Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 582 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service Service was at the highest level. Facilities were well staffed and well-maintained. Especially appreciated the free activities. The staff was very hospitable toward my kids. August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would stay here again Great views of the water, location is excellent. We had a room with an ocean and a mountain view which were spectacular. Staff were friendly and helpful. A real gem. January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dunteman Wedding Everything was PERFECT, weather, food, entertainment. Everyone, all ages could enjoy being here. Wish I could come every year. My granddaughter's wedding was AWESOME. November 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Food was EXTREMELY overpriced. I would suggest walking down the street to the store and stocking up. I had a sandwich and soda and it was over $20 March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has comfortable room. Very nice interior and the balcony is very big. I love the spacious atmosphere. Goes great with the surroundings. Excellent time! October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A charming hotel with an EXCELLENT staff This property is "chill." It is quiet and charming and the staff is absolutely lovely. I look forward to returning here soon. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb facility on Kona! We just stayed at the Sheraton Kona and could not have been more pleased. The staff, including car parking attendants, bell hops, front desk, concierge, waiters, bar tenders, even the maintenance staff, were extremely friendly and courteous. The rooms have those comfortable beds the Starwood chain is known for. Food at the restaurants was great. The ambience at Rays on the Bay is awesome. Great bands each night and you can see the manta rays from the bar. Try the hibiscus bourbon drink they have. I had it each night I went. The location of the resort is great too. We like being away from the crowded tourist spots and this is just that. Peaceful and quiet! If you want to go into the town of Kona, they have a free shuttle bus to take you there. You can rent kayaks and snorkel gear right next to the hotel and use them right in there in the same bay. They have 2 nice pools, both of them good sized. One has a water slide and the other a waterfall. We have already talked of going back to Kona next year and if so we will stay at the Sheraton Kona again! November 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, poor customer service Such a beautiful hotel - but the staff personality needs to be warmed up across the board. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by value for money We got a great room at a great price with a great breakfast included! December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel a great romantic getaway Celebrated our anniversary in beautiful oceanfront room with view from our lanai of the Manta Rays swimming below. Arrived to our room decorated with a beautiful floral arrangement and flower petals arranged in a romantic heart on the bed. Friendly and courteous service from all the staff, especially the room attendants, food servers, and front desk hosts. Meticulous grounds and beautiful pools with fun slide. Rays on the Bay a great place for food, fun and entertainment. Definitely left with great experience celebrating our special occasion. October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Vacation The Sheraton exceeded our expectations in every way. October 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, Service Needs Improvement The Sheraton occupies a great location right on Keauhou Bay, with great views of sunsets and verdant mountains. The rooms were also well-cared for and very clean. However, the front desk staff and resort amenities were disappointing. When I fell ill during our trip and called to ask about borrowing a thermometer, the staff person joked that she wanted to make sure "you're not going to die during my shift", then said that if it was something that would send me to the hospital they could probably "rummage something up", but otherwise I should just use the "old-fashioned method of hand on forehead". I don't know if she was trying to be funny, but I thought it was annoying and lacking in empathy. Second, we were less than impressed by the on-resort Holua Bar, which served fish tacos with terrible cuts of mahi in them -- dry, extremely fishy, and probably frozen. I almost never complain about restaurant food, but being from Hawai'i, I took personal umbrage. They apologized and removed it from our bill, but it should have never been served in the first place. Finally, the resort charge of $30 per day seems exorbitant, particularly when most of the "services" paid for were things we never used, like lei-making, hula classes, and long-distance and local phone calls. July 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service My stay at this hotel in Kona was less than favorable. I was extremely disappointed with my three day stay and sadly couldn't wait to get to my next destination. I found that there was little water pressure in the shower. They had two jacuzzi's one of which was kept at pool temperature and the other since it was the only working jacuzzi I could never get into it. The grounds and pool area were poorly lighted. I had the unfortunate experience of walking from the pool to my room and tripped over a path light that apparently was not on. The poor lighting led me to walk into the grass area where the unlit light was at. Like the above mentioned was not enough. Upon checkout our bill was slightly inflated and we requested they double check the charges that had been added to our bill. Only to learn that I was charged for someone else's meal and I had to wait several days before they could process a credit on my credit card. Apparently, they couldn't credit my card right then. Nearly a week later, I have yet to see a credit on my card and my phone calls to their finance employee have gone unanswered. Overall, I was very disappointed in my stay and I felt that I overpaid for the quality that I received not to mention the customer service aspect with respect to their lack of response to my continued phone calls. March 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Stay, But No Other Starwood Choice on Big Island Location location location. Please do yourself a favor and choose a room as far from the pool as possible, unless you enjoy the sounds of Disneyland right outside your window. Initial room was located facing the Rays on the Bay and was very peaceful with 12-15ft ceilings. All went well until our nightstand got infested with ants. After which we were moved to another ocean front room right over the pool. The front desk did try to up-sell me to a suite, despite my platinum membership, very disappointing. New room was smaller, had lower ceilings, leaky mildew toilet, broken building elevator, and worse of all, it was right over the pool. Romantic vacation went into disaster with soundtrack of an amusement park from 8am-10pm. On the plus side, all staff I've encountered (besides the front desk responsible for the switch) was very delightful. Would I stay here again? Looks like I have no other choice unless Starwood plans on opening another property (please do on Hilo side). Note: No onsite beach, but several paths around the property to take a stroll. Also participates in Green Choice. No club lounge but cash snack bar on ground floor. Wifi is free to all, but is HORRIBLE. No wired internet connection available in room. Favorite Plat Benefits: Ocean Front upgrade, free valet parking, free daily breakfast buffet for 2 persons ($50 value). September 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Miracle Transformation OVERALL IMPRESSION: My previous review of this property some two years ago was not very positive because it was truly down-at-heel. Now, after its recent re-fit, I can truly say they have given the place new life. SPG RECOGNITION: Could be a bit better - we did get a top-floor ocean-facing but otherwise standard room. No in-room amenity. No special requests honored. Platinum Breakfast is the full buffet in the newly-decorated AinaKai and this was great. THE ROOM: New furniture, carpeting, amenities with a retro-Hawaiian feel and a serene earth-tome color scheme. Bathrooms have had only a superficial re-fit but still quite acceptable. LOCATION: Seven miles from Kona town, this is really a destination resort but if you come for the spectacular pool and Manta Rays, who cares? In any case, there is a shuttle to nearby shopping centers and town for those who wish it. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Even on an island of swimming pool extravaganzas, this one scores high with its lagoon design meandering through the property and its great slides which keep all the kids - and many adults - screaming with joy all day! DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: While in general I feel a new wave of energy and pride in the staff, I think the Reception can still be somewhat brusque and not always shining with Aloha spirit. With tons of package tourists and air crews around, they seem a bit harried. January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderul stay... We represent a group of many who usually don't have many opportunities to take time off for vacations because of work and personal scheduling conflicts so clearly this trip had to be special for us. After spending a significant amount of time looking for that special place to stay for vacation and getaway, we were very happy with the decision to choose the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay . It is located in an area within proximity of Kailua-Kona where most of the other hotels, shops and attractions are located but away from the hustle and bustle of the traffic and busy crowds. Very relaxing environment, staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the scenic views were breathtaking. For a spacious hotel, did not see many of the hotel guests other than for those who wished to relax and play near the swimming pool and lounges. Of course with the many attractions of the Big Island and various activities available in and around the surrounding area of the hotel, coming back to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay complimented the busy day of site seeing and shopping with a place to enjoy a taste of paradise, see beautiful sunsets, view manta rays swimming near the shore, and if you are luck, you can even watch or hear the breathes of whales passing by when they surface for air. We highly recommend others to consider staying here for their future visit and stay on the Big Island of Hawaii. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 I WILL be coming back! Planning our Hawaii trip was so stressful, with all the options we got overwhelmed, but I'm glad that we finally selected the Sheraton in Kona. Such a great decision! My Nana and I had many many remarks about how spacious it is at this hotel, it is like the space took a giant inhalation and has suspended itself in time. If you love the water, this place is for you! I took the trolley many of our snorkeling, snuba, and swimming adventures. There is also a pier in walking distance away where you can hop on a boat to go out to great snorkeling spots, rent a kayak, or a paddleboard. The free breakfast was one of my favorite reasons for being here. And the beds were wonderful, I overheard other guests saying this too. The staff was so kind!! And the pools are beautiful. Once I saw dolphins in the ocean as I was walking around the spacious, beautiful gardens right next to the pool. This is a great spot! The trolley was really nice too. We were there for a week without renting a car, but after 1 week it seems like a car is needed. I had a great time at this place =. There are many events in the mornings, like hula lessons and yoga. Once I walked around the lava rocks in the morning, at the edge of the ocean just outside of the hotel, and there is so much life there!! It was beautiful. Beautiful beautiful beautiful. Oh! If you can, visit the fern rainforest and lava tube, it is on the other side of the island, but definitely worth the trip. September 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service in older facility When we checked in to our "ocean view" room, we discovered that the room overlooked the parking lot and you could only see the opening to the bay if you went out on the balcony, to the railing. This was changed when I complained but why should I have to do that? The room was not stocked with bathroom amenities, so I got to go get them from the maid's cart. The toilet was an industrial "foot flush" model--not very attractive in a higher quality hotel. Pool area ran out of towels and, rather than bringing some to us when available, we told to just "come back in 20 minutes". On the evening of our fifth and last night, we recieved a call from the concierge "welcoming" us to the Sheraton. The self parking lot fills up on weekends when events are going on and there are no reserved spaces for hotel guests. There are so many better hotels in better locations in the area. A beautiful lobby and viewing of the manta ray area do not make up for the deficiencies of this hotel. Find better service, a prettier pool area, more modern facilities and a beach somewhere else. November 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice The hotel appears to be a little older, but well maintained. The hotel entrance was simply beautiful. The grounds and the pool are wonderful. Although the bed was good and firm, the room was just OK, there was nothing special at all about it (had a partial ocean view room). The food, just was not that good. Example: we did the breakfast buffett, almost less than average because for the price, there were no pancakes, waffles, french toast, but there was a nice omellett bar. It is moderately expensive to stay here, especially with the $30 per day resort fee. But, I guess we were paying for the grounds upkeep vs the room and the food. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Restaurant "Ray's on the Bay" They are staffed poorly and not very customer oriented. We were turned away the first time. Decided to try again. Waited an hour and a half for a table and when we were seated were first given the list of what they did not have. Our meal was not cooked as ordered. Waitress was so upset by the cook that she left. The manager then came to tell us. Felt so bad for her none of what happened was her fault. Also we planned on golfing but was not informed that the golf course next to the hotel was closed due to renovations. We were told there were restaurants near by...none in walking distance so you have to have a car or use the Trolly. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Made The Difference During the hurricane Iselle encounter, two of the staff had made our stay very comfortable. Matt G. who told us that this was the safest place to be at and his family is staying here at the hotel. The other person was the receiption staff who checked us in. She extented our stay for Friday knowning that the hurricane might be headed towards that evening and we would be in town since our plane departure is a red-eye flight at 11:00pm. her name is Kristie. For those two staff members my wife and I cannot say enough Thank you! And this will always be a memorable trip for us. You can be sure we will be back again and again! August 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time to Big isalnd The Sheraton facility and experience was exactly what is advertised and what we thought it would be. Location was very good, check in OK. Being gold members we got automatic one level upgrade and were offered additional upgrades for slightly extra expense. We looked at a couple of other rooms and did change to one same level. Staff was friendly, and we utilized free valet parking as our "freebie". The valet staff were prompt and courteous. While we did not use valet every time during the day, it was a treat to have car downstairs waiting in morning and be able to drop off at night. We had some meals at hotel and the food was above average, but you do pay resort pricing. An additional benefit we received was 15% off food at the restaurants within facility. Ray's (not to be confused with Roy's) had nightly live entertainment and was busy whenever we were there. Viewing of the manta rays is a nightly occurrence and you need some patience from the shore viewing area. Check out was a breeze and even though we were there during the Ironman Triathlon competition getting around was not a problem. Kailua town was fun and a short drive away - parking was no problem. The activities we wanted to take part in - golf, snorkeling (amazing!) were readily accessible. Exploring the island to see some other areas was not a problem. It was a bummer that the national parks were closed (federal government shut down), so no Volcano National Park. This island is fairly large and driving to far side will take a couple of hours. They have a luau on site and it was fun, or maybe we just had some fun people at our table. There are no sand beaches on property (but they do not advertise this so...), but there is a sandy area within walking distance, and a good snorkeling beach is about a 5 minute drive away. All in all a relaxing stay. They seem to be upgrading the facility, new paint, the grounds were very nice, but the building is from an older era, and any comparison should be made within same class and price range of this facility. Mahalo October 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just Awful Just spent 7 days of frustration and disappointment at this facility. The hotel is old, which in itself isn't an issue, but this one is in great need of more than just a coat or teo of paint. It was all too apparent that staff paid very little attention to detail and the majority showed little interest in the jobs they were doing and/or lacked the appropriate training. The room booked was ready when I checked in, but I was greeted with soiled towels and gym mats in the dresser. The room was serviced poorly throughout the week: coffee, tea and creamer not replenished; shampoo, shower gel, mouthwash, only replenished sporadically, trash cans not emptied every day. It's perhaps understandable if this happens once, but it was the rule rather than the exception! Guest services seemed equally ill-informed or incompetent as a simple question concerning the time I could expect my laundry to be returned was answered with three different times within 30 minutes. It wouldn't have been so bad, but they were all wrong. Laundry given to front dear staff on Monday morning before 7 AM did not get back to me until Thursday. The explanation that the hotel was working with a new laundry service interests me little; the inconvenience of not having clothes for the majority of my time at the hotel was. Credit, however, where credit's due: the hotel restaurant food was well cooked and the kitchen staff were on top of their game. The wait staff was more of a mixed bag, one evening being competent, helpful and clearly understanding her job, to another where the waiter did not know the menu or the wines. Perhaps the worst service experience came at the lobby bar, where empty bottles and glasses were left strewn around the tables as our order was taken and remained there for the 45 minutes we were there to "enjoy" our drinks. I even had to remind the barkeep that I wanted to close out the tab, as he also forgot this request the first time around. The concierge was also of little use. We asked him to find stores in the vicinity that ship flowers and fruits to the mainland. His computer system was just booting up when we asked so he said he would leave a message for us in the room. No message, no apology, nothing. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by On the Edge of Paradise I was reluctant to visit this Starwood property because frankly, it looked quite seedy. I was happy to hear that they had a huge face-lift and took a chance. We were pleasantly surprised. There was a bit of mold in the bathrooms, and the cleaning solutions were a bit strong, but other than that, the room was great. We really appreciated the Gold upgrade we received at check-in, Rays was quite good (we ate there twice) and the rays were such fun to watch; the food at the outside bar - not so much, but we loved the pool and slide. That we could get a pool/ocean-side cabana for $25 was wonderful! View can't be beat! We'll definitely visit this property again. May 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun activities for family with kids This hotel has a great pool with an awesome slide that kids and adults would enjoy. The beds are very comfortable but the room is dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom tiles are old and the carpet needs to be replaced. However, we had a great time there with the lei making class and the ukelele lessons and the hula dance lessons. The night time viewing of the manta rays is terrific and I would recommend this hotel for a family looking for both fun and relaxation. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing stay at Sheraton Kona This hotel has very friendly staff everywhere. It also has gorgeous setting with the pool and poolside facilities. Fantastic sunset view! If the mattress had been less soft I would have slept comfortably. November 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs better signage Upon arriving to the hotel and parking at the self-parking area. My friend and I were clueless as to where the registration/check-in desk was. There are no clear signs as to where check-in was and we rolled around in our heavy luggage for a while before stumbling upon it. Advice: not everyone drives up to the front of the hotel - especially in Big Island lots of people rent cars and the hotel had terrible directions and even the signage that were there were vague and confusing. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent facility, poor wireless connectivity Excellent facility, clean, modern and centrally located in the Kona district. I have only one, albeit minor piece of constructive criticism: the wireless internet service was not up to the standards set by the rest of the resort. I had difficulty logging on due to expiring access codes. Not until the third day did someone explain that the code was only for the room and that the Sheraton link was intended for use near the coffee shop and no wireless service near the pool was intended by either system. In today's world of highly portable tablets, universal wireless service with a single logon throughout the grounds is a must. January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Banquet Staff is Awesome! Stayed here for an event me and my copany booked at the hotel. Everyone we came in contact with in the banquet department (porters, sound technician, captain/manager, director) were great. We asked and they delivered whatever we needed. Definitely exceeded my expectations. Wish I stayed longer and with my daughter so we could enjoy the other facilities like pool and spa. November 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The restaurant was closed when I arrived, so I had to go to the Lounge for dinner. They should have provided hearing protection; the band's volume level was 87-89 decibels. I asked for the manager, and they turned it down to 85-87. You couldn't even hear the surf. There were tiny spiders all over the desk in my room. I when I was leaving in the morning there was no one at the Express Coffee Bar that was supposed to have been open 45 minutes earlier. I usually love Sheraton properties, but this one was an extreme disappointment. October 11, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 21 next>>