Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

  • 78-128 Ehukai Street
  • Kailua-Kona,
  • Hawaii
  • 96740
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 548 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement I am a frequent traveler and a long time SPG member. Although the location of this hotel was in a good place, I would not stay here again unless they made improvements.. The hotel is run down and needs updates, especially the rooms. The resort fee is ridiculous especially if you are a SPG gold or above. It should not even be charged. The wifi worked only intermittently, if at all. The price of breakfast was overpriced. During our stay housekeeping left the door to our room open, and it remained open the entire day while we were gone from 6am to 7pm on a tour. Luckily nothing was taken. Only after a discussion did they offer that the resort fee be removed for the the day and a $50 hotel certificate. I felt they should have done more and I suggested that the resort fee be removed for our stay of 4 days. My feeling is that they should have done much more, and I shouldn't have had to bargain with them. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I found my experience here disappointing. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This can be a 5 * hotel One of the most beautiful properties I have been to of all hotel chains. Have been coming here since it opened in 2004. The grounds are spectacular. The staff are just wonderful. Great location being away from the cityscape of a downtown hotel. The pool is wonderfully located. The sunsets are the best from the property. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refresher in Customer Relations for Front Counter Staff Upon late evening check in, the clerk provided us with only a one-sided map of the facility to help us find our room. There was no information provided on check in or in the room about the facilities, amenities available, dining or the surrounding attractions. On day 3 when I noticed some guests with Sheraton-logo'd publications, I mentioned my concern to another front office clerk. Rather than listen carefully and offer help, I was told that I should have "just called down and asked". I pointed out that because I was a unaware of what was available, I didn't know how to form the inquiry. Response: I was given the same map as on night #1 but this time it was two-sided. Gr-r-r-r-rr. The third situation that must be mentioned was when one young lad was very flippant and sarcastic when servicing a pickup request for me. Whew! Three strikes means to me more training is needed. I loved your hotel and the staff, all in all were great but, there is certainly room for improvement. I hope you will accept this as constructive criticism with a view to improving customer service and satisfaction. March 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed here for one night last week. We arrived late at night and the check-in took a LONG time. There were a handful of people in front of us (they looked like a crew from Alaska Airlines), but it felt like there were more than dozen people in front of us. After a long wait, we were finally checked in (the person who helped us was nice and pleasant) and was given a room key. The hotel lobby and the entrance area looked nice, but as we were walking down the hallway to our room, there was this unpleasant, stale, wet carpet-like smell all around. It's hard to describe but it was old, wet, and almost moldy kind of a smell. Unfortunately, our room was not any better, especially the bathroom, which was just old and in need of renovation. The worst part was in the morning, when I opened the door to the balcony. Apparently, our room was facing the wall of a tennis court! I wish the front desk warned us ahead of time that our room not only had NO view, but that it was facing the wall of a tennis court. At this point, we really had no reason to linger our stay and left the hotel ASAP to our next destination, namely Hilo. March 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is hotel has decent size room I booked the ocean view facing the bay, which was beautiful. The beds were very small. The mattress sheets were very short. It keeps rolling up on me. The maid service were inconsistent - some days we are short of soaps, others coffee. But overall, our room was clean and always had the correct number of towels. The Concierges were mostly good - 1 may be less friendly. Guest service calls were picked up slowly. Front desk service was good. Valet was very friendly and so was the poolside service. We didn't eat at the hotel once - too expensive. Very disappointed the Golf course there was closed. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short Neighbor Island Stay The hotel's location was excellent as it was accessible from the major highway and the famous Alii Drive towards downtown Kona. Our hotel room was comfortable and clean. And the staff were helpful and excellent especially the front desk and the bell men. We will definitely come back. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Additions New renovation looks great. New restaurant and lobbby take advantage of the amazing views the property has to offer. You can now rent kayaks and ocean gear at hotel. Great staff. A nice break from some of the over sized resorts on the Big island. August 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time in Hawaii The hotel and location is beautiful. The hotel staff and concierge are 2nd to none. They assisted in all areas and service was quick and prompt. The spa was clean and staff was well qualified and I got some awesome massages!! Loved the salt room and sauna. The only two items that I felt were less than excellent was the Luau .. for $79 I did not feel the food was as authentic as it could of been, it seemed a bit more commercialized or processed ... and there just seemed to be a lot of commentary during the show rather than just the show. The morning breakfast buffet was good .. but can't say it was worth $25 p/p - that was a bit steep. Loved the coffee! I'm a Kona girl for life! September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keauhou Rising! I stayed here for the first time recently but had visited the property on previous trips. The hotel is undergoing a renovation and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff could not have been nicer and they made SURE I knew about the renovation and set my expectations accordingly. I found everyone to be helpful and welcoming. My only suggestion for improvement is about the pool. It would really be nice to have a kid-free area for adults wanting some peace and quiet. The other nice thing was that the staff were all really excited about the renovation and proud of what they were doing. I'd stay here again - the views are really nice and I like the people who work there. March 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful outside The hotel is beautiful, very pretty surroundings. The one disappointing thing was the luau on Mon 12/24/12. It cost $75 (after discount for being a hotel guest), and was mediocre at best. December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Growing Pains? Overall great location and amenities. Gold SPG status was not recognized at all. On my stay over labor day weekend the under staffing became painfully obvious on sunday when the pool bar "Sliders" was overwelmed. The barkeep did yoeman's work against an onslaught of orders. There was a 30-60 minute wait for orders. The crushing blow came sunday night when the "Rays on the bay" bar was closed for a private function. This forced me and 5 travelling companions to cab to Kona for drinks and dinner. Closing the night life venue at a resort with no other option but a dinner buffet was a horrible inconvenience. September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice in Kona We stayed in 2 hotels in Kona and this was by far the best one. Lovely facilities, grounds and rooms. Seeing the Manta Rays from the viewing area was a highlight October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected Gem I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms and pools. Resort is south of Kona and you need a car to explore the island. Good value for the money. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value in Hawaii We stayed our last night on the Big Island at the Sheraton. Because the hotel doesn't have a beach (it is perched on fantastic lava rocks close to beaches) we did not stay there at the beginning. They make up for it with an extraordinary pool. The hotel is older and so the rooms are very large. The decor is current and very stylish. The spa is fantastic and a great value for the treatments, which you can have on a deck hearing the ocean! Rays on the Bay is a great bar and the seafood was prepared excellently. The staff was very accomodating as we had to extend our trip due to a tropical storm. August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved Our Short Stay What a lovely place this is: the wide open lobby area sitting room is a great welcome to this place. The staff is so nice and welcoming: nothing is too much trouble. Next, you get the sounds of the might Pacific Ocean waves crashing on the rocks, which is a great spectacle to watch. Location is fine, with easy access to the airport, and a very short drive to Kona village and some great food options in a relaxed setting. Too bad there's nothing within walking distance otherwise it would really be perfect. It is also quite a drive to the Volcano National Park, although doable on a long day trip (about 2.5 hours each way). The grounds are very well maintained, and while the building itself is a vast 1970s uninspired bunker, the overall setting is relaxing. My only complaints would be directed at the pool area: too few umbrellas are available, so one doesn't have many options to escape the very harsh sun; food in the pool area was uninspiring, with limited options and overpriced, and finally, I was treated with suspicion because I didn't have a pool bracelet: I was never given one at check in, but am now assuming they have a problem of people sneaking in. Our room (we were upgraded to a suite, which consisted of 2 interconnected rooms, one of which was converted into a living room) was nice enough, although a little dated. Still, it was very good value, and I would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip to the Big Island. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We really enjoyed the pool area overlooking the ocean. It was very relaxing for both of us. The morning breakfast was a very nice way to start the day. August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing My stay was very disappointing. Room amenities were good (as I expected in Sheraton), but bath tub looked dirty. The main reason I stayed here was to watch MantaRay's, but due to high tides couldn't see any (not sheraton problem, but weather). What is disappointing is the Ray's at the Bay restaurant staff kept lying that there will be some one giving half hour speach on Manta Ray's. Many people kept waiting and no one showed up. I asked 3 times and they still kept saying there must be some one talking about it. I was shocked they didn't know exact plan that evening. January 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Such Potential for a Beautiful Hotel - Front Desk Service lacking There was no friendly welcome reception. I was treated as a number rather than a guest. Front Desk staff and Car Valet did not provide genuine Hawaiian Hospitality, did not address me or welcome me, nor recognize or care about SPG Membership. As a Platiinum member was given a room with a poor view; no upgrades was given. Pool and Restaurant staff provided exceptional service; Front Desk staff and Supervision can learn a lot from them. On the plus side - The hotel had just undergone a Lobby renovation that looks great and modern. The seaside location is spectacular. February 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by ANTS I called the front desk around 9:30 pm on April 11th to tell them their were bugs crawling around the sink and on the bathroom floor. The lady said "Oh, those are tiny ants they are looking for water" . I asked her to either spray the room or move us, she said " we can't spray due to the late hour but call us in the morning when you are leaving your room and we'll come and spray". Totally unacceptable: why didn't she offer to move us with the bellmans help. We are booked for 4 Nights and it disgusts me!!!!! I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! April 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Staff was very friendly, location and views are magnificent. WiFi in the room was almost laughably slow; no, make that just almost nonexistent. Valet parking was an excellent value. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The only thing that will keep us coming back is the pool. My family and I have been so disappointed in the times we have stayed at this hotel. The customer service is not great. When I booked the room, I asked for a room by the pool and was told there were none. When I got there, there were at least 3 rooms that were empty by the pool. In fact, we were put in a room that couldn't be any further from the pool. The room we were transferred to needed major upgrades. Wireless didn't work there, and you are charged for it in the resort fee. Some staff were pleasant, but most were not. The only restaurant in the place, Rays on the Bay, didn't meet expectations either. They served us raw food, both of our meals. So there went $200 down the drain. I think I've complained enough, what a disappointment. March 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by under restoration.. while Sheraton is usually above standards, this particular hotel is not. Certain areas are under restoration, and sadly, the whole complex needs a facelift. The halls are dark and dreary. The elevators are a tad frightening. And the lighted walkways - lets just say the lights are on their last string. Our room was clean, however, it smelled as if the carpet had just been cleaned with pure chlorine - and we had that smell with us for two days. The nicest things I can say about our stay are 1. the staff was excellent and 2. the pool was wonderful January 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service An example of the great service we received throughout our stay. We had to change rooms because of the air-conditioning not working and the part would take some time to get in. The transition was made as painless as possible. While we were looking at alternative rooms with the manager, my wife mentioned how much she liked white meat pineapple. She surprised her by having this in our room when we returned later in the evening. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, amenities so so. Staff great! Pros: Staff, at all levels, especially the valet guys and pool bar staff were great. Always in a good mood, always eager to assist in any way shape or form. Beds, consistently, an SPG room with great beds and pillows. Private Balcony, so as long as it does not face the poolside. Kona Trolley, good, easy way to get in and around Kona without having to take your rental car. Cons: SPG Gold - amenity is not the resort charge ($32 a night) but free valet of $7/night. Seems too much on the low end compared to other stays at SPGs (e.g., free internet). No direct beach access. Not end of the world in Kona as you generally need rental car to get to any of the good beaches. No golf close by. Immediate course is closed to renovation - was not aware until we got there. Kids. As there is no direct beach access, you only option to lounge in the sun is by the pool. The entire pool however, is catered to kids - i.e., there is no section which generally would preclude kids to be in/around. I have no problem with kids playing in a pool - but it is nice to have a quieter area than the rest. This pool does not have that. Its broken out in three sections. Sandy beach area for wading small children. A large water slide with volleyball net and a small lagoon in courtyard of hotel. Food. Rays at the Bay serves excellent dishes. Just not that many of them. As a vegetarian, my only choice of entree is fried tofu skins. This is the only restaurant in the hotel. Thus, unless I drove to other place, this is the dinner. It would be nice to see their menu expand considering their location and limited items. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ocean Front Hotel with water activities Sheraton Kona faces Keauhou bay and offers all the water sports you would want including night swims with the manta rays. The manicured lawns and rocky coastline invite you to relax and enjoy the warmth of the sun and the sounds of the ocean, a great way to get in touch with your thoughts or share time with someone special. Cultural tours and activities add to the magic of this property. Rays on the Bay is the most incredible location for a restaurant. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely stay at Sheraton Kona Had a wonderful time staying at the Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa. Grounds are well maintained and pool area is great. Friendly staff. The only thing is the bathrooms could do with an update. Beds are comfortable and the room is spacious. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families and I think it's also a lovely place for a wedding. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lack of customer service! On numerous occasions, the staff was less than accommodating! For the price, my expectation is to feel comfortable and important. There was very few thanks given and in particular, I was treated less than important because I attempted to eat at Rays on the Bay without a reservation. We arrived at opening and could not sit next to the bay, even though we were the only ones around. We eventually ate by the pool and made a trip back through afterwards to find the place still empty. Unacceptable in my view!!! June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magnificent facility From the front curbside assistance, to the prompt and efficient check in procedure, to the air conditioned comfort of our room and then the pool areas, the friendly staff, the ambience of the dining areas, everything was well done. We took advantage of the $5 daily dining credit for making up our room and not using new towels and that too was an easy thing for us to accomplish. The nightly live music in the Ray dining area was wonderful for two dancers such as we. We look forward to returning many times. February 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and attentative staff Asplatinum members we had a nice suite up-grade and chose the free continental breakfast; good value. The hotel needs some renovation in the bathrooms and noisy airconditioning but comes with spacious rooms. Great location and the ocean view rooms allow for great manta ray watching at night. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel and nice location. Quality of service needs to improve. Overall good experience. Nice location, comfortable room, nice pool and very friendly staff. The hotel does not have a beach, but the pool is very nice and with a car it is possible to reach nearby locations quite easily. The hotel was undergoing some renovation, but this did not create any issues with my stay (apart the impossibility to enjoy the manta bar since it was closed). Only complaint I have is that during the last 2 days the room service skipped our room. We tried to have someone sent to refresh the room when we were back around 7 pm, but no one was available. The customer care offered us to send some fresh towels; we agreed, but they never arrived. We were quite tired for the long day and we gave up, but this is something that should not happen in an hotel of this level. August 29, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 19 next>>