Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 538 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Facilty Beautiful hotel and grounds. Food is weak, suggest eating at nearby restaurants. Good idea to rent a car as most things require going off site and taxis are quite expensive. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well refurbished but still need more work Lobby area is modern and luxurious. Our suite is deluxe but bathroom needs further modernisation. Fridge in bedroom instead of the pantry is strange. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel treats SPG platinum elite very well. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 The jewel of the Big Island With the SPG brand you are accustom to very high quality, outstanding customer service, and the every aspect of a great hotel / travel experience. The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay goes above this “Call of Excellence” and into an even new level of greatness. Being a Platinum member and having traveled over for a good portion of 2014, I have to say this hotel has blown my expectations and truly impressed me in every possible way. From the moment we arrived, everything about this location was top notch. The executive suite was above outstanding and the hotel setting was truly built and positioned for superior relaxation and a small piece of “heaven on earth”. SPG staff has always won my heart at almost every stay, but the staff at this hotel went a step further. Not sure if it is the “Hawaii Nature” of people to be so relaxed, outgoing and friendly, but the staff at this hotel truly played a grand role in the definition of relaxation, tourism knowledge, and above great customer service! No matter if you are looking for a quite relaxing getaway, romantic dinner on the bay, island adventure that will be a memory to truly remember or family fun for all ages, this hotel and the City of Kailua – Kona is the place to be. My wife and I are more than glad to have spend seven beautiful days and nights on the Big Island and at (so far) my favorite Sheraton experience! The manager along with all the staff need a very big “pat on the back” for a job above well done! Thank you SPG! Faruk August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great features but..... Beautiful hotel with all kind of features and activities for its guests. Food and service at the Holua and Ainakai was top notch. Only fault with the service was... returning at 5 pm after being out and about the island all day and finding the room had not been cleaned and all the towels were still not replaced. After calling the front desk and being told towels , etc would be sent, I finally went to the pool area and signed out 3 beach towels to use. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs help Probably not fair since we had just come from the Sheraton Maui - probably the best SPG experience I've ever had. It was inevitable to make a comparison between the two. The hotel is nice and in a good location. The staff do their jobs but are efficient as opposed to helpful or friendly. As a Platinum member I had 3 experiences of getting charged for things I should have been entitled to because the staff didn't bother to look up my profile before responding to my request. The head desk guy put is in a loud room initially and it wasn't until we complained a couple times the next day that we were able to get moved to a suite. I really don't think he had any instinctive idea about what kind of room a couple without their kids would be looking for. Also fyi, no beaches for kids to swim at although the pool is great and you have to drive to get anywhere - there is nothing else near the hotel. Maybe less relevant for non SPG members, but we felt like we got nickeled and dimed here. Breakfast buffet was free but need to leave a tip on a grossly inflated bill that was zeroed out. Almost mandatory valet service which means $4-6 per day in tips. No club lounge for SPG members. At Maui we stayed on points and our bill was $0 with excellent free breakfast and apps at 5:30 so again maybe an unfair comparison, but our experience nontheless. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is fabulous for a couple's getaway This hotel is beautiful. The hotel is walking distance to the shops and local nightlife. The view from our room was breath taking. The hotel well kept and rooms extremely clean. The restaurant's food was delicious. Staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. Excursions were accessible from the hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff, Middle of the Road Rooms, Great Value I have stayed at this property several times in the past year. So, my perspective is from several different rooms / floors / views and my remarks evaluate the property on an overall basis. The property is a bit dated, but I believe that within the confines of the reduced rate environment they have had in the last few years, they have done a fair job of keeping it up to date. The rooms recently received new carpet and were generally freshened. My latest room had a 37" LG flat screen TV. I always have to call for extra bath towels as they only stock each room with two. The industrial tankless wall mount toilet is a little odd. The furniture is old and starting to not function very well (drawers sticking etc.). If you are going to HI on business and need WIFI, do not stay here. First, their routers are all ancient "B" routers (11mbps). Second, the band-with pops in and out like a spy-hopping whale. Again, I have stayed in several different rooms in this property and have had the same experience in all of them. The funny thing is that when I call to ask the staff to address this issue, they seem surprised. Platinum suite upgrades are rare. They generally give you a standard water front room and that is it. The pool is very nice and very large for this resort. On the weekends this area is overrun by locals and their children. I think the hotel gives good Kamaaina rates on the weekend. The fitness center is extremely well equipped, and very clean. A+ in this area. The food is typical Hawaiian overpriced hotel fare. Nothing unusual here. Much better options in town. I find it odd that they have a hamper at the front desk which is apparently used for used towels. I also find it odd that instead of refreshing your bottled water daily, they give you some sort of certificate for free bottled water. Beware of the resort fee of $15.00 per day. I like this place, but with just a little effort it could really become a top notch Sheraton resort. I really would like to see that as options on this side of the island are rather limited. October 22, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel was ok The hotel staff was not responsive when called (e.g. called front desk due to ants in room & to get room service food menu and no action was taken). The female concierge was very friendly & helpful. August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience would have liked to participate in more activities The hotel experience was great. The front desk staff corrected my King bed room for two doubles (which was the booking) without any issue by upgrading my room to a partial ocean view which was lovely. The pool is wonderful, especially if you rise early and beat the crowds. I only wish that we had spoken with the staff sooner to find out that the internet posting of events was not accurate (which is what we based our itinerary on) so that we could have participated in the lei making, hula and ukulele lessons. Rays on the bay at feeding time is a must do! It is spectacular! Great location with or without the kids. Quiet, peaceful and lots to do. The Farmers market on the hotel lawn is convenient. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hawaii Beautiful location, beautiful pool. Great sunset views. Unfortunately we did not get to see any of the Mantas in the bay. We Had to leave early due to the hurricane. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kona in August - pre Hurricane warning Room was fairly clean, had large spider web under front of dresser with black spider, dresser side was dirty like old food stains on it and trashcans inside dirty too. Overall experience was nice, pool, food, view, free shuttle to town/shopping. Humid may have been due to Hurricane on it's way August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for relaxation It is quiet and clean and great views of the ocean, close to shopping, local attractions and Kona and easily accessible from the airport by car. Without a car has a free Trolly to access the nearby town, shopping and restaurants August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful place We have been to this hotel before, several times, though were surprised how much they have improved the service, especially for SPG elite members. We felt welcome from the start, enjoyed friendly caring service responding promptly to all our needs, enjoyed absolute privacy on our spacious balcony and loved the food from the buffet. The pools are nice for adults and children alike. This place is just great for adults who seek peace and quiet in Paradise. February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location is Great This is an excellent hotel for people who like to be close to all the water activities. The Manta Rays are awesome to watch, sunsets are amazing from the hotel. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. My wife & I really thought it is a value for the money, close to everything, Kona just 10 minutes away, centrally located to all the amenities that Hawaii has to offer. The hotel exceeded our expectations, the staff were very pleasant, and housekeeping did a excellent job. Thank you for a very nice 12 night stay. Can't wait to return. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short Neighbor Island Stay The hotel's location was excellent as it was accessible from the major highway and the famous Alii Drive towards downtown Kona. Our hotel room was comfortable and clean. And the staff were helpful and excellent especially the front desk and the bell men. We will definitely come back. August 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel should not be considered when booking hotels in Kona This Sheraton location failed to meet my expectations and furthermore failed to up hold the standards of Starwood Resort Properties. Clearly, tourists have a choice when staying on the Kona side of the island and I thought I'd pamper my husband and I with a nice Starwood Resort for our anniversary. What a mistake. Although, the hotel is Oceanfront with scenic views of the ocean, bay, mountain, and city, the hotel itself is downright disgusting and almost entirely uninhabitable. The building itself has a great open air concept, however the railings are crumbing and falling apart. This is completely unsafe and very unsettling. If the hotel doesn’t make safety a priority for guests, than what else are they letting slip through the cracks? The hotel is in need of a major renovation and updating. The hotel is very dated and has significant signs of wear. The hotel rooms smell like smoke, the shower is moldy, and the carpets are heavily stained also with indications of mold. The bed linens are tattered and have mysterious stains. The toilet is commercial. It is tankless with exposed plumbing something you would expect to find in a gas station, not a resort. Housekeeping here is lazy and careless. When a guest request extra towels they should be provided. It’s just towels not a bottle of champagne. Everything from checking into to the hotel to the pool was disappointing. The front desk staff was unwelcoming and unfriendly. The pool chairs are dilapidated and worn out. Perhaps this property was built on sacred ground because the energy is so bad and all the staff throughout the entire hotel seem genuinely annoyed with their jobs it was very, very weird. Please do not claim that you are a resort and charge guests a substantial resort fee when you are more of a motel with poor customer service. October 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No recognition for SPG Preferred members The hotel has very basic rooms which was fine with me, but I was most frustrated that they do not entertain a separate line for SPG preferred members even though they keep a counter which is unstaffed. I specifically asked if there was a separate line for SPG Preferred and was told I had to wait in the general line. There were a few people ahead of me and it took almost 30 minutes to check me in. The staff was also not knowledgeable about where some facilities were located, for example I called to find out where the laundry service was and the staff was clueless about the location and just told me the floor. If you have been to the resort, you can understand why it can be difficult to find it if not given a reference. I was told look for exit sign and there were like 10+ exits on each floor. Also as a SPG Preferred guest I was supposed to get a preferred room, but was given a room overlooking the parking lot with a partial ocean view when my reservation clearly stated ocean view. Overall I was very dissatisfied with the service I received and the attitude of the staff. I even wrote to SPG who told me that someone from the staff will reach out to me but no one did even after I checked out. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great wedding venue My niece had here wedding here and it was elegant and easy from beginning to end. The hotel staff took care of everything and made it very easy on the whole family involved. Beautiful ceremony overlooking the ocean bay with music and flowers everywhere. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but the property needs total upgrade We were given best treatment that can be expected, but if I'm travelling 10,000 miles to a holiday vacation, I'd prefer to stay in the best available hotel to enjoy everything. The hotel is too old to 'deliver' quality - it should be placed in the budget hotel category. October 26, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manta Rays amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit last week. Our room had a great pool and ocean view plus a spacious balcony. One of the major highlights of the visit was the incredibly friendly staff. We were greeted each day, making us feel welcome. We especially appreciated Jim at the Sliders Bar and our housekeeper, Stella. One of the unique attractions of the hotel was the nightly visit of the manta rays. To be able to observe the graceful mantas feeding in their natural habitat was an incredible sight. July 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by relaxing and calming hotel My husband and I needed a relaxing vacation. We loved everything about our stay at the Kona Sheraton except the view from our room which was the parking lot. Ten days of hearing and looking at the parking lot soured our stay. We used the "hot rate" because my son works for starwood hotels and I think that is why we got this room. The hotel refused to give us another room even though it was far from full. We will think twice before staying there again. Too bad! December 3, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by late check out When we booked our stay, we requested late check out as our flight did not leave until 10pm. We are gold members, so this should not have been a problem. When we checked in, we confirmed that we could have a late check out and confirmed it AGAIN the day before we left. On each occasion we were told there would not be a problem . On our day of departure we went to registration to cash in our housekeeping vouchers(great idea, by the way) , asked when we were checking out, we replied at 4pm and was then told we could not do this as our room had been "re-assigned". We cannot understand after we had made 3 requests, well in advance of checking out , why this should be changed. Surely it makes sense not to "re-assign" a room that has been occupied by some one needing late check out. As this is also one of the "perks" of being a gold member , we were very disappointed with our treatment. We had to change our plans for our final day and it did spoil our otherwise good experience staying with you. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We really enjoyed the pool area overlooking the ocean. It was very relaxing for both of us. The morning breakfast was a very nice way to start the day. August 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Family trip & Kona Marathon Starting at check in (6pm), I noticed the stay would be not good. The front desk rep says that the room is not ready...finally we could check in and since it was already late we decided to order room service. There was no menu in the room, so I called guest service and they said the menu will be delivered. Nobody came, so I had to call again and the menu was finally delivered (1.5 hours after the first request). Next day after we prepared to go to the Aloha Friday Run and left the room at 4pm, I called housekeeping before leaving the room to make sure they clean it, we came back after dinner (10pm) and the room was untouched. Nobody came to clean. The third day, we left the hotel early and housekeeping did clean the room...actually they only changed the linens and put new towels. The rest was untouched. Tissue paper was finished and they didn't change it. On our last day we decided to spend time at the pool, so I called around noon to request housekeeping to make up the room. Initially we planned to go directly to the mall, but had to change the baby. So we went to the room and surprise again it was 5:30pm and nobody came to clean the room. I called again and told them to send somebody to clean the room. Eventually they came and did it...same cleaning quality as the previous day. In our last morning, before check out, I noticed that there was no newspaper delivered (the previous 3 days we had it delivered...maybe because I am Plat). I called guest services and they said...it is only delivered to gold and plats. Are you? Yes, so please could you send somebody to deliver it (it was 6:55am). You can come to the front desk and grab one, if we have copies left (that was the GS rep answer). Finally, at check out the FD rep asked how was my stay...I summarized it and told her it was not good. She didn't care at all. Then I asked if I could contact the General Manager (Mr Mathew Grauso), she said that she doesn't know where he is and if I want to talk to somebody, I had to talk to the FD manager. So that is what the Sheraton Kona at Keauhou can offer you. Considering I am a lifetime platinum, I can't imagine what kind of service general members are entitled to. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge & Facilities were excellent; Staff not great My family & I stayed here the weekend of my wedding. We did not get married at the hotel, but the hotel was a good place to stay! Pros: - Gary, our concierge was a gem! I cannot say enough about how wonderful he was. We could not have organized our trip and wedding without his assistance!!! - Location is amazing - We were upgraded to a suite (SPG Gold), which had a fabulous view Cons: The general hotel staff seemed SUPER disorganized. Three examples: - My sister was checked into an occupied room - My grandparents' request for an accessible room was confirmed, then lost when they checked in - We received breakfast vouchers, then told they were not valid October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Best Thing About the Place is the Manta Rays The title says it all. While on an extended visit to the Big Island Hiloside , we trekked over to Keauhou for a weekend visit largely to see the Manta Rays. We were not disappointed. They appeared on cue and the accompanying talk was excellent. As for the rest of the property, the beautiful lobby raises expectations that are clearly not met elsewhere in the hotel. Everything other reviewers have said about things being out-of-date and in poor condition is true. Our room was quite disappointing and unattractive and, despite being SPG Gold at the time, we were overlooking the parking lot. The pool area is very beautiful. Generally, I found, as is the norm in Hawai'i, the staff was friendly and accommodating if not always the height of professionalism. The reception staff being the exception - not only slow and inept but unfriendly as well. I expect this stems from poor management issues - further underlined by the fact that none of the reviews in this forum are responded to as seems to be usual for most properties. Who's tending the fire here? March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is hotel has decent size room I booked the ocean view facing the bay, which was beautiful. The beds were very small. The mattress sheets were very short. It keeps rolling up on me. The maid service were inconsistent - some days we are short of soaps, others coffee. But overall, our room was clean and always had the correct number of towels. The Concierges were mostly good - 1 may be less friendly. Guest service calls were picked up slowly. Front desk service was good. Valet was very friendly and so was the poolside service. We didn't eat at the hotel once - too expensive. Very disappointed the Golf course there was closed. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's a real resort! I loved the property as it was so all-inclusive for all my needs! There are walking trails, there are places to watch the ocean surf, great food, great service, cheerful staff, beautiful grounds and an awesome pool area! The workout room and other recreational areas looked good too! The concierge in the Flying Fish shop was very helpful and super-sweet! The restaurant staff were great morning, lunch and night! My only negative comment was that housekeeping didn't clean the room before I arrived and that the rooms were not sound-proofed very well. (I had hair in the bathroom and I could hear my neighbor's kids at night.) Housekeeping responded quickly and cleaned it all the next day and the the rooms/bedding were otherwise very good. I can't wait to return! October 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by One thing to think about changing For the most part, my family and I enjoyed staying at your hotel. The associates were very friendly and helpful. I did request connecting rooms due to the fact that my parents are in their 90's and they both need assistance. Your front desk associates stated that there were no connecting rooms and that we could have rooms next to each other. Upon entering the rooms, we found out, to our suprise, that they indeed were connecting rooms. The one concern I have is your shower control. In room 4648, the shower control was so complex for my 95 year old father and my 90 year old mother. It caused them much anguish and stress to figure out how to work the shower. The 2 different control knobs are very confusing and I would suggest installing something simple. Please take a look at that and I would like a response back. Other than that, we had a wonderful time. July 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>