Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

  • 1800 50th Street
  • West Des Moines,
  • Iowa
  • 50266
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

The minimum age to check-in is 18 years of age.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad plumbing The room above me had trouble with the plumbing. I came back to my room late at night and found water all over the floor. Turns out one of the other people in my group also had this problem I had to move rooms at 1 am not fun. But the staff was friendly. Breakfast buffet was weak and over priced. March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 10 Stays at The Sheraton West DesMoines My wife, son and I stayed 10 times at the Sheraton West DesMoines over the past 6 months. We were very happy with the atmosphere, comfort, food and level of service that we received during every stay without exception. Our dogs loved the hotel too! March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but Love the front desk staff and the ambiance. The fitness center is very nice. The only two issues: I couldn't get the internet to work (nor could my wife and she had to cell tech support after being referred by the desk). Also, charging $2 for coffee when most places provide it as a complementary service is kind of crazy. Lastly, the breakfest buffet staff is not always the most friendly, but overall it's a good place to stay. March 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs maintenace The hotel has an awful sewage smell and needs better maintenance. My shower didn't drain and had rust on the bottom of the tub. The shower curtain also wasn't clean (mold) and the carpet outside my room was threadbare and pulling up. I also didn't like that the front desk treated even your paperwork differently depending on which level of starwood member you were. I would stay elsewhere other than this property. March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort Clean and felt safe and comfortable March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel My experience was really good starting with the reservations and going through check-in, the room, the restaurant. My only complaint is that there were a group of wrestlers there working out, and they went directly into the pool without showering. They were sweaty and smelled and took their workout clothes off and had their trunks on. They just dove in. Kind of gross. March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service exceeds expectations I had a few special needs and called in advance to ask for help. One of the managers Tim not only met those needs he went out of this his way to exceed them. Two young ladies at the front desk were proactive, asking what else they could do to make my stay better. They also were extremely enthusiastic and very genuine. I've stayed at this property before and will definitely return as I find the staff to be outstanding. The property is also immaculate and very nice but other properties in the area match them in this area. No one matches their service. March 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by sheraton DesMoines My only complaint: your website says free shuttle service. However, it is unavailable before 7AM due to an exclusivity agreement with the airlines. I wish I would have know that beforehand. You should clarify in your website. February 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not recommended I was very dissappointed with our stay this time. The water pressure in the shower was terrible and we all took showers at different times of the day. Nothing worse than getting a bad shower in the morning. Had to pay for a refrigerator, interenet. Really?? Those are just standard in most these days. Another party in our group got moved 4 times before they actually got a room that had not already been given to someone else. Would have to say the breakfast was wonderful, staff was very polite although not very interested in your issues. Sad we paid $250 for the weekend and walked away with the feeling of never coming back. If we would of felt like they tried to make our stay better, would have been better but very disappointed. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Team Last minute weather caused a change in plans. Booked 3 rooms, the staff was very helpfull, engaging and fun! Cocktails, appitizers and Breakfast buffet were all good. , February 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noise Our room was an average hotel room. A little small, but the price was right. The staff at the front desk was excellent. Every question I had, they had an answer and always with a smile. It was a little noisy. There was a lot of young wrestlers staying in the hotel over the weekend and they ran up and down the hallways, A Lot! The breakfast buffet was also average. February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall impression The overall impression is that the hotel looks a bit tiered. Wireless internet only available for free in the lobby. February 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average The whole experience was average - and cost too much to be average. The carpeting on my floor was clearly old and worn. The room was okay - but it took a long time to get hot water from the sink and the tub. And it took a long time for the tub to drain - so I ended up having to take a shower in standing water because I had to let the water run so long to get warm water and the tub barely drained. February 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by dirty bedding see below message to customer service. February 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcrowded, smelly, and outdated For the business traveler, this hotel does not provide a good work environment. There were people running around the hallways (this hotel has an open architecture design) and playing in the gym. The rooms are outdated, quite far behind other SPG hotels and other chains. The worst part is the bathroom smell you get when you walk in the front door...not exactly welcoming. Can't recommend this to the business traveler. February 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Internet only disappoinment is the internet. At these rates, I would think it would be complimentary. It is at most other hotels I use. February 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel is in a great location for the many activities in the Des Moins area. The rooms however, do need some updating, especially the bathrooms. Low water pressure in the shower and the decor is definitely from the 80's. Comfortable beds but the bedding is unusually loud (makes noise every time you move). All of these are minor issues for a great hotel. February 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always what you expect Never disappointed at this property - special thanks to Mo in the Club Lounge ... Hotel was sold-out so suite upgrade was not available but still a fine stay ... January 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton West Des Moines We really like the Sheraton, West Des Moines. The hotel has a good location. Staff is always very accommodating. Room is always clean and comfortable. And, the Waterfalls Bar and Restaurant has just what we like. January 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is SPG recognized here? SPG gold or platinum member check-in line is not respected in this hotel. The bath room sink drain is clogged. Internet usage fee was double charged so that I had to ask them to fix it when I checked out. Unless this is the only spg hotel in Des Moines area I won't stay here again. January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Staff and Experience Jon is a fabulous asset to you company! He provides great customer service. He always meets and exceeds my expectations when I make a request. And he does simple things like remembers my name from visit to visit! You know how nice that is to return to your hotel and be called by my name? This is by far my favorite hotel to stay in when I have to be away for hockey trips! Your beds are also the most comfortable! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Accomodations and Care My short stay at this hotel was outstanding. The entire hotel was spotless; staff were courteous and helpful and the food was excellent. Room service outperformed the time they estimates and picked up the tray in a timely manner as well. I'd highly recommend staying here. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected Pleasure This hotel was great! The staff at check-in were so warm and friendly. The Club breakfast was wonderful! It was a complete breakfast, not just the carb loaded continental breakfast. It was also one of the nicest Sheraton lounges I have seen. There was a slight smell that permeates into the hotel from West Des Moines sewage, but it was tolerable. When I asked what I was smelling, they were honest with me and offerred to move me to another room. We chose to stay put and the smell eventually went away or maybe we just got used to it, because it really wasn't as bad as other reviews mentioned. The thermostat in our room wasn't working and our room was colder than we preferred. They immediately offerred to have maintenance come up. We were ready for bed, so we just opted to have additional blankets. We later realized that we just had to set the thermostat 10 degrees higher to 80 to get to 70, so we were plenty comfortable. There was a gentleman that helped me get milk for my girls before bed. I wish I knew his name, because he was so kind and accomodating and made us feel at home. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable rooms Stayed her for 2 nights while at a convention. Rooms very clean and bed extremely comfortable. All personel were very helpful with everthing. This is my 3rd time staying here and plan on staying again. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Your hotel continues to impress me with excellent staff from the front desk gentlemen I dealt with, your waitstaff and the gentleman who delivered our roll away - all very friendly and accommodating! Love staying at your hotel! January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel I went to this hotel with my husband and two teen boys. The room with two double beds was plenty big enough for us and very comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed the in-room coffee maker and complimentary Starbucks coffee. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff We have stayed at this hotel in the past. It is always clean, great location and extremely customer oriented staff! December 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Soom good, so ok Comfy bed. Need new shower heads. Bathrooms are tiny. Check-in has improved. December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Great Hotel thank you for providing a great stay, my friend was visiting her daughter and this was the perfect location and very comfortable hotel, staff was great. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Courteous staff Staff were very nice and good service December 5, 2012
  • 2015-05-02T20:09:40.507-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_324, tr_324
  • loc_en_US, sid_1557, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 12 next>>