Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A True Gem This was our first time at this property. Although an older property (that could use some updating!), it sits on a gorgeous setting! As Starwood Platinum/5 Star members, we have stayed in many amazing properties all over the world. This property stands out in particular because of such efficient, personal, and friendly service. We were impressed by the staff from the very first moment on site. At the check-in desk, we were recognized as Platinum members. Deano, the Guest Relations Manager came out to personally greet us. A very dynamic and impressive manager, the effects of his leadership were readily visible in the motivation and drive in his staff. Everyone on his staff that we met was exceptional: from the bellmen at the entrance to the front desk staff; from Nani in the excellent Kaiulu Club Lounge to Gary at the Concierge desk (who was able to get us reservations that I thought would be impossible to get!) and to Kevin from Rays on the Bay restaurant. Deano has really set the standard for staff excellence! Our stay was absolutely first rate. I can guarantee that for our next visit to the Big Island, we will be staying at the Sheraton again! July 13, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Family had a great time As an associate it was a very good weekend.. Would love to stay at the hotel in the future. My family loved it. The pool experience was awesome. The game room was also a cool experience. They need to restore some of the games though. Updated video games esp. Food and beverage was amazing, especially holua, Rays on the bays, and room service. Very down to earth employees in those restaurants. Was able to service and assist my family with great service. July 13, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by As a lifetime platinum member I would look elsewhere Staff is unresponsive and seem worn down food is at best average rooms look dated even after remodel. Hotel has a great view it's too bad. Hotel has a more of a military compound look than a tropical paradise oasis. I'd recommend the Sheraton on Kaui or Westin on Maui. As I write this I'm still waiting to hear from front desk on check out July 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great overall experience Mahalo for a great overall experience! We had a large family group booked for an event.. Used the Sheraton for our banquet.. AWESOME food!! Great staff!! Lovely grounds..Rooms were clean.. Beds very comfortable... Would have been nice to have discount for the breakfast Buffett and a broken sprinkler left water spots on my sons truck,. Still..Overall EXCELLANT experience!! July 11, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gross My bathroom in my room was disgusting, I took pictures because it was that bad. The sink wouldn't drain, the bathroom tub had soap scum all over the bottom of it, the door frame looked as if no one took any mind to it since the paint started coming off, the housekeeper left their dirty, nasty, cleaning towel on the counter sink with the soap dish turned upside down on it. Totally unacceptable, even for a "kama'aina". I coulda stayed elsewhere for cheaper if I wanted this type of room. I also ask for the manager but he wasn't available and at that time I was already ready to leave so I was not about to wait for him to come back or stay in my room for him to call me. I get it I'm a local, but I think if I don't ask for the "kama'aina" rate I shouldn't be given service as if I did. I am a SPG member, I paid regular price and still got put in literally almost the furthest room on the 4th floor from the pool and restaurants. I didn't get offered to have any restaurants pointed out, or times of any events going on at the hotel, or even the password to the wifi. Most likely won't be staying in this hotel again, I will probably stay at other SPG member hotels but not this one. July 11, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great facilities. Needs room updating First of all the grounds and pool area are amazing. Food at the pool area were also very good. However even though we contacted the hotel of an early arrival one of our rooms was not ready until 3 and the other was still not ready at 4pm. I thought that as SPG gold members the rooms would possibly would be made available a little quicker. Not having room access was unsatisfactory. Even more so that the front desk would not check in with us. I ended up asking them for the first room available and even though they gave us a suite it was a double not a king size bed. Rooms also need to be updated. Overall a below average stay although great facilities. June 14, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Charged my credit card twice Checked out on 16 May to find they had charged my credit card twice. Called that day from Oahu to be told by very rude manager that this sometimes happens with some cards, gave me an option to correct but suggested would still take 7 days, basically tuff luck. Called back next day on the 17th and spoke to another manager who was more sympathetic and helpful and was going to follow up and call back but never did hear from Lily again. Contacted by email off the resorts web site on 26 May but apparently never received despite an automated reply saying they had. Emailed again on the 31st May, got a reply from someone this time who was passing my query onto the correct department. 3rd email on the 3rd June as still no replay from anyone, as at today the 6th June am still waiting for any sort of response. While I appreciate things can happen and the original duplication was some sort of error the total lack of follow up or reply from Sheraton is appalling. Would never stay here or recommend. June 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Felt like a kid again" Loved , loved this hotel… So glad I updraded to Ocean Front room . Kailua Loung was just lovely. With beautiful "Nani" to greet you with her genuine smile and caring way. Pool slide was awesome……... Just the very best !!!!! Mahalo Barbara & Hans June 5, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Confusing Layout We spent 20 minutes trying to find out room and was even incorrectly advised by a staff person who wasn't sure where our room was. Not the best way of starting a stay at any hotel. The hallway where out room was located is so dimly lit we could see how the key card was supposed to be inserted. A light outside the door would help. May 27, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by $$$$ to much money for what you get. $30.00 a day resort fee is outragous. Food is way to expensive. May 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful service Tony G. in security went above and beyond what would be expected from someone on Sheraton staff. My wife was having a monumental migraine and needed food to allay her pain. We understood room service did not start until 6 a.m., but Tony G. went out of his way to provide a banana and granola for my wife. The registration desk staff was also quite helpful. We were able to extend our checkout time, which was something that made our life much easier. Without exception the staff was courteous and competent. P.S. Room service was excellent but (a perhaps trivial complaint) the oatmeal, described as steelcut oats, was the gluey regular rolled oats. (Blech.) We wouldn't have ordered regular oatmeal. May 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great resort for a family vacation Overall this is a fantastic choice for a relaxing family getaway. The resort facilities and public spaces are really nice; especially the pool and slides. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. They also recognized our SPG Gold status and I have to say the single biggest perk to being a Gold member is having access to the SPG VIP parking lot. It's so much closer! May 9, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service Consistently poor service throughout our visit. The only restaurant couldn't seat us because they "had a new menu", even though at least 1/3 of the place was empty. Disappointing. Would not ever stay here again, and we are frequent travelers who are loyal to Starwood. May 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staycation WE had a great getaway for 2. Missed the Mantas there was high surf! April 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay! I have stayed at this property when it was the Kona Surf Hotel and spent my anniversary there. I later worked for the owners of the Kona Surf and was disappointed about their concern of the condition of the property. Sheraton has done an excellent job of cleaning up the hotel and making it attractive once again. It is a tough property to maintain because of its closeness to the ocean and it is a constant battle to take care. Had no situations with the staff during my stay with the family. The staff from the valet to the front desk, housekeeping and the restaurant were very friendly and greeted you warmly. Real family style. Keep up the good work. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hospitality and Customer Service I want to take this opportunity to recognize two of your staff members: Sally and Grayden. From the moment we arrived, these two have been the exemplar of superb hospitality, quality customer service, and both truly embody the aloha spirit. They are a wonderful asset to the Sheraton/SPG brand. It is employees like Sally and Grayden that holds your hotels above the rest and keeps loyal members coming back. We are kama'aina and not only did Sally and Grayden make our hotel stay an absolute pleasure; they also went out of their way to answer all our questions about local life on the Big Island. Their knowledge and friendliness, incredible attention to detail, and all the little things they and the rest of the staff do at the Sheraton Kona made our stay truly relaxing and enjoyable. April 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing hotel resort in Big Island The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is a very good resort seating over the Keauhou Bay. It gives an astonishing immersive experience over the Keauhou Bay as well as the Pacific Ocean. Moreover, the Sheraton Kona Resort has successfully incorporated the wild character of the volcano rocks surrounding its landscape and has taken advantage of it. The location itself was a very good surprise that made our stay an memorable experience. In terms of activities I would strongly recommend the Night Manta Ray snorkeling at 8:30pm because the Manta Ray spot will be definitely less crowded (compare to the peak hour of 7-7:30pm). This activity is a must and this an unforgettable experience! Also, to take the utmost of your stay I would recommend to hire a car in order to move arround Kona because the resort is located out of the busy district of Kona. Last but not least, the resort service level was good providing high standards of services. We used pretty much any kind of facilities (Platinum guests lounge access, in-room dining, resort restaurant, concierge, activities) that the Resort could provide and everytime resort employee were very helpful with a great care for customers experience. This was a delight especially when this professional behavior comes with continuous smile so representative of Hawaii. This made our stay a great experience. One point to note, the hotel front desk associate who checked us in was not very knowledgeable of the perks/benefits that usually come with the SPG Platinum member status. So be prepared to ask for them yourself cause this is what we did when we saw the hotel associate didn't proactively provide recommendations/suggestions. April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved our time there The hotel is lovely and the staff is kind and easy to work with. The pool is fabulous with a waterfall (stand under it and get a free back massage), a river up against a volcanic wall, a big slide and a smaller slide - both are fun! My children and I spend hours in the pool and really appreciated it. The rooms are nice and clean. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay I've worked for Disney Aulani on Oahu and Disney has great customer service to begin with. But from the moment my Ohana and I arrived at the the hotel I knew it was gonna be a great stay. Kapena greeted us as soon as we pulled up. Took our bags. Room was ready as we were a few hours early. Marvin was awesome upon check in. Lots of aloha. We went to the pool and our waitress Sarah was on point, she was attentive and full of great customer service even being busy as she was. I ran into her the second day and again amazing service. I know how stressful hotel jobs can be and I was once in their shoes. I currently work for united airlines as a flight attendant and I'm all about customer service. I layover in many Sheraton priorities around the world but the hotel has been best by far. Jacklyn from the operating room was so amazing over the phone while helping me. The staff of this property was amazing and it's because we live in a great state that really does share the aloha spirit. I hope this is passed on to these individuals. I'll be back in a few weeks and I believe service will be just as great. So mahalo to all. Aloha, Eddie from Hilo. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary Staycation We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and as locals (Kona residents), we wanted to stay at a hotel nearby which offered a nice pool to relax by. We found it here at the Sheraton Kona! Our 2 nights were great from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. March 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Platinum Member First; Marvin is a wonderful and exceptional employee. Great attitude, helpful, friendly and very accommodating. Pros; I received everything that I asked for. I was treated like a platinum SPG member, ( utilizing points for our stay), Ohana suite facing the black rocks, Sounds of the ocean and the manta rays every evening from our balconies. " Did ask for an executive or presidential suite and would like one in the future ( hint ). " Fantastic!!! Perfect!!!! Describes the view from the balconies and the staff that we dealt with during our stay. The SPG only parking was exceptional ( but as an Platinum SPG member I receive free internet and in some locations free parking and other amenities ( but these are part of the resort fees?) This needs to be addressed since I'm really paying. Even though during the entire stay we went " green" our housekeeping " lety " was wonderful, accommodating and friendly and she needs to be mentioned. Cons; Drains clogged continually during our stay ( had to unclog myself several times). Poor water pressure ( shower heads) need to be replaced, rooms are very dated, drains need to be cleaned in bath tubs, tubs need a good cleaning, suite needs slippers ( standard) in the rooms. Shower curtains smelled of mold and either need to be washed or replaced ( we had to spray them with Lysol and the entire room) Several days it smelled like the septic system was backing up into the room through the drains. The carpets, couches and chairs are extremely dirty and need a good cleaning. Clothing,Socks, slippers or bare feet would become dirty in seconds. The suites need a microwave. Even with the cons it was a great stay. We can't wait for you to open the new club lounge in April 2016. We will be returning to the Sheraton Kona soon but please listen to a loyal SPG member and address the aforementioned problems. March 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice facility, but don't expect too much fancy stuff. This hotel was perfectly adequate, but I'd expected more. For example, there was only one restaurant and one cafe on the premises. The pools were really beautiful. The rooms were OK, but the walls must have been really thin, because even with earplugs, I could hear my neighbor's ordinary conversation. The balcony was bleak. The halls were so dark it was hard to see to use the key cards. Some of the hotel "artwork" in the halls was falling apart. I wouldn't characterize this as a "resort", but after all, I didn't go to Hawaii for the hotel! February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very family friendly! The lay out of the hotel and the pool are very family friendly. We will be staying here on our next vacation to the island! February 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel with a great view and great rooms I was incredibly pleased with this hotel choice. Not only did I earn SPG points which figured heavily into my decision to stay there, but also the hotel had a great view of the ocean from our mountain view room; a great perk! The grounds of the hotel were fantastic, easy free parking was a nice plus. The room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. I may be less discerning than other guests and easier to please but I was still very satisfied with my choice to stay at the Sheraton Kona! February 27, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valentine's Weekend Silly me booked an "ocean view" room, not remembering that this term is very loose in the hotel reservation world. We checked-in Fri at 9a - just to sign papers and then head off around the island until it was check-in time( after 3p). I made it clear we were in "no hurry and happy to wait for the best room available as we were celebrating Valentine's day. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. When we returned it was after dark. Our bags had been taken to our room and when I opened the lanai door I saw our lovely view of the parking lot. I was assured that in the morning I'd be able to see the ocean. I asked for a different room ands was told they were "full." She offered to buy us breakfast and said someone would be "right up" with the vouchers. That never happened. The view indeed was there in the morning - across the parking lot and off to the left. The last time I stayed there was 1994 - and I did not notice much "renovation." The room - a King - was adequate, but the bed was NOT comfortable! How it is advertised, "Sweet Dreams! Experience Sheraton hotels at home with Sweet Sleeper. Welcome restful nights with the same signature mattress, down hypoallergenic pillows and luxurious sheets you slept in last night." - I cannot understand the attestation. The bed was institutional - not comfortable. I chose the Sheraton because of my positive experience in the past - the Seattle one, most recently. That bed was great. And the toilet looked like one from a public restroom complete with industrial type flush handle. The TV picture was poor. The food options were limited for being so removed from anything. We actually chose pizza delivery over eating at Ray's - the worst spring rolls we've ever had. If there weren't s signature "S" on the sliding glass door, I would not have thought I was at a Sheraton. The positives? While pricey, the coffee/outdoor eatery was nice. And having a couples massage at the Spa, outside listening to the waves was very nice. The location of the Resort is wonderful and it is nice to stroll the grounds and Keahou Bay. Overall, the staff were pleasant and attentive. As Kamaaina, it'd be nice to want to return - to be able to count on quality with the Sheraton brand. However, I think we'll take our chances somewhere down the road next time. February 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very attentive staff We had a few issues with our reservation and the front desk staff (Marvin) bent over backwards to make sure that we were accommodated and that our stay was fun. we had the same level of service at Ray's that night, and it was a really memorable evening. We come back to this hotel year after year and have similar experiences with the staff. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Front desk went above and beyond My husband and I were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and requested a suite upgrade (I am a platinum member). Upon check-in we were notified the standard suite upgrade wasn't available for the length of our stay. The front desk, however, wouldn't give up. They found a suite that was above and beyond expectations - it was truly spectacular - and had an amazing view of the ocean (and manta rays) below. Their willingness to "make it work" and fantastic customer service amazed us - we were immediately willing to spend as much time (and money) on property as possible. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel, lunch each day at the pool bar and so forth. Each person we encountered was warm, gracious and always provided service with a smile. We love the location of this property because it's close enough to Kona and the surrounding attractions to go on day trips, has a fantastic pool with gorgeous ocean view, and, of course, has evening entertainment with live music, the luau, and the manta rays! I'd like to say thank you in particular to the front desk team that day...unfortunately, I have waited too long to write my review but I do know the lovely young woman that helped us had a traditional Hawaiian name that began with a P. She was absolutely wonderful and deserves many accolades for helping us and working with the MoD to find a room for our 10 year anniversary celebration! February 14, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as expected? Uncomfortable beds! Away from everything (restaurants, good shopping, most events and entertainment, etc.). Don't expect any nearby beach areas within walking distance. You are definitely going to need a rental car to find anything worthwhile. February 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay The Sheraton Kona is a wonderful place to stay and has the best waterslide! We have stayed at the Sheraton Kona over half a dozen times within the past 2 years and have not tired of it at all. The rooms are roomy and clean, the views are spectacular and the grounds are very appealing. The staff, from maid service to concierge, are always very courteous and accommodating. The Sheraton Kona is 5 stars in my eyes! January 30, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, just too far from town We went to this hotel for our honeymoon, the hotel is very much off the beaten track, so the hotel complex tries in itself to ensure the guests have things to do. The choice of places to eat is very limited, as the pool side bar/cafe is only open during the daytime, as that closes, Ray's at the Bay restaurant opens which is on the hotel complex. The pool is quite good, and has lots of space to sit around the pool. There are a very limited number of things to do, and with the hotel being so far off the beaten track, you can seem very isolated. The rooms are big so that is nice, and the bed was very comfortable, but the rooms are very dated, and could definitely do with a modernisation, the bathroom definitely looks like something from 1980's, the balcony floor could be tiled, just a general modernisation at minimum. The air conditioning unit is very noisy. Our corridor was also very noisy, you can definitely hear the other guests doors closing, on three occasions we were woken at midnight by closing doors, although that does depend on rude guests that do not consider others. Breakfast is very expensive for the choice available, we prepaid, so happy we did so, but would not have paid $25.95 for such a limited selection. There is from the hotel a free trolley bus into town, but it only runs every two hours, starting at 9am and the last one leaves the hotel around 7pm, after passing through town at around 8, gets back to the hotel at 9.15pm. There is a games room here, which seems a lot of fun. Wish I'd read more about the hotel being so far off the beaten track, as being on our honeymoon, we would probably not have stayed here, would probably recommend this hotel more for families, older couples just looking for a quiet time, or highly recommend you have your own transportation, maybe rent a car, there is a Hertz car rental at the hotel, but would not recommend so much for that romantic carefree great away. Another important note, we did a prepaid to get a better rate, but with the prepaid rates, for all, at least SPG hotels on the Hawaiian islands the resort fee is not included, this is not paid/deducted until check out. I also made an inter-island call which is included in the resort charge, initially this was charged to my bill, after questioning it was removed, but keep an eye on the bill. Apparently this is quite a common occurrence that something incorrectly billed per the receptionist. I probably won't stay here again, not unless they increased the number of trolly buses into town and had a later one back. January 29, 2016
  • 2016-09-28 T00:10:24.240-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_677, tr_677
  • loc_en_US, sid_1469, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>