Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 89 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is the worst sheraton I had ever been The room is very old, not clean. Almost 3 days without hot water. Brakfast is very bad. It's a shame for Starwood. The price over 250€ / night for an hotel like this????? May 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nightmare with SPG 1. My reservation in Sheraton Rio was incorrectly registered. Paid with my SPG points and they did the reservation for October, instead of April. I lost the whole day with my family (coming from overseas) trying to find a room. I was finally assigned to Sheraton Barra. Got an old room which went all wet when the AC was turned off. To round a nightmare stay, we found a coucrouch over the bed the next morning. Even though the night was "paid" with points, I was charged because they could not make the points cross charge. Got a 30% discount for the "inconveniences". I am a Platinum SPM member and had a terrible experience. It was uncredibly frustrating to lose such time and money when you are only staying one night. I was promised in writing a reimbursement of $300US. I really hope it happens. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired hotel having had no investment over the past 3 years It has been 3 years since I had stayed at this hotel and I hoped that the World Cup and Olympics were a catalyst for investment, no such luck! All the rooms and common areas have not had any work over the intervening period. The rooms have always been damp and this is still the case but now the carpets and furniture look very tired and the bathrooms are 2 star with an added sprinkling of mould. The hotel room had been booked for a conference but at the weekend I could check out, so I did and went to far better hotel in Ipanema. The positives are the buffet lunches and the reception staff are very polite. However check your bill carefully, 50% of conference attendees had errors on their bills. Honestly I am a little surprised Sheraton puts its name to the hotel. April 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to standard We checked in the day after Carnival to one of the King Suites. As soon as you get off the third floor the entire floor smells of mold and then you get into the room and that smells of mold as well. The curtains have black mold on them and it was so bad we had to open up the windows to get the smell out. We then go down to the SPA to get a 2 hour couple massage. The woman who give the massage have no idea what they are doing and gave us a 1 hour and 20 minute half massage have scrob down and then stop. We had to ask for a partial refund because of this. They then ask us to shower next to the pools and my wife informs me not only are both womans showers broken, but 1 doesnt have a door and both are extremely unclean. For a Sheraton hotel this is entirely unacceptable. To pay $RSL1000 for a moldy rool and then $RSL 600 for a massage in which the woman dont know what they are doing and then have us shower in showers that dont work is completely unacceptable. The staff at the pool, front desk, and room service are nice but the room and spa completely ruined the entire experience. Due to this I would never stay here again. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, quiet location Rio is pretty busy city. But location of this hotel is really great. It is a little bit far from the city center, but the hotel is located at the front of the beach. I got comfy room (nice upgrade). Staff was professional and friendly. August 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by one of the few option in Barra da Tijuca the hotel has changed very little since it was inaugurated (I lived in RJ for 7 years). On one of my most recent stays I actually took pictures of torn drapes, rusty hangers, burned furniture, etc. I received a letter from the local manager indicating they were improving. went back last week, everything is exactly the same. As long as option are limited in Barra hotel won't change. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in Barra, Excellent Front Desk and strong SPG Recognition Great hotel in Barra, nice rooms, and very efficient and courteous Front-Desk who recognises "returning" guests. April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No Hot Water on 03/21 and 03/22 Arrived on 03/21 after a hard working day and for my surprise hotel was not providing hot water due to technical problems, maintenance was expected to finish after 6hs (From 10PM to 4AM). Next day, around 7:30AM problem was still the same, and hot water was not available. Staff was not able to provide extra details. Additionaly, musty all over... Definitively a bad stay... March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel I'm satisfied I'll be back February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just a few notes about a great hotel Almost everything is excellent at this hotel but i found a couple of things that could be improved. Everything else was really great and recommendable. - The water of the swiming pools was too hot, seriously, forget about giving a break to the sun, you can't get a 'refresh' at the pool. - This one is pretty important to me, i know most hotels do it this way, but i just can't undertand that the Internet access is not free, and not cheap BTW, why is not given as just another service at one of the best Hotels you can go? I mean, are you trying to make your guests stays more comfortable, or are you looking at the Internet Service Provider business? I think this issue will be seen as a shame in the future, something like if the swiming pool stay was charged in the past or the TV, we would be laughing about it now. Charge me more for the room, but give me free Internet, filter the multimedia streaming if neeeded, but give unlimited access for low bandwidth use, which is what usully need people that needs or wants to be 24hs connected. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything but The staff is phenomenal and were always going out of there way making my stay very comfortable. The only reason I give the hotel 4 of 5 stars is as follows; 1.) I do not appreciate any hotel charging for WiFi especially for extended stays this is unacceptable. There was free WiFi at the Business Lounge (another nice plus considering but at the guest inconvenience). 2.) Paid WiFi is slow even though signal is strong. The "External pipe" must be narrow/poor. 3.) I wish the Business lounge was larger and more "Business" friendly i.e,.. larger tables, power outlets and better WiFi (intermittently would drop and slow). 4.) The menu could be expanded or improved. I found it adequate but after the first meal I was not impressed. I did like that bottled water was offered complimentary in each room, again a nice plus with a large, clean and overall very comfortable suite. November 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel in Barra Front Desk was poilte and took the initiativce to recognise my SPG status. The Suite is well maintained, and dinner at the Restuarant was very good. November 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Services and Staff Musty smell in the hallways on second floor November 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing Bad smell around hotel corridors and room. Cleaning in my room was terrible, sand on the floor, hair in the bathroom, bed cloths not really clean. I was happy I was staying just for one night. Posite: very good breakfast., location November 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The best in Barra da Tijuca I always stay at Sheraton Barra but every year the builging and furniture, decoration is getting more tired. Need renovation now! October 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by How to Miss a Meeting I requested the laundy service to wash one shirt that I would need to use in a important meeting on thursday. On friday, at luch time it wasn't ready to use. I´ve complained for four times and I just received my shirt at 1:20 PM. Unfortunely, I missed my meeting. It took 3 months to schedule the meeting, I spend money and time to travel to Rio and I lost my meeting because of you. It was the most sad thing that happened to me in my entire business life - lost a meeting because a Shirt! Please, don´t allow things like that happen again. October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in Barra All top of the line, although the five terminals at reception / check-out were staffed by only two receptionists at check-in as well as check out. There were several people in front of me, so that took much more than the necessary time. October 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great location in a suburban neighbourhood I used to be SPG Platinum and now I am SPG Gold and as Gold I have not received any benefit, such as room upgrade. I paid 5 $ per connection to call 0800 number and I had my internet usage charges waived. I used to be treated much better, but I think the hotel was fully booked as well. I do believe loyalty matters and the staff were amazing, truly devoted, engaging and professional, so the hotel deserves a chance! September 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as Good as expected Hotel not as good as expected and a little overpriced. Rooms getting a little tired around the edges and they are still charging a full price. Some of my colleagues paid much more than me. Restaurant food & wine overpriced (not unexpectadly) September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location The hotel is near my job The price of the foods are very expensive You should have store open until 10pm August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff are excellent It is the staff that made my stay great! Thank you! August 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but too expensive The hotel is nice and the people are great, but not good value for the price. Especially disappointing is that you charge $15 / day for internet on top of everything else (and the connection is slow!). August 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room not ready I arrived very tired on Wednesday only to find a room that was not ready to receive a guest. 1) The desk had no chair 2) The sink was dripping, very annoying sound. 3) No coffee maker on the room, but there was coffee. 4) During the night there was a recurrent loud sound in the hall way. Most likely the ice maker machine.I was in Room 923. The first 3 points were solved very diligently the last one not. The next day I arrived at 5pm to the hotel only to find my room was not ready. Housekeeping didn't pass through my room, bed and bath were as I left them in the morning. After all this, I expected the hotel to apologize and either not charge for the night or give me SPG points to compensate for the tough times. When I checked out I payed in full so most likely I will not return to this hotel on my next trip. August 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Reservation Issue As usual, again I had problem with my reservation. I have confirmed a week before my check-in, and I arrived at the hotel, the reservation wasn't confirmed and I did send all information requested almost a week before. I had to show to the reception my e-mail sent, otherwise, Sheraton couldn't trust and keep the rate. It is not the first time i had this problem with reservation team. Only for this reason, I consider unsatisfacotry my stay at Sheraton again. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vacation in Rio My family and I had a great time in Rio. Everything was almost perfect except the bathroom that had a leakage and the air wasn´t working but the rest was great. My son had a blast at the pool and is looking foward for next year vacation in Brasil August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good location right on the beach Overall I had a good experience at Sheraton Barra hotel. This hotel needs renovation, especially the spa and rooms which have an unpleasant odor. Unlike other reviewers, we got our room before check-in time, the staff was really nice and helpfull, at the reception and concierge desk, breakfast was rich in fruits, but lacked vegetables. The neighborhood is very nice and safe, the heated pool excelent, the beach also. August 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bath was filthy, staff was arrogant The bath had very evident sings of mold/fungus and improver cleaning. I complained to the hotel management and no action was taken. I even send them an email with the pictures of their filthy bath. Luckily I was staying there for two days – NEVER again. Also, the staff at the hotel (with the exception of concierge staff) seems to have a chip on their shoulder or some kind of attitude towards the guests. Not sure what the problem is – not being paid well, being forced to work long shifts – do not know and do not care but I would not stay there ever again nor I would recommend anyone to stay there. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Years In Rio Very nice staff and helpful, the rooms are very nice and clean. June 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding What truly made my stay enjoyable was Marco from the reception! Could have not imagined such a welcome and pleasant talk. And the housekeeper who works on the 11th floor could have not done better to keep me welcome when I come back to my room! Thank you so much! June 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is smelly, moldy and makes breathing difficult I have stayed in many Sheratons and expected the same level of accomodation. There was a strong smell in the corridors and worse in my room. It was very damp and moldy and made breathing difficult. I was unable to ever achieve a comfortable temperature/environment in the room. Even with adapters, my personal hair appliances did not work and I travel the world without difficulty. I found the hotel very over priced for what you got. Room was spacious but that was it. June 17, 2012
  • 2016-07-30 T12:22:31.346-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_89, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_1452, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 next>>