Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

  • 200 North Ashley Drive
  • Tampa,
  • Florida
  • 33602
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 418 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old This is a tired property. Needs major renovation. March 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay Accommodated me & my dogs. We had a great stay! October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel is ideally situated on The Riverwalk. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features Every thing was very good. Want to come back. December 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not reccomend hotel Very noisy hotel, very small bathroom March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great It was an overall great experience. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel Miss your old gm :) Great location. November 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Many things are overlooked Front desk and valet staff were the most friendly and helpful. However, no other contact with hired staff seemed to be as pleasant or helpful. Stayed for 2 nights for a convention hosted at the hotel. My room was not cleaned very well. Found multiple pieces of trash on the floor and in the drawers and closet. Remote had food smeared on it. The carpet from the door to the bathroom is heavily soiled and the threshold walking into the bathroom is heavily scuffed. The room seems to be in need of some refurnishing. The entire 5th floor hallway has a dirty laundry smell to it and suspect it is from the condition of the carpet. I enjoyed the view from the room. The TV was nice. The docking station for the iphone was helpful. On day 2, my room had not been cleaned by 7pm so I had to ask. On day 3, my check out day, they were knocking on my door at 8am... "housekeeping". Something appears to be unorganized with the cleaning schedule. Maybe it was just me? Meeting rooms were comfortable. Lobby bathrooms were almost always dirty and messy the entire stay. I enjoyed the close walking distance to surrounding businesses and establishments. I would suspect with little adjustments and change of staff (or efforts), the Hotel could meet all my expectations. March 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by extremely disappointed Front desk - good, friendly. Room Service - good - I had to ask for a fridge for my meds. However, for the price and reputation, fridge should have been there to begin with. Complimentary coffee - very bad - should be regular or decaf brand not a specialty blend. Cleanliness by staff - stayed there 4 days and housekeeping was very inconsistent with cleaning. Carpet did not seemed to be vaccumed at all in 4 days. Used towels on rack taken and not replaced, Coffee used 1st night not replaced - did not make it again anyway. Complimentary water next to TV not replaced. Shower did not seem cleaned on some days and shampoo/conditioner not replaced. Soap WAS replaced daily. Alarm clock/IPad/Radio was very difficult to use and dials hard to turn to get time correct as it was left unplugged. Bed and pillow uncomfortable. Breakfast buffet - very bad as scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage cold. Toast machine - did not toast, heck, butter placed on it did not melt at all. Overall, overpriced for what we got. Did not really have time to complain as I had to leave for airport. Shuttle service was adequate but not timely due to amount of persons he was taking around. Still it was free so really no complaint. Also other guests attending conference stated same as above. February 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need a Serious Remodeling Job Rooms need a serious upgrade. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Early check-in let us check in at 10am :) December 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty and Inhospitable Our problems started as soon as we arrived. Upon check-in, we were told (by a very snarky reservation staff member) that we couldn't stay on the top club level floor because we had dogs in our party. This was inconsistent with what we were told on the phone when we booked the reservation. The staff member then proceeded to say how "they didn't know what they were doing" on that shift. Our room: filthy dirty, door to balcony didn't work, bathtub dirty and without drain stop, TV had horrible reception, smelled of cigarette smoke on that floor. Plus the usual basic amenities of other hotels like a microwave, free parking, and mini fridge were all $25/a day EACH. The next day we asked a different staff member at the reservation desk to move us to a different room. She then moved us to the TOP FLOOR - the club level floor - the same floor that previous staff member said was prohibited because of our dogs!! That room was pretty much the same level of cleanliness. We met 2 other guests that had multiple dogs on that floor when we were there. They weren't told that dogs weren't allowed on that floor. We tried to make the best of our stay, but honestly it was such a dingy, inhospitable place it took everything we had not to storm out. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. July 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average I stayed here for three nights during the Florida Bar exam. While the staff was pleasant, my bathroom was really gross. The bathtub drain was so clogged that by the end of a 5-minute shower, you were wading in 6 inches of filthy, scummy water. We contacted maintenance, but it was never addressed. We arrived home after the test to find that the safety latch on our door somehow closed, so we couldn't get in. The maintenance man came immediately, but it was a little disconcerting to see him literally break down the door to get into our room. Housekeeping staff seemed to congregate outside of our room, which was at the very end of the hallway. They were so unbelievably loud that I had to wear earphones and use a white noise app on my phone just to study. They also failed to replace hand towels and a bathmat. Finally, on the first night we ordered room service. We ordered a club sandwich, but the server brought a Caesar salad, then looked at me incredulously when I told him the order was incorrect. He finally brought the sandwich, but the order was still wrong. We asked for no mayo, but it was slathered in mayo and it came with fruit instead of fries. I caught the server in the hallway and let him know it was still incorrect but he never returned with the correct order. Since we had to be up at the crack of dawn for the most important test of our lives, we gave up and went to bed. July 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Think Twice This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review regarding the quality of a hotel property. I travelled for business so I was not out any personal money for my stay. That being said, if I had the opportunity, I would moved to a different facility upon arrival. I frequently travel for both business and pleasure and this room was far below my expectations of a Sheraton property. Having requested a river-view room with a king size bed, I was disappointed to have a room facing the street with two double beds. I could have overlooked the accomodations had the room not been in such a state of disrepair. A huge crack ran the length of the hotel room ceiling, the very worn carpets were filthy and the upholstered furniture was stained. The headboard fabric was worn to the point that it looks as if it is permanently stained. I don't know how many times the walls and doors have been painted over but the paint continues to peel and bubble. The air vents had grime built up on them and yes...it could be wiped off...because I made the effort to try. My frustration was compounded by the group partying in the room next door until 3:00 in the morning... I received some satisfaction as I was listening to one individual throwing up as I was beginning my day the following morning at 6:00 am. On a positive note....the bed linens were nice and crisp and the restaurant food was well prepared and fairly priced. December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, needs updating The front and club staff and valet attendants are great and vital to this operation as is the incredible location to downtown museums, entertainment and TGH (hospital). The "free" shuttle for a 3 mile radius is a big plus but tipping is greatly appreciated. Rooms are in terrible need of repair and updating. Stains on carpet, furniture, walls and bathroom items, broken or chipped furniture and walls. Room cleaning was inconsistent in care and items given. Towels need to sorted and old, ragged ones need to disposed of not recycled into patrons rooms. Club room on 6 floor is an asset and the service is friendly and helpful but they do not serve any real variety for those staying more than a week. Quality of baked goods is poor tasting- you can tell it's packaged. I Would have used restaurant more for meals if it was decent- but it wasn't - small menu selection and not consistently tasty. Breakfast would have been better if there was a cheese tray selection, fresh croissants or rolls or danish (not packaged goods) or make fresh waffles or pancakes (cold ones on buffet) or even omelet station .Room View is great if your room faces the water....but if it faces the street, be prepared for city noise. Lots of loud parties- especially on weekends and you can hear through the walls and into the halls from your room-so don't go expecting a restful night sleep. Staff is friendly, smiles to great you at all times and willing to help you with most anything without a complaint. December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Valet service is fantastic! My family and I stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend for a wedding and had a wonderful experience. I am a mom of twin boys (3 years old) and was concerned that the hotel only offered valet service since it takes us so long to get in and out of our minivan and since we travel with so much stuff! But, as it turned out, I had nothing to worry about because Kerry made it so easy for us! I really cannot say enough about how excellent the customer service was that we received every single time we needed to get to our minivan. Kerry was calm, patient and extremely helpful! In addition, our room was well appointed and very clean. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of delicious options and the staff were extremely kid-friendly. It was easy to order kid-friendly food from the bar, as well. My husband and I ordered PB&J sandwiches for our boys, beer and calamari for ourselves and then sat by the pool and ate our lunch and went for a swim. Fun! Also, I should add that the wedding reception was really lovely. The staff were courteous and everything ran right on time despite the fact that there were at least 150 guests and that the dinner was a sit-down affair with 4 courses. Finally I must mention that the Glazer Children's Museum is within walking distance of this hotel and it is wonderful! Highly recommended! There are also 2 art museums within walking distance and the zoo (which is also very much worth the money) is within a 5 minute drive. Thank you for a relaxing and fun vacation! September 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, friendly staff, lovely pool We checked into this hotel for the last 3 days of our vacation in Tampa. The staff were super friendly and helpful - we were originally given a room with 2 double beds and requested to be moved to a room with 1 bed (it was just my boyfriend and I on a romantic trip), which was immediately accommodated. Pool is lovely, large, lots of chairs and right on the river so the scenery is nice. We ordered lunch from the bar on our last day and ate poolside, it was lovely and the food was very good. We had a room with a balcony but were on the street side, not the riverside - if possible, request a riverside room as the view would be considerably nicer (we only had buildings to look at, so we never used the balcony). As others have mentioned, the carpets were a bit worn, walls in the hallway looked like they needed a bit of paint, but none of that affected our enjoyment of the hotel. Only downside was that the bathroom was small, there is no fan in the bathroom (so when you shower, the mirrors fog up forever) and you had to flush the toilet twice a lot of the time to get the paper down. However, having said that the staff were super friendly, helped us get cabs to Busch Gardens, gave directions to local bar (Hat Tricks) and made a great margarita too! The front desk staff even gave us a late check out on our last day, after we got engaged...IN OUR HOTEL ROOM IN THIS HOTEL! For the location and proximity to the hockey rink, the price, the pool and the staff, we would definitely stay here again. April 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly staff I stayed at this Sheraton while in town for work. The staff was very friendly and the valet staff were above and beyond. There is a free shuttle with a nice group of guys that are knowledgeable about the city, and again, very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and the beds, pillows and linens are amazing. My only complaint about the rooms was that is wasn't as clean as I'd like. There was someone else's hair on the wall in the shower my first day (eww) and there was what looked like make-up on an armchair. It made me question the germs that I couldn't see. The rooms weren't sound-proofed too well either and my first two nights I stayed on the Ashley street side and was awoken multiple times a night by sirens, garbage men, and horns honking. I was on the 5th floor and I could even hear people in the middle of a Wednesday night down on the street. Once I moved to the water side, I had a great night's sleep and there is a great view of the Hillsborough river and UT. The continental breakfast isn't free. I found that out the hard way on the first day I ate there. You may have to see the front desk for a voucher. I'm not sure. It was awkward for the wait staff and for me to find out I was being charged $14 for some fruit and a muffin. I didn't bring down any money. The gift shop was very well stocked and has just about anything you could want. They sell beer and wine in case you want to stay in for the night. Room service was pretty tasty. I had the portobello mushroom sandwich and it was fresh, tasted great and well-priced ($10) for room service. The veggie lasagna wasn't as good. It tasted old and re-heated, was a little pricier and not up to expectations. Above all, the staff made my stay comfortable and I would recommend the hotel based on them, location and price. January 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by You can put lipstick on a pig, but it's still a pig This hotel was obviously built in the 50's or before, and while they are working to "update" the interior, the infrastructure of the hotel is still extremely aged and disgusting. My glass door to the patio was broken and had duct tape across it which had obviously been there for years, the carpet and paint and certain fixtures in the bathroom were updated but the furniture was 2-decades old and had stains. Regardless of new furnishings or paint, the hotel infrastructure such as doors going to hallways were 50+ years old, and had no sound stripping so you hearsd EVERYTHING in the hallways and I was directly across from the elevator. The entire place had an AWFUL odor, and the room next to mine they were smoking on the patio and it my entire room smelt like an ash tray. This property SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM SPG prgoram, even with the remodel it should not meet the minium standards of a Sheraton portfolio hotel. As an SPG Platinum member, I would stay at a non-SPG hotel in Tampa before I stayed at this dump again. And in regards to SPG, I was not recognized at check-in as a member, was not offered my choice of bonus amenity, and I had to go back to get my key recoded to access the loung (where the lounge employee was sitting watching TV and there was no food out. How can you be out, replinish! Then he poured me a glass of wine and it was obviously open for days and gone bad, so I just left and went to dinner to minimize my time in this dump. I suggest you avoid this property as the infrastrure will never meet SPG standards, and the management is also obviously not working to improve service. As a "road warrior" for 12+ years of 100+ hotel nights annually, this is my worst experience in recent memory. Shame on you SPG. November 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk My Wife and I stayed at this hotel over the past weekend, 3 nights. I must say that this is the worst example of a Sheraton that I have seen to my memory. The add on the internet said it has been recently renovated. They either missed our room (511 for managements sake) or they need a new contractor. For starters the Headboard on the bed was worn so bad, it is padded, that it looked brown, it was supposed to be white. The bathroom ceiling was covered in cracked and peeling paint. The overall condition of the room was what I would consider run down and would expect from a low end motel. We are members of SPG and were on a floor with a sign on the wall that stated it was the Starwood Preferred Guests floor. This being the case I would like to believe that these rooms are somewhat better than the other floors which begs the question, what do the other rooms look like? We should have asked for another room but due to the fact that we checked in at 1:30 and it was after 2:30 befoer they had a room ready for us, my wife and I did not want to have to wait for another room to be ready and move all of our items to another location. My wife droped something on the floor in the bathroom and when she bent down to retrive it she found a womans Head Band and some other foreign item under the Vanity. This by the way, was on check out day so I do not know how long these items were there but housekeeping staff had been in the room twice while we were there. The rooms do not have safes and when I went to the Front Desk to ask for a Safe Deposit Box I was informed that there were none left available. My Wife and I travel a lot and usually enjoy the Sheraton Hotels but this one proved to be the exception. The Staff overall were very attentive and polite, they were what I would expect from a Starwoods Hotel. The Restaurant and Pool were also what I would expect. My thought is the renovations they talk about have been done in all of the Banquit, meeting and common areas but there is a need for attention in the rooms, or we were put in a room that should have been out of service! November 15, 2012
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15