Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 377 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Little dated - but the staff was Amazing!! The hotel needs a remodel but I definitely would stay here again. The staff especially Torreon was fabulous. I had a terrible drive and my day was not going well, but Torreon made my checkin a breeze. I had a concern with my rate but he let me know he would take care of any issues and just wanted me to relax and enjoy my stay. He was such a professional. My room attendent Maria was just as fabulous she left a hand written note and always followed my requests - all the staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful. March 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Refurbishment and No Starwood Recognition Decided to try this hotel again based on the reviews and refurbishment. Elite status got a room across from the ice machine (reservation specifically requested no), and when I asked to change, was only given a choice of there or directly across from the elevator. The refurbished furnishings are nice and the room is nicely updated, but the sink was cracked, a bulb was out in the bathroom fixture and the tub was rusty. The wait at the front desk was very long, not due to a long line, but due to the fact that the front desk staff was constantly taking phone calls, leaving guests standing there, whether in the middle of a transaction, or not. I didn't find the front desk up to the courtesy level of the other Starwood hotels I frequent, but maybe they were just busy... July 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay a Disappointment My husband and I had always had an excellent experience at Sheraton, this one in particular. However, this time our stay was disappointing. The heater did not work all night and it never got warm. We took a cold shower. The HVAC technician came by and explained it was due to the boiler system and had not reached our floor. The elevator took forever to get to our floor and then stopped at every floor on the way down without being prompted. In addition, television did not have On Demand Movies. All in all, disappointing. December 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Hospitality Lead by Example as SPG Hotel Local staff makes the difference - they are your human and warm navigators as you rise up from bed for breakfast and retreating for a better than good night sleep. In other words, they made us feel special and safe. Special thanks to your staff, Carlos for extending his help to a couple of friends during check-in. Hoping to book a block of rooms during future class reunion (St. Catherine School of Nursing Class '74). Thank you. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly good; a couple of glitches Room was good, roomy, comfortable. Breakfast & dinner was fine. Drink prices were fair, hotel comparison-wise. Downsides: had a toilet tank that refilled or topped off about every hour (obviously due to a slow leak) and a bathroom door that was squeaky (a problem for sleepers when early risers are stirring)...turned in written note about problem to front desk on day 2 - they said it would be taken care of that day. It was not. Told front staff about it early on day 3 - door was de-squeaked and toilet did not fill as often but still had issue. Also note that hot tub was plenty warm but not very bubbly. Suggest you keep beer/wine locked up in (minor accessible) club level lounge as opposed to attendant having to go all the way to bar every time a customer wants a spirited beverage. May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Stay Staff was wonderful. Hotel, though, needs to be upgraded aesthetically. It is worn, and despite the refreshing of the elevator, it was a poor job at best. gates getting into parking lot (fee charged) were terrible. Numerous times they simply did not work despite staff resetting them. Bathroom was way too small for two people, cant imagime what a family would have to endure. Fixtures were old and dripped constantly. Overall, it was a good stay. Hopefully SPG will take this as a challenge to June 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a mess First night was fine, except for not enough towels for 3 people. They should know how many people will be in a room. Second day....left at 800am came back at 630pm...and our room was still not made up. I have NEVER had this happen. We had dinner reservations and began to get ready while my husband called for a maid. We were told they were booked and they would get to it...What!! I have to get ready, as if that was enough, then the power in our room went out...needless to say I went to dinner with friends a mess. When we came back, the room was done,,,,at 10:00pm....by then we had to hear the toilet run all night.....then all morning. We promptly left and checked out. Won't be back. And wherever I travel to I always try to find a Sheraton. I might reconsider this after this stay. March 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disinterested staff The check in was slow and tortuous; the staff were disinterested and frequently took phone calls which slowed the process; they were unconcerned about the low strength wifi signal in my room (one actually said "what would you suggest?"); they refused late checkout (though the chamber maid said I could stay til 2pm); they overcharged me twice for items bought from the lobby shop. In short this is a hotel coasting on the fact that it is well placed and popular so it doesnt need to provide good customer service. August 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Was Surprised hate to write a bad review but was quite surprised by issues we had. Bed was hard as a rock and sounded like it had broken springs inside. Spa was not working properly, no jets and very foggy and water was a deep yellow color, not welcoming. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cleanliness Not an Ammenity I had to contact guest services daily. Had to call for everything from coffee cups, bed linen, to restroom cleaning. Contacted front desk with specific request to have room cleaned after returning to room at 3:30 and room was still a mess. Housekeeping showed up cleaned the room and finished in 15 minutes. Sheets unchanged and restroom not clean. Contact front desk again asking for clean sheets and restroom to be cleaned and upon return found sheets laid on the bed and bathroom still a mess. Manager (Meghan) July 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met Expectations This hotel is located closed to the heart of Mission Valley shopping mall surrounded by reputable restaurants and other establishments. Facilities and rooms are clean and their staffs are genuinely friendly and courteous. They recognized SPG members and offers perks without you asking for it. I wish they pay more attention to room details such as having adequate electrical outlets easily accessible for electronic gadgets and laptops. Sometimes, it requires more than 1 phone call for guest service to respond. October 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wish I could give it 4.5 stars Very comfortable, well located hotel. Staff was excellent. Very attentive to my needs as well as those of my guests. They were courteous and offered many suggestions for breakfast spots in the area. The hotel elevator could use a little attention, because someone had vandalized it previously and it was covered, but they didn't do a great job of covering it. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were very clean. Starwood membership was valued and acknowledged. I would definitely stay here again. Parking is $14. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by unexpected pleasure The last time my wife and I visited San Diego we stayed downtown at a very expensive hotel so we didn't expect much from any place in Hotel Circle. After our stay in Mission Valley we'll probably never stay downtown again. Extremely easy to get everywhere and the trolly and shopping are just across the highway. rooms on the front are pretty noisy though, but we were moved to a room on the back side with no problem. The Club Lounge on the 12th floor was great for breakfast each morning and snacks anytime. January 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Hotel is a total mess.... Just stayed from August 6th-12th at room 511: 1.- Had to change room because of cigar odor 2.- 5th floor is falling apart, all door are dirty.. my room had at least 15 stains in the wall which I cleaned with just a wet towel. Carpet full of dirt. 3.- Found used tissues inside the bed sheets and tooth paste residuals in the sink. 4.- Presented my complain to the front desk (which had papers on the floor all over inside the desk) and no change happened at all. A/C did not work the last night we stayed August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs a little work The hotel staff was very helpful, professional and friendly. There was only one working elevator for the entire length of my weeklong stay. With long lines and stopping at every floor, the stairwell was the only feasible means of getting to and from my room. This was an inconvenience to any stay. Beyond that, the bed was hard and top mattress hung over the box frame due to the headboard taking up several inches at the head of the mattress. There was also a heavy feather bed on the top of the bed . December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous and Much Better Than Expected! We visited the Sheraton Mission Valley to attend a game at Qualcomm Stadium. The area is older, so we did not expect the Sheraton to be as beautiful and modern as it was. Everything was modern and beautiful from the lobby to the bar and restaurant. Our king suite room was amazing on the SPG floor. The only negatives I am mentioning are for management awareness, and those were the small tub/toilet area, the cable was messed up causing the TV to be pixelated, and the pull out sofa was very hard, we had maid service bring up a comforter to put over the mattress for our son. Other than that, the service was top notch, the breakfast was delicious and the location was extremely convenient as it was right across the freeway from a huge shopping and dining area and the trolley station to the stadium. November 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I had stayed here in Jan 2013 and it was a better stay than this one - Oct 2013. Since we checked in the ice machine on our floor has not worked even though each day we were told someone would be "right up" to fix it. The ice bucket was never cleaned, water dumped or new plastic bag given. Had to ask for cups on 2 occasions. Had to call to have room cleaned when it had not been done by 4pm on one day. The vent in the bathroom has never worked. The parking card key was "unreadable" on 3 different days requiring the desk to be buzzed to let me in. On one day, the desk did not answer for over 5 minutes of my waiting. All these things individually would be a nuisance but taken all together made our stay here not a good stay. I would not recommend this Sheraton and am now hesitant to stay at any Sheraton venue. October 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by More follow though needed Staff was very cordial but no follow up. Took four days of requests for safe to be reset. Burnt out bathroom lightbulb left on counter and not replaced. Toilet paper holder not working. Out all day and rooms not made up at 4 when we got back. Front desk said rooms could be done after 7. When we left out 7 let the front desk know we were gone and there was a DND sign on one of our rooms. Message was never transferred. Acted like it was a big deal. Room with DND not made up. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by some concern The air condition unit was out, yet the thermometer in the room let you beleive that it is on! (showed 69 degrees) I felt hot Friday morning and thought that maybe something wrong with me! I travel with a protable Thermom/hygrom. and it showed 79F thats when I realized it is the AC! I called the front desk and they confirmed the main unit to be defective! I was a little dissapointed when no one offered anything for the inconvinience! I think some points would be in place? May 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Found blood on my sheets when I woke up Overall the hotel is ok--the freeway side is noisy and the parking lot gate doesn't work. I had to drive through the 'out' side multiple times because the gate wasn't functioning properly. The biggest issue I had with this stay is that I found dried blood on my sheets when after my first night there--looks like they went through the wash + drier and got stuck in the material. The spot was big enough that I think the service should have noticed when they were installing. November 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Mark of Excellance After an all day affair traveling to San Diego and spending hours at the local hospital, and arriving late, we had the nicest greeting from a young man by the name of Torreon Walker. After hearing our plight, not only went out of his way to make our stay as nice as possible, with the kitchen closed he compt us room service. Our son was in ICU and passed away that day but Torreon's kindness made that evening a lot easier to take, thank you Sir for all you did and do. March 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum, what? Staff are responsive if the hotel is not fully booked. But if the hotel is full capacity it's almost imposible to get any assistance. Platinum status doesn't seem to mean a thing in this hotel. I still have yet to enjoy it's benefit, everytime I request for an upgrade there's always a reason that it's not available . Thank god I'm almost done with my work assignment in San Diego and I can finally move to another city and another hotel! May 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would NOT recommend Our experience was less than unsatisfactory and unpleasant. The majority of the staff that we interacted with were not very professional or friendly, and I don't know if its their computer systems or something, but everything took much, much longer than it needed to. The room did not match the room description online, and the only response I got was "Hm, we'll need to change that online." Not a pleasant experience at the hotel, will not even consider going back. March 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The reservations department provided wrong info I selected this hotel because I read positive reviews. However, I did not have a positive stay. When I made my reservations, I was told that my stay included free parking & free breakfast at the gov't rate. When I checked in, I confirmed that information with the front desk staff as well. The next day, I went down to the eating lounge & found out after the fact that breakfast was not included & I ended up paying a high price. As i was paying, 2 other families came in for the free breakfast & were disappointed when they found out that there was no free breakfast because they too, were misinformed. The plug outlet in my room was not properly screwed in the wall & it sparked when I plugged in my phone charger. No mini fridge in room for the water I brought with me & the smoke detector went off at 530am in my room for no reason. August 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but bad restaurant The front desk staff was very nice and friendly the room was comfortable but the houskeeping was not so good, the bath tub was kind of dirty and they olnly stocked decaf coffee. The most dissapointing part of the stay was the breakfast. They were out of most of the items and it was VERY dirty. There was food in the butter and flies crawling all over the little bit of fruit they had. I had to dig through 4 coffee cups before I found a clean one and then there was no coffee. The lady staff member was kind of rude when I asked her for coffee and she never brought it to me or refilled the pot that was out. There were several staff members standing over in the corner but they did not care about the food or the customers, they just wanted to make sure they got their vouchers. One of the worst breakfast's I have ever had at a hotel. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weekend!!! We spent one night for Mother's Day weekend...Zariah greeted us with the biggest smile, warmth and was so accomodating! Check-in was fast and fun...I truly felt spoiled and special. We stayed in one of the suites and it was FABULOUS! We had not been at this site in a few years. The re-model is amazing, the breakfast was better than any we have had and the location is so close to all our favorite places to visit in San Diego. Look forward to visiting again!!! May 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Deferred maintenance Door lock was broken and got locked out room. Air conditioning to the entire hotel was broken. Guests should have been advised of this upon check in. Ceiling was painted with several different colors of paint....really you can't paint the entire ceiling in the room after an obvious water leak. Windows were very dirty - you could hardly see out of them. Power to hotel went out 5 times while I was there- was afraid of being stuck in the rickety elevators. August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Served its Purpose Well My family and I were in San Diego to visit a family friend and visit the Zoo and some other attractions. We chose the hotel for its proximity to the zoo and ease of access to other areas. We appreciated the easy access off of the 8 as well as the very short trip to the zoo. The hotel was nice and the staff was willing and ready to help each time we had a request. The one issue we had, along with other guest was the long waiting time for the elevators! July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff, great remodel Upon checkin the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. There was a problem with the room and when I called down they changed our room right away. Breakfast in the resturant was fine, staff very friendly. The other days we had breakfast in the Club Lounge and it was just as good as the resturant if not better and the gal who worked in the Club Lounge was great. She even remembered us the next day and asked how our following day had been. Upon checkout the general manager David asked about our stay. I told him about the first room we had and that we had to change rooms. He was very interested in why and went above and beyond to make up for the problem. Everyone could not have been more friendly or helpful. We will be back again! It would be hard to find a more friendly staff overall! Thank you and kuddos to your entire staff! February 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by review your options We expected more from Sheraton. The freeway side is very noisy. Choose a room in the back if you want to sleep. We were moved three times because of defects in the rooms. Sink that we could not shut off and a front door that would not open. Musty smelling rooms. The last room we were put in was an Accessible room(808).The toilet leaked on to the tile and carpets were very dirty and stained. Not the standards I expect at a Starwood Sheraton property! July 11, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>