Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel

  • 12221 Harbor Boulevard
  • Garden Grove,
  • California
  • 92840
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 383 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Very good location and shuttels to Convention center November 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty Room Sheets were dirty and housekeeping was unavailable. May 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort of bed The beds are nice and very comfortable. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best value Excellent value for a very clean room. November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great customer service The staff was friendly and attentive. November 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Disneyland location Good basic hotel. Club floor average. October 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improvments, -free wifi -lamps with outlets September 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay stay The rate and proximity to Disney, plus the shuttle service, made this an okay stay. However several things made this well below other Sheratons I've stayed at. 1. The valet station was *always* unmanned. I would have to wait 5-15 minutes for someone to assist me, after going to the front desk to ask for help. Even when I had a crying baby in my arms, the front desk person had to go behind the doors 3 times to ask the valet person to hurry up and help me. 2. I chose the "going green" option at checkin. At every other Sheraton I've stayed at, this option means the sheets and towels are not changed. At this Sheraton, it means NO room service at all. So we had trash cans overflowing, no making the bed, no vacuuming the floor, etc. I'm not sure how not having someone at least make our bed contributes to "going green." The front desk did not explain this. 3. We ordered an on demand movie and about 10 minutes into it, it was super pixellated. So, we called the front desk and they said they would send engineering. Engineering came promptly but looked at our TV and said the issue was the TV was old and not set up for the HD movies. He offered for us to switch rooms. Since it was already 8 pm, and I had children, I declined. He said we should try to keep watching if we wanted as the pixellation would vary and may get better. He said the hotel would not charge for the movie. We watched the rest of the movie and just ignored the pixellation and finished around 9:30 and went to sleep. One hour later, the front desk called (at 10:40 pm) to tell me that we would not be charged for the movie per the engineer's instructions. Are you kidding me? You woke me up to tell me this? Where is your common sense? 4. Although Starbucks coffee served in the lobby lounge, make the effort to walk to a real Starbucks. The latte drinks I ordered (two times before giving up) were very bitter and not properly made. February 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is not the Sheraton we know! We checked in this hotel the 28th of March for the WonderCon. The lobby smells wonderful as like other Sheraton Hotels. Availed of a complimentary room ref for our daughter with special needs (of course initially would charge us for it) .The room size is alright for a family of four just for a night's stay. There is no public microwave available for guests' use. But in all it was an awful stay at this particular Sheraton hotel!!! The whole family didn't get good night sleep, my husband had been sneezing, my daughter with special needs had started coughing at night, the comforter was not comfortable and me and my son didn't get enough sleep because of the circumstance. Lo and behold when my son fluff the pillows, feathers had been flying, we have down pillows and stayed with feather and down pillows in other hotels but were not as bad as in this hotel. What's worst, as a routine, when my son checked the bed and underneath it, making sure we didn't leave anyhting behind, he found a Disney receipt dated March 22. I surrendered the receipt at the front desk for review and documentation purposes.Do they Really Clean the room after the guests leave??? I brought the attention to the guest services upon check out. No manager at hand and we're expecting a call thereafter, but today is the 1st of April, no calls, no apologies. What was done, they just took out the parking fee for night's stay. This is the Sheraton, not a cheap motel. Is it because we stayed at a discounted military rate, that's why the complaint was not dealt with accordingly? Not coming back nor recommend this hotel esp to my "Miltary Family"... April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a Nice Stay Overall, we had a nice stay at this Sheraton. They were able to offer us our early check-in that we requested, which was nice after a long drive. We were provided a room with a fridge but no bathtub. I figured this was what was available for early check-in...no complaints really even though a tub would have been nice after a long day at Disneyland. I feel as though we were recognized for being Gold SPG by getting the early check-in and room on the 6th floor w/ fridge. The hotel is not really within walking distance to the Disneyland Resort (you'll be walking and standing on your feet all day - you really don't want to start and finish your day with a 30-minute walk). The hotel does have a shuttle that you pay for, but the problem is that it only runs about 30 minutes before park opening. In order to beat the crowds, we wanted to be at the park gates earlier than that, so we opted to purchase tickets on the ART. The closest stop is just up the street at the Residence Inn. You pay for parking ($12 a day). One of the nights we got back to the hotel a little bit later and found no parking spots available so we had to park on the street in a nearby neighborhood (seemed kinda sketchy). My only major complaint is the dirty carpets. During our stay, a note was slipped under our door, stating that an outside company was coming to clean the carpets. However, I don't believe they ever came while we were there, because the carpets were still quite dirty. In the room, they were not visibly dirty, but when walking barefoot, you could feel it and they left the soles of your feet dirty. In the hallways and near the elevators, you could visibly see the dirt. October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Few Bumps Have stayed here several times this year and the troubles increase each time. Staff is always very friendly and ready to help but unfortunately I have to keep asking for things. Regarding the room, carpets this time were horrible (stained) and things were just sort of dusty. Otherwise, beds were clean and bathroom was clean which is really most important to me. My card key wouldn't work in the gate until the last day. Had to keep buzzing in and getting card re-programmed. Card also didn't work on the room once. Had to go back down and get reprogrammed. Didn't have a room service binder in the room so tried to ask housekeeping (who are very obnoxiously disruptive with their 8:30 am knocking all around the hallway). They didn't understand and gave us the pre-order breakfast door hanger instead. Had to call to get a full menu brought up. Ordered breakfast for two. Only got one set of silverware and no toast that was part of the order. Was quite a lot of work to get breakfast. I really enjoy this hotel and understand that it is close to Disneyland so hard to keep in tip-top shape but the last two times I have had annoying little problems. Last visit I had two nights on points and paid for one night. On the third morning I was called by the front desk (very early in the morning) asking why I hadn't checked out the day before. I can't ever sleep in here because housekeeping starts knocking at 8:00 a.m. and then the room cleaning starts and you can hear everything. (then the kids start up and down the hall...but that isn't your fault) Not much you can do about the sound levels but would be nice if they didn't start so early. Overall value for the points is good (3,000 for a free night is excellent) but the little hiccups keep adding up. Also, I don't believe that I was awarded the 500 points per day for not having housekeeping come in for the first two days. I'll probably have to call for that... May 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel I've stayed in! I'm going to list everything that was unsatisfactory: 1) HOUSEKEEPING: Mid-stay. I thought they would replenish supplies. -- Did not give us enough towels for our party. -- Did not give us more soap bars for our 5-day stay. -- They left us with 10 squares of toilet paper and did not leave us with a replacement roll. I had to call when I got back from Disneyland at 2AM just so that we would have enough supplies in the morning. -- Supposedly gave us fresh Starbucks cups but one of them was wet which means it was used. -- First night of stay, the alarm clock radio blasted us awake at 7AM. I turned it off. After housekeeping came on the 3rd night, we were woken up again with the alarm clock radio blasting at 7AM. -- Beddings and blankets are tucked in so tight and only reach your waist. They don't cover your body. 2) SHUTTLE SERVICE: I didn't realize we were the 2nd stop of the morning, so by the time the first shuttle of the morning arrived at Sheraton, the shuttle was full so our party had to wait for the next shuttle. And we walked to another hotel next door (which was the first stop) to ensure we got seats. Poor planning! 3) FRONT DESK: Sometimes when I call, no one answers. No one. One of the days we were there, my mother had to call the 800 number just to get a hold of someone at the front desk. 4) STAIRWELL LOCKED! One of the nights we were there, there was a line of people who had just checked in all waiting for the elevator. Since we didn't have baggage, we decided to take the stairs. The stairwell is locked! Hotel keys did not work. We asked the front desk for assistance and after 10 minutes, an "engineer" showed up and said to give him just a minute. We waited another 5 minutes. We saw him fixing himself a plate of food instead of assisting 10 people waiting outside in the freezing cold for him to just open the stairwell door. I would also like to point out that locking the stairwell door is a fire exit code violation. If there were an emergency at your hotel, your guests would be stuck. 5) A notepad in the room would be nice. We had a pen but nothing to write on. I wanted to list all my complaints! January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst Holiday Meal Ever Let me start by saying I am a very experienced traveler, having spent the past 30 years in banking and traveling all over the country on business. Overall the hotel was fine but the restaurant and bar were the worst ever! They were unable, despite repeated attempts, to get my SPG number entered so I give up on that. Our room had a DO NOT DISTURB sign on it and the key didn't work so we waited a while for the front desk to get things straight. Since we were arriving on Christmas Day and we had 11 people in our group I made a reservation well in advance. I should have known when the person on the phone assured me I didn't need a reservation that things would not go well. We started out earlier by trying to get a round of drinks at the bar which proved to be a test of endurance which finally ended when one of us went to the front desk to ask for help at the bar. We arrived for dinner at the appointed hour, waited a while for someone to acknowledge our presence and were questioned when we said we wanted to sit together. That's why I made a reservation! We ended up having to put the tables together on our own to make a table for our group and there was only one other table with customers at the time. Service wasn't much better. We received an assortment of menus for some unknown reason, all different. I had to remind the server that this was on one check too. Our orders were placed, finally, and it went downhill from there. Salads were received sporadically and several without dressing. Beverages were even more sporadic, with one not being served until after the entree arrived. The kids wanted apple juice but only one was served because they ran out. Ten bread plates were delivered for eleven people and when we asked for more bread we were informed it would take a while because it had to be toasted (it came with dessert). The Christmas Special Dinner which several of us ordered was an embarrassment - cold beans, luke warm canned sweet potatoes, tasteless gravy and stuffing, and, canned cranberry sauce that still proudly displayed the ridges from the can.. Frankly, it looked and tasted like something that would be served in a soup kitchen or homeless shelter. No dishes were ever removed so our salad plates remained. There were no salad forks offered and the one fork we received was used for all courses. When it came time for dessert only those who had the "special" dinner received anything and nobody was even asked if they would like dessert, not even the 3 small children in our group. The serving sizes were HIGHLY variable in size and HIGHLY lacking in flavor. I would suggest that if you are going to be open on a holiday, you should be prepared for it. Fortunately for all of us, it was so pathetic that it was funny. We felt like the Griswold family. December 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Clean Hotel, Busy, Impersonal, Inflexible service This was perhaps the most unpleasant of my Starwoods Experiences and it had nothing to do with the hotel, which is supremely located within one mile of Disneyland, has a 24-hour heated pool, has a welcoming lobby and interior space, free public wifi in the lobby, and is sparkling clean. The reason for my dissatisfaction was what I experienced to be extremely unhelpful service from the front desk attendant. We arrived late in the evening, only to find no parking spaces available. They offered free valet service to make up for this which was fine, except for the fact that they only had one valet available and there were no less than five cars waiting in line to be parked. The valet himself was very helpful, competent, and courteous, but was utterly without help. The front desk manager told me that I would have to pay for overnight parking. This surprised me, because when I made the booking, NO MENTION was made of this utterly unnecessary and rather expensive add-on to my bill. When I told them about this problem, the front desk manager gave me a helpless "I'm sorry" which (1) didn't resolve the situation, and (2) did not communicate to me what options I might undertake in order to resolve it. When I asked to speak with the manager, he told me that the manager had left for the day and that there was nothing he could do. I don't know why, but I was immensely frustrated by this, after a 5 hour drive from up north. I had envisioned a quiet serene scene to welcome my family and, at 11 PM, the lobby was a chaotic zoo. I brought up the situation to the morning manager, who told me that I should come back at another time when the managers were not so busy to talk about my problem. The second problem was that I was told over the phone that my entire family would be eligible for a free continental breakfast on the second day of my stay. However, when I checked in I was only given two vouchers for these breakfasts. When I told them that the lady over the phone told me that each member of my family would get a free breakfast (why do they think I opted to stay here in the first place?), he again gave me the "I'm sorry" with absolutely nothing else to say. With that, I took my family out to breakfast at a local Mexican place. (Great place by the way) No way was I going to spend extra money to cover for their mstake. I understand that the offer I signed up for may have only included two breakfasts...just don't tell me otherwise over the phone in order to entice me to make the booking. To top it off, not one effort was made to upgrade me to the Club Level floor or anything like that. Every Starwoods Property I stay at seems to be staffed by people who go the extra mile to look for upgrades without me asking for them. No such luck here. When I asked they told me that no upgrades were available. Fine. I get that. But at least try. October 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still good, but not as good as it used to be This is my preferred hotel whenever I'm in the Anaheim area. I discovered it last year and couldn't believe the quality of the hotel I was getting for the price. Unfortunately, it seems as though traveling families have also discovered it and have not been treating it so kind. The common areas are beginning to show the wear-and-tear the comes from families, especially those with young kids. Don't get me wrong, this place is still a great value, just not quite the shining jewel in the Anaheim resort area it once was. Cosmetic issues aside, I noticed some technical issues this visit, specifically with the Wi-Fi. In a nutshell, it would let me pay to connect and then after a few minutes, the Wi-Fi signal would vanish and not return for several hours. Not the end of the world for personal travel, but quite disturbing for business travelers. The front desk tried to address the problem by sending up an ethernet cable, but that shackled me to the desk which defeats the very nature of wireless internet. Long story short, the Wi-Fi problem persisted the length of stay. Speaking of the front desk, the service was a bit off this visit. In past visits I could count on Jason to get me checked in/out in a quick yet friendly manner. This time, there was always a wait to be helped and the staff seemed a bit worn out. Still friendly, but more like they were putting on a brave face. The noises the elevators make make me wonder how many more years of service they have in them. Some of the sounds remind me of Tower over in DCA. I feel totally safe in them, just a little nervous they might need servicing when I need to use them. This was my first visit where I had time to visit the fitness center and pool area. No issues at all with the fitness center, it's one of the better set ups going. The pool area on the other hand left me a bit disappointed. First off, remember to bring your room towel, none are provided at the pool. The pool is heated, but not super warm. The jacuzzi is a bit on the small side and we had to wait a long time until people left and we could climb in. Upon climbing in, the first thing we noticed was the strong smell of chlorine. We're talking make-your-eyes-burn strong. We also noticed a strange brown speckled foam on the surface of the bubbling water. It eventually got sucked into the side drain, but we did have to go out of our way to avoid it. Mind you, this was after 11pm at night so I'm sure it had been many hours since cleaning had been done and the throngs of park goers had really stewed it up in the mean time. So after all is said and done, will I be back? You bet. Unless I have my pup with me. Or I score a killer deal at one of the DLR properties. This place still has way more going for it than working against it right now. And if they can keep up appearances and the Wi-Fi working, I'll definitely continue to recommend to friends and coworkers. June 19, 2012
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14