Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 355 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Deferred maintenance Door lock was broken and got locked out room. Air conditioning to the entire hotel was broken. Guests should have been advised of this upon check in. Ceiling was painted with several different colors of paint....really you can't paint the entire ceiling in the room after an obvious water leak. Windows were very dirty - you could hardly see out of them. Power to hotel went out 5 times while I was there- was afraid of being stuck in the rickety elevators. August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Served its Purpose Well My family and I were in San Diego to visit a family friend and visit the Zoo and some other attractions. We chose the hotel for its proximity to the zoo and ease of access to other areas. We appreciated the easy access off of the 8 as well as the very short trip to the zoo. The hotel was nice and the staff was willing and ready to help each time we had a request. The one issue we had, along with other guest was the long waiting time for the elevators! July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding staff, great remodel Upon checkin the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. There was a problem with the room and when I called down they changed our room right away. Breakfast in the resturant was fine, staff very friendly. The other days we had breakfast in the Club Lounge and it was just as good as the resturant if not better and the gal who worked in the Club Lounge was great. She even remembered us the next day and asked how our following day had been. Upon checkout the general manager David asked about our stay. I told him about the first room we had and that we had to change rooms. He was very interested in why and went above and beyond to make up for the problem. Everyone could not have been more friendly or helpful. We will be back again! It would be hard to find a more friendly staff overall! Thank you and kuddos to your entire staff! February 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by review your options We expected more from Sheraton. The freeway side is very noisy. Choose a room in the back if you want to sleep. We were moved three times because of defects in the rooms. Sink that we could not shut off and a front door that would not open. Musty smelling rooms. The last room we were put in was an Accessible room(808).The toilet leaked on to the tile and carpets were very dirty and stained. Not the standards I expect at a Starwood Sheraton property! July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home I recently stayed at the Sheraton in Mission Valley for 18 nights. This place was fantastic. The people were extremely friendly. When I came back to the hotel after work I was greeted by my name and was asked how my day was. That's personal attention to detail that is rarely seen at a large hotel chain. The room was stunning and very comfortable. The club lounge food and staff was beyond any expectations I could have imagined. Thank you Sheraton March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Quality I had the occasion to be in San Diego once again. The Sheraton Mission Valley has earned my business and become my favorite accommodation. The staff always welcomes us, acknowledges my platinum status and upgrades our room. The facilities are clean, well kept and the club lounge is available 24/7 not only for hors'deurves and breakfast, but those late night snack cravings. I can always count on a first-rate trouble free stay at this location. April 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 good location We love the location of this hotel. We stayed here a couple of times before. It looks like they are going through some well needed updating. Although the room was a nice size and the beds were comfortable, it had a bad smell to it. The carpets were dirty too. Staff was very helpful and friendly. One area of improvement is to have more than one washer and dryer available for all your guests. It was almost impossible to do your laundry there. August 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice, but a bit disappointed We have stayed in this hotel before and unfortunately this stay was not up to previous stays. We were a little disappointed that as Gold members were did not receive a room on that floor. I had to ask two times for foam, hypoallergenic pillows. The shower head was slightly broken and would not change water spray positions. Staff was generally adequate and helpful if a request was made. February 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This location seriously needs a renovation!!! It's been a while since I stayed at this Sheraton location and now I remember why I have not been back for such a long time. This location seriously needs a renovation. The room lacks good sound insulation (you can hear the traffic from the freeway very clearly), the shower water pressure is very weak and overall needs a lot of work. This location is quite run down and needs a lot of attention. I will probably never stay here again. July 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Access The proximity of this hotel to the trolley makes staying here most convenient. When you include Club level amenities, the week-end getaway is most enjoyable. April 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 housekeeping and restaurant in need of help We stayed for 3 nights and this hotel is in desperate need of a better housekeeping staff. The room lacked a trash can, washcloths and hair dryer. Please skip the breakfast buffet as it is pathetic. While we were there and it was only 10:00 am, none of the food was replaced. The oatmeal was like watery gruel, all food cold. One morning we were completely ignored for coffee refills as the waiters talked constantly to one customer in particular. Very loud talking. The best bet is to order ala carte (the salmon on english muffin was amazing). The front desk service is very good and understanding. They tried to fix all the problems we had with the rooms. They were receptive to all needs. The hotel is in desperate need of upgrading which we told was happening in the near future. Until that happens, I will not return even though I have been here twice before. April 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok hotel There are two things about this hotel that I didn't like. One being the dirty smell in the hallway on the 9th floor. There were a big pile of sheets left on the hallway floor for two days but the smell was there the first day and stayed there until the last day. Room was fine. The other thing is the parking fee. $14 per day. Just so people know you can park on the street in-front of the hotel at night and not pay the parking fee. July 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location this is in a great location and the staff was very friendly and the room was excellent. April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Since no shuttle bus from the airport, we have to rent a car but the hotel charge the parking fee, so you need consider that extra expanse. Location was very good, easy to get to most of tourist spots and also close to a mall. Bed was very confortable and the bedding were wonderful. Ironing board was too worn. maid forgot our coffee package but was sent up after we made calls. December 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is in dire need of improvements This is our second time staying in this hotel and it is our last. Each time that we have stayed at this hotel the elevators where not working properly...at times there was a 20!!!!min wait...with a line going out the door...guests were offered to use the service elevator which was also being used by hotel staff to do their daily jobs and the wait was just as long....clearly this is a problem with this hotel as other reviews have mentioned this problem.....when we tried to talk with the front desk staff they just took a "honey badger" attitude and basically left the guest to fend for themselves.....the jacuzzi is luke warm at best, the hotel itself is in dire need of an upgrade, everything is old and worn. This hotel is in a great location but so are many others and we will stay in one of those on our next visit to San Diego which will be in a couple of weeks. April 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mrs Am Platinum for many years-- not recognized. No water in the room. Wifi in room falls off about every 5 mins. Thermostat set at 65 degrees-- I like a cool room. Was so hot -- obviously did not work. At 6 a.m. sounded like an alarm going off-- checked outside -- no truck. Happened again about 8:30-- something outside-- never saw. Explained all of this at checkout -- no apology -- just told they would look into all. December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by What happened? My family has stayed at this hotel no fewer than 10 times and my most recent experience was by far the least satisfactory. I don't even recall being recognized as an SPG platinum member upon check in and had to call back to the front desk to inquire about which floors the gym and club lounge were located on. These are customarily reminded to me at check in. The front desk attendant (young, female) and her lack of customer service were extremely underwhelming. The only saving grace to this experience was seeing Ripa when I arrived in the club lounge to grab a banana for breakfast. She remembered me from my last visit nearly six months prior and even inquired about my family members who had accompanied me on our last visit. Her kindness, attention to detail, and exceptional customer service are the only reason I will consider a return visit on my next visit to SD. March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accommodating Staff Had a family reunion to welcome back someone stationed in the mideast. The staff was so helpful in assisting us. We are gold status and they were able to upgrade us. Carlos at the front desk was especially helpful. The only weak spot was the Club Level. Barely any food, not replenished very often, if at all, especially in the afternoon. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rooms to relax in - Great staff! If your in Mission Valley this is the hotel to stay at, both David ( Front Desk ) and Al ( maintenance ) made sure my stay was fantastic. Great staff and will be back thanks to David and Al. March 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check your bill Cashed in points for a free stay and found that the hotel charged $39.99 to my card. I inquired to see why it was charged and simply was told it was a mistake. I asked how they'll make sure it won't happen again and there was no response. So, I remarked that if they were giving an erroneous deposit that they would probably try to fix it. I don't think they appreciated the comment, but that's OK because I won't return. February 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by THREE AWFUL rooms This was such a bad experience. We arrived after a long day of travel, and were happy to go to our room which looked clean and inviting. However, the carpeting between the bed and the bathroom was completely soaking wet. I called the front desk and we were switched to another room directly below -- when we walked in, there was a humongous fan blowing on the exact same spot between the bed and the bathroom and THAT carpet was also soaking wet. Doesn't maintenance or housekeeping let the front desk know? The desk clerk wanted to have maintenance come up to check it out. Are you kidding me? I had to DEMAND another room. Room #3 - - wet carpeting yet again between the bathroom and the front door. We were so exhausted that we stayed in the room which got more and more disgusting smelling because of the wet carpeting. Really, Sheraton? That's the best you can do? I'll NEVER go back. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, great location We were in the area to help a relative move. We LOVE Sheatons and own timeshares with them. Earning points to stay there has been wonderful for us. My sister and husband stayed there, also. I absolutely LOVE the air freshener they use… all Sheraton lobbies smell the same. It's wonderful!! Besides having an issue with our billing/cost mix up that we had to go over several times, our stay was very nice. November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff We have stayed at the Sheraton San Diego on numerous vacations and have always been pleased. In the past some of my ratings would have been excellent but not on this visit. Although the staff were very good they were hard to find. It seems this hotel was short staffed on this visit and did not have the time to spend with each request. We will definately return and hope that the next stay will be better. October 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was Ok FOR THE FIRST COUPLE OF DAYS IT WAS GOOD. THE HOUSEKEEPER CLEANED WELL GAVE US ENOUGH TOWELS. (WE WERE LEAVING $5 TIPS BECAUSE WE HAVE KIDS). THEN AFTER THE FIRST COUPLE OF DAYS SHE DIDN'T GIVE US ENOUGH TOWELS & CUPS. YOU FIGURE IF SOMEONE IS LEAVING YOU A TIP YOU DO A BETTER JOB. I LITTLE DISAPPOINTED ON THE LAUNDRY FACILITY. (ONLY ONE) I WENT DOWNSTAIRS TO THE FRONT DESK ABOUT 0215 TO GET CHANGE FOR QUARTERS AND THE FRONT DESK RAN OUT. (I FIGURE I WASH CLOTHES THAT EARLY BECAUSE I KNOW NO ONE WILL BE DOING LAUNDRY) HE TOLD ME THAT I COULD GO UP THE STREET AND GET CHANGE FROM THERE. YOU FIGURE YOU HAVE ONE WASHER/DRYER FOR THE ENTIRE HOTEL GUEST TO USE AND IT IS OPEN 24HRS THE LEAST YOU COULD'VE HAD WAS A LOT OF QUARTERS IN ANY HOUR OF THE DAY. I DIDN'T APPRECIATE THAT. IN THE BEGINNING I ENJOYED IT BUT FURTHER STAYING THERE I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE STAFF AT THIS SHERATON. July 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Our stay was good, but not spectacular Overall, our stay was good, but it certainly wasn't spectacular. I didn't like the fact that the room had only one garbage can. Another can or even a can for recycling would have been appreciated. Also, I have a young child who needed to nap in the afternoons of our stay. The housekeeping schedule made these naps less convenient to coordinate. The hotel's location and facilities met our expectations. August 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A lot to be Desired I was very disappointed on check in to find out that internet access was not complimentary. I have been to many Sheraton properties all of which internet was included. It was also very hard to believe that when I went to take a shower there was no soap, shampoo, conditioner nor lotion. I have come to expect a certain level of service and Sheraton properties and this property did not live up to that. August 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could Have Been Better The room was comfortable, but the evening staff on both Friday and Saturday nights (at the front desk) were not very customer friendly. In addition, the morning staff, on Sunday were very helpful. However, there was some miscommunication between the front desk and the reservation line, because I was told by the front desk that I could cancel my reservation any time before 6 pm on Sunday, but when I talked to the hotline they said that I would be liable for the room. I then, assured them that I spoke with the hotel about the matter and they said that I would have to call the hotel. I called the hotel, but the young lady was new and did not help me. I called back right before 6pm and the young man on duty assured me that I was not charged. Even though it had been taken care of, I was not called and informed, causing me to stress about paying the extra money for a room that I did not occuoy, September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great staff Our stay was great and all the employees at the front desk were always more than friendly. Everytime we passed through they were always quick to say hello or incage in friendly conversation. I would for sure come back again. March 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location & property, with a few slips In general, our stay here was great for brining two kids for spring break to do parks, beach, etc. The staff was courteous, hotel is close to everything, free parking, and the club level waitress was SO friendly. The only snag we ran into were the eco-friendly program to defer housekeeping and the breakfast in the club lounge 2 of the days. The housekeeping deferral said we could opt out for any days we choose and get 500 points. Seemed like a good idea the first day, so we did the door hanger, then took it down the 2nd day. But, housekeeping never came back for the rest of our 4 day stay. We called the front desk and got clean towels, but it never got resolved. They were apologetic at check out and gave us some extra bonus points, explaining that it was a new program and staff wasn't understanding it properly. A little frustrating, but they handled it well. On the breakfast, as nice as it is to have, the first two days had a good selection including meats, pancakes, potatoes, etc. The last 2 days though, they only had oatmeal and hard-boiled eggs. It was a bit of a let-down from the prior 2 days. Would like to see that improved. Overall, we'd go back. It met our needs fine. March 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The fifth Floor I didn't know why I was placed on the fifth floor with the dogs. Why wasn't I asked if I wanted to have a room where pets can stay. When I checked out I asked the employee behind the counter was my floor for pets to stay and he said yes. I would have never stayed at your hotel knowing this and I do not understand why this wasn't explained to me when I booked the room. Very unhappy guest! November 2, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>