Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 355 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hottest San Diego Week -- A/C Went Out We stayed on the 14th floor for 3 days in a suite that was clean. Aside from the popcorn ceilings, the suite was large and airy. There are no free power plugs near the desk area so working was challenging. While staying there, the A/C went out from noon on a Saturday until we left on Sunday afternoon. This is not necessarily a fault of the Sheraton, but it was miserable. We were comped breakfast but it was a rough night. San Diego is normally in the 70's but it was a humid 85-90 this weekend. I thought we were in Florida. Pros: - Large Suite - Plenty of Parking - Free WiFi (Starwood Only?) - 12th Floor Lounge Cons: - A/C Died - 3 power outages - Elevators and hallways have no ventilation at all. Very stuffy. - Staff needed multiple phone calls to bring extra bath towels every day. - Beds were not the standard Sheraton/Westin/W beds. They were thin, creaky, and not very comfortable. Note, when the A/C died and the rooms were sweltering, we were not notified of any comps being offered. We went to the hotel restaurant and the server mistakenly asked if we were there for the comped breakfast! August 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lock your doors! Checked in at 11pm. Went to room. Keys don't work. This always irks me. Go down to lobby and express frustration. Desk clerk apologizes and says confidently, "these will work this time or I'll quit." Go to my room. Nope. Keys don't work. Go back to lobby and tell him I'm dragging him up wi me this time. So he comes up. Nope. Third time keys still don't work. But at least he's there with me to see for himself. He calls hotel engineer. Dude comes, tries key and knocks on door. And there is a man already in the room! Never occurred to me to knock. Good to know when door is deadbolted from the inside a new key wont work. So hotel clerk takes me to a new room. Double beds and I want king. So we go to another room. Finally this works. Takes 1 hour and it's now midnight. If I had my kids I would have freaked. I asked for nothing, but he promised spg points, so let's see...I should note colleagues checked in the next day separately. One went to her room to change. Then the other went up to what she was told was her room and walked in on the other woman changing. Clerk gave them th same exact room minutes apart??? What else can I say about this place. August 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Hotel needs improvement in Response to members I stayed at this hotel and the stay was pleasant. The in room facilities were good. But, unfortunately, I left my jacket in the room while I was hurrying and I called them within an hour of me leaving the place while I'm on drive and called multiple times before I reached San Francisco. The front desk person changed every time I called and I had to repeat the story again and again. The only response I got every time for next 30 days was they'll search and check with room service department / lost and found department and all me back which never happened. Finally, I stopped calling them to keep my respect. This is not an acceptable customer service handling from a place like Sheraton. June 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hidden charge I've been staying here most of the time for business when visiting SD, but wasn't aware that they've changed their policy by charging fee for self-parking. When I told the front desk that I've never been charged for it before, he looked at me and said that was 2013. It was rude treating your platinum member just like that. Their service always up and down maybe due to the high rate of employee turn over. I emailed my ambassador and won't be staying here again. We, service oriented corporate, do not tolerate bad customer service, in any excuses! March 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Changed room to connecting room with son & family. New rooms had very, very, very, dirty carpets. Baby still crawling and got very dirty every time he was put down. The rooms were clean otherwise. Suggest new carpet be installed. It's a shame Sheraton charges for everything - internet, breakfast and way to much for parking each day. (We only paid $8 a day at the airport for our car!!) Traveled north and completed our stay at a Residence Inn and had a hot complimentary breakfast each day, free internet and very clean carpets and FREE parking. Worth the extra we paid. April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff very accommodating Front desk people very friendly remembering me from previous stay, had my preferences noted and did their bst to accommodate. Luis, the bellman was efficient and knowledgable of our needs May 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad service and no customer focus Staff not qualified to service SPG members Non-responsive to customer questions/requests Room in poor condition Parking system not working July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by San Diego Sheraton Nice upgraded Sheraton in a convenient location July 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by It could be better Let's talk about the done well first. - Bed is good - Food is good at the restaurant - location is good - free wifi is good Now Do Better: - Toilet water tank is leaking. It was reported and reminded twice, BUT still did not get fixed after I check-out - Same thing this didn't get fix which is the fridge door is unable to close properly - lastly, the window which is huge, did not close properly for some reason, which is pretty noisy Swimming pool is disgusting where no one seems to maintain it because you can find insect body and the small leaves all over the pool and the whirl pool...so we basically quit immediately after we noticed the bad condition. The leaking of toilet water tank , I find a way to stop the annoying refill of water every 30 secs...is to shutdown off the main switch at night and turn it on in the morning ! As for the window, it is huge window, like a patio size, only a man or stronger arm people can completely close it, if not, the noise would also bothering your sleep. I would change to recommended this hotel ONLY if you don't care about the above and be able to fix it yourself. July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel was unclear on upgrade fees The hotel staff needs to be crystal clear on upgrade fees and ensure the rate is communicated in writing to avoid discrepancies. My bill was 50% higher as a result. Hotel also needs to respect and honor SPG Gold program benefits (250 points, late checkout, free Internet, upgrades if available). I travel very often and never have any issues with SPG properties, quite the opposite. There is a consistency in the level of benefits and quality of service that I have come to expect. That was clearly missing at this hotel. December 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to be upgraded The hotel looks and feel like it's 10 years overdue for an upgrade. The bathroom was extremely small with no countertop space whatsoever, and the wallpaper was peeling off. The carpet seemed old, and one of the lampshades had multiple tears. If this was an an upgraded SPG room, I would not like to see a regular room for a non-SPG guest. Given the location and number of guests I saw, it would seem like this is a hotel that can afford to put in the money to bring this hotel to the caliber where it deserves to be. March 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing staff! From the moment my group arrived we were treated far better than I had even hoped. Carlos, our front desk agent, went above and beyond to ensure our comfort. Check-in, check-out and everything in between went smoothly and effortlessly. We'll definitely be back, and will bring others with us! April 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value I choose to stay at this hotel during monthly biz trips to SD. For the price, it's hard to beat. Yes, most of the rooms are in need of updating/renovating, often times they are understaffed after 8pm, and the elevators are on the slower side. However, I've stayed at other hotels in the SD area and no other place will get you the amenities and comfort at this price. BTW, the Sheraton Heavenly Sleeper beds are the best!!! I'd put them up against your 4 and 5 star hotels. For folks needing more sq. footage, always ask for the delux rooms with the pullout sofa. The room is huge. For those with families, ask for the standard suite, or better yet, the largest suites on the 14th floor. To add, they also have a scaled down Starbucks station/barista available to you. Not bad at all! September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consider Staying at Sheraton Mission Valley When In San Diego I have been staying at this hotel since 2008. Have attended workshops there as well prior to then when living in San Diego. Most of my stays (3 to 5 days on average) while traveling in and around San Diego have been at this hotel. Consistently, the staff have been excellent, caring individuals who are really interested in making your stay an excellent one. The renovation of this hotel are well done. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area and my rating is definitely accurate! June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff The staff are always courteous and friendly. The location is very convenient and close to the zoo, sea world and the beach. Not to mention that there are a couple of malls within five minutes of the hotel. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by this hotel was not up to Starwood standards Hotel rooms on front side of hotel were ridiculously noisy due to highway noise. Request a room on hill side but downside of that is there are no balconies and windows barely open at all. Restaurant was out of many menu items I requested everytime I tried to dine there. Even to the extent of the milk not in stock for a latte in the morning. It was awful. the food I finally did get served was adequate at best. I don't normally post hotel reviews online but this one was deserving of the negative publicity. October 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Sheraton in name only Simply put, the rooms are unacceptable. Dirty, stained carpets, drapes, and furniture (that wouldn't be out place in a college dorm). Was in two rooms (the first was so bad they moved me) and the second wasn't much better than the first. If you face the highway, you'll hear traffic all night too. Shower pressure is non-existent and I ended-up washing my hair in the sink. The gym is pathetic and way below Sheraton standards. Only one elevator in service, which means you get to have a nice conversation with the "ladies of the night" that troll the lobby at night while you wait 10 minutes for the elevator (seriously). The staff know they work in a dump and try and placate you by telling you they are getting new carpets next year. That's the proverbial lipstick on a pig in my opinion. March 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Survey123 This hotel is probably one of the worst SPG hotels in the USA as far as Loyalty recognition. As a lifetime platinum member that usually stays at this property around 50 - 60 nights a year I consistently get very little recognition as far as room assignment, speed of check-in and/or just about basic expectation one would have of an SPG property. Last several occasion I have been assigned rooms right in front of the highway and in low floors with direct light from building illumination hitting the main window. It is just awful. I will be looking for alternatives asap. Even though i requested to speak to the manager in several occasion I never heard back or ever got a voice message from anyone concerned about what I may have had to say. This is just the poorest operated Sheraton Hotel I have ever stayed at. November 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice hotel but bad beds and sheets The hotel was nice, the staff was very good and helpful. The main issue I had was that the beds had cheap mattresses. They were very "springy", and thus bounced alot when you moved. I have a very expensive mattress at home so maybe I'm spoiled, but this bed was not up to par with other sheratons or even close to a westin bed. Also, very cheap sheets. Even if everything else is great, if I can't get a good night sleep in a bed, then I won't go back to a hotel. November 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place to rest and feel welcomed I've stayed at several Sheraton / Starwood hotels in Cali & across the USA and have never had a bad experience. The staff here were helpful and friendly (especially Christina at the front desk), the Maid service was prompt also. The hotel was clean inside and out and up to date, they even have the fruit water in the lobby waiting for you. Check with the restaurant for breakfast buffet days, I was unable to have it on a Thursday morning (that would be my only disappointment for this overnight stay). The location is off the freeway but was quiet inside the building. It is close to the fwy exit, in walking distance to restaurants and gas. On the other side of overpass is 2 shopping centers with more restaurants, plus a Target center ( maybe a mile walk away?). I will recommend this hotel / staff to my friends and business associates. June 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by June visit The hotel and most everything in it are outdated and well over-priced for the quality. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elevators were out of service We stayed in a suite on the 14th floor, and reserved a room for my mother on the 12th floor. The rooms are recently renovated and look beautiful. The elevators were extremely slow and later in the evening were not working at all. There were signs posted advising the guest to take the service elevator. We waited for 20 minutes for an elevator and some of the guest eventually walked down the 12 flights of stairs. Horrible exper January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room cleaniness Great location with easy access to the freeway and plenty of restaurants, shops & other local attractions. Unfortuately, we got a room and the bathroom that did not meet our expectation of clean room. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this hotel every time This is my favorite hotel in San Diego!!! from the décor to the balcony its just modern and a great feel! the beds are comfy and the hot tub is a plus. the parking is a little pricey BUT the location makes it worth it. (10min to downtown & 15min to the beach) The views are amazing from the higher floors (city view). Thanks Sheraton for making my stay worth coming back every time! October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Location The Sheraton Mission Valley was a pleasant surprise. The outside could use some updating but once your inside the property the accommodations are perfect! The front desk staff were attentive, and checked us in and out quickly. This hotel is located right along the freeway with easy access to downtown, shopping, and plenty of food options nearby! SPG is the only way to go! July 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff My wife and I just spent 4 nights at this hotel for a high school reunion and everyone on staff was wonderful. They made us feel like they truly cared about making our stay incredible. The only negative to our stay was the meals for our Friday & Saturday night events. Both meals could be rated as the worst meals that we have ever had at any hotel property. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some improvements Stayed at this hotel for the second time while we were in San Diego. We got an upgrade to a club floor suite, which was spacious. Staff was very helpful. The room's themostat was not effective, and they turned off the heat for the year, so even we raised the temperature to 80 F Degree, it was freezing cold! The evening snacks' variety was a bit lagging. May 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton ever!!! I don't normally write reviews, but I feel that the public needs to know about this Sheraton. Upon arrival at the hotel, it took us over an hour to check in. We booked two rooms, one for my wife and I and one for my children, and only one was ready at 5:30 pm. We phoned months earlier and asked to have the rooms close. Then were actually down the hall from each other. We were told we were lucky that they were on the same floor. This hotel had 4 power outages which knocked out the air conditioning. The last outage was at 10:00 PM and the hotel was completely dark. There were no emergency lights in the halls or the rooms. This knocked out the TV and when we called about it, we were told we were fourth on the list. We never say the maintenance person. The plumbing in both rooms were substandard. The toilet in my room leaked all night, and the faucets in my wife's room was loose and falling off. If you go, don't expect too much. August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service... I attended a two day class in Mission valley, and stayed at the Sheraton Mission Valley. I had neglected to keep my dinner receipts, and realized weeks later that I needed those dinner receipts for my expense report. I called the hotel, and explained my situation. Summer E. , a staff member, emailed me copies within an hour! Thanks!! June 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvements On arrival,(1) elevator not working. No HEAT in room 917. No help or luggage carriers available. On departure,(2) elevators not working.All guests and hotel workers trying to use service elevator. Second year in a row with a heat issue in room. I was offered 50% credit by an employee. That's the least you should do. Thanks January 3, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>