Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

  • 1800 50th Street
  • West Des Moines,
  • Iowa
  • 50266
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

The minimum age to check-in is 18 years of age.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 316 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Drake Parents We are Drake Football parents,so we overnight in Des Moines at least 7-10 times during Football season. We have stayed at the Sheraton 4-5 times in the last year.I Really don't have anything terrible to say about your Hotel. But more importantly I also don't have anything positive to say. I guess it's the little things that have me wanting for more out of our stays. Check in never has gone smoothly. The carpet in the hallway is a disaster. Breakfast is very overpriced. I suppose I expect better quality from a Starwood Hotel. We also stay at other hotels in Des Moines. Their staff at check in is always very nice and check in always goes smoothly. Although the hotel is older it seems that that take pride in what they are doing. Something is just missing from your Hotel??? October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend getaway The staff was friendly durng our stay. November 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I will pass next time... It's disappointing when you stay a a hotel and have to pay for WiFi access and breakfast. Most hotels, in your price point, offer both as part of your stay. For the most part, I've always liked your lobby; the waterfall is very peaceful. The meeting rooms were comfortable. I will probably pass on staying again as so many other hotels offer amenities which are important to me. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met Expectations Pros--Location, clean, Club Level, easiness of everything, quite Cons--Older lady in Club Level might as well go home. She sat and read the paper the entire time. Older gentleman who worked in the Club Level was awesome!! October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not So Great I found this hotel to be dated with a distinct damp and musky smell and high priced for what you get. I have stayed in many other hotels that are just as old but have been remodeled so appear much newer for far less. To get a higher rating they would need to bring the room decor into the 21st century and get rid of the smell. Also found many stains on the ceilings, floors and walls of the general hotel area. Overall a poor experience.. October 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Escalating Disappointment Over the course of this year I have accumulated 12 stays and 17 nights at this hotel for business travel. Each stay my impression of this hotel continues to decline. Upon my most recent trip the hotel continues to battle a sewage smell that permeates the property, even to my floor on the 10th floor. Elite status is often overlooked by all staff and you have to ask repeatedly for your amenities, like free wifi. When dealing with the front desk you would think the lines for all SPG properties ring there and the staff at the front desk prioritizes phone calls over dealing with guests. On top of this, my most recent trip to the property was on business and there was a reduced room rate. However, I was traveling with colleagues and knew we would be working on some projects and requested a larger room via the phone a few days prior. They said I would have a larger room on the club level. When I arrived the room was no different than those I was traveling with and yet I was paying an extra $90/night for the Club Level. When I inquired at the front desk (after waiting for the phone calls to end) I was told they would check with the manager and contact me. Never heard a word from them. I believe in the SPG brand but when I travel to Des Moines for business in the future I will seek a different property. October 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is not a good member of starwood This hotel could barely function. Upon checkin at 9:30 at night I waited online for nearly 15 min to check in and there was no special SPG guest line (which I am ,,a platinum member) I travel for work A LOT and wet out of my way from downtown in order to stay at this hotel- only to realize it could barely function as a business hotel. The speed of the staff was like a BnB! Also in the morning before I needed to check out and go to the airport, the front desk attendant was So slow in helping reverse a credit card charge for another woman, that he could not help me with any normal pace to get a new room key when I locked myself out. I tried to explain nicely that I needed to had to the airport but that did not matter, he moved so slow i could have broken into my room faster. Would NOT recommend. November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job! We were booked here for business & heard about some bad reviews, but our stay here was great. Nice rooms, clean, quiet & the staff was very responsive. I would stay here again. October 23, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>