Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 664 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!!! We were treated like stars. The room was beautful. The property was magical! Seven manta rays played in teh shore break for hours after sunset! Spectacular! January 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Miracle Transformation OVERALL IMPRESSION: My previous review of this property some two years ago was not very positive because it was truly down-at-heel. Now, after its recent re-fit, I can truly say they have given the place new life. SPG RECOGNITION: Could be a bit better - we did get a top-floor ocean-facing but otherwise standard room. No in-room amenity. No special requests honored. Platinum Breakfast is the full buffet in the newly-decorated AinaKai and this was great. THE ROOM: New furniture, carpeting, amenities with a retro-Hawaiian feel and a serene earth-tome color scheme. Bathrooms have had only a superficial re-fit but still quite acceptable. LOCATION: Seven miles from Kona town, this is really a destination resort but if you come for the spectacular pool and Manta Rays, who cares? In any case, there is a shuttle to nearby shopping centers and town for those who wish it. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Even on an island of swimming pool extravaganzas, this one scores high with its lagoon design meandering through the property and its great slides which keep all the kids - and many adults - screaming with joy all day! DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: While in general I feel a new wave of energy and pride in the staff, I think the Reception can still be somewhat brusque and not always shining with Aloha spirit. With tons of package tourists and air crews around, they seem a bit harried. January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We had a great time at this hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed and our balconies were wonderful places to sit and relax. The morning breakfast buffet in the restaurant (we had complimentary passes) was excellent and the omelette makers did a fantastic job of making omelettes. The food was excellent. Wish we could say the same for Ray's on the Bay and for room service. Both disappointed us tremedously in quality of food, although my husband did like his (ridiculously overpriced) steak from Ray's on the Bay. Hotel front desk and valet staff provided excellent service. January 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 9 Day Stay Jan 4-13 2013 The hotelhas been nicely updated and has a great location; has great activities such as historical tours (Lillie's tours), a super pool/patio area and the food is good in all 3 venues. Ray's is a great place to have an evening meal with the music and the with the Manta Rays in the bay. Some rooms need a bit more updating but ours was very nice. Staff is so nice. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel not guest friendly We found no one in the hotel that was friendly or helpful except for the IT people who were not part of the hotel. January 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lights Room 1307 needs the light fixed in the bathroom. It went on and flickered off after a few seconds. Both lamps on both sides of the bed did not work. I didn't alert anyone while I was there. Beyond that, I will be back. January 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by cold The receptionist was not helpful. The pool was frezzing and the spas were to hot. The breakfast buffet selection should be be changed more often. The bellman was curt. January 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Setting, Manta Heaven Very nice improvements resort-wide since we were here a few years ago. Platinum SPG recognition/amenities are superior. Manta viewing is fabulous. Our room overlooked the lighted Manta area (food comes to the light and Mantas come to the food), so we were able to spend hours in the evening watching them. They are profoundly beautiful, gentle creatures, and we could see that they really enjoyed the interaction with the people in the water. On one occasion, when three swimmers left the water after about an hour of what can only be called "play", the Manta kept coming back to where they had been, as if he were saying to himself, "Where are my buddies?". It was very poignant. Staff are helpful and friendly - especially Nani, who is "Aloha" herself! January 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel Comfortable bed and pillows. Beautiful artwork. Pool is fun. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel stay We just returned from an excellent stay at this hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Walter at the pool, was so fun and friendly with the kids and always had a smile and hello. Even though the rooms are a little older (especially bathrooms), the rooms are well kept and very functional. The refrigerator made it very easy for us to keep snacks and fresh water around. The hotel is nicely located just out of the hustle and bustle of town and close to a good shopping center and nearby snorkeling. We were very pleased with our hotel choice and would highly recommend it. January 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by we were very disappointed in our stay here we have stayed here many times past...but this hotel has gotten progressively worse! This time, we were not given the room we requested way in advance. The room we were in had a really high ceiling and so of course VERY tall sliding glass door out to lanai...which was so heavy anbd corroded we could barely push it open. The pools were COLD...and had stuff floating on top which looked like vomit. Wewent to the breakfast buffet where we had to wait for about half an hour to be seated...as we looked around there were between 5 and 10 tables available...bit the service staff werent cleaning them off! Once we went in and got our food...most of the plates were dirty...bits of food on them! GROSS...the buffet was not serviced properly...food ran out...sloppy tables....and i even saw one of the staff arguing with another one right there at the buffet. WHAT HAPPENED!? poor service...over priced food...and room...no specials for Kamaaina...or preferred guests! Rays on the Bay was so so...great place to hang out but food overpriced and not so great...plus menu not very big. January 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointment This hotel advertises itself as having been renovated. Given the condition of the pool area and our rooms, I don't see how that can be the case. The bathrooms are some of the worst I have seen in a hotel of this purported quality and don't look like they have been renovated since the 70's. The location is good, the view upon entering the lobby is beautiful and Rays on the Bay was excellent. We had an oceanview room and the view was great. However, the rooms (we had 2 connecting rooms on the first floor) themselves were bare bones, outdated and shabby. We had several issues with the WiFi not working, the shower drains being clogged and the shower head breaking. Our rooms also were not cleaned the entire time we stayed at the hotel. When we checked in, we did not have any bath towels in the rooms. Overall a disappointment and we were relieved when we left - feeling like we left a hot mess. When I mentioned the issues to the staff at the front desk, they just looked down and ignored me. I honestly left feeling like I had been robbed - both financially and of the great property that I had expected. January 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good hotel Recommend to family and friends January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Holiday in Kona Very neat design of the hotel. Staff was helpful. Food was OUTSTANDING!! Great location not far from Kona airport. Excellent vale service and drivers. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary25 We spent our 25th Anniversary at the resort and in Kona. Great place to stay, as a quiet resort. Rooms are comfortable, and have a great view of the ocean. The staff were awesome, and had alot of fun staying there. The only downside is it is a bit remote from Kona so definitely rent a car. January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Does not meet expectations. The shocker was at arrival when we were told that our Ocean View rooms were water damaged. There was some confusion regarding whether they had actually tried to contact us and one of the offers given to us was to cancel our reservations and try some other places. Imagine doing that at 9:00 pm on 26th Dec night. Finally we had to ask for the manager. He did offer a credit back for 100 bucks per night so we felt ok only to realize later that one of the rooms was directly above the hotel arriving Lobby. So it was busy day and night :) definitely not what we paid for. Then was the breakfast order in the morning. We ordered room service at 7:45 and nothing came till 8:30. Finally when it arrived we realized only after the person delivering had left that they did not provide any cutlery, milk for coffee, sugar or salt or any condiments. Called up room service at least 5 times and these items were delivered after 1 hour. No apology just that they were backed up. So kids enjoyed some cold breakfast. The room service experienced continued all the time when they failed to deliver anything on one trip or anything correctly. The restaurants on the property were less than average with only the restaurant Ray on the Bay being above average. At least decent service and good food here. The only thing that kept the kids happy were the various pools - Sandy Bottom, the large slide etc. the towel service and poolside food service was decent. For the spa there was just one person handling all operations so as expected was backed up for most of the times. January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Resort This hotel exceeded every expectation, from the moment we arrived to the time we departed. The pool(s) with the slide kept our son occupied for hrs , while the view of the sunset kept us enthralled. This resort was luxurious and child friendly, with spacious rooms, comfortable beds, amazing food and the staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist. We will definitely return to this hotel as it was a true gem! December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by spg member The hotel is in a lovely setting and has everything you could ask for in a vacation. December 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Unfortunately our trip to the Sheraton in Kona, Hawaii was less than spectacular. My first gripe came when I noticed that the walls between the connected rooms are very thin. Rooms are paired alongside each other and are separated by a thin partition and a door (so that families with two rooms can have access to the other room). Unfortunately this thin partition meant that we could hear every sound coming from our neighbor, including those "Evening sounds." We stayed in the ocean view rooms on the fourth block - the view was spectacular though. The second gripe is the service. At the restauarant it was very good, but the room and guest services are not good at all - definitely not professionally managed. I get the feeling that the locals working there are not particularly interested in making your stay the best. They messed up several times when delivering food ordered through room service, forgot to put towels in our room after cleaning, and the general condition of the towels meant that loose threads were showing. There was also a strange mildewy odor that emanated from the room. The food quality was very inconsistent but generally not very good. The seafood is fresh but poorly seasoned, the rice was almost always overcooked. The fit and finish was okay, not terrible. The lobby is very presentable with sweeping sea views and clean finishings. The pool and restaurants/cafe's are nice. The general ambience and feel of the compound is pleasant - decently landscaped and manicured and directly along the ocean front. That part was good. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent! We had a wonderful time staying here at the Sheraton Kona. I loved walking around the beautiful grounds and watching the manta rays outside my room almost every evening. After checking in we extended our stay from three days to a week. jeanne December 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Recent stay I must say that were shocked at the service we recived with our most recent stay (dec 26 - 28). It was extremely disappointing. We had made reservations for two rooms with double beds. When we checked it they were sold out and we were put ina single double room. We were offered rollaways which was "do able". When we got to our room i had called down for extra towels. Here were none available. After waiting over two hrs with no rollaway i called down to check the status and i was toldthat there were no rollaways at all. They were all taken. Very disappointing. I was then offered a pillow and blanket so we could sleep on the floor. That never came. I finally went to the front desk to make a complaint. I received my pillow and blanket after waiting 2 hrs from the original offer by housekeeping. I had no acknowledgement from valet even after standing at the counter and directly infront of the valet worker. The pool attendants didnt offer any service until i hounded them down and asked for a menu. Our entire stay was such a disappointment and im not sure if i will recommend his hotel to any of our friends again December 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff the staff at the hotel was wonderful. especially Lilly at the Concierge desk. we enjoyed are 2nd stay at the hotel and would come again December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff---Jimmy at Poolside bar The first place we arrive and had food was Poolside bar. Jimmy service was great, thanks alot. December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cute Property - Customer Service Lacking The grounds are beautiful, the recent renovations are great. However, service was lacking. We understand that the property was at full capacity for the holiday season. Front desk staff were rather abrupt, generally unhelpful, and dismissive. Housekeeping was not as thorough as they could have been. One day, they took our dirty bath towels but didn't replace them. There was a dirty shower cap left hanging on the bathroom door and some hair left in the tub. One redeeming quality of this property is the atmosphere. The guests are happy, the grounds are well kept, and the common areas have nice decorations. If service was improved, this would probably be my favorite hotel on the island. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful outside The hotel is beautiful, very pretty surroundings. The one disappointing thing was the luau on Mon 12/24/12. It cost $75 (after discount for being a hotel guest), and was mediocre at best. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by value for money We got a great room at a great price with a great breakfast included! December 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The front desk staff are unsatisfactory. From the person who checks you in too the manager does not have any respect for the guest staying at the hotel. There was a mistake with our reservation and the staff put it all on me and did not take any blame for the issue or try and fix it. For 2 days we did not have hot water to take a shower. Also at many places to eat at the hotel children under 5 eat free and we were not told that at check in. December 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resort This resort has everything a family needs for a nice vacation. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a 10/10 was some of the staff didn't go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and there was a used condom in the elevator our last night. A staff member was in the elevator at the time and did nothing about it. Otherwise, great time at the resort. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love it This is probably the best resort in Kona. The lobby, grounds, pool, rooms, etc are wonderful. 99% of the staff met or exceeded my expectations. The front desk guy appeared less then happy to be at work, which kind of takes away from the excitement of arriving. The front desk was great every other time though. I really only had three problems here. First, housekeeping didn't show up until 2:20pm, which didn't work for us and apparently the fact that we mentioned to the desk we needed an earlier time due to kids naps went onto unheard ears. We didn't use housekeeping after the second night. Second, while the wait staff at the cafe pool is awesome and went above and beyond...the food they serve is below average and tasteless. Third, the tennis courts are not lighted at night (even though they have lights). Now truly that is three minor complaints. The resort is beautiful. We needed maintenance in our room and they came quickly and were very nice. I forgot his name, but he was great. The expresso stand also had great staff. The pool and hot tub were very nice and the perfect temperature. This hotel also honors and respects those that serve our country...which was actually the #1 reason we picked this resort over several other resorts on the island. Overall, I would definitely, always, everytime stay here over any other resort on the Big Island. oh, and great fitness center with new equipment and great view. December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by 10 year anniversary To be honest-the bed we had was as hard as a rock. I was quite surprised. I also had to call guest services to get someone to clean my room. The maid - when she did arrive - was very nice and thorough. My husband and I had spent 4 days at another hotel previous. It wasn't until our first night at the Sheraton that we both got several bug bites on our arms and legs. December 17, 2012
  • 2016-06-24 T11:31:55.962-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-18, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_664, tr_664
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 23 next>>