Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 384 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff - Worth their weight in Gold! Even though the hotel was completely booked due to the holiday week and a wedding, the staff was polite and tried to accommodate our needs. After our 1st night and once some of the quests had checked out the staff moved us to a larger room and arranged for a roll-a-way to better handle our group. The staff at this Sheraton went above and beyond. They all should be commended on how well they treat the guests. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Weekend It was my birthday weekend, and they made me feel so special. To the fantastic room that we were given to the special treat that we received. I was surprised and thrilled with the special effort that was made for us. We have stayed at the hotel several times and this is why I will keep going back. I recommend it to everyone June 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTING HOTEL! My family and I stayed here recently and we booked a club suite and a deluxe room and was told they will be next to each other. As we arrived, the rooms we booked were not as expected and they aren't next to each other. My husband and I had to separate ourselves to be with our kids. Trevor, who is the manager wasn't willing to help us at all in finding rooms that can be connected. The elevator was VERY SLOW and room service was awful. They delivered the food w/ no silverwares at all. Mark, the club host was the only one who made us feel at home. Total disappoinment for SPG. May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff! Another wonderful stay in San Diego! We were in town for my husband's birthday for dinner with family. Our check in was a great experience with Torreon, he was quite a delight, our second experience with him and he took fantastic care of us. He gave us an lovely upgrade and breakfast in the morning. This is our go to hotel when staying in San Diego. They are adding a much needed 3rd elevator, which will be so great during Comic-Con! Thanks, we had a great stay and look forward to joining you in the near future. January 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not happy with our stay Originally book in advanced for a 1 room 2 queen beds. I called hotel day that afternoon saying late arrival. After traveling 8+ hours. Get to hotel at 11pm they do NOT have 2 queen beds room. So they put us in a King room and front desk said bringing a bed not a roll away? Once in room they called and sorry no roll away available. They did say they can put us in a room with a couch pullout and King bed. Why this wasn't given to us at 1st. Tired and upset we decided never to stay here again. By the way this was our daughter last night sleep before moving her to dorm. August 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service and rooms need renovation The front desk was understaffed on both days I was there, I had to wait 10 minutes to check-in and to ask questions. The parking did not work with the room key, you had to buzz the front desk every time to enter and exit and because they were so understaffed no one would answer to buzz you out for several minutes. They had incorrect charges on my bill that I had to correct upon check out. AND, the rooms were not well maintained, and had stains on the walls. It was a disappointing and frustrating stay but not uncommon to most Sheraton's based on my experience. August 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing simply amazing The staff is the best around, helpful and friendly, the room exceeded any expectations I had. One of the best Sheratons i have ever stayed at. July 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Retraining is a must! For a hotel from the Starwood family, I found this establishment extremely lacking. The front guest service was outstanding, they were very helpful; however, all of the workers in the hotel restaurant were rude and almost non-existent. At one point we waited 15 minutes for our server to return to the main room, there was only one other guest. In addition, a hotel of the Sheraton caliber that charges $10 for internet and $14 for parking daily is just tacky. For the money you pay already this should not be the case. Also a heads up would have been nice. August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The worst Sheraton I've experienced. I'm a gold spg member and have stayed at many Sheraton's but this was the worst one. While the front desk staff was okay, they weren't great except for the bellman who was top notch, full of information and very helpful. The room on the club level was clean and nice size--best bed we've slept in on our entire two week trip. However, the bathroom was bad--had a huge chip missing off the toilet seat which looked unhealthy and not attached properly and a lightbulb was out--seems housekeeping could report what they see when they clean. No pay-per-view movies available. There was only one elevator running which meant waiting up to 10 minutes for an elevator--sure, the service elevator was available but you have to walk to the other end of the building to get to it. The keycards to the room, club room, and parking area were a joke. I had to go back four times to reset the keycards which never worked for the parking area--told to push the white button every time we wanted to enter/exit--had to push more than once most of the time--another wait time unnecessary. On the last morning, the keycards were deactivated BEFORE we checked out. I tried to go back to the room to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff--couldn't get into the room. The staff lost out because of Sheraton who graciously offered to let me back into the room; however, that would have meant another 10 minute wait for the elevator that was super slow and we had a plane to catch. The club room was great with a very friendly and helpful server. March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club lounge needs improvement I am a 23 years SPG member and also a Starwood Platinum! I do travel a lot and I do expect the same club lounge amenities at all the sheraton in the USA ! This lounge had no espresso machine during my stay! The food choice was very limited! like no bananas or raspberries or pineapple like lounge in NYC or Chicago for breakfast! I really think the management needs to call corporate and get a list if items served in other lounges at Sheraton The hotel staff is great specially Florence at front desk! And the shuttle service is a great plus ! July 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charging for Parking? Really? I've stayed at this hotel off/on for about 7 years now and this was the first time that they charged for parking. Outrageous! There is no need to charge for parking at this hotel and why now? That was and will be my last stay there and I will discourage others from staying there as well. Hotels downtown San Diego charge for parking, hotels in Mission Valley have no need to charge. Also, the “Gates” that were supposed to be used for the charged parking remained up all day and night. So how would they know if someone had a vehicle or not, guess that’s what I get for being honest. Parking at $14.00 per day doesn’t break the bank; however, it’s a principal thing for me. There is no need for this charge. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay! The staff were very helpful from the moment we walked in. Torreon was at the front desk when I checked in, and he was very helpful in helping us with our room selection. There were a couple of ladies at the front desk on Jan. 25th and 26th that were very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. On the last day of our stay, the front desk staff were very helpful in helping me ship some items home so that I did not have to take them on the plane with me. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! There are 3 suggestions that I would make. (2 Queen suite on 14th floor) 1. a bigger refrigerator 2. a microwave 3. hooks on the wall just inside of the bathroom (sink room, not shower room) for hanging towels and swimsuits February 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our Stay Was A Disaster Although we had booked and pre-paid for two nights, when we checked in we were greeted with "Give me 10 minutes, I don't have any rooms right now". We did get a room, but the next morning we started having problems with the door--either it would not lock or it would not open with our key when it did lock. Despite repeated assurances we would be able to move to another room with a properly functioning door, it never happened. And the in-room safe did not work, so we had to drive around with our valuables in a duffel bag in our rental car. The problem was, everyone on staff would acknowledge our problems but no one wanted to correct them. October 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate but not memorable Check-in was very fast and efficient. As a Platinum I was upgraded to a suite on the top floor. To my surprise one of the elevators was out of service and the working one was very slow making waits extra long. Signs were posted that service elevator was available. The room was well maintained, although some of the decor was a bit dated in my opinion. Beige couches, beige rug, beige wallpaper. I tried the club lounge which while basic still served its purpose. One hot hors d'euvres alone with some mixed veggies and a full service bar. Breakfast was limited to hard boiled egg and some fruit and pastries. Adequate but nothing impressive. I also found the beds very "springy" but managed to still sleep well. All in all I would stay again if the price was right, but wouldn't be on the top of my list in the San Diego area. March 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, bad experience When we arrived the hotel staff was very friendly and the hotel was very nice. Our room was clean and nice also. As soon as we went to bed, we turned the air down and it was beyond loud. We called the front desk and they sent a security guard to look at it. He said, sorry its just old. We had to sleep in the room with no air and couldn't open the window because the traffic was louder than the AC. Needless to say, no one slept. We travel a lot and have never experienced such an unhelpful staff. The next day, I mentioned it to the front desk and they offered to credit our 14.00 parking fee. Whoopie.....will never stay there again. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG Gold members not welcome here we checked in, in hopes of Gold SPG upgrade, but none was available. but were told we would get one once available. checked daily and on the last night there was one available and were told the next day shift would make the switch. when we checked back the next day. someone forgot to do their work and upgrade was not available anymore. Contrary to SPG guidelines we were charged for internet connection in our room, and given continental breakfast at the club, while regular guests enjoyed hot breakfast at the restaurant. Bottom line...this property not only does not value SPG Gold members, they treat them worse than non-members. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient to airport. We only needed a 1-night stay prior to catching a flight out the next morning. The Sheraton Mission Valley was an easy 10-minute drive to the airport, even in the morning commute traffic. The only negative to our stay was the parking charge. SInce the hotel was located in the Hotel Circle area, as opposed to a downtown location, there was ample parking available so the extra charge for parking was unexpected. July 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs work I was traveling on the promotional birth year rate so expected to be put in a lower quality room. What I didn't expect was to be put in what I hope was the worst room in the hotel. I only expected the room to be clean and fresh. It was not! The sink was clogged and didn't drain. There was hair in the sink and tub. Toenail clippings on the nightstand and rug next to the bed. The room was stuffy and had old cigarette smell. The safe didn't work and the smoke alarm in our room and the room next door went off whenever anyone used the shower. This might be fixed by installing a working bathroom fan. The bar took three tries to get our much needed cocktail correct and the requested extra towels were never delivered. I enjoy Starwood properties but this is my least enjoyable experience. The staff was quick to respond to the sink clog and the safe but said there wasn't anything to do about the smoke alarms. The housekeeping was not addressed. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I recently stayed at the Sheraton Mission Valley on a recent trip to San Diego. I was impressed by the customer service from the moment I checked-in through to check-out. Tricia at the front desk looked after me very well. Her customer service skills were exemplary, showed pleasant demeanor and friendly style certainly made my stay more memorable. Tricia demonstrated a good knowledge of local areas, how to get there and recommend various local attractions. Thanks Tricia! Thoroughly enjoyed my hotel suite. I certainly plan to return to San Diego and will definitely stay at San Diego Mission Valley again! Anil August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Performance for a Sheraton Facilities are fine but room was not cleaned after our first night and and we had to ask for cleaning services after the second night and it still wasn't cleaned until we searched out housecleaning services. The TV was broken and the tub would barely drain. Bad value for the money. July 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The rooms need work I've grown to expect better quality from Sheraton Hotels. I had to request a room change due to the excessive noise level in the street facing room. My second room was quiet but in need of a serious make over. The tub was chipped and the sink had cracks. May 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hottest San Diego Week -- A/C Went Out We stayed on the 14th floor for 3 days in a suite that was clean. Aside from the popcorn ceilings, the suite was large and airy. There are no free power plugs near the desk area so working was challenging. While staying there, the A/C went out from noon on a Saturday until we left on Sunday afternoon. This is not necessarily a fault of the Sheraton, but it was miserable. We were comped breakfast but it was a rough night. San Diego is normally in the 70's but it was a humid 85-90 this weekend. I thought we were in Florida. Pros: - Large Suite - Plenty of Parking - Free WiFi (Starwood Only?) - 12th Floor Lounge Cons: - A/C Died - 3 power outages - Elevators and hallways have no ventilation at all. Very stuffy. - Staff needed multiple phone calls to bring extra bath towels every day. - Beds were not the standard Sheraton/Westin/W beds. They were thin, creaky, and not very comfortable. Note, when the A/C died and the rooms were sweltering, we were not notified of any comps being offered. We went to the hotel restaurant and the server mistakenly asked if we were there for the comped breakfast! August 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lock your doors! Checked in at 11pm. Went to room. Keys don't work. This always irks me. Go down to lobby and express frustration. Desk clerk apologizes and says confidently, "these will work this time or I'll quit." Go to my room. Nope. Keys don't work. Go back to lobby and tell him I'm dragging him up wi me this time. So he comes up. Nope. Third time keys still don't work. But at least he's there with me to see for himself. He calls hotel engineer. Dude comes, tries key and knocks on door. And there is a man already in the room! Never occurred to me to knock. Good to know when door is deadbolted from the inside a new key wont work. So hotel clerk takes me to a new room. Double beds and I want king. So we go to another room. Finally this works. Takes 1 hour and it's now midnight. If I had my kids I would have freaked. I asked for nothing, but he promised spg points, so let's see...I should note colleagues checked in the next day separately. One went to her room to change. Then the other went up to what she was told was her room and walked in on the other woman changing. Clerk gave them th same exact room minutes apart??? What else can I say about this place. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel and Staff was fantastic Hotel was remodeled recently and everything was perfect. Staff very friendly and very helpful in any needs that was requested without any question. Back room office personnel was on top of everything. Thanks James L for doing what you did. Made my daughters 16th birthday that much better. Rooms were clean, Elevators were up to speed and the lady that was in the club room (Thursday thru Sunday) was fantastic in keeping everything well stocked and worked very hard to maintain the club room. She seemed to know many of the regulars that stay in the hotel and she now will know us for the next time. March 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Changed room to connecting room with son & family. New rooms had very, very, very, dirty carpets. Baby still crawling and got very dirty every time he was put down. The rooms were clean otherwise. Suggest new carpet be installed. It's a shame Sheraton charges for everything - internet, breakfast and way to much for parking each day. (We only paid $8 a day at the airport for our car!!) Traveled north and completed our stay at a Residence Inn and had a hot complimentary breakfast each day, free internet and very clean carpets and FREE parking. Worth the extra we paid. April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel staffs are super friendly I had great experience with the front desk staffs, and they were very helpful! February 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hidden charge I've been staying here most of the time for business when visiting SD, but wasn't aware that they've changed their policy by charging fee for self-parking. When I told the front desk that I've never been charged for it before, he looked at me and said that was 2013. It was rude treating your platinum member just like that. Their service always up and down maybe due to the high rate of employee turn over. I emailed my ambassador and won't be staying here again. We, service oriented corporate, do not tolerate bad customer service, in any excuses! March 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by no air I enjoyed your employee Mirge? But I had no air for almost my whole trip. The hotel was unde contruction. December 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel was unclear on upgrade fees The hotel staff needs to be crystal clear on upgrade fees and ensure the rate is communicated in writing to avoid discrepancies. My bill was 50% higher as a result. Hotel also needs to respect and honor SPG Gold program benefits (250 points, late checkout, free Internet, upgrades if available). I travel very often and never have any issues with SPG properties, quite the opposite. There is a consistency in the level of benefits and quality of service that I have come to expect. That was clearly missing at this hotel. December 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to be upgraded The hotel looks and feel like it's 10 years overdue for an upgrade. The bathroom was extremely small with no countertop space whatsoever, and the wallpaper was peeling off. The carpet seemed old, and one of the lampshades had multiple tears. If this was an an upgraded SPG room, I would not like to see a regular room for a non-SPG guest. Given the location and number of guests I saw, it would seem like this is a hotel that can afford to put in the money to bring this hotel to the caliber where it deserves to be. March 28, 2012
  • 2015-03-28T18:02:13.454-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_384, tr_384
  • loc_en_US, sid_1556, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>