card. They didn't notify me of this when I checked out or at anytime after that; until I phoned to ask why I had been charged the extra $81.20. Hotels are amongst the few businesses arrogant enough to charge people for things without informing them. Needless to say I won't be back to this particular hotel. March 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Platinum Did not deliver platinum benefits. September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, super location Faultless stay at hotel. Beautifully maintained, attentive and friendly staff and great facilities inc. roof top pool and spa November 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad service, bad staff, not returning The staff has no recognition at all to a gold member at check in. My room was the whorst room I ever had in a spg hotel. They dont have any reception note or personalisation at all, fruit, chocolate a simple cheap note! No turn down service on the evening, no complimentary water or fresh towells, forget about a chocolate in your pillow!!! I asked for a special taxi because we were 4 and with 7 luggages and the taxi never came we took the taxi from other customer that was checking in, 20 minutes later... As I mention service HORRIBLE. Personalisation Nothing!!! I make a complaint about the room and what was going on, no manager came up to try to please me. Never comming back to that sheraton!!! January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place, helpful staff I travel frequently to Sydney. This is by far my most favourite hotel in this city. The location is great : easily accessible by train from the domestic/international airports for when arriving/departing during peak traffic hours (St James Station is just across the road); many good restaurants within walking distance (if the excellent seafood buffet at the Brasserie on level 1 of hotel doesn't tickle your fancy, Bambini Trust Cafe/Restaurnat is highly recommended, only a few steps away on the right as you exit main door of hotel. Another new favourite is Grasshopper, 10 minutes walk, Temperance Lane off George Street, serves casual french cuisine, Palace Chinese Restaurant just behind the hotel serves great yum cha. Chinatown is only 15 minutes walk away and great for late night food jaunts); all manner of shops within walking distance to do serious damage to your credit card (from high street to the very high end). The staff are always friendly and helpful. As SPG Platinum, I have access to their executive lounge, with all its associated benefits - very useful when travelling on business (use of boardroom, printers, wifi, etc). Evan, Christy, Sol and their associates in the Exec Lounge go above and beyond in their service and helpfulness. On occasions when I have been accompanied by my family (2 young children), the staff have always made us feel very welcome and at home. My children love the glass roofed pool on the top floor. Highly recommended whether for business or family trip. November 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lunch on Sunday Seafood Buffet We did arrive after 1.30. The maître di was very good, set a table and then we were absolutely left alone. We had to go to the desk to request wine and water service. We had to clear our own table and put plates on an empty table. Absolutely no staff came near us the whole time we had lunch. To be fair, the food was excellent. Club floor staff were excellent and most obliging, much more attentive than restaurant staff. October 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Excellent location coupled with the service level expected of a Sheraton. However, SPG needs to work on their member benefits. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We stayed there for one night and the man at the reception was nice enough to give us a room on level 17, the view wasn't much because we were on the city side but the room was great, the bed was comfortable and pillows were just heavenly to sleep on, the bathroom was luxury, black marble and all, complementary tea and coffee, air con, swimming pool and sauna the beautiful view from the balcony on level 22 of the hyde park was just stunning, the location to st James station was also good as we caught the train from the airport, also its location to the shopping centres was good also. January 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This time only 3* - Sheraton on the Park was better before I stay on a regular basis at the Sheraton on the Park in Sydney. Until now I was happy with it but this time it missed the mark and therefore only 3*. Room 1816 has a great view to the Hyde Park but is very noisy as staff elevators are next to it. SPG Platinum recognition as regular guest in the Club Lounge is poor. Breakfast and cocktail variance needs to be improved - hardly any changes during the week and throughout the year. I like oysters but do they need to be on the buffet on a daily basis? There are so many other things that could be offered for cocktail hours and breakfast. Location, room layout and cleanliness as well as gym are great. Will return in a few month and hope to give again 4 or 5 *. January 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad stay start to finish My confirmation noted an early arrival and at checkin (after 24 hours of travel from North America) was told that a Park View room had been set aside, was empty and awaiting cleaning (and listed as a 'PRIORITY' for cleaning). I went to the lounge where I sat and waited, but started enquiring about whether the room had been cleaned. After 90 minutes and completely exhausted waiting, I finally asked in ANY room was available, there was a City view, which should be more aptly names concrete view. I voiced my complaint to the front desk agent that a 90 min wait for an empty room to be cleaned is ridiculous and then she told me that there was no guarantee of time when it would clean! An email complaint to the hotel was followed up by the Manager on Duty to my Concrete View Room that she was sorry it was not communicated but it was a large hotel with a lot of business traffic and they don't guarantee times. I was quite angry at her response, esp after being told that I could have waited til the 3pm checkin I did not appreciate the tone and felt her comment was meant to chastise and filed an additional complaint. Another followup yielded no better response though after 4 hours, I was told another room was available if I wanted (I had already unpacked my belongings). I deferred and asked her to explain how long did she think was reasonable to wait for an empty room that needed to be cleaned and her response was 3 hours. I find the response pathetic. If a hotel cannot tell housekeeping to clean according to Priority (their words), then they have no business in the hospitality industry! Further, when I asked her how long one should need to clean a room and knowing it is on avg 15-20 min, and that in the time I was waiting (not including the time the room was vacated), 4-6 rooms could have been cleaned. While she understood, there was no hint that it registered why I was so upset at the lack of communication or how to make changes. The conversation ended with her saying she will pass it on to the staff. I told her that i was not willing to be a guinea pig to help them make a better hotel, esp at the cost of my enjoyment. As I had another stay coming up, I decided to move it away from the hotel after our conversations. To further add insult, I went to get a coffee from the lounge at 6:45 as I had to depart at 7 and was flat out refused entry. The inability to accommodate their guests is truly disappointing as I had enjoyed my previous visits in the hotel. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY We came to sydney to celebrate my sons birthday. Our stay was everything we expected and more. Thank you November 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrace Suite Stay 07/01/14-10/01/2014 We recently booked a Terrace Suite for 3 nights but only could manage to stay 2 nights. We found the room to need quite a bit of work to upgrade it to the 5 stars the hotel claims to have. We have stayed at this hotel many times, mainly due to its location, and now can honestly say that it is well past its prime. Every part of the room is in need of repair. The bathroom had water damage to the ceiling over the shower, the architraves around door, the grout in the marble floors tiles is falling out in all of the floors and in the shower where the tiles have been cut the tile edges edges were quite sharp. The balustrade on the terrace has had wire mesh fitted the original structure with zip ties, the air quality in the room is terrible and the air-conditioning in the room was extremely noisy. The carpets are well worn and smelly. We also had a car, which we chose to use the Valet parking at $60 per day. Guest Services recommend calling 15 minutes prior to needing your car, on 2 of the 3 occasions we requested the car, we had to wait a further 10-15minutes downstairs with our 5 month baby as the bell desk never retrieved the car. On both occasions I had to go to the bell & reception desks and ask where the car was. The time from calling to arriving in the foyer exceeded 35 minutes on both occasions. The weather in Sydney for our stay wasn't very good but the room was not comfortable enough to spend the extra time in the hotel or the room. At no time did I feel that anything I said to the staff would make any difference to what was happening or our stay as after the first time the car wasn't bought up for us I made an extra request when asking for the car the last time that they have it there on time and I explained what happened previously, the car still wasn't there.The final insult to the stay was on checking out I received a printed Tax Invoice for the stay. The next day I received an Updated and Final Folio as requested (which I didn't request by the way) which had an extra room charge, an extra valet parking charge and an extra credit card charge. I had prepaid for 3 nights accommodation and only stayed for two, but somehow they charged me for last night twice as well as the valet twice and hit me for a second credit card charge for the pleasure. It took over an hour and several phone calls to get sorted but this should never have happened. Perhaps it is time for the Sheraton on the Park to spend some money where we the customers are to benefit from our contribution and a little less on the foyer and public areas where all the pictures online look great. Also, perhaps the staff service should be looked at as we are entitled to receive some upon our stays. I did have several nights in a Penthouse suite at the Sheraton Noosa booked next week which I will be cancelling. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel My husband and I spent three nights in Sydney at the Sheraton on the Park prior to embarking on a cruise, and we couldn't have been happier with our room (a spacious corner room overlooking the park), or with the restaurant. (Try their breakfast and dinner buffets; they are both exceptionally good!) The location of the hotel is ideal--right in the heart of the city. The bathroom was beautifully appointed and there was even enough light in the room in the evening--something that isn't always the case in hotels these days. Great service, too. Highly recommended. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daughters Birthday Treat My little girl turned 9 and all she wanted was to stay at a Hotel in the city with 2 friends. So I booked 2 interconnecting rooms at the Sheraton on the Park. They confirmed 2 days prior that I would have interconnecting rooms (I rang to ensure this would happen for obvious reasons). The rooms were lovely with lots of space and privacy even with connecting doors. The girls loved the pool (which has an amazing view of the city). Breakfast was a top notch event - girls very happy to have chocolate doughnuts and Ice cream for breakfast all in all a fabulous stay! July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Class Hotel Sheraton on the Park in Sydney is a perfectly located place to stay when visiting Sydney. On the doorstep are fantastic places to eat, excellent shopping or if you want to stay in, the rooms are spacious & spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast would be easily the best I have ever experienced and the concierge (Mike) organised limo transfers for me which were absolutely seamless. My wife also used Sheraton Day Spa and she was blown away by the professional & quality service she received. Seriously doubt whether I would stay anywhere else in Sydney from now on. June 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dissappointing verses my First Stay The experience this time was totally devastating verses my first stay 3 months ago. The room was more expensive and yet much smaller. Drilling and renovation works going on at 8am when we had a long night and got back to room around 4am. Barely had 4 hours of sleep. No complimentary water for the 2 days of stay. No toothbrush. Was unable to swap breakfast for mileage points as I didn't take breakfast for the past 2 days of stay. October 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointing Stay Our stay at this hotel to sum up in one word was disappointing. On 4 of us arriving with suitcases we were not offered any help with our cases to our rooms. We were charged $9.50 for drinking water The rooms were not sound proof. On leaving we were not offered any help and I then had to come home and question charges on my credit card. I am a Star Privilege card holder and a SPG member and after this experience I will not be renewing my card for another year. On a positive note the breakfast at Feast was excellent and the location is fantastic. May 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing We were underwhelmed by our stay. We advised the night manager on the 2nd night our a/c was not working as the room temperature was over 25 degrees. We were moved rooms at midnight having first been advised of no spare rooms and a fan would suffice. Our next room resulted in the night technician spending a half hour in our room trying to fix our television. We wanted to eat from the buffet on the Saturday night but were advised there were no tables available until 9.30pm. All in all an expensive and stressful "quiet weekend" away. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST HOTEL IN SYDNEY Frequent visitor to SYD, and, have stayed at several other properties in CBD, SOTP is by far the best option. It has an enviable location next to Hyde Park , close enough for a stroll to AGNSW, Sydney Opera House, Circular Quay, MCA, etc. Also numerous buses stop outside for trip to Bondi for e.g and St James station across street. for SYD INTL . But even more important than comfortable beds, Executive Club, SPG perks, it's the warm, professional friendly staff from porters, front desk, EC, that make stays so memorable. Thank you December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost perfect, but... I am writing this review now because I was awaken by strong constructional drilling noise coming from next door room, And I have this disaster second day in row. Nothing about that possible inconvenience was in "Special conditions" when I did booking. This is unacceptable for such glorious hotel with such a great service to put guests in such position. All other aspecrs of my stay were almost ideal.I highly recommend this hotel, but after reconstruction noise will finishes. And management should put warning now at their website. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely value & quality Decided to have a night away from the kids (3 under 6) with the husband. We chose SHeraton on the Park because we were seeing a concert at the Hordern Pavilion. The room was wonderful. The bathtub was lovely, and relaxing. Shower was a fantastic size for two! The room was extra comfortable, and I loved the corner sofa to lounge on with a drink while chatting. Nothing worse than having to use the bed just to chill out. The staff were friendly and kind. The lobby is beautiful. Everything was wonderful. Top floor pool & viewing area was spectacular. Breakfast was delicious and I took advantage of the freshly made omelete to order! Thank you, we'll be back. October 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is this a Sheraton or a cheap motel? Perhaps one of the worst Sheraton stays ever: 1. Long line-ups at Reception 2. No dedicated preferred SPG line (I'm Platinum SPG) 3. Jack hammer construction noise from other floors. 4. Service promises repeatedly broken. 5. Heat in my room not working. I've not slept, I'm cold. And just stood in another 15 minute line-up to check out. Complete service fail start to finish. August 8, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>