Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 507 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 nites of bliss I will be doing a Trip Advisor review, but here I wanted to particularly thank Randy in security and Veronica at the front desk for their responsiveness to two problems I created for myself. Randy rescued me with a bag of rice to cover my recently soaked camera with the hope of reclaiming its work-ability. Veronica bailed me out of another problem...gracefully. Both were committed to making their guest a happy camper. November 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for the views... We just got back from a 2 night stay here and were less than pleased with the facilities and amenities. The pool table by the bar and pool table in the rec room didn't have the right balls for the table, no chalk and only one pool cue. Not usually a big deal but my 14 and 10 year old love to play and weren't able to really use the tables. Also, the website says there are pool toys to rent/check out to play with when, in fact, there was a volleyball only...just 1 volleyball to play with in the pool. The second day we wanted to use it and it hadn't been returned by previous guests; so there went the only pool toy they offered. I think for the amount of people they have staying there and playing in the pool, a stock of balls, noodles, floats etc would be something the hotel would focus on having. Another issue we had, I understand these things happen, was when we were locked out of our room for about 6 hours. Not a big deal normally but since the bar is closed at 5:30 pm and the restaurant/bar is closed at 10, and we were locked out until 11:30 pm, we had no where to go, nothing to do and just had to sit and wait. They did compensate us with basically taking off the charge for the room that night and that was appreciated, but we were not happy about us having no where to go or anything to do. Our kids were tired, and we were too. One more thing; I was looking into having some spa time but apparently they only have one person to provide services and I wasn't able to get into the spa at all. Aside from those downfalls, we loved staying there and will probably go back. There is an area only a short walk away that you can snorkel at any time and the underwater views were amazing. The weather is perfect and the pool was nice to just chill out next to each day. March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by new to the big island what a difference another island is, we normally go to Maui, but added the Big Island to out trip. We enjoyed our stay. The snorkeling was VERY good at Kahluu Beach Park about a mile from our hotel. Enjoyed it very much, February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff & Resort need TLC This location is stunning and has such great potentional. But the front staff and resort itself are tired and unfriendly. Several issues were brought to front desk attention and they were correct with answers but very indifferent to "Preferred Starwood" customer. The building and staff need some TLC to warm up the resort and give it that Aloha Spirit that seemed to be everywhere else but there. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but a lot of activity right on shoreline I had an oceanfront room which was very nice, but it was difficult to feel the privacy and comfort that the facility was obviously designed for, due to the constant stream of kayakers, night divers, boats, and so on right outside my window. It's a nice resort, and it was up to the Sheraton name. For my money I would stay somewhere other than Kona next time - too congested and people are right on top of you every second. October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is in a beautiful location The location is fantastic. However, the rooms need upgrading, as do the facilities. Most pool chairs were ripped and quite uncomfortable. The elevators worked sporadically and we were trapped in the elevator going to our room. The staff recognition of starwood preferred guests, was exceptionally good. February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Location But Lacking Service I love the location of this hotel. The views are wonderful and the manta rays at night are unique. However, I was disappointed that on my first night, I could not order a burger after 10pm. I arrived late and hungry and there was no where to purchase food or a drink. This was the case every night of my 6 day stay. I've never heard of hotel that shuts down all of its services so early. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort is plush and staff is incredible I have stayed at this resort many times and was quite impressed to see the huge renovation project completed since my last visit. The facilities are incredible and this is the nicest hotel you can find in Kona. The restaurant is a must see... great food, great view, reasonable prices. The staff was very helpful and give you the feeling that they like working at this resort and treat you with great attention to detail. September 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a beautiful view We thought the view from our room was beautiful but because our room was right above the pool, it was very noisy at night. February 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by beautiful setting and top notch staff Breathtaking views. Lovely, open facility and very accommodating and pleasant staff. My only complaint, and I know it can't always be helped, was the amount of bugs in the room. I found some in my suitcase and had to empty my bags in the garage when I got home. Rooms could definitely use some updating, especially the bathrooms. Otherwise will stay again and have already recommended to friends who are going next month. October 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Soundproof? The room was o.k., but nothing special. The layout of the bathroom was pretty odd and made its use somewhat difficult. The worst part was that the walls must be paper thin. We could hear the people next door talking at 3:00 a.m. Definitely something we didn't need on vacation. The hotel is also somewhat confusing to get around, but the outside is lovely, even without a beach. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel with nice Pool We always choose the Sheraton for our weekend getaways. We enjoy the pool and the relaxing atmosphere. The staff treats us very well. We only have one complaint, the food is not as good as it used to be. I think the last Chef was better. We ordered the Boneless Korean Short Ribs, meat was tough, too much hoisin sauce and the coconut rice tasted gross. Bring back regular white rice and maybe the Chef you used to have. October 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dispute Resort Fee/Dinner Reservations The mandatory resort fee includes parking, which is claimed to be free on the Orbitz Sheraton web page. It also includes a daily charge for things that are not wanted, such as hula lessons and yoga classes, or not used -like long distance minutes for guests who own cell phones. The restaurant hostess did not return my message to confirm our dinner reservation, then said they do not pick up messages during the shift. March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Resort This hotel exceeded every expectation, from the moment we arrived to the time we departed. The pool(s) with the slide kept our son occupied for hrs , while the view of the sunset kept us enthralled. This resort was luxurious and child friendly, with spacious rooms, comfortable beds, amazing food and the staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist. We will definitely return to this hotel as it was a true gem! December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Anniversary Celebration We just celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at the Sheraton Keauhou. We were greeted at the front desk by Veronica who made sure our celebration was perfect in every way and treated us like royalty. Every staff member was very helpful and full of Aloha. The food was excellent, the property stunning, and the pool and spa are fantastic! I highly recommend this resort on every level. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to go back We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. The staff is very friendly and responsive to guest's needs and the location is beautiful. We were given an ocean view room upgrade when we checked in (we are Starwood Gold) without even having to ask. And the gym is amazing, with brand new equipment. Our one tiny complaint was that the food was just average. The drinks were great though. November 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable And Clean Must say that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Kona Resor & Spa. From the time we arrived at the hotel until we left, the staff was courteous, helpful, and showed a lot of the "Aloha Spirit". The grounds were beautiful and well kept. Enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi and just relaxing. Also, enjoyed the close proximity of the Keauhou Shopping Center and the easy shuttle service. Well done. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet room lovely views We stayed two days in a garden room which we found spacious and clean and comfortable. The maid was very accommodating about extra towels. In fact we found all the staff helpful and friendly. We dined in the bar at rays on the bay since we had had a big lunch that day. Pizza, egg rolls and the shrimp cocktail with enormous fresh tasty shrimp provided the four of us with just the right amount for a light dinner. February 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by What Hotels Consider Renovation As is often the case, hotels talk about renovation and they have a different idea than consumers such as myself. This is an older property that is showing its age. The lobby is new and beautiful (I was in the lobby for about 10 minutes during the week - why do hotels care about the lobby so much?). The room had new paint, carpet, nice bed - clean and comfortable...what was not so great? Old plumbing fixtures with built up junk on the shower head, poorly maintained common areas, and a very small and inattentive staff - happy to quote policy, not too interested in solving problems to improve experience. I will admit, I don't stay at Sheraton properties often - mostly Westin, Marriott, and Hilton - maybe this is normal for a Sheraton. The bar and restaurant closed really early. The breakfast buffet was adequate - passable but not great. The breakfast staff was very nice. The pool deck area did not seem well staffed or maintained. the landscape lighting out front by the parking lot not only didn't work, my wife scraped her leg on one that had fallen over. It is on a beautiful section of real estate, but that is really the only thing worth considering. I would stay there again only if was the least expensive option - and even then it would have to be a really good deal. This is one of those places where you wonder what is the real definition of resort. To keep it in perspective, I spend 70-100 nights a year in hotels and I have never taken time to write a review. If you are a fan of the show Hotel Impossible, my wife and I joked that Anthony would have had a thing or two to say about the property. Caveat Emptor. March 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ms. good excellence location and stylist interior design made us fully feeling of vacation hawaii . relax and beauty.comfort and warm all over the resort. we are coming back next time !!!!!! February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel on Kona This hotel met all expectations. Best of all were the staff and free tours where we learned about the Hawaiian traditions and history. Kudos to the Sheration for valuing this history and staffing with natives who loved sharing their history. Guides were outstanding. Nights at Rays were romantic and music on Weds. was wonderful. Tne pool is awesome. Always places to sit. Walks in garden were so pretty. January 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent stay for families The Sheraton Kona is a great destination for families with young kids. The pool, keiki beach, volleyball and huge water slide, are amazing attractions. The food is 4/5 in general but Ray's and the breakfast buffet are better than that. The staff have all provided excellent service, happily, and incredibly helpfully. The only issues I'd have are that the tennis and sport courts desperately need resurfacing. That the property internet connection needs to be increased from 3 Mbps/500 rooms. Rain and "iPad babysitting" are inevitable. When Netflix is unusable it is frustrating. Finally, if there were more pool toys and multiple volleyballs for borrowing that would be wonderful. Sometimes the volleyball was borrowed by folks who were not using it and were nowhere to be found for hours. Kids were 'aaaaaackkkk!' about that. :) In all I think this is a 4/5 property. Just a few rough edges to clean up. Keep up the great work Matthew and team. January 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The front desk staff are unsatisfactory. From the person who checks you in too the manager does not have any respect for the guest staying at the hotel. There was a mistake with our reservation and the staff put it all on me and did not take any blame for the issue or try and fix it. For 2 days we did not have hot water to take a shower. Also at many places to eat at the hotel children under 5 eat free and we were not told that at check in. December 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs more work After an extensive remodel, the hotel is very nice, but the staff needs work. They did their job, but were not friendly and did not go out of their way to fill your stay with aloha. Only 1 restaurant open per meal and you are far from outside eateries. The poolside help was more concerned about making sure we had armbands than with the services we asked for. It just wasn't our idea of paradise. June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolute value for the money! Had a wonderful stay at the Sheraton. The hotel is very well located, away from the crowds but quick drive to center of Kona. Loved the water slide and pool bar, great morning coffee shop, and happy hour in the lobby with awesome view of the water and sunsets. Staff was very friendly and rooms clean, well appointed and very comfortable. All in all a fabulous stay, can't wait to go back, mahalo! January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Beautiful Spot This is our second visit to your Hotel. As before the staff was exceptional, don't ever get rid of your valet parking, We were disappointed in the restaurants. The Breakfast has changed and not for the better, except for the omletts, it was very mediocore this time. Rays was Ok, nothing special except the view. However, we found many good places on the island to fiil in. The spa was fabulous. February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Location and grounds I love staying at this resort. The food is very good, the staff is very nice and the views are beautiful. The only drawback is that for my room, which was listed as partial ocean view and was the last room in the wing, the view was so blocked by the trees that the ocean was very hard to see. Make sure you verify the location of your room before you check in rather than pay extra for the view. January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this place!!! This was our second visit to Sheraton Keauhou...and we LOVE it! With a 2 and 10 yr old, the pool is our landing spot for our stay. The vast size and various stages of the pool accomodate every swimmer's ability. With a special Kama'aina rate and SPG privileges, this is the perfect weekend STAYCATION. We're certain to be back soon...and are sure to tell everyone about the perfect getaway spot! September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Last minute wedding day topped of with a fantastic honeymoon My husband and I decided, after 4 years of dating, to be spontaneous and tie the knot on the beach on the very day he proposed to me. Since we didn't have any time to plan our night untill after the ceremony, we were a bit worried when the first 3 hotels we checked were booked. However, not only did the Shereton welcome us with ease that night, they also welcomed us with a complimetary room upgrade, a bottle of champagne, free breakfast, and the staff provided the warmest example of aloha spirit we have ever seen at a resort on the Big Island (and we both grew up here!). Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back for our anniversary for sure. The only (very small) thing that I found disappointing was the cost to use the cabannas at the pool. $50 was just too high for a chair to suntan in. Perhaps you could offer an hourly rate, so that more of your guests could afford to enjoy this amenity. January 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Smoking Guests in the room below us decided that the hotels No Smoking policy did not apply to them. It was very unpleasant for us as the wind blew the smoke onto our porch and room. Although it took several hours and calls, the staff was able to stop the inconsiderate guest from violating the hotel rules. Other than that, we had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the Sheridan Keahau very very much> May 24, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 18 next>>