The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 424 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing I booked three of us at this hotel for a business trip. The lobby area is lovely and full of historic charm and the staff was friendly and welcoming. Then we got to our rooms. The entire wall behind the shower surround in my room was rotting out and there was significant water damage in the ceiling above the bed. I believe that a drip of water actually hit me in the head during the night. Then, in the morning one of my co-workers reported that the sheets on her bed were not clean and she had had to call for new sheets prior to going to bed. The report from our third party was that they had unsightly stains on the cloth headboard and the ceiling in his bath was rotten. We had all hoped for a better experience. July 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One night lay-over on a long driving trip from Tampa, FL to Chicago, IL We targeted Chattanooga as a one night lay-over as we drove from Tampa, FL to Chicao, IL. The Hotel was really great. The Valet recognized we had driven all day with two sick kids. They helped load up the lugage cart, and voulenteered to park the car nearby, in case we needed an emergency trip to the emergency room. The club floor was great, oodly it closed for breakfast at 9:00 AM which seems to be an hour earlier than most. The room was great, large and comforatble. We had a King with a pull out sofa, the sheets seemed to be wrinkled but clean. Unfortunately we had to hit the road early so we did not have time to see the sights or enjoy to gym or pool We would definitely stay there again, next trip to FL. January 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for the price We were definitely happy with the location and the price we paid. The double rooms were overbooked so we were put in a Jr. Suite. There were four of us, two adults and two children but only a king size bed. I spoke to the staff and they brought a roll away bed. They couldn't have been any more helpful. I wasn't thrilled with the cleanliness or the space in the bathroom. That's my only complaint. It was very awkward for four people trying to shower and get ready with absolutely no counter space. We also went to the pool the first night. My daughter absolutely loved it and it's very nice. My only complaint here is that my eyes were on fire afterward from the strong chlorine fumes. Fantastic fitness center though! June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Love the Sheraton We enjoyed our stay, and the clerk was very helpful. Did want to comment though, about our check in. I reserved a Jr. suite. to make sure we had a really nice room. When we arrived. Late arrival 7:30 PM. Clerk said our King size room was not available. Tried to give us a reg. room with 2 Queen beds, not a Jr. suite. I had to ask him, and let him know that we spent more points to get this. He was very nice, and did upgrade us. My issue is not with him. This has happened to us 3 times before. ?, we are beginning to believe that we are considered 2nd class using our points? April 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Old Hotel, But ... The Hotel's first impression was warm and inviting, but the rooms where disappointing. The detail in cleaning the room was lacking. The location is great! November 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A must stay in Chattanooga, TN! This beautifully preserved/renovated hotel is a pleasure to visit. From the moment you arrive in the stunning lobby the staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms and beds are very clean and comfortable. Good coffee and tea in the room is a huge bonus. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was not available when I visited due to an event outside of the hotel's control. My first question to the kind front desk attendant was about pool hours. She politely let me know the pool was closed and offered a room upgrade. That made things all better! Stay at this hotel... December 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Traveler 101 I was disappointed in the hotel's overall state/condition. I grew up in this town and this hotel was one if not the best hotel in Chattanooga, TN. November 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality lacking I had heard good things about the Sheraton hotels but my stay was below expectation. The room did not come with a fridge, the bed was not on the foundation, it rocked back and forth, the AC unit did not distribute air across the room, it pointed in the direction of the curtain and was not adjustable to below 60 degrees. The pipes were all visible under the sink, the toilet was missing bolts. The only "good" thing about this hotel is that the hotel is on the the shuttle route. We did not use the pool or fitness center but I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sad about the pool We stopped at your hotel on our way home from driving from Disney World. The main reason we stopped was for the pool. When we got to the pool the back door was open. Mind you it was December and was about 40. The pool area was pretty but was full of steam and condensation dripping down from the celling since the door was open. We could see our breath. We only stayed in the pool for about 20 minutes because it was so cold in the room and the heated pool was not heated. Very sad since we wanted to relax in the pool but really did not get too! We had dinner there too. The food was overpriced but good. Although my husband had a crab cake and had a large chunk of knuckle shell that he found when he bit down. Luckily he did not break his tooth. At least we got compensation for both incidences. Free crab cake and 2 desserts for the crab cake and a $10 Starbucks gift card for the pool incident. I would have been happier with a reduced rate on the hotel...$10 didn't even give my whole family something from Starbucks. The bed was the best part of the stay very comfortable! The hotel overall needs repair. We saw so many things around the hotel that need repair. Would not go back! December 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lost its luster A number of small things added up to my never wanting to stay here again. First of all, we were forced to wait in the lobby for 90 minutes for a room to become available - well past the stated check-in time. This is totally unacceptable. Then we discovered that one of our favorite amenities, the jacuzzi, has been removed. Then for a late-night craving, we decided to get dessert from Porter's, only to find that the two items we wanted from their menu were no longer available. For the price we paid, this experience was not up to par, and we will not be back. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Room....Bad expierence this stay...... As a former employee many moons ago at the St. Regis ( Starwood property) in Aspen, CO. I always have known the quality of your customer service etc. My first time at the Read House, I was thrilled with the ambiance upon arrival. Greeted by George at the front desk was a delight.....We did however have SEVERAL issues I'd rather speak to someone about personally, because I do know somestimes things just roll down hill. I give this Hotel a Great review....We just had unfortunate issues on this particular stay. Feel free to contact me if you really want to discuss our issues. My conf # was C265602065. I also had overcharge on my bill I just saw today. I will call tomorrow to discuss. Thank you for your concerns in this matter. V.W. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Neat Historic Hotel This was my second time staying at the Read House hotel. The Valet are great and the staff is always friendly and professional. It is an old historic hotel and therefore the bathrooms are a bit small but I enjoyed the uniqueness of the rooms. The beds are comfortable and everything was very clean. I must say the club lounge is very bad. Both times I have been there the evening offerings were stale and soggy and looked like the same food was put out every night. Breakfast is simple and mostly pre packaged. I will stay again but not bother with the lounge September 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice People, Nice Hotel, Room Clarity Needed The Read House is a lovely hotel with an extremely friendly and helpful staff. On that basis alone, I will be back. But the hotel needs to better classify its rooms, and be able to provide the business traveler with the in-room facilties necessary to business travel. I was told given an "upgrade" to a tiny "king" room with a big bed stuffed into it. There was little usable desk space (a marble counter that in my colleague's room across the hall was the coffee bar). Such a room should not be called a "king" and should not be given to business travelers. June 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service The service in this hotel is superior. The valet patiently helped me unload my car (and BOY did I have it packed). Then, two days later, another valet patiently helped me repack everything. The front desk folks were super helpful. The location is great. The only negative is the super rude staff working at Starbucks and the fact that they don't open until 7 on weekends if you need to get on the road early (although this is likely a leased area and out of Starwood's control). Room is very large and clean. Bed must have been very new - best one I've had in years. Charming old hotel without feeling "old". Good location for summer concerts on Fridays 1 block away. OH - their heated pool - the ROOM is heated - the pool was a bit on the cool side..... July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Over the Top Service from Front Desk A rare ocassion to bring all the family together and we chose Chattanooga. Hotel is about a one mile walk to the river, aquarium and best dining areas but we enjoyed the walks. Room cleanliness was not what it should have been (food crumbs in corners, clothing left in sleeper sofa) but was easily overlooked because of the great treatment we received from Kevin, the front office manager, and Joshua. Both were extremely helpful to take care of all our needs and questions. We plan on returning. March 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is not up to expectations. I've stayed in Read House before and found the accommodations much better before I became a 'preferred guest'. This trip, after one night I moved to another hotel. The annexed sections, by the pool, are in need of complete renovation: walls are stained, paper peeling, ceilings have water stains, carpet in my room needed replacing, tub desperately needed reglazing and bathroom needed updating. For a hotel with the reputation and cost of Sheraton, this particular facility was very disappointing. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming, but needs shuttle, etc. Great old historic hotel that has been modernized and preserved well, featuring some top-of-the-line comforts, esp. in rooms. Biggest problems are lack of airport shuttle, lack of vending machines on floors (mine didn't have an ice machine) and a front desk that seemed a little understaffed. Very pleasant and nice people, though. Great workout facility. No do-it-yourself laundry machines. Expensive to have hotel do it. Starbucks next door, but no good convenience stores ...one nearby is more of a liquor store. Only one PC and printer. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by West Wing is Not For Me Unpon check-in I was informed that I was not booked for the remodeled East wing (had requested East in reservation). I stay at the Read House roughly 20 times a year so I knew what to expect but I was tired from a long day of travel so I did not seek out another hotel. The air conditioner rattled continuously and could not maintain the room at a comfortable temperature. The west rooms are cramped for working in. I'm not staying here again in the west wing. I have a choice and as a SPG member and business traveller, I expect better. July 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement The room was very nice. The hotel overall needs improvement. I had to go to 3 different floors to find an ice machine that was working. Going from floor to floor to find ice I noticed that the stairwells were very unsightly - dirty linens thrown in corners, food trays setting on one floor that appeared to have been there for several days, floors dirty, etc. I had made reservations for the restaurant a week or so in advance but we still had to sit in the bar area. It took forever to get hot water in the shower. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Hotel in Chattanooga We recently stayed at the Sheraton Read House Hotel in Chattanooga and had a very pleasant experience. The highlights have to be Nicole who checked us in at the front desk, location and sheer size of our room. Nicole was amazing, she made a great first impression coming into the hotel and made us feel very welcome. The lobby and building itself are pretty grand, love older hotels. The room was really large, though the bathroom was tiny and didn't have any counter space to put our overnight cases on. Very comfortable bed and walking distance to many downtown attractions such as the Aquarium, Tivoli Theatre, Chattanooga Choo Choo, bars and restaurants. The free green/electric shuttle also picks up right outside the hotel and was a great way to tour the city. March 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by We have loved it in the past... This was our fourth time staying here for our Anniversary and although we have really loved our stays in the past this time was not as great. We have always stayed in the older part of the hotel in the past but this time we were in the newer part and the room had one of those under the window air units which was very noisy and our room was extremely hot and uncomfortable and I really could not sleep which was very disappointing since I have always looked forward to staying here and having a wonderful and comfortable experience. August 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel--very clean The room was very nice & clean. The only complaint that I had was the air conditioning. I had the air set on 60 degrees but it was still not very cool. It made it difficult to sleep. Ther room was not unbearable, just not as cool as I would have liked it. There was an A/C vent in the bathroom but no air was coming out of it. This made the room very hot & muggy when taking a shower. I called the front desk but nothing was done to correct the problem. It could have been a problem that was not easily fixed. Noone told me anything. July 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room was Hot This hotel is very beautiful. But, I was very disappointed in the fact that our room would not cool down. It was very hot outside we had gone out for dinner and when we returned our room was still very warm(75degrees). I called the front desk and was told they had someone that had just checked their main unit and to just give it a bit. Well, at 9:30 at night you really dont have alot of time to let it cool down before you go to bed. So, we had a very warm night cause A/C NEVER cooled off and never quit running the enitre night. July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient We stayed on Saturday Lots of weddings, but quiet like a church! Very helpful and solicitous staff Wonderful time! May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by "IT SHOULD" be their motto Key cards would not work after end of 1st day and room was booked 2 nights. We had our arms loaded down with stuff & couldn't get into our room. Was told " it should" work. Had to haul everything back to desk to show ID to get new cards. Then club card wouldn't work in the morning after assuring me " it should" work. Had to call the front desk, who said there "should be" someone nearby to let me and another guest in. When I checked out, I told the desk person there was no hairdryer in our room. The response was, there "should be" one. I wish they had a microwave in the "new" building. I drink tea & coffee brewers in rooms always makes my tea taste like coffee. It was quite a ways to walk back to my room with a couple of hot paper cups in my hands. I say there "should be" some of those cardboard rings for paper cups at the very least. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This is the third time we've stayed in this hotel but the service is better every time. The bed and linens were great, size of the room was exceptional and customer service was fantastic. Only slight annoyance was asking for extra bath linens a second time before receiving but the hotel was at capacity so I expected some delays. Overall it was a wonderful experience and would recommend them as THE hotel to stay at in Chattanooga. Plus this hotel oozes historic charm so if you enjoy that, this hotel is a must!! January 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Charming Old Hotel but needs renovation The staff were very nice at the Sheraton Read House in Chattanooga. The whole hotel needs a renovation. We were on the Club Level--large room but you can see its been nearly a decade since the last renovation (old curtains/furniture seen better days) and since it is an old building understand that the a/c & heating system as well as plumbing system are antiquated. E.G. our room on the 9th floor only had heat--too much heat and if you tried to simply lower the temp it would not get cool at all plus there was a "smell" to the air so had to sleep with no air on at all--you can't open the windows either--wallpaper peeling off and the bathroom had some mold behind the toilet. Plus found a few hairs here and there that weren't ours! Also had about 5-6 Lady Bugs in the room (so how clean is it?) The Club Level which also included breakfast and snacks in the evening also needs some attention (grapes you would not touch nor eat, drinks in the chiller that never got cold,--only had butter knives to eat breakfast food every morning- etc)--While we did not leave thinking it was a horrible place; have stayed at places like that before. Simply put upon arrival asked for a late check out on Sunday so we could relax in but instead realized it was better to just leave early instead. I hope when they do the renovation they try to keep the "feel" of the Read House---the bones of the building are great just needs some modern upgrading. It is centrally located I will say; again the staff are all very helpful and hardworking. The Sheraton brand beds are very comfortable! Porters Steakhouse inside the building is also very good. Nice place for drinks/lunch/ dinner. The Starbucks inside the lobby was a nice convenience as well. I hope that corporate Sheraton (SPG) reads these reviews and realizes its up to them to make this "historic landmark" worth staying at and not just doing a walk through the lobby tour and see how beautiful the building use to be. Chattanooga now has some cute B&Bs inside the city that have more modern conveniences---so they need to realize that the Read House being an historic building is not enough any longer. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel, fantastic service My wife and I took a weekend trip from Altanta to Chattanooga and had the privilege of staying here. From the moment we checked in, we were greeted by some of the happiest employees I've ever seen in a hotel (Savannah and Anne) and the experience only got better from there. Our room was delightful and well exceeded our expectations. Breakfast at Porters was equally as nice and enjoyable. Even the valet drivers were friendly and cheerful. If only every hotel experience could be as memorable and fun as this one. Great job. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has nice features & is well located in the downtown business $ entertainment district. The Read House is the last of the Grand Old Hotels of Downtown Chattanooga, TN. The remodeling and upgrades to the hotel were completed trying to maintain the grand old essence of the building. The rooms are nice however the entrance to the bathrooms are a little hard to navigate as there is a step up into them you have to used too. Porter's Steak House is very nice and the food was excellent, we would recommend it to anyone. Overall this a very nice place to stay and the staff went out their way to make us feel welcom March 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Comedy of errors Lets start with the positive...great location, friendly staff, beautiful historic building. Unfortunately, they dont seem to have their act together any more... Remotes to TVs in suite did not function, room was completely ignored one day..came back from a long day to a dirty, unmade room...and then at checkout, they charged me full price instead of recognizing I had used Starpoints for this stay. at 10k starpoints a night, I expected more. March 30, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 15 next>>