Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 393 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing simply amazing The staff is the best around, helpful and friendly, the room exceeded any expectations I had. One of the best Sheratons i have ever stayed at. July 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs renovating I enjoyed my stay however the carpets were really stained, and I could hear my neighbors making noise throughout the night. I also thought the elevators were extremely slow both to reach the desired floor and to open the doors. I received excellent service at the club lounge and at the receptionist desk, I can't complain. July 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by not up to Sheraton standards We were traveling to San Diego with our girls soccer team, have stayed at Sheratons before and never experienced anything quite like this. Upon check in we went up to our room and found blood on the bed skirt and comforter, called front desk, they told us they would give us a new room, we went downstairs and were given a new room key and room, elevators were not working so had to use service elevator, waited at least 20 minutes due to line of guests. Got to new room and key did not work, went back downstairs one of the front desk clerks offered to go back up with us to check key, had to wait another 15 min for service elevator again, clerk apologized for inconvenience. Got to room and sure enough our key did not work! we ended up leaving our bags and going to eat while she tried to get us another room. There were too many things to even name in this review that went wrong for us at this hotel. Most of front desk staff were courteous however the restaurant staff were very rude to our girls. The ice machines were out of order too. We hope that the staff is able to bring the place up to Sheraton standards soon as in this economy families choose wisely where they spend their money and there is way too much competition out there who would love our business. July 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok hotel There are two things about this hotel that I didn't like. One being the dirty smell in the hallway on the 9th floor. There were a big pile of sheets left on the hallway floor for two days but the smell was there the first day and stayed there until the last day. Room was fine. The other thing is the parking fee. $14 per day. Just so people know you can park on the street in-front of the hotel at night and not pay the parking fee. July 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This location seriously needs a renovation!!! It's been a while since I stayed at this Sheraton location and now I remember why I have not been back for such a long time. This location seriously needs a renovation. The room lacks good sound insulation (you can hear the traffic from the freeway very clearly), the shower water pressure is very weak and overall needs a lot of work. This location is quite run down and needs a lot of attention. I will probably never stay here again. July 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Affordable and consistent We've stayed here a few times. The price is always fair and it's close to Downtown, SeaWorld and the beaches. The hotel is starting to get a bit beat. but nothing to make it look uninviting etc. July 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor light planning Requested a king size bed and provided 2 full size beds located on the highway side of the building on the 6th floor. The room was good except for a light in the parking lot beaming into the window. The window shades cannot close to block the light. Tried to change rooms, but only offered other rooms on the same side of the building. Had to move lower to try and avoid the light; however, on my 3rd day, somehow the light was adjusted to beam into 2nd floor room as well. By the way, the 2nd floor room was dungier... Had a musty smell and the decor was older... some mold in the bathroom caulk... June 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed When we checked in, we waited for the elevator and rode it to the 9th floor where we received the red and green light to enter the room, but could not enter. I rode the elevator back down to the front desk and was instructed some door handles were installed the wrong way and I needed to lift up on the door handle instead of push down. I told the gentleman it seemed as if the door was locked from the top bolt, but he insisted it was an installation problem with the door handle. I rode the elevator back up and tried again unsuccessfully openening the door. This time I took the stairs down 9 flights to again ask for assistance and that we were now going to be late for our opening NYS ceremonies. I told the gentleman again that it seemed to be locked from the inside top latch. He accompanied me to the room and called the technician. It was latched from the inside, but we were also told it jams/sticks to the top bolt. It did indeed stick because many times we were faced with the same situation and literally had to ram the door to get in. Besides the door, we had to wiggle the toilet tank in order for it to fill up with water so we could flush it. It was an inconvenient experience. Not to mention the right elevator would freeze, not open or partially open as well as skip floors when riding in it. :( Disappointed! June 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed We were in town for the NYS football tournament. I felt that your hotel was extremely ill equipped to handle 100+ teenage football players and their families. 1st day the washer and dryer was broken and not being fixed until the next day. That is a little tough with a bunch of sweaty, smelly football uniforms that are needed the next day. The staff did offer to have uniforms cleaned for us, which was nice. They said it is a little expensive, which I was willing to pay BUT we wouldn't get uniforms back until 6 pm the next day when we had a 1:15 game. We had to go find a laundromat. Staff got me an address of one that was closed down. Not very helpful! There were 4 of us in a room with 4 towels. 2 were football players. I had to call 3 times for more towels since the kids showered a few times a day. 2 of the 3 times I waited for at least an hour to get those towels. Once I was told towels were in the dryer. You guys should have been more prepared for this. Also, how can you start the complimentary breakfast at 7 when a few teams had to be at fields at 7? So I wound up paying the extra $20 for complimentary breakfast and didn't get it. I would love to get a refund for that for the 4 days! Also, one day you started the breakfast earlier and ended earlier without notifying guests. Not fair. If you want to make a guest happy, you will credit me (at least) for the "complimentary" breakfasts and even a little more of a credit would be nice since I had to drive around and find a laundromat since the one given to me by your staff was closed down. Hope you do the right thing to make me feel better about my stay with you. June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Weekend It was my birthday weekend, and they made me feel so special. To the fantastic room that we were given to the special treat that we received. I was surprised and thrilled with the special effort that was made for us. We have stayed at the hotel several times and this is why I will keep going back. I recommend it to everyone June 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by the elevator does not work! the elevator seems possessed and skips floors or takes an excessive amount of time. Staff seems good but understaffed for the full house that was there when i stayed. Rooms were not clean and looked quite worn out. Not a Sheraton quality hotel. June 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Interesting Nice place, housekeeping knocked on the door at 7:30 a.m. and woke me from my deep sleep. Although I did not have my DND sign on, 7:30 a.m. is still a little early, especially for summer travelers. Also, I have 3 holds on my credit card for a one night stay; I can see where it would be relevant if I stayed more than one night, but that is a little excessive. June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations Best fish tacos in town. Friendly staff and minutes from everything in San Diego June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place to rest and feel welcomed I've stayed at several Sheraton / Starwood hotels in Cali & across the USA and have never had a bad experience. The staff here were helpful and friendly (especially Christina at the front desk), the Maid service was prompt also. The hotel was clean inside and out and up to date, they even have the fruit water in the lobby waiting for you. Check with the restaurant for breakfast buffet days, I was unable to have it on a Thursday morning (that would be my only disappointment for this overnight stay). The location is off the freeway but was quiet inside the building. It is close to the fwy exit, in walking distance to restaurants and gas. On the other side of overpass is 2 shopping centers with more restaurants, plus a Target center ( maybe a mile walk away?). I will recommend this hotel / staff to my friends and business associates. June 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty resort but rude servers Some servers and bartenders seemed like they didn't want to be there at all and were very rude and not helpful at all. I work at a Sheraton and the service at ours compared to there's was mind blowing. The hotel is beautiful and rooms are very nice. I just wished I had servers that were nice to me. It's hard to go eat somewhere when you feel like your a burden to them. June 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Beds Needed I have stayed at this hotel previously and all went well... not this time. After cancelling a reservation at a non SPG hotel, I was only able to book a room with 2 beds, a king size bed was not available. The room was clean, except for the dark stains on the carpet near the window. But the bed was absolutely terrible, I felt like I was sleeping on a bed in a travel trailer from 1950, it had no cushion at all and kept me tossing and turning both nights. As reported by others, there are only 2 elevators and operate very slowly. May 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than the review!! I read the reviews for the hotel before I arrived and wasn't expecting much. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised! The service was excellent! the wait staff went out of their way to be sure our needs were met. The bed and pillows were great and provided a restful sleep. We commend the manager ALL of the wait staff and especially Mel, Robert and Summer for excellent service! May 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by While not recently refurbished, I still recommend, but needs to heat pool Positives: Great Staff, Great Bedding, Nice Flatscreen/Channel Choices, Nice Lobby and Restaurant, Nice Fitness Center. Negatives: 1) Slow elevators. 2) While the outdoor pool/spa area is nice, roomy and clean the temperature of the pool was too cold to want to get in on my stay in May 2012. I chose to return to this hotel because my daughter loves to swim and when we were there in March 2012, the pool was heated very nicely. With San Diego being such a vacation destination for families, I would think this property would want to heat the pool year round to a bearable temperature. San Diego in the summer time still has cool night time temperatures and and is often overcast. In general, I would recommend especially for business travelers. May 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The rooms need work I've grown to expect better quality from Sheraton Hotels. I had to request a room change due to the excessive noise level in the street facing room. My second room was quiet but in need of a serious make over. The tub was chipped and the sink had cracks. May 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience. Ended up booking 2 more rooms. We had such a pleasant experience that my in- laws asked us to book them a room. Trevor had the best smile and is knowledgeable about the area. Ashley and Bethany made sure they met our room needs including getting great rates for booking more rooms last minute. Facilities were clean. Solid Sheraton hotel. May 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTING HOTEL! My family and I stayed here recently and we booked a club suite and a deluxe room and was told they will be next to each other. As we arrived, the rooms we booked were not as expected and they aren't next to each other. My husband and I had to separate ourselves to be with our kids. Trevor, who is the manager wasn't willing to help us at all in finding rooms that can be connected. The elevator was VERY SLOW and room service was awful. They delivered the food w/ no silverwares at all. Mark, the club host was the only one who made us feel at home. Total disappoinment for SPG. May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel Good location. Friendly staff. Rooms are very nice. May 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by old and acts that way The high point was the desk staff after that it went downhill. Not sure why I was given a handicapped room, I never asked for one and the hotel certainly wasn't at capacity. Right near elevator, smell to room. Too few outlets, had to unplug devices to use computer and charge cell phone. I truly could not understand a word the waiter/bartender was saying when I ate at the restaurant. $14.00 per day for parking...REALLY!!! The lot was overgrown with weeds, if I were you I'd be thankful someone was staying there. Lobby was nice. May 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointment Old, Tired and Smelly I am a gold elite Starwood member, so I always stay in Starwood hotels. Both the room and the corridor leading to the room were filthy. The carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in years. The room smelled like old stale smoke had permeated the furnishings. On the balcony of the room were two patio chairs and a side table, the side table had a paper cup full of cigarette butts. The room smelled of stale cigarette smoke and there was a fowl odor the moment you stepped off the elevator for the floor. The only thing that made it tolerable was that the door to the outside just off the elevator was left open to let some fresh air in. I suspect that was intentional to help mask the odor. None of the furnishings matched and there was not a single piece of art on the walls. There was a bar sized refrigerator which made such a load noise all the time that we tried to pull it out to unplug it, in order to sleep.The room was supposed to be the highest available room catergory, second only to the Presidential Suite. I used points to stay, and I had to use extra points, over and above the normal required amount, to get this room. The hotel and the room are way past their prime and in desparate need of refurbishing. I would not recommend this hotel. May 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complaint There was no hot water to shower with and I was told to leave it running for 10 mins as it was cold outside!! We had to ask twice for clean towels and they did not do the room one day. It was a terrible hotel and we stay at a lot. May 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location; not cleanliness I expect The location was very convenient, close to restaurants, in between a golf tournament in El Cajon, meetings downtown, and La Jolla; friendly service, great comfortable beds and workspace that I have grown accustomed to, BUT cleanliness was not where I expect: Fitness center - no cleaning wipes and no towels either day, despite discussing with them the first day (apparently brought towels after I left, but didn't correct problem for next day) table in bathroom that clearly had not been cleaned from last visitor, again, corrected when I complained. May 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frequent visiter I frequently stay at this Sheraton mostly for business. The staff is very friendly and willing to make your stay more than enjoyable. Many thanks to David, food and beverage manager, the morning club room host (I forget her name), Alina, the evening club room host (so sweet) and Stephen in the restaurant. I can’t forget my friends Nazila and Emily in the business office. You all make me feel at home when I am on business and make my family feel special when I bring them. We can always find things that may need updating or improvements but please keep your wonderful staff! May 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 THIS HOTEL NEEDS IMPROVEMENT HOTEL NEEDS TO WORK ON CLEANING STAFF AND OVERALL APPEARANCE OF ROOMS May 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room is after-thought Room is not laid out correctly, asked not to be assigned this room after last stay. Bathroom looks like its set up for handicap, but sure no handicap would stay or approve. Towel rack not near tub, no place to set towels, sink has no place to put shaving kit. Bathroom is a cluster. Room is tucked in next to elevators, door lock is not standard. Room closet is set in crazy configuration. May 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The little things do matter to guests......... The beds lacked fitted sheets on both beds so we had to fully remake the bed each day. We chose the Green program and the 500 points. (We had to ask for our third certificate for 500 points, it was not left on our door.) We were only supplied with decaf coffee and it took 3 requests to get regular. The night front desk pointed us to the computer to get our boarding pass, but while the internet worked we could not log in so no boarding passes. (Our connection upstairs was fine). The morning clerk knew there was repair ticket in, but there was no note to tell guests. Soda costs more in hotel store than vending machines. April 30, 2012
  • 2015-05-24T20:11:08.883-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_393, tr_393
  • loc_en_US, sid_1556, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 next>>