The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 345 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Have stayed in better I wasn't impressed. The rooms were tiny, bathrooms even smaller. Its inconvenient to to between rooms because you have to go down then walk across the lobby, hop on another elevator and go back up. I had the worst time booking my reservation and it didn't even get right until I complained at check out. September 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Y'all need to do some serious work Wow. This beautiful hotel needs some serious plumbing and A/C work. The noise from both is deafening and almost funny except for the lack of sleep. October 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst sheraton i have stayed at this was worst sheraton i have stayed at it had many issues and when i told them about them they was no help. also while writing this review i read some others and they have had the same complaints for over a year. and recieved no reconition for being spg member. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great staff great check in, great valet service helpful and friendly staff October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes business travel feel like a vacation I have stayed at Read House more times than I can recall and it is always a pleasure. Food is first rate and the staff will strive to meet your request with speed and a smile. Looking forward to my next trip to the Read House. May 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by travel Light bulbs did not not work.. charged for water. bill delivered at 3 in the morning. No one to carry luggage to room. Had to roll up my own suit rack. Honeymoon package was 2 pieces of paper. Hair in tub. December 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience I stayed at this hotel last Friday evening and had the experience of what I would expect from a $50 hotel. The problem is - I paid $200. Here are a few of the problems: 1) I was in Room # 407. I did not realize until I was trying to sleep that the elevator was behind the wall nearest the head of the bed. Once I turned off the TV, I could hear the elevator noise all night. You need to insulate that wall or not put guests in that room at all. 2) In the middle of the night, the entire room started to smell as if raw sewage had been pumped into ventilation system. It was an incredibly strong odor that eventually dissipated or I became immune to it. 3) I am still waiting for my 6am wake up call. I could go on and on about how important it is to have a reliable system for wake up calls, but I'm assuming you understand that. 4) The bath drain was not attached to the tub. This was not the only maintenance issue, but probably the most glaring. I thought I had read that the hotel had recently been renovated. If true, they missed that room. It is old and dilapidated. 5) There was no one at the front desk when I tried to check out. When they did finally show up, they never asked about my stay - which I think is probably the root to all of your issues. Your employees don't care about guest's experience. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! The Read definitely made my family feel at home. Spacious rooms, plus a dash of nostalgia , made our stay very enjoyable. We most assuredly will add this to our travel spots in the future. August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Central Location Nice Hotel - it's location is right in between the restaurants, choo choo, and has a stop right outside for the free shuttle bus. Parking is a bit much at $15 a day October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memorable moments This hotel has a lot of interesting history that I enjoyed hearing from the friendly staff that works there. Thanks for making my visit a memorable one! June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great visit Always enjoy staying at this hotel when my business takes me to Chattanooga. Great hotel with a lot of history. Comfortable room and good workout facilities. February 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Landmark but lacks investment! The bathroom is lousy and has no ventilation. The room and bathroom, especially carpet and ceiling was at several places dirty. No fridge, no mini bar ... February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super friendly From check in to check out it was an enjoyable experience. Desk clerks, valet, bell hops were very friendly and helpful. Excellent dinner at Porters. February 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Service This was by far the worst hotel service I have ever received. Whoever was supposed to be answering the "guest service" line from the room phones let it ring and ring without answering, to get any help we had to go downstairs and wait in a line (there always seemed to be a line, probably because no one answered the phones). I asked for someone to arrange a taxi pickup, after missing the wedding ceremony we were supposed to be at, we realized no one had ever actually made the call. We were unable to control the temperature of our room, but it took 2 hours for someone to tell us that. And we didn't receive clean up service once during our stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved the historic building We loved the ambiance and the history of the building. The staff recognized our SPG card status and gave us a nice upgrade. We enjoyed our stay. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway We had a wonderful time in your city. The staff, the room, the location of the hotel were all perfect! Looking forward to a return visit. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent staff The rooms were clean, bathrooms could use a little more attention, nothing degrading but maybe a little more upgrading. The Porter restaurant, we only ate breakfast there..could have been a good experience but the scrambled eggs were nasty...I had forgotten there is such a thing as 'powdered' eggs, but was quickly reminded when I ate the scrambled eggs...OMG!!! Have I said NASTY already...The garage attendees were perfect!! Took care of our luggage immediately, took care of my car and even had great tips for visiting the area..and very enthusiastic guys...worth every cent of their tip!! Even wished me a Happy Mother's Day on our departure!! May 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No the service that I expect The WIFI was not working and anypoint, the property looks empty, no staff in main lobby to Welcome guests February 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Lobby The lobby was very nice. The beds were nice. The pool is only 4ft deep and there is no hot tub they covered it with a strange floor. The shower did not work and the bathtub was difficult for a 6ft 2in man to use. The walls were peeling and some areas it looked like they were just painted over the peeling paint so it looked pretty bad. There is 2 areas of the hotel the old part were the lobby is and you see in the pictures of the hotel and the addition that looks like your in a different building that is white. Loud door slamming all night long. Walls very thin I could hear people talking next door. The steakhouse in the hotel was wonderful. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by P E R F E C T ! Great staff, excellent room (with 2 HD TVs) and super comfortable mattress !! December 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by unsatisfactory We were given two rooms on the SPG floor; 6th floor. Upon disembarking the elevator there is an old musty smell. We went to the vending area and the area where there would have been soda/ snack vending had obvious signs of water damage... vending had been removed. Ice machine was still present. One room had a large hole in the carpet where it meets the entry tile. The window seal was broken for so long that you could barely see out of the window. there was obvious signs of continuing water damage above the window. The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement. Robe in closet had stain on left sleeve. Other room; repaired water damage above window which is of such poor quality that your attention is immediately drawn to it. Windows had greasy handprints. A/C set at 61F still would not stay on to cool room. No robe in closet. The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement. room service; soup, baked potato and soda were highlights. The rest of the food was awful. Service was quick and friendly. Valet service was quick and friendly. Check in was quick and easy. August 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by disappointed Everything was great except for some things in the room. It was nice to be upgraded to a room with a sofa and easy chair. The room was very comfortable, with the following exceptions. The first thing we noticed was the lack of lighting. Then the bathroom was tiny like a closet. There was no space to put any of the things we needed in there. When I went for ice, I noticed that the usual "tongs" were not attached to the ice bucket, nor any where in sight. When I went to make a note, there was also no pen in the room. Some of these are little things, but I would expect more from the Sheraton. The small bathroom was the biggest complaint. We had to call to have someone come and adjust the water in the heating system, as the air was too hot, and we needed cooler air. The evening staff in the club lounge was very good and friendly. And kept the items well stocked. And the same with the morning lady with the breakfast items. But the evening gal really gets a star plus. If I had business in downtown I would stay here again, But for someone just passing through, I would reconsider. To park in their garage, you must use Valet Parking at a cost of $15 per day. Which means tips for the valet guys and also the bellman. Again, the staff was very friendly. Personally, I do not like to use Valet staff for my car - but here there was no choice. The bed was very comfortable which I would expect, along with the other furniture in the room. December 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough The suite was beautiful. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff efficient and helpful. We were disappointed to find that they hotel's movie selection did not include anything of an 'adult nature'. We did have a loose panel in the closet that was creepy (it led to a crawl space)- the staff fixed it, but it meant I had to hang out in the room for an hour while they worked- awkward. When I booked I asked about the pool and hot tub and came prepared to spend time int he hot tub on my anniversary trip. When we arrived- the hot tub/spa was out of service (and had been for some time). I should have been told this when I asked about it. The pool itself was very pretty. The club level breakfast was only ok (bread and pastry was dried out all three days) and was only from 7-9. The hors-d-ouvres were decent, but they cancelled it one night because of low occupancy- it made me feel like I wasn't important enough to receive that service. The attached restaurant is FABULOUS! A couple of times I stopped by the front desk and no one was there to help me.When I mentioned these things to the front desk upon check out- my concerns were pretty much dismissed and I was told "we were busy" and "it happens". For what I paid..it should not have happened. The valet guys were fantastic! Helpful, polite, didn't rush us- tip them well! All in all it was a positive trip, but I may try a different hotel next time. November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleasant Experience This is a very nice hotel. It has beautiful decor and historic ambiance. It's well located in downtown and seems to be very well maintained. However, internet service was flaky in my room -- had a hard time connecting to the wireless but that could have been a security setting in my laptop. Didn't try the restaurant but bar service was marginal at best. Seemed to be inconvenienced by having customers. Early morning front desk crew on the day of my departure did not seem terribly concerned about taxi's not arriving in time to make flights. I would stay there again but would address these issues with management up front upon check-in. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money There's no parking except valet which is a flat rate charged to our room. Plus tips of course. We got a jacuzzi room and there was standing water around the top of the tub and mildew. The bathroom door knob was broken and wouldn't latch. Our remote didn't work and I called they sent a man up who changed the batteries and it sill didnt work after that. The furnishings and linens where top notch. I believe that there are some maintenance and housekeeping issues that could be improved. The breakfast which was packaged into our purchase price was a buffet. The biscuits were hard as a rock literally. Very disappointing for $ for 2 people. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This is the third time we've stayed in this hotel but the service is better every time. The bed and linens were great, size of the room was exceptional and customer service was fantastic. Only slight annoyance was asking for extra bath linens a second time before receiving but the hotel was at capacity so I expected some delays. Overall it was a wonderful experience and would recommend them as THE hotel to stay at in Chattanooga. Plus this hotel oozes historic charm so if you enjoy that, this hotel is a must!! January 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Discomfort... This was my second time staying at this particular Sheraton Hotel. The first time was awful. The heat in the hotel did not work so they brought a small heater to the room. Needless to say it took forever to warm up the room and after so long the heater just kept cutting off. I was there to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday which she was very uncomfortable with this room. The TV was in an ackward position in which you had to turn to the side in order to view the TV. To hear her complain throughout our stay was very dishearting considering the amount i paid for this hotel. The second time i visited chattanooga, I thought things would be better, but I was wrong. I arrived at 1am, checked in just fine and arrived to my room just to find out the heat did not work again. The furnace made buzzing noise and was blowing cold air. I called the front desk which they did switch rooms. This room was better and the TV was not in an ackward position unlike the last room. However, when I took a shower, the shower curtain was dirty. The next morning received no room service so I had to call the front desk to ask for service. I am grateful the guy who cleaned the room came promptly. The list goes on. I am highly not satisfied with this hotel and will not be staying at Sheraton Read House Hotel again. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. December 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to standard Probably the worst check in I have ever had, one guest in front of me and still took 30 minutes. Staff offhand and did not have a friendly attitude. There was an important envelope left for me which was not given to me, it was altering our evening plans and dress code. However it was found later clearly marked for me. Rooms were very "tired", peeling veneers, sink plugs that did not function. wobbly shower head, a surge protector attached to a wall socket (I am sure that was not up to code) Apart from the Parking Valet no one seemed to care. The looby is fantastic as are the ballrooms and meeting rooms. A pity the hotel is not the same standard all over April 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by my stay Hotel room not quiet up to quality of better Sheraton's. A bit small and room temp stability was a challenge. Cleanliness was good. Carpet worn and torn in room. Marble vanity has paint specks from last painting. Hallway to room not impressive. Staff excellent, nice lobby. Elevator in shabby condition. As the parent of a child performing at the Tennessee music teacher's convention, I was told of special rates. However, I was not offered the rate because due to long travel, I was checking in one day prior to the convention start. You could have, and should have, offered me the promised rate, but did not. I will not use Sheraton again if there is an option. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping walked in without knocking My husband and I were placed in a room that was supposed to be ready - 15 minutes after we arrived in our room, housekeeping walked in without knocking in order to put towels in the room that they failed to complete prior to indicating the room was ready. The front desk staff weren't really sympathetic to the fact that they had walked in. After we arrived home, I found my credit card had been charged for the room - we pre-paid our room at the time of reservation in order to obtain a better rate. Have not been able to get in touch with management onsite - spoke with corporate customer service, and pending a response to the issues. March 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>