Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 343 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by June visit The hotel and most everything in it are outdated and well over-priced for the quality. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Hotel needs improvement in Response to members I stayed at this hotel and the stay was pleasant. The in room facilities were good. But, unfortunately, I left my jacket in the room while I was hurrying and I called them within an hour of me leaving the place while I'm on drive and called multiple times before I reached San Francisco. The front desk person changed every time I called and I had to repeat the story again and again. The only response I got every time for next 30 days was they'll search and check with room service department / lost and found department and all me back which never happened. Finally, I stopped calling them to keep my respect. This is not an acceptable customer service handling from a place like Sheraton. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Three star for front desk and four star for the rest (August 3-6 stay) Booked three nights at this hotel. The check in process was very slow and taxing. Waited almost 30 minute to check in, and room was not available. We waited at the Club Lounge, did some work and watched Olumpic there. About one hour later, was told that I could get my keys to the room. Yet another 20 minutes wait to get the key from front desk. Poor front desk lady was swamped. I saw quite a few people wearing hotel uniform (suits, not in bellman uniform), and they were just in and out of their front office, seeing all the line-up, NO ONE pitched in from management team! And there were two computer stations were open for check in (three in total at front desk for check in and check out)! FRUSTRATING! Club lounge staff was friendly and helpful. The offer was limited but nice. Location is the key to this hotel. By the way, no upgrade was offered to a platinum guest. August 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing!!! Attention Starwood!!! We booked 3 months ahead, used thousands of additional points to upgrade to a Club level 2Q+sleeper suite and arrive to find they'd given us standard 2Q room. Ashley(desk clerk) tried, but found all comparable rooms unavailable. Finally agree to a K+sleeper(1 child now staying elsewhere w/friends instead). Room condition poor-multiple stains on carpet and furniture, sink drain handle missing(non-functional stopper), door lock latch was completely missing.. Ashley graciously compt us parking and a battered old refrigerator(no shelves or bars on door). Why doesn't Club Room serve bottled H20, just sodas? Not the first time we've stayed here, but may be the last. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why the negativity? I was nervous about staying here after the negative reviews. Erika checked us in very friendly. Both elevators worked, we had a suite on floor 14 the side were you supposedly can hear the hwy did not hear any noise everyone talked about. Room very clean, restaurant very good,fitness center clean plenty of towels. We had a great week here. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations Best fish tacos in town. Friendly staff and minutes from everything in San Diego June 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Stay Staff was wonderful. Hotel, though, needs to be upgraded aesthetically. It is worn, and despite the refreshing of the elevator, it was a poor job at best. gates getting into parking lot (fee charged) were terrible. Numerous times they simply did not work despite staff resetting them. Bathroom was way too small for two people, cant imagime what a family would have to endure. Fixtures were old and dripped constantly. Overall, it was a good stay. Hopefully SPG will take this as a challenge to June 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trina , new employee is the best! Finally! A new employee, knew how to take care of a guest!! She is attentive , respectful, just plain awesome. Kudos to Carlos Diaz as well and another guyot. The front desk , I can't remeber his name. Teonn Walk can use a class about customer service! June 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful Location; Poor accommodation Staying in San Diego is always a pleasure. We had a great time at the Zoo, The Harbor Cruise and driving around town. All around nice, leisurely 3 days and 2 nights. However, the hotel is very much in need of a makeover. The CEO needs to go on that TV show where they travel incognito to various locations. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful (Particularly Summer). The elevator was unreliable, slow out of date (no chime with each floor) and often not available. The room carpet had dark spots just about everywhere. The bath room was old, small and in need of updating. The large screen television, coffee maker and easy chair were nice as was the bed linen. The view from the window in the evening was spectacular. We ate at the restaurant for 2 breakfasts and two dinners. The breakfast buffet was limited and very small, the menu items were complete and tasty. I highly recommend the "California Lox" served on English muffin (the presentation is colorful and it tastes great). The cippino was a delight and nicely presented. The evening wait staff was overworked one night and quite slow, the second night was much better. (We liked Amado) The first morning server was above average and quite friendly which made up for the second morning. She needs lessons from a charm school. The bill was computed incorrectly and she added a service tip automatically. When I questioned the bill at the front desk the fee was removed. (An appropriate action as she lost her tip.) I didn't get either name. Overall the stay was enjoyable but any stay in San Diego would be. I would not stay at this location until I saw a newly renovated property. Web Master: by the way it was difficult finding the "button" to get to the survey. All most as if one was trying to hide it. When you ask for my nickname I had difficulty with it. I should be able to say Dennis and the site automatically adds the number. I skipped the SPG number because I'm not a member. Why not set that as a default. April 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff - Worth their weight in Gold! Even though the hotel was completely booked due to the holiday week and a wedding, the staff was polite and tried to accommodate our needs. After our 1st night and once some of the quests had checked out the staff moved us to a larger room and arranged for a roll-a-way to better handle our group. The staff at this Sheraton went above and beyond. They all should be commended on how well they treat the guests. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff very accommodating Front desk people very friendly remembering me from previous stay, had my preferences noted and did their bst to accommodate. Luis, the bellman was efficient and knowledgable of our needs May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Clean, convenient and friendly June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Weekend It was my birthday weekend, and they made me feel so special. To the fantastic room that we were given to the special treat that we received. I was surprised and thrilled with the special effort that was made for us. We have stayed at the hotel several times and this is why I will keep going back. I recommend it to everyone June 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTING HOTEL! My family and I stayed here recently and we booked a club suite and a deluxe room and was told they will be next to each other. As we arrived, the rooms we booked were not as expected and they aren't next to each other. My husband and I had to separate ourselves to be with our kids. Trevor, who is the manager wasn't willing to help us at all in finding rooms that can be connected. The elevator was VERY SLOW and room service was awful. They delivered the food w/ no silverwares at all. Mark, the club host was the only one who made us feel at home. Total disappoinment for SPG. May 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not happy with our stay Originally book in advanced for a 1 room 2 queen beds. I called hotel day that afternoon saying late arrival. After traveling 8+ hours. Get to hotel at 11pm they do NOT have 2 queen beds room. So they put us in a King room and front desk said bringing a bed not a roll away? Once in room they called and sorry no roll away available. They did say they can put us in a room with a couch pullout and King bed. Why this wasn't given to us at 1st. Tired and upset we decided never to stay here again. By the way this was our daughter last night sleep before moving her to dorm. August 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum, what? Staff are responsive if the hotel is not fully booked. But if the hotel is full capacity it's almost imposible to get any assistance. Platinum status doesn't seem to mean a thing in this hotel. I still have yet to enjoy it's benefit, everytime I request for an upgrade there's always a reason that it's not available . Thank god I'm almost done with my work assignment in San Diego and I can finally move to another city and another hotel! May 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service and rooms need renovation The front desk was understaffed on both days I was there, I had to wait 10 minutes to check-in and to ask questions. The parking did not work with the room key, you had to buzz the front desk every time to enter and exit and because they were so understaffed no one would answer to buzz you out for several minutes. They had incorrect charges on my bill that I had to correct upon check out. AND, the rooms were not well maintained, and had stains on the walls. It was a disappointing and frustrating stay but not uncommon to most Sheraton's based on my experience. August 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing simply amazing The staff is the best around, helpful and friendly, the room exceeded any expectations I had. One of the best Sheratons i have ever stayed at. July 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Retraining is a must! For a hotel from the Starwood family, I found this establishment extremely lacking. The front guest service was outstanding, they were very helpful; however, all of the workers in the hotel restaurant were rude and almost non-existent. At one point we waited 15 minutes for our server to return to the main room, there was only one other guest. In addition, a hotel of the Sheraton caliber that charges $10 for internet and $14 for parking daily is just tacky. For the money you pay already this should not be the case. Also a heads up would have been nice. August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The worst Sheraton I've experienced. I'm a gold spg member and have stayed at many Sheraton's but this was the worst one. While the front desk staff was okay, they weren't great except for the bellman who was top notch, full of information and very helpful. The room on the club level was clean and nice size--best bed we've slept in on our entire two week trip. However, the bathroom was bad--had a huge chip missing off the toilet seat which looked unhealthy and not attached properly and a lightbulb was out--seems housekeeping could report what they see when they clean. No pay-per-view movies available. There was only one elevator running which meant waiting up to 10 minutes for an elevator--sure, the service elevator was available but you have to walk to the other end of the building to get to it. The keycards to the room, club room, and parking area were a joke. I had to go back four times to reset the keycards which never worked for the parking area--told to push the white button every time we wanted to enter/exit--had to push more than once most of the time--another wait time unnecessary. On the last morning, the keycards were deactivated BEFORE we checked out. I tried to go back to the room to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff--couldn't get into the room. The staff lost out because of Sheraton who graciously offered to let me back into the room; however, that would have meant another 10 minute wait for the elevator that was super slow and we had a plane to catch. The club room was great with a very friendly and helpful server. March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club lounge needs improvement I am a 23 years SPG member and also a Starwood Platinum! I do travel a lot and I do expect the same club lounge amenities at all the sheraton in the USA ! This lounge had no espresso machine during my stay! The food choice was very limited! like no bananas or raspberries or pineapple like lounge in NYC or Chicago for breakfast! I really think the management needs to call corporate and get a list if items served in other lounges at Sheraton The hotel staff is great specially Florence at front desk! And the shuttle service is a great plus ! July 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charging for Parking? Really? I've stayed at this hotel off/on for about 7 years now and this was the first time that they charged for parking. Outrageous! There is no need to charge for parking at this hotel and why now? That was and will be my last stay there and I will discourage others from staying there as well. Hotels downtown San Diego charge for parking, hotels in Mission Valley have no need to charge. Also, the “Gates” that were supposed to be used for the charged parking remained up all day and night. So how would they know if someone had a vehicle or not, guess that’s what I get for being honest. Parking at $14.00 per day doesn’t break the bank; however, it’s a principal thing for me. There is no need for this charge. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel and Staff was fantastic Hotel was remodeled recently and everything was perfect. Staff very friendly and very helpful in any needs that was requested without any question. Back room office personnel was on top of everything. Thanks James L for doing what you did. Made my daughters 16th birthday that much better. Rooms were clean, Elevators were up to speed and the lady that was in the club room (Thursday thru Sunday) was fantastic in keeping everything well stocked and worked very hard to maintain the club room. She seemed to know many of the regulars that stay in the hotel and she now will know us for the next time. March 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our Stay Was A Disaster Although we had booked and pre-paid for two nights, when we checked in we were greeted with "Give me 10 minutes, I don't have any rooms right now". We did get a room, but the next morning we started having problems with the door--either it would not lock or it would not open with our key when it did lock. Despite repeated assurances we would be able to move to another room with a properly functioning door, it never happened. And the in-room safe did not work, so we had to drive around with our valuables in a duffel bag in our rental car. The problem was, everyone on staff would acknowledge our problems but no one wanted to correct them. October 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate but not memorable Check-in was very fast and efficient. As a Platinum I was upgraded to a suite on the top floor. To my surprise one of the elevators was out of service and the working one was very slow making waits extra long. Signs were posted that service elevator was available. The room was well maintained, although some of the decor was a bit dated in my opinion. Beige couches, beige rug, beige wallpaper. I tried the club lounge which while basic still served its purpose. One hot hors d'euvres alone with some mixed veggies and a full service bar. Breakfast was limited to hard boiled egg and some fruit and pastries. Adequate but nothing impressive. I also found the beds very "springy" but managed to still sleep well. All in all I would stay again if the price was right, but wouldn't be on the top of my list in the San Diego area. March 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, bad experience When we arrived the hotel staff was very friendly and the hotel was very nice. Our room was clean and nice also. As soon as we went to bed, we turned the air down and it was beyond loud. We called the front desk and they sent a security guard to look at it. He said, sorry its just old. We had to sleep in the room with no air and couldn't open the window because the traffic was louder than the AC. Needless to say, no one slept. We travel a lot and have never experienced such an unhelpful staff. The next day, I mentioned it to the front desk and they offered to credit our 14.00 parking fee. Whoopie.....will never stay there again. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing staff! From the moment my group arrived we were treated far better than I had even hoped. Carlos, our front desk agent, went above and beyond to ensure our comfort. Check-in, check-out and everything in between went smoothly and effortlessly. We'll definitely be back, and will bring others with us! April 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient to airport. We only needed a 1-night stay prior to catching a flight out the next morning. The Sheraton Mission Valley was an easy 10-minute drive to the airport, even in the morning commute traffic. The only negative to our stay was the parking charge. SInce the hotel was located in the Hotel Circle area, as opposed to a downtown location, there was ample parking available so the extra charge for parking was unexpected. July 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The rooms need work I've grown to expect better quality from Sheraton Hotels. I had to request a room change due to the excessive noise level in the street facing room. My second room was quiet but in need of a serious make over. The tub was chipped and the sink had cracks. May 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hottest San Diego Week -- A/C Went Out We stayed on the 14th floor for 3 days in a suite that was clean. Aside from the popcorn ceilings, the suite was large and airy. There are no free power plugs near the desk area so working was challenging. While staying there, the A/C went out from noon on a Saturday until we left on Sunday afternoon. This is not necessarily a fault of the Sheraton, but it was miserable. We were comped breakfast but it was a rough night. San Diego is normally in the 70's but it was a humid 85-90 this weekend. I thought we were in Florida. Pros: - Large Suite - Plenty of Parking - Free WiFi (Starwood Only?) - 12th Floor Lounge Cons: - A/C Died - 3 power outages - Elevators and hallways have no ventilation at all. Very stuffy. - Staff needed multiple phone calls to bring extra bath towels every day. - Beds were not the standard Sheraton/Westin/W beds. They were thin, creaky, and not very comfortable. Note, when the A/C died and the rooms were sweltering, we were not notified of any comps being offered. We went to the hotel restaurant and the server mistakenly asked if we were there for the comped breakfast! August 15, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>