Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

  • 1800 50th Street
  • West Des Moines,
  • Iowa
  • 50266
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

The minimum age to check-in is 18 years of age.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 240 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over priced Room was small, bathroom was smaller. No frig, microwave, I was there 3 nights. Club Room had a nice breakfast but veggies and trail mix at night. No sign saying there was a cost for drinks. Got a tab at the end. Few SPG facilities charge. If they do, they tell you. No notice. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Very comfortable rooms; plenty of space; very good breakfast. Wifi worked great. Only comments otherwise was two elevators for a hotel this size led to waiting. Also the 'club' on the club level had very limited access compared to other Sheratons. August 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't bother How this place is currently getting four stars is a mystery to me. I am a frequent business traveler and this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in lately. It all started with having to fill out a guest card at the front desk, even though I am a Starwood Preferred member. Why? Then I get to ride the painfully slow elevator through floors of stained brown carpet to arrive at a matchbox size room. I thought, "At least it's a corner room." Ordered food delivery and it was held at the front desk. If I would have known that, I would have just went out. Watched TV until the rain knocked it out. Tried to use internet with several hundred softball girls staying here. Yeah, no. Then the best part of the corner room is that there is an ice machine directly outside my door with a dozen people filling coolers at 5 a.m. If I could give negative stars I would. Not to mention the fact that my SPG account was "inactive", requiring me to call them, plus wiping out all of my previous points. I will be avoiding Starwood hotels from now on. July 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by What A Zoo I upgraded to the Sheraton being that the prior hotel i checked in was a nightmare! (Hair in the bed,food on the floor..ect.) Ill point out all the the things that I enjoyed first! I'm thankful that Steve at the front desk was able to allow an early check in for me for an emergency. I had to plug in my asthma breathing machine and Steve had no problem helping me out so thank you for that!. We went to the lounge bar once and the Saturday night male bartender was very kind. When it was time for check out Jason was very kind and patient. I did take note that Jason was working up in the front alone while trying to deal with my issue,check other guest out and answer phones all at the same time! It impressed me how he kept a smile on his face and did the best he could but in my mind I was asking myself "where the heck is some more help" Just like I had been thinking to myself that entire stay at Sheraton. The room was nice to me because it was way better than what I had just checked into the day before. Now when I stay at a Sheraton in Houston,Florida and California and compare it to your Sheraton....Your location is a DUMP. All the kids that were running around that weekend uncontrolled and un supervised was uncalled for. I realize you are not the parents of these kids but management needed to step up and take control of the this wild zoo. The kids were allowed to play and run as they wished.I got hit with a basketball. We had to wait 15-20min for an elevator because the kids were joy ridding on the elevators. The Hallways were trashed.We could not enjoy the pool thanks to the wild kids busting a window. When we went down to the lounge at 10:30pm that Saturday we could not enjoy ourselves because the kids were running around the bar lounge playing tag and then on the other side of me there were kids swinging from the lounge carries like it was monkey bars. No I ask...Why did management not step up and try to take control off this zoo. Why was there not a staff member in the elevator controlling this issue. Why was there not staff walking the halls to clean up after the children.There were other guest like us there that should have not sufferd because Sheratan wanted the booking numbers. My thoughts. low staffed and poor management.If you aiming for an upper class Hotel I suggest you don't book groups like that and if so they need to be regulated. Sunday comes and all seems to be peaceful now that the zoo has packed up and checked out. So Sunday was much more pleasant.The only downfall about Sunday was that for Mothers day we decided to enjoy lunch down at the restaurant in your lobby. We were not sure where to sit and I notice a staff member (Young girl with blond hair) just standing here smirking at us so i walked over to her and asked for help.Can you believe her response was "Ya I saw you over there and was going to just let you figure it out and after a few minutes if you couldn't I would have came and help" Mind you the place is empty. I thought that was so tacky but that would not be the last tacky thing coming out of her mouth. We ordered and that took forever and the food was cold.Before the meals came out i asked the waitress if she could bring the salads out before our meal....Her reply"Our manager wants us to bring it out all at once but since he is not here right now Ill go ahead and bring them out" Needless to say after that i just stop talking to the waitress.She had no class. The ladies that helped us at the breakfast buffet were nice but that was such a waste of $45. That food was so nasty.The hair cooked in my egg was a turn off and then I bit into one of the donuts and it was so stale. I just got up and excused myself from the table. So as your reading my overall experience was not good and I will not be returning and I will advise others not to stay there. I checked out on Sunday and request a days refund and Sheraton did comply with that but I found it tacky that the manager on duty did not come and show his face and personally apologize as if he was not concerned. So again my thoughts.... Poor management and poor staffing. Thank you to the few staff members there that were professional! May 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Accomodations and Care My short stay at this hotel was outstanding. The entire hotel was spotless; staff were courteous and helpful and the food was excellent. Room service outperformed the time they estimates and picked up the tray in a timely manner as well. I'd highly recommend staying here. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel! This hotel is excellent. I completely recommend staying here to anyone traveling in the Des Moines area for business or pleasure. Sara and Moe that work in the lounge upstairs are absolutely phenomal employees who care about the folks staying in the hotel. I will be back! October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great and comfortable This was one of the best Sheratons I have ever stayed in. Met some friends for a weekend of cards and the hotel provided us with a salon to play all weekend! The club room - clean and comfortable. Room was very nice and the bed was great! Will definitely return again! August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We always love this hotel This hotel is always a wonderful place to stay. We generally stay here 3-6 times a year. We are allowed to have our dog stay too. We also really enjoy the privilege of the hospitality lounge due to our SPG status and we especially enjoy the host of the lounge- "Mo". March 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Flag? We have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It lacks features often found in cheaper and more accommodating hotels. We were required to stay there as it was a group event. The commons area is very small. One would think with such a large hotel, and much unused space, you would have a place to congregate however the staff will not allow more than few people to gather even if you are not being loud or disruptive. The bar is not reasonably priced. They will allow the ballroom door to remain open and DJ music to blare after ten o’clock. A glaring double standard to their peace and quiet issue. The property is showing its age with worn carpet and broken light fixtures. Elevator service is very slow if there are very many people staying there. The fake plants are not dusted and decor is dated. Overall we were not made to feel all that welcome. To top it off we were charged for bottled water that we never touched. We called several times to have charges reversed but have been unsuccessful, in fact they are just non responsive. May 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GOOD IOWA SPG HOTEL This is a cozy little Midwestern property. You need to have a car here otherwise you will be stuck here. Iowa has its own charm so does this hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. If for whatever reason you are in the Hawkeye State check this hotel out. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive Staff I stay in a lot of hotels and the facilities were pretty good considering the area. What really made this a stand out for me was simply the people. The staff made me feel so welcome from the front desk to the restaurant, every need was met with follow up. June 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place to stay A nice place to stay. However it was the noisiest place I have ever stayed. One could hear people walking and talking in the halls and the waterfall was a bit noisy and we were at the far end of the building. Movie prices were outrageous. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2 Things Missing The Sheraton West DesMoines is a beautiful Hotel, with an excellent staff, and very nice rooms. The only two things I missed in my room were a small refrigerator, and a ceiling fan in the bathroom. Thank you for accepting cash for my room and deposit!!! August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place, Nice staff The facilities are just right for our meetings. Our room was perfect, the extra sitting room was so handy for small meetings and visits. The hotel is very well situated in the community. September 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel requires updating Hotel is outdated and in need of renovation. Not worthy of the Sheraton-brand name. Service-wise, I would think that house-keeping has a standard list of items that need to be re-freshed/re-filled in the room on a daily basis. This was not the case. October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 10 Stays at The Sheraton West DesMoines My wife, son and I stayed 10 times at the Sheraton West DesMoines over the past 6 months. We were very happy with the atmosphere, comfort, food and level of service that we received during every stay without exception. Our dogs loved the hotel too! March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Drake recommended Excellent hotel when visiting the Drak e campus. Starwoods points was 4500 a night. Which also let you have the complimentary breakfast and hospitality suite. Multiple restrurants within walking distance. August 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Titale The hotel is in need of repair. I stay here several times a year and each room smells, the carpet is dirty. I was not asked at the time of check in if I wanted to participate in the 'green' program. Very disapointing stay. July 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting better The renovation has made the hotel much nicer. The food was good and prices reasonable. The room was nice and clean but the hallway area needed better cleaning and upkeep. Food trays were left in the hallway for 2 days, until I called the desk. March 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Was Nice, Hotel Dirty My room was very nice. It looked as if it had been updated recently. The hallways were dirty, stained carpets and the same trash on the floor my entire stay. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay when in Des Moines My wife, son and I stayed at the Sheraton West Des Moines when in town for the NCAA wrestling championship. Great location, just 20 minutes to Wells Fargo Arena. Pleasant, knowledgeable staff. Highly recommend when you are in Des Moines. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Restful We stayed on a Sunday night. It was amazing! We practically had the hotel to ourselves. The bar served us dinner. We were upgraded to a larger room. Had a lovely breakfast in the Club room. We love staying at the West Des Moines Sheraton. July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay We enjoyed ourselves very much. As usual the staff was great. We used the gym and pool and it was very nice. The only thing was the water pressure in the shower was kind of pitiful. Other than that it was great and we enjoyed our stay. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Your hotel continues to impress me with excellent staff from the front desk gentlemen I dealt with, your waitstaff and the gentleman who delivered our roll away - all very friendly and accommodating! Love staying at your hotel! January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by sheraton DesMoines My only complaint: your website says free shuttle service. However, it is unavailable before 7AM due to an exclusivity agreement with the airlines. I wish I would have know that beforehand. You should clarify in your website. February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay at this hotel We had a wonderful time during our stay with the anniversary brunch at your hotel - delicious! The room was clean and inviting. I was impressed that you even provided a small bath scrungy to use with the gel. Thanks for that. August 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sunday breakfast As a baseball team, breakfast serving beginning at 7am didn't help us as we had an 8am game. For future purposes, please reconsider this as it does have an impact on future stays. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good pet policy It is difficult to find a quality hotel that will allow pets. We were pleased with the pets policy, taking a deposit against damage or soilage, rather than charging a fee regardless of whether or not the pet caused any harm. October 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed I have stayed here previously but this time was disappointed. The carpet had a big wet spot. Called CS but no one checked on this. The room was freezing. September 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was told breakfast was included When we booked our stay we were told breakfast was included. When we got down to the breakfast buffet they sat us down and we sat down, started eating. Then they told us we had to pay. Hotel is very nice. No hot tub though. October 24, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>