Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 360 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by enjoyed our stay all was great except parking area wouldn't read card reader March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Soccer Tournament Staff was helpful and pleasant for such a busy location. June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reviewer 1 Staff was great and handled a complex check in quickly. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by facility a bit old, service OK old hotel, connenient to major highways. service was OK December 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleasant Really a nice, relaxing stay -- and I was on business! August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent hotel I got excellent service from front desk named Alexis. March 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL WAS OK COULD BE BETTER WITH BREAKFAST & FOOD ON CLUB LEVEL August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel Good location. Friendly staff. Rooms are very nice. May 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A clasicc Great location. Great service. Under renovation. November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is convenient close to SeaWorld and downtown August 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by not up to Sheraton standards We were traveling to San Diego with our girls soccer team, have stayed at Sheratons before and never experienced anything quite like this. Upon check in we went up to our room and found blood on the bed skirt and comforter, called front desk, they told us they would give us a new room, we went downstairs and were given a new room key and room, elevators were not working so had to use service elevator, waited at least 20 minutes due to line of guests. Got to new room and key did not work, went back downstairs one of the front desk clerks offered to go back up with us to check key, had to wait another 15 min for service elevator again, clerk apologized for inconvenience. Got to room and sure enough our key did not work! we ended up leaving our bags and going to eat while she tried to get us another room. There were too many things to even name in this review that went wrong for us at this hotel. Most of front desk staff were courteous however the restaurant staff were very rude to our girls. The ice machines were out of order too. We hope that the staff is able to bring the place up to Sheraton standards soon as in this economy families choose wisely where they spend their money and there is way too much competition out there who would love our business. July 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Internet and TV reception Poor internet-TV reception. July 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not My Best Experience I spend many nights in the SPG properties and have stayed in this particular hotel many time. This last stay was not as great as in the past. My checkin was OK but then I went to use the elevator. One was stuck on the 9th floor and one was down for maintenance. Apparently this problem had been ongoing for 6 months. There were no signs/people directing us to use the service elevator. I finally got to my room after about a 30 minute wait for an elevator (service elevator) I had to go back to the desk for help where they told me I might want to use the service elevator. When I got to my room I needed to get the password for the internet. I called the operator 3 or 4 times and the phone was never answered. I finally went downstairs to see that there was only one person working the desk and she was on the phone. When she got through with her conversation she gave me instructions on how to sign on to the internet. Normally when I stay at hotels, there's at least two people working the desk up from. This way your guests do not have to wait. I will be staying at this hotel in another 30 days. I also was told that my receipt would be emailed to me. As of 3 days later, I have not received it. I hope that this experience will not be repeated. This is not what I've come to expect with SPG. January 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed When we checked in, we waited for the elevator and rode it to the 9th floor where we received the red and green light to enter the room, but could not enter. I rode the elevator back down to the front desk and was instructed some door handles were installed the wrong way and I needed to lift up on the door handle instead of push down. I told the gentleman it seemed as if the door was locked from the top bolt, but he insisted it was an installation problem with the door handle. I rode the elevator back up and tried again unsuccessfully openening the door. This time I took the stairs down 9 flights to again ask for assistance and that we were now going to be late for our opening NYS ceremonies. I told the gentleman again that it seemed to be locked from the inside top latch. He accompanied me to the room and called the technician. It was latched from the inside, but we were also told it jams/sticks to the top bolt. It did indeed stick because many times we were faced with the same situation and literally had to ram the door to get in. Besides the door, we had to wiggle the toilet tank in order for it to fill up with water so we could flush it. It was an inconvenient experience. Not to mention the right elevator would freeze, not open or partially open as well as skip floors when riding in it. :( Disappointed! June 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Long Check-In 4 Dirty Room After arriving to hotel around 8:30 PM, I find myself about third in line to check-in. Wishing there was a gold and platinum line for quicker  service, I'm also let down. I watch these two front desk characters try to check in their guest and am dumbfounded on what could possibly be so complicated . After 15 minutes they decide to switch computers with one another to assist the other person's guest instead. Then a guest comes back down, that they just ppreviously, checked in because her keys didn't work. Poor lady just wanted to check in and go to be. Half hour now has passed and its finally my turn to check-in. Now there is a line out the door for no apparent reason . Any competent front desk staff could have easily breezed thru this process. I finally get my keys and head up to my room. First thing I notice is I'm on a low floor on the noisy side of building facing highway. So much for gold status. Upon entering the room I noticed they bed is unkempt . Maybe someone else checked in and then decided it was too nois. But no, I then notice Taco Bell trash and used towels on bathroom floor. So yes, I also have to journey back down to front desk for a room change. Cut in front of the line of people going out the front door still. And,wouldn't you know he finds a room on a much higher floor but still on noisy side. May 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Being a Starwood member for several years I was disappointed in this hotel. The King bed was hard as a rock & I woke each of 3 mornings with a severe backache. The weather was quite warm & the room was over-heated ... even with the thermostat turned fully to 60F the room was very hot and only slightly cooled in early morning hours. The morning following check-in I requested service for the A/C ... a tech was sent and after removing the unit grate & looking at something (entire time 60 secs) I was informed (in very broken English) that it was working fine. It wasn't fine and I was overheated for 2 more days, but didn't see any point in asking for further service, since the guy did nothing the first time. the small refrigerator worked randomly and was at best, cool, never cold for the drinks & food I had in it. on occasion, it was actually hot inside. Once again, after the experience with the A/C, I didn't bother calling for service. This was not a Starwood quality experience and for the money, i will choose a different hotel in the future, perhaps with a different company. I have stayed in better, for less money. I also wasn't informed during registration with SPG, that there was a $24 per night parking fee, which is ridiculous in the location of the hotel ... several miles away from downtown. Once again, very disappointing. April 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the Price I come to this hotel few times a year whenever I go down to San Diego for a business trip. When I was checking in, the representative didn't offered me an upgrade until it was asked for. Even though I am a platinum member, I normally don't care about suite upgrade when I am travelling alone. However, since this trip was with my wife and my two year old baby, I asked him to see whether there is a possibility of getting a suite upgrade. After a short search, he told me that he found one room and I just assumed it was a suite and thanked him only to find out that it was not a suite only after we got into the room. Not that I consider suite upgrade as my right, it would've been nice if he would've explained to me of the situation instead of misleading me. I don't know why my request was not granted, but I didn't ask why because my wife and daughter was just too tired to wait for another trip down to the lobby. Next morning, I did get 4 pm late checkout granted which allowed my wife and daughter to wait for me while I finish my work. Room 1404 was clean and well appointed but heating unit didn't really help with raising room temperature - it ran all night blowing cool air - and there was a loud noise in the bath room which I suspected of coming from engine room or mechanical room. Also, the small fridge which normally have trouble with not cooling stuff enough was actually working too well and froze all the drinks and foods - including my baby's food - next morning. Overall, the hotel's location is ideal for me since it is close to the shopping mall and international food district up on convoy st. and value for the money one can get is good with cheaper parking fees, etc... I think Just little more improvement on SPG recognition and equipment could make this hotel a winner. March 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Service with 1 star. So check-in started out GREAT! Alexis was very welcoming. Got to the room and the balcony was filthy. The handrail, floor, and spider webs in the corners kept us from fully enjoying our balcony. Went down to the pool and it was freezing with no towels. Went inside to the reception desk and waited (in my swim suit) for 5 minutes before excusing my interruption and asking for a towel. Not the most comfortable experience standing in a hotel lobby in your swim suit. There was some sorority party in the meeting area that was loud but didn't really bother me since the noise didn't carry up to my room. What was annoying was stepping in vomit on the ground when exiting the elevator. No wet floor sing or staff near by to warn us, which they were aware of because when I told them about it the staff member told me "We know we are getting house keeping on it.". Last, we were checking out so we left our keys up in the room and packed the car. But I forgot my wallet in the room (YIKES). So I informed the female staff member and she said she would have another key made AFTER 10 minutes of waiting with no communication as to what was going on, I asked someone else to help me. Overall the staff was pretty horrible with 1 exception Alexis! Thank you Alexis. Everyone else - You are in a service industry, retrain if your guests annoy you for another field like maybe the DMV or IRS. :) April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome staff! Military friendly My daughter and son-in-law are both in the United States Marine Corps. They recently married, but because they both will deploy soon, they did not have a honeymoon. They instead decided on a romantic one night stay in the big city of San Diego prior to departing each other for a year. The first hotel they checked into was too good to be true, the saying "you get what you pay for" was the unfortunate situation with this unnamed hotel. I am a SPG preferred guest and I wanted to help them out by booking them a night at a Sheraton in San Diego. I contacted the hotel, Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego to inform them of the situation and ask if I could pay for a one nights stay for the young newlyweds. After explaining the situation, the hotel staff went above and beyond in providing excellent customer service that was so awesome, I had to share this review. The staff sent my daughter and son-in-law chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to their room and on the house. They even gave them a card with the goodies. My daughter and son-in-law were over the top thankful for this wonderful evening. I can't thank the hotel staff enough for their kindness and respect to this young military couple. Please know I will pass this story on to all my other military moms and family. Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego staff went above and beyond with true and amazing kindness. Thank you very much. Signed a very grateful military mom! August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocre at Best I was in San Diego for two weeks for work, and stayed here the entire time. I would not go back. Its location was extremely convenient for getting around the city. However, the hotel itself was in pretty poor shape. My carpet was stained in multiple places and was sticky with what I hope was Scotch-guard. The elevators frequently took several minutes to make it to the bottom floor; on multiple occasions, I overheard other guests expressing concerns to the front desk staff that the elevators were broken, but no steps were taken to remedy the situation. The parking lot was gated for reasons I couldn't understand; there was nothing really to walk to that might prompt those who weren't guests to park here. The gates were open half of the time, and when they were closed, I did not see one person successfully swipe through with their room key; the front desk had to be paged for assistance every time you wanted to park here. The gym didn't have any sprays to clean the equipment, and the sanitizing wipes they'd provided ran out the first week I was there and were never replaced, making me a little reluctant to use the machinery. This is the first Sheraton I've ever stayed at, and it was not a good recommendation for the chain as a whole. Overall, it wasn't horrible, and after two weeks, I'm sure I could have come up with flaws for any hotel, no matter how great. But I would only consider staying here again if there was no other safe and clean option. April 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Service = Poor Experience I am a loyal Starwood traveler, and typically have great experiences at their hotels - but this one was different. The main reason is the service was well below an acceptable level, which manifested itself in several ways; 1 - I had a two night reservation which they switched without my permission to two one-night stays b/c they had me on a floor that was being shut down for a remodel. This meant my wife and I had to pack everything up, check-out, and then check-in again to a new room. It also meant I was billed seperatley for the two nights. 2 - Service at the resteraunt and room service were below an acceptable level. We dined in the resteraunt each morning for breakfast, and it consistently took over 40 minuets for the food to arrive. When we ordered room service, not only was it slow, but they took the order wrong and did not deliver what we had asked for. 3 - Front-desk service - again, below an acceptable standard. As already mentioned, they did not inform us of the situation that they would need to check us out of our room due to remodel, and then when we called the next morning they were fairly unaccomodating. Uon check out they had also mis--billed sveral items (i.e. internet which is supposed to be free for platinum members), and whne I pointed it out the lady practically accused me of trying to cheat or steal. Overall it was a very poor experience. It is a shame b/c the room we were in the second night was great, but it isnt worth having to go back and deal with substandard service at every level of this hotel., November 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I expected much more from a Sheraton property Being a Sheraton property in San Diego, we were extremely disappointed. To start, charging $7 a day parking for not even a covered/secure parking is a rip-off. We had no maid service at all on Friday, I had to empty the trash myself. All ice machines out of order on all floors, one of the ice machine doors fell off as I hit the button. People smoking in hall, staff did nothing even after complaints lodged, power went out after we entered elevator, fortunately I was able to open door and exit. Air conditioning system went out after several power failures and AC was not ever restored. Temps inour room reached 90 + degrees for 2 + days , when we pulled back the duvey cover off the bed, we found blood stains on it, but since maid service was already lacking. we just tossed it in the corner and left it. On Sunday morning after still not having AC going into the second day ,we get our bill under the floor and we were charged the full amount after all of this. I had to go down stairs and demand a discount for the stay. The gentleman working said he was authorized to give us 10% off, really? Maybe he should have given us all that 10% BEFORE printing our bill and we would have not been so upset. AS bit ended up, I ended up with a 20% discount, while the 10 other families in our group received various discounts, but none of us received the same. So I guess it all would depend on how much you complained. Probably the worst part was over hearing the maintainanace crew being yelled at b y a supervisor I assume, and hearing that it was not going to be fixed for at least 2 more days. meanwhile the hotel is still checking i guests and not telling them of the AC problem. Keep in mind the hotel has all of the windows bolted shut so no relief at all in the rooms. I will never stay at this or any other Sheraton again. August 15, 2012
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13