Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

  • 100 Brumbaugh Street
  • San Juan,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00901
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 291 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is in a great location, very clean and nice staff. August 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by not pleased was treated differently..check in was selective and delayed also wasn't greeted the same as other guests & wasn't made aware of the hotel amenities...overheard about computer, pool, spa, etc from greeting of guests who checked in after August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great staff Very friendly and hard working staff. Very professional. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT AND FRIENDLY STAFF YOUR STAFF EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS AND IF THERE WERE ANY PROBLEMS OR QUESTIONS, PROMPTLY ADDRESSED THEM. THE STAFF ADDRESSED ME BY NAME AND IT MADE ME FEEL VERY SPECIAL. I WANT TO THANK YOU FOR THE BEST BED I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED IN A HOTEL STAY. IT WAS ACTUALLY ACROSS THE STREET FROM CRUISE TERMINAL - EXCELLENT. August 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fix the vending machines Vending machine on 3rd floor would not take money; the one on 9 floor took the dollar bill, but didn't give soda, returning 20 dimes; the one on 4 floor took the dimes, but didn't give soda or money back. Had to go to first floor front desk to complain and got the soda from a resturant on second floor. I just wanted a coke, but spent over 30 minutes. Also one of the two elevator constantly out of order and the swimming pool is really small. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by STAY WAS GREAT This was my second stay at this hotel and again it proved my expections in all areas staff helpful and friendly, room clean and well maintained,food ok, check out process was fast (express check out) I will indeed stay in this establishment on my next visit, using the special rate. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT LOCATION FOR PRE-POST CRUISE STAY GREAT LOCATION , WALKING DISTANCE TO ALL THE OLD SAN JUAN ATTRACTIONS. THIS HOTEL OFFERS IT ALL ! VERY PLEASED , WE WILL BE BACK !! ROOF TOP POOL AREA WAS AWESOME August 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cleanliness Issue. Staff was coordial but not warm or very concerned when cleanliness of lined and towels were brought to their attention. Towels and bedsheets had stains that were very visible. July 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jesenia was helpful It was a nice hotel in a nice location. Jesenia was very helpful. The pool and gym were okay. The casino was fine. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel The Sheraton Old San Juan is a excellent hotel. Nice swimming pool with jacuzzi, the gym and Palio Restaurant are great. The front desk give me a excellent attention. The room services was fast and the food was delicious. I will recommend this hotel to everybody. Also the hotel is pet friendly and the Casino have a lot of slot machines. July 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location Great location in Old San Juan. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The only complaint I have was that my room was under the gym which anytime anyone got on the treadmill you would think the ceiling was going to come down, not pleasant at 0430 am, so don't stay on the 8th floor July 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this hotel! I just returned home to Toronto from a week long visit to San Juan. This hotel is a great place to stay. The location could not be better, the hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful. The concierges: Matthew, Angel & Tina are extremely helpful. José in the 2nd floor restaurant is an absolute prize. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone! June 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buy 2 nights get One Free is a SCAM! I paid for two nights in advance. When i got my bill - all the taxes and services charges almost equalled the third night. My room was to include breakfast but when I got there, the desk staff said no desayuno! June 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service is excellent Joseph S. (bellman) was so helpful not only with luggage but telling us about Old San Juan, the best ways to get transportation, sites within walking distance, etc. Housekeeping services were beyond belief. She even provided turndown service with chocolates (yeah!!) in the evening. I can't remember her name, but I think it began Yier--. Location is great. Our room was so-o-o comfortable. Breakfast was good. Balcony overlooked the bay. Casino was fun. June 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good Hotel layout is horrible, room layout was bad, not enough light, power outlets or windows and carpet was wet from rain water coming in through the balcony door. Staff was not useful or friendly. Free breakfast included was only provided for one guest per room when two were staying. May 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The good and bad The hotel offers the best location for those going on a cruise. However there are many shortfalls. Poor housekeeping, Poor onsight food service and poor front desk relationship representatives. May 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location You could not get a better location in Old San Juan. The hotel dining was good, but no breakfast is worth $24.95 unless you are serving free mamosas. Do not stay on the 9th floor or you will be sleeping with the central air humming all night. the hotel changed our room, but with hesitation. The beds are very comfortable, but the carpets smell like mold and are damp. I stay here everytime on business for the location. I guess they could have given me a better room or free breakfast. Staff are either outstanding or the opposite and unfriendly. Door guys and waiter on the 2nd floor were excellent. Manager very positive even when dealing with difficult guests. April 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mediocre. Not recommended. Hotel was disappointing. Nothing to write about. Old construction. Management is keeping it up just about enough to keep it going. Staff are pleasant enough without being helpful. Its a cash cow with the hotel regularly going full, so there is no need to make much effort (probably thanks to its strategic location opposite the cruise ship docks.) Bathroom has not been updated in 20 years. Some bedrooms are extremely musty. Large bedrooms though. Really large for even the basic traditional rooms. No wireless internet in the rooms. No comfortable office chair for the work desk. Small pool on the top floor. Its a three star hotel at best with an excellent photographer having taken the photos on the SPG site. Had one meal at the Chicago Burger Company restaurant. Burger was not served as requested. Staff were more casual about it than was expected (I would have insisted they replace the meal - but I had no time to wait around...) April 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service Experience in a long time Didn't actually get to stay here. Made a reservation in the end of February for myself and a traveling companion. Due to a death in the family of my companion, it had to be cancelled. The reservation began on Monday. I cancelled on Saturday prior. Despite almost 2 days notice, it was outside the automatic reimbursement window for this property. I spoke initially with SPG who told me it would not be a problem to reinstate points (booked with points) but that I needed to speak with hotel directly to see about waiving forfeiture fee, which I did. The woman at the hotel let me know that I would not incur a forfeiture fee as was customary in these cases, with a death involved. After a month and a few week of no reimbursement, I called to see where we were at. The hotel had 'no documentation' of my call (despite my phone records otherwise) and would not honor their word. Wasted an hour and fifteen minutes trying to resolve this. Should not be this difficult. Will take my business elsewhere next time and if this is franchised, will never stay at any of this owners properties again. Most times one does not think of these cancellation concerns until something goes wrong and has to be dealt with but this was enough to put me off. April 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old Hotel in Need of Improvement, but you can't BEAT Location! Just returned from a 5-night stay in Old San Juan. Hotel is in an UNBEATABLE LOCATION, directly across from the main piers where cruise ships dock and you can take the ferry across the harbor to Hato Rey for a tour of the Bacardi Rum Factory! San Cristobal (the best of the five original forts in OSJ) is about 4 blocks behind the hotel, and you can also rent a variety of modern cars right on-site at Hertz. For "Americanized" coffee drinkers, you'll find a Starbucks on the way to San Cristobal, La Fortaleza Street (the OSJ shopping and dining district) is two blocks away, and you can't beat Caficultura (and, to a lesser extent, the famed La Bombonera) for breakfast just three blocks away (in different directions). You can pick up the OSJ Wall and accompanying Walkway steps from the hotel door, and we even walked across the bridge into Condado for a jaunt in the major Hotel District and the Condado beaches. Finally, the hotel has an on-site casino, which, though tiny, gives you what you need if you're a gambler and need your fix. It's also the ONLY casino in OSJ, but NOTE: ther are only about 300 slots and a handful of tables, and the slots simply DO NOT pay out, so go elsewhere for fun and a potential payday! As for the hotel itself, it's quite aged, and the awful dampness and moldy/fungusy small prevailed throughout our ENTIRE stay (we noted OTHER couples complaining of the same thing). We came home with stinky suitcases and wet clothing! The rooms provide no ventilation (unless you have a coveted balcony room), because the windows don't open, and a [moist COLD] fan stays on permenently. There is NO heat, so plan on being cold, because the thermostat stays on about 66 degrees (and we couldn't change ours!). In fact, the entire hotel is COLD; I'm super fortunate to have taken a sweater, because I wore it constantly. The bathrooms are very nice, and the Speakman showerhead is fantastic - GREAT pressure, and we never ran out of hot water. We had a view of the harbor, so that was nice, but MANY rooms look out over rooftops and into parking garages. The rooms have cable TV, and two premium channels (I think it was Showtime, but it might have been HBO; can't recall), as well as "regular" channels (CBS, NBC, ABC, TNT, USA, etc.) and about 5 or 6 Spanish channels. The room also provides a safe for valuables. Housekeeping provided everything we needed for our stay, and they were very pleasant. You can opt into the Green Program (housekeeping every 3 days only), which gives you $5 cash each day to spend in the hotel, or extra points in your SPG account (if you're an SPG member). Try to stay on a slightly higher floor (we were on 5) to get away from the Casino noise at night. Two PRICEY restaurants serve delicious food: PLEASE get a "Wedge Salad" at Palio - you will be SO surprised! We had that THREE times! The buffet does NOT have pancakes, waffles, or French Toast, so you'll pay $20pp for cold cereals, muffins, pasteries, and soft scrambled eggs, sausage, and potatoes. It really should have cost about $12, but it's OSJ, so . . . Oh, and we enjoyed the Palio restaurant promotion: if we ate $40 or more in a visit, we received 500 SPG points as well! The fitness center was very small, but provided what we needed: clean, well-maintained, newer cycles, treadmills, ellipticals, and free weights. The pool on the other hand . . . well, let's just say that the website picture WAY OVERSTATES what this pool is like. It is VERY small and very old (the paint is flaking off inside), and there were only 6 chaise lounges when we were there. Also, the hot tub is NOT hot . . . more tepid, and also just as OLD. We just did not feel any urge at all to get in based on what we saw, so we just sat in the sun for about an hour reading. (Head to Condado for a dip in the beach if you must have the water experience). Finally, the STAFF WERE PERFECTO!!! Seek out George at the front desk for EVERYTHING: he is THE MAN: professional, friendly, funny, endearing, helpful, generous . . . I can't say enough about George! I would endure the cold and the damp and the cost just to see George again! Also, Jamie was wonderful at Hertz, and Matt was a great Concierge; he scheduled all our dinner reservations. But it was GEORGE who sent us to the breakfast spots and the local cultural events, and gave us the 411 on the city bus service, and told us where to dance the night away (Aqua, Wet, Dragonfly, and Parrot Club). THANK YOU GEORGE! Overall a very nice experience in OSJ - a city filled with wonderful culture and even MORE wonderful people. If you want to have that OSJ experience and you want modern facilities and a casino, the Sheraton OSJ is the only choice. However, to be honest, if you want a more resort-like experience (or just want a super-nice hotel), don't stay at the Sheraton . . . opt instead, to stay in Condado (just a couple, walkable miles away) in the Hotel District. MUCH nicer, more modern, flashy, expensive properties with REAL amenities. April 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this hotel is part of the Sheraton brand Immediately upon walking into the room it smelled of mold and was very damp. The location was great but that is about the only good thing that could be said. The room was not cleaned until after 5 PM each day and I had to ask for more towels because room service insisted on only leaving one each time. The Internet was out for over 24 hours while we were guests. It worked intermittently the remainder of the time. I am shocked this hotel is part of the Sheraton brand. March 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel My wife and I just returned from a week’s stay. The room was nice and staff was very friendly. The staff highlight were the concierge's, Tina and Matthew. They were the reason our stay was extra special. A week before arrival Tina made arrangements for several tours. Our second night in San Juan was my wife's birthday and Tina suggested Aguaviva and took care of the details for us, the restaurant was excellent. Matthew assisted several times with directions and getting our boarding passes when the hotel's internet service was down. Five starts for Tina and Matthew. Dinner at the restaurant was very good and priced competitively. We only had two minor issues, one was internet service, it was not available for most of the stay and had to have our boarding passes faxed to the hotel after using a cell phone to check in, which to say the least was painful. The second was breakfast. The buffet offered did not live up to the $20.00 per person. Our breakfast there was $50.00 with the tip and tax while a short walk to local eateries was one-fifth the price and just as good. March 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by junior suite we were very disappointed with the hotel/staff. Upon checking in, they tried to give us room #314. I informed them I paid for a junior suite with a view of the harbor for my wife's 70th birthday. After waiting 15 minutes, they gave us room #727. It had a view (about 30%) the rest of the view was the hotel across the parking lot! Talk about bait and switch!! The junior suite was wasted-lots of unusable space (table about 3'x5' that could not be utilized. Only had coffee maker in room. Tried to exchange decaf for regular coffee-wanted to charge us for the March 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Easy Stay No problems whatsoever. Staff was friendly. Hotel was clean. It's a small place but warm and friendly. March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel I've stayed at this hotel many times. Service is very good. The food quality is good. However, they don't offer as much at the breakfast buffet as they used to. The breakfast buffet used to have more fresh fruit, an omelet station, sausage and bacon. Now, they only offer scrambled eggs and only have either sausage or bacon offered per day. The rooms are well maintained. Nice views of the San Juan Harbor. Nice beaches are only a few minutes away in Carolina or Isla de Verde. January 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location for visiting Old San Juan The staff made it very easy to see not just Old San Juan but also other parts of Peurto Rico. Renting a car and being picked up from the hotel by Avis was a breeze! The restuarant is rather pricey for the area. January 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE experience!!!!!!!!!!! Hotel staff had no customer service capabilities!!! My wife and I "reserved" a refiridgerator due to a medical need. None were available at check-in, first come first serve regardless of reservation or medical need!!! It took 36 hours to get one!!! Staff failed to mention that a pile driver would be working outside of our ocean view room at 7 AM. We were left with no towels in the bathroon...it took 1/2 a day to get towels delivered to our room. No one on staff really cared. I would urge anyone thinking of staying here to rethink. I'm rethinking Sheraton in general, clearly they have lost control of this facilty!!! January 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by An Old Tired Hotel Lobby smells like mold when you walk in. Dirty balcony, Very old bathroom. Not enough furniture (and old). Dirty carpet. Just felt dingy. Should be Category 1 or 2, definitely not 3. December 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Highly recommended for San Juan stay. December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stayed night before my cruise. Had some trouble getting the hotel to agree to just 1 night stay but after that all was great. The staff was friendly and very helpful!! Great location for a cruise. The piers are right across the street and the fort is about 4 blocks behind the hotel so there is plenty to do before you get on the boat!! December 12, 2011
  • 2015-05-27T21:00:25.520-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_291, tr_291
  • loc_en_US, sid_1497, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>