The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 391 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton - Chattanooga The hotel room was comfortable. The internet connection was horrible, told the front desk about it, but didn't get any help in addressing the connectivity. Otherwise, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel, fantastic service My wife and I took a weekend trip from Altanta to Chattanooga and had the privilege of staying here. From the moment we checked in, we were greeted by some of the happiest employees I've ever seen in a hotel (Savannah and Anne) and the experience only got better from there. Our room was delightful and well exceeded our expectations. Breakfast at Porters was equally as nice and enjoyable. Even the valet drivers were friendly and cheerful. If only every hotel experience could be as memorable and fun as this one. Great job. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff and facilities are excellent We will stay here every time we are in Chattanooga April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has nice features & is well located in the downtown business $ entertainment district. The Read House is the last of the Grand Old Hotels of Downtown Chattanooga, TN. The remodeling and upgrades to the hotel were completed trying to maintain the grand old essence of the building. The rooms are nice however the entrance to the bathrooms are a little hard to navigate as there is a step up into them you have to used too. Porter's Steak House is very nice and the food was excellent, we would recommend it to anyone. Overall this a very nice place to stay and the staff went out their way to make us feel welcom March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was wonderful! Thank you to the staff of Read House Hotel in Chattanooga for making things easy for me, a grandmother traveling with 5 grandchildren. From my first phone call you were attentive and provided excellent personal attention. Unlike your competitors, who could not guarantee ajoining rooms, your staff understood the importance of my needs and delivered! The bathrooms are a little out of date - which is why I gave you a good on room cleanliness. The beds were super comfortable! Room service was excellent and I love that the person you spoke too was almost always the one who took care of your needs. For instance, kudos to the bellman/valet who spoke to me about retrieving a phone charger from my car and hand delivered to our room within 10 minutes! Thanks for a great stay! August 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chattanooga Read House, September 2013 I have now stayed at the location perhaps 5 times. It is my favorite location in the region, and hands down my number one choice in Chattanooga. The on location Steakhouse rivals Ruth’s Chris (in both flavor, quality, and price). The staff is great, the rooms are large. If you are coming to Chattanooga, this is the place to stay. I spent a weekend here with my family several months back. Good choice. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Wife and I brought our newborn daughter to Chattanooga for a one-day trip. We reserved the Aquarium package which included 2 tickets to the Aquarium, 2 tickets to the I-MAX, and a $10 voucher to Starbucks. The room was top-class, the staff was very friendly, and the location was ideal, right in the middle of downtown Chattanooga. My favorite part of our stay was the king-size bed. It was the most comfortable mattress that I have ever slept on in my entire life, every muscle relaxed as soon as I laid down on it. March 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Stay It was good for the better part. The bed was very comfortable and the accommodations were nice. The shower curtain was too close and stuck to you while in the shower. March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to downtown! Only about 3/4 of a mile from the aquarium. Very modern, clean rooms. Old school feel in the lobby with modern touches. We had a clogged tub drain and the maintenance man cam up within 5 min of the call. Very friendly and accommodating staff! We will surely visit again. March 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy & Smelly! The doors on our hallway slammed really hard on their own as guest come & go. But when housekeeping throws the security latch to keep the door from closing, then leaves and enters the room more than 5 time in less than one minute letting the door slam, it's very disturbing when you are trying to sleep. We would definitely not want to stay on that wing again. It is the wing accessed by the elevators in front of the Fitness Center. The Fitness Center area also reeked of chlorine because of the swimming pool. May 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just average I am a loyal spg member this hotel is average at best! No towel had to call down to get more . pillows taken during cleaning. The hotel was full and it was very loud at night March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!! My husband and I call this our place.We stayed here one weekend right before we got married in May 2013. We needed a small get away from all the wedding planing. It was just what we needed. The price for all that you get is unbeatable I think. The staff is awesome and really all around is wonderful. We love the old charm and how it just makes you feel cozy. We look forward to coming back 2 to 4 times a year to just get away. Yep this is our place. Love you guys! Thank you January 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Experience Overall, the room was good. I do love staying at Sheraton Hotels because they have the most comfortable beds. At this facility though, we first had trouble locating our room because there was no room number outside. The receptionist said they have problems with people stealing room numbers. Why don't you think about a way of attaching room numbers so they can't be stolen? Then we had trouble figuring out how to turn on the shower. Yes, you fill like an idiot calling down to the receptionist and having them explain that you have to pull down on the spout for the tub to activate the shower. A small sign in the bathroom directing people to do that would probably help. The staff, with both of these minor problems, were more than friendly and helpful. The valets were especially courteous. June 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel - Good Price This hotel is nice, especially for the price. The staff is wonderful. My only complaint was the bathroom. The tub needs resurfaced, and the bathroom ceiling leaked from the room above me. I assumed it was from the person taking a shower, as if happened about once a day. However, the hotel is quite charming, the room was very nice, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. For the price, it was a good stay. Plus, there is a nice little diner across the street, and the hotel is located close to the water. November 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely old-timer The hotel has character. It is old but beautiful. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Sheraton Read House Exceeds All Expectations As I first walked in the hotel, I was taken aback by all the ornate decor.There was much time taken to restore the historical integrity in the lobby.The rooms are also well designed to provide both comfort and style.Excellent service was delivered by every member of the staff we encountered.Porters, the restaurant on site, served the highest quality steaks and cuisine that one could find.Having frequented other luxury hotels,I can honestly say that the Sheraton Read House ranks among the finest. June 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This is a lovely hotel with a great location. The room was nice but the woodwork in our bathroom was really in disrepair. Also, I wasn't told when I checked in I'd be billed an addt'l $90 for incidentals that I never received -- it was a big surprise when I got the bill. Hopefully it will be removed! Also, a couple other things...the front desk clerks clothing were personal items that were dirty and unkempt. It's a beautiful hotel, but they don't represent the prices or the ambience. My tv wasn't working properly and after 1 hour waiting for someone to come up to fix it, I called another friend in the hotel who was able to help me. No one followed up to see if they came up - I had to call down down and say forget it. Although I'd recommend the hotel because of the location to downtown, it did have some "shabby" issues. January 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dog Friendly But Needs Updating We stayed one evening at the Sheraton Read in Chattanooga, TN on our way from FL to MI. We were very happy to find a downtown hotel that accepted pets and a hotel that was not one of the typical 'low end' properties that allow pets. We were disappointed in the cleanliness and condition of the room. Tub did not drain during the shower and the general condition of the tub area was poor. On the positive, lobby is lovely and the staff was friendly and willing to help as needed. October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice historical hotel The staff is what made the difference for me. They were very curteous, respectful, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond to please us. The food was great at the Potter restaurant and also James and Emily. The receptionist at the front desk named Ann Marie helped me with an issue I had and I so appreciated it. Valet men were nice and on point. The room had very comfortable beds and were nicely kept. Definitely go back. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location Good location, central to Chattanooga tourist spots. Jr Suite furnishings were kind of shoddy, wood furniture worn, upholstered chairs dirty. Rooms need a 'facelift'. Maid svc did not leave towels or face cloths. Had to request bedding for third bed after we arrived. Bill was initially messed up but was quickly fixed. Staff was friendly and professional on Saturday. Sunday phone staff not so much. Room service was good as was food. Was disappointed in the room for the price. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellence in Chattanooga We have stayed at the Sheraton Read House in Chattanooga before and have never been disappointed. The location is the best and the staff is beyond accommodating. From check-in to picking up our car from valet parking at check-out, everything went very smoothly. We could not ask for more from a hotel. It is a beautiful, older building with all the modern amenities we need. We so enjoy staying at the Sheraton Read House and will definitely be back when we return to Chattanooga. May 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Definitely not worth the price The room I initially reserved online was not available when I arrived, the hotel overlooked. I was offered another, smaller room, which was fine. I was a little surprised to learn that the smaller room was charged st the same rate as the initial room. The money was not a big deal, but I wouldn't be writing this review if the Read House had given us even a $10 break as acknowledgement. At 11:00 pm, we also awoke to find the air conditioner was broken, so we spent s hot sweaty night. It was apparently out in our whole wing of the hotel and even the corridors were 80+. The pool was gross, cloudy water and unsupervised children everywhere. Staff was really really nice, though. Valet guys were super, even though they were busy. A waitress st Porter's went out of her way to make my six year old son feel at home. May 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by In Need Of An Update From the outside, the hotel is beautiful, and the lobby and common areas are nice. The rooms, however, are very dated. The carpets seemed old, and the bathroom was in need of attention (clogged tub, no counterspace, and sticky floor). It's a shame, because the room was a nice size. I'm looking forrward to hearing of a renovation, because the location is very good, the staff helpful, and the potential great. But this hotel's beauty has faded, and it's time for a makeover. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent Quality Great location, large room, and helpful staff. However, the heater in my room broke down twice within the 5 days I stayed there. The layout of the room made opening and closing the blinds difficult and cumbersome (desk in front of window with little access to handles for adjusting shades/curtains). Staining on ceiling, from water damage in the past, I imagine. Also, I prefer a somewhat firmer mattress; this one was extremely soft. Restaurant needs a menu with more variety. March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 Days in Chattanooga The Read House was a great choice for our first visit to Chattanooga. Well situated downtown near US 27 and on the trolley route with easy acess to Northshore, the Arts District with great restaurants and coffee shop for lunch or just talk. The front desk staff (Ken & Spencer), restaurant staff (Adam & James), and valet (Roy & Taylor), provided outstanding service during our stay. Porter's is a great place for dinner, specially if you order the filet and lamb chops. October 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Great Night's Sleep We visited during the Labor Day Holiday and our overall experience was very nice. We were disappointed that the jacuzzi was out of order; especially since we had called prior to making our reservation to verify amenities, room size, etc. However, our room was quite roomy and the bed and bedding were FANTASTIC! As soon as my head hit the pillow, I didn't want to get up. The location of the hotel is great as it is in walking distance of so many restaurants and activities. September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for wedding guests. The Read House is very accommodating to wedding guests. Our son recently wed in Chattanooga, and we chose The Terrace Room as the rehearsal dinner venue. It worked well since there was a block of rooms reserved for those needing lodging for the wedding. The entire staff put our needs as top priority, from the valet attendants to the managers over the catered dinner. They made us glad that we chose The Read House as our home away from home for our long-distance wedding. July 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service Plus! We just got home from a long weekend at the Read House. It was lovely. Yes, the historic hotel could use a bit of updating but the location and the staff more than make up for it. The 1920's architecture of the lobby is amazing and can rarely be found any more. Every single interaction we had over the four day stay was most pleasant. Every request was satisfied and followed up with a call to make sure we were happy. I'd like to specifically mention April at the registration desk, Byron in Porter's Steakhouse, and Johnny at the Valet. Each of these people (along with everyone else on staff) made us feel special and treated us as well as anyone ever could. Thank you all! The hotel had it's own stop on the free electric bus service with routes covering most everywhere we wanted to go. We would surely stay there again. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Oldie but a goodie After a 9 1/2 hour drive the friendly staff lifted my spirits. The valet parking was quick and our check-in process friendly and expedient. My wife and I enjoyed relaxing, watching television in the comfortable room. The bed was extremely comfortable as we have come to expect from Starwood. I would recommend this hotel. The building is historical and some of the repairs to the room left a little to be desired. Overall, the stay was great and we will stay here again. January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement This was my 2nd time staying at the Sheraton Read House in Chattanooga. The first visit was great. They upgraded me to a Jr Suite for my first visit. After my 2nd stay, it was apparent they were trying to impress me on my first so I would return. On my 2nd visit, I was given an old and dirty room. It was on the "new" side of the hotel where the rooms obviously haven't been updated in years. The chair was stained, carpet shredded and a hole in the bathroom ceiling. Upon check in, the clerk was clearly new and untrained. He signed me up for a new SPG Account when I had already requested them to use my current one. I subsequently asked the front desk to ensure my regular account was assigned to my stay and this new account deleted 4 times, unsuccessfully. The valet, other staff, and amenities were great, however the lack in consistency in quality in the rooms is disappointing, especially when you are supposed to be a "Preferred' guest. I would recommend the hotel, but ask to stay on the old side that has been renovated. March 2, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 14 next>>