Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

  • 711 South Hope Street
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Children under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 2.7 out of 5 by 187 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by I've seen better for less They wanted to charge me $10.00 per box to deliver my dialysis solution to my room, The company sent them to the hotel for free. No thermastat in the room. No fan in the bathroom. No fresh air in the room. Charged almost $13.00 per 24 hours for wifi. And at least one of the bellmen were rude to no end. I spent 7 days there for a convention and wished I could have changed hotels. July 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and staff! Can't get a better downtown location, just a block from the 7th St. Metro stop. My wife and I were attending Cirque du Soleil Iris in Hollywood, but we didn't stay in Hollywood, we stayed downtown. There's a Red Line stop at the theatre, so it was simple to go back and forth. No driving! Lots of great new bars and restaurants in easy walking distance downtown. Self-parking is free at the hotel, which is rare in LA. We used points (only 7,000), so our stay was entirely free. Best of all, the desk clerk, Gustavo, took care of us--he's awesome. Upgraded to a great corner room on the 22nd floor. We stay here about once a month for an LA getaway. September 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not recommend, tired hotel No water from 9 pm to 3 am during my stay without earlier notice. Room was not clean and very tired, very disappointed in particular I was expecting a renovated hotel . May 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude bellman, our license plate got stolen We had a 4 night stay at the Sheraton. Upon check-in, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. However, the bellman was very rude, telling us he "didn't have anything to do with" the white paper I asked about - which was the parking pass to exit the deck. Each time we asked him questions, he snapped at us. When he loaded our bags for bell service, he was rude. My friend let him know that he was being rude and he said he thought he was being helpful. We chose to do valet parking and asked him if he needed our license plate number and he said no. So we handed over the vehicle key and headed to our room. He also failed to tell us to contact the front desk with our bell number so they will bring our bags up. The hotel is older and kept clean, but you can see that it's an older property. The elevators were terribly slow. The rooms were comfortable, except the air conditioning was an antiquated sytem and never cooled the room to our liking. Upon checkout, we called valet for our vehicle and bell service for our bags. The bellman who helped us was very friendly. When we got to the vehicle, we realized that the license plate was MISSING! We completed a report and met with security to prove that the plate was there when we checked in. The security cameras only showed the front of the vehicle. They claimed that there was no plate on it when we arrived. Hmmm. Once we checked in, we never took the vehicle out of the hotel valet parking until check out four days later. We KNOW the plate was on there when we arrived. They said they would remove the valet parking fees from our bill, which has yet to be done. We told them about the rude bellman and they said he's a new employee. The hotel is under a mile to the Staples and Convention Center. So a good downtown location. Several restaurants within walking distance. If you stay here, take a picture of your license plate on the vehicle! February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by too expensive for quality I stayed at this hotel for a family wedding. Most everyone in my party paid a lot less than I did for my room. I understand the hotel is going through a much-needed remodel, but I greatly overpaid for a dated, somewhat grubby room. Wallpaper was peeling, stains were on bathroom wall, vents were black and dusty. For almost $400 a night, I would expect a nicer, newer room, but I guess my rate is going towards funding the remodel. October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Renovations Did not know that the hotel was under going renovations when checking in. Long wait for elevators. Front desk upgraded me to a Jr. Suite but room 508 was directly behind elevators and quite noisy thru the night. However with all the construction going on, staff did the best they could under the circumstances. Amazing how they kept their cool when dealing with many upset guests. Staff should be commended for their attitude October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room not ready I checked into my room to find the last guest had smoked and the room reeked. A closet door wouldn't open and the toilet seat wouldn't stay up once raised. I reported this to the front desk. The offered me a brief apology and another room on the same floor. The next room was in better shape but the bathroom sink dripped. I probably cared more about this than I should because though my gold preferred guest status was acknowledged I wasn't offered a drink at the bar, in room internet access, or additional points. When the first room was in such poor condition I really felt I should have been offered something. The minor defect in the second room was the straw that broke the camel's back. It's probably worth noting this hotel is starting to either show its age or a lack of maintenance. I suspect the former. The rooms, particularly the bathrooms, feel old. The entire place with the possible exception of the lobby ought to be updated. March 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Downtown Location There are some renovations going on, but they are not at all disruptive. October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect and Everything I wanted and more Got to the hotel and they were doing construction. I immediately was upset. I pulled into a construction zone which was were valet was. The Valet attendant immediately said we apologize and I know this is an inconvenience are you checking in I said yes the Bell Hope grabbed all bags quickly. The front Desk saw my reason for coming out and upgraded my room took care of parking ensured i was able to go and get to where ever I needed to. The staff ran into an issue with the elevator every one was taking care of immediately and the issue was fixed. I know I am hard to please living in the Vegas area so to see such awesome customer service was extremely mind blowing. I cant wait to return to see it finished. October 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No next time Aware of construction but not aware of no restaurant. Dirty hallway, terrible bathroom--no vent, mildew on sink and bathtub, not nonslip tub mat, amenities not replenished, no bottled water. Two of four elevators not available. Charge for wifi. Low quality towels. Construction noise. No apparent security when entering at night. Unfriendly staff. Good things---comfortable bed and nice man at guest services. September 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by under renovation, everything was a hassle. When we booked for an overnight, we didn't realize this hotel was under a major renovation. When the valet took our car it was hard to find the elevator to get to the 2nd floor to register. Then back to the elevator (slow) to 9th floor room. Drinks and free appetizers on 26th floor but impossible to figure out how to get up there. The elevator was stopping at top floors and when the doors opened it was dark and totally under construction. Very eerie. Staff was not very courteous and spoke more Spanish among themselves (valet) than acknowledging the fact that they were in the process of getting our car. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice! Upgraded to a beautiful corner room! Lounge and room service were excellent. Friendly, helpful staff. Location is central to downtown. May 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Knew about construction but not about restaurants Only 2 SLOW elevators and access was from the street with no security Terrible bathrooms ----mildew, not nonslip mats low quality towels, amenities not replaced, no vent. Overall felt like a motel. September 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff training and room checks needed! Sheraton Los Angeles please properly train or upgrade your staff! The staff - I'm not quite sure how to describe it but between the incompetence at the front desk (quite shocking actually, not rude just completely clueless), to the incredibly rude bellman then on to experience the unorganized valet service your team is in need of some serious customer service training. The room - First thing I see is a large hole in the bathroom door as I enter the room, (this was on the club floor, not that it should matter) sugar all over the desk next to where the coffee maker sat and a layer of dust that I had to wipe off the nightstand before I set anything down, the best part was the large puddle of water on the bathroom floor that soaked an entire bath towel (I still wonder if the room had been cleaned or just made up for an existing guest). I tried to call to speak to someone and low and behold no one answered the ever ringing phone. I've never written a review good or bad, and maybe if it was another hotel I wouldn't have bothered, but I stay in SPG properties around the world knowing I will receive a certain level of cleanliness and service. LA Sheraton you didn't meet the minimum on either one. February 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Attentive Staff, and Lovely Rooms I spent several weeks travelling to LA and remember fondly the downtown Sheraton. It's central location makes every part of LA accessible and, the management were willing to work with my company to ensure that we were well-looked after. The day that I earned platinum status for the first time, the management sent a bucket of champagne to my room. Unexpected kindness and surprising attention to details made me feel very comfortable. Of the many very good Starwood properties near downtown, this was my favorite. November 27, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 This hotel needs work. Spacious corner room with views from 2 sides of the room. Bathroom plenty of square area, but not much counter space. Sizeable closet about twice the length of most standard hotel rooms. Comfortable bedding. Well insulated against noise. Provided daily complim bottle of water. Not sufficient lighting throughout the room, desk area, and bathroom. Wired internet about 1.5 mbps. Central heating not working. No television channel guide. Fitness center being rennovated. Elevators slow February 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs updating The hotel lobby and 24th floors where under construction. No warning this was underway. The elevators are slow and old. Only half of them go to top floor where workout room and club room are located. I didn't always get the right elevator. The temperature control in the room were old and hard to control the room temperature. No discount due to conditions. Otherwise staff is attentive to requests. October 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Clean Stayed here for a conference. Yes, the hotel needs updating, but the bed was wonderful, and I kept the AC on the highest setting all through my stay and was very comfortable. I had all amenities expected in the bathroom and there is a safe available at the front desk. The banquet staff was super attentive during our conference. There was never an empty water glass or coffee cup or dirty dish left on the table. November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected Surprises On my previous stay, i had casually mentioned to the front desk that my wife was joining me on my next business trip for her birhtday. Upon our arrival, there was a birthday card signed by the staff, as well as a complimentary cake in the room waiting for us. This speaks to the staffs attention to detail as well as stepping outside the box to make folks feel welcome. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Overall Hotel for Business Travel I have stayed here about 50 nights this year for work. The hotel is in a very good downtown location and overall I have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have always found my room to be very clean and everything in good working order. The workout facilities are exceptional and the Club Lounge is very good for a quick, convenient breakfast. May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in Downtown Overall nice Sheraton property in downtown LA. Property is a little older, but it's still a good value given the location. The club lounge needs to be enhanced...or maybe just closed. It's not a true club lounge. So, I wouldn't recommend spending extra for club lounge access. That said, I would return to this hotel in the future. June 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by LA 9/16 Hotel was under constructions and I was not inform at time of reservation, also the A/C did not work, it was very hot in the room and needed a fan to be able to sleep September 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convience and Repeat Customer I travel for business every 5-6 weeks and the Sheration Downtown has been the place for me. They are going through construction at the present time , but I have stayed before construction and am staying durning construction and will be here after construction is complete. I feel safe and know everyone is there to may my stay perfect. Tae Wan Kim helps to check me in as Victor Flores did in the pass. From room to parking I enjoy the spot and hopefully remain a loyal guest. October 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel bathroom was dirty, and the front desk employee was rude - called me a liar The bathroom was dirty, door and ceiling needed painting. The front desk employee lady said I was lying when I had a problem with the movies on the TV. Other problems too. Worst Starwood Hotel I ever stayed in. February 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel ever experienced Dirty rooms, louzy customer service, double billed my card December 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles The staff at this Sheraton is always fantastic, helpful, and treats its SPG guests like family...maybe even better! And the Club Lounge is great. I recommend this property highly! I've read some negative reviews and I am dismayed - if you treat any member of Mr. Gomez' staff with even a modicum of respect, they will resolve any issue you might incur - even at a property as busy and popular as this one is. The Sheraton Downtown Los Angeles Hotel is a keeper!! March 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience ever! As a frequent traveler with status with 4 hotel chains including Starwood, I have had one of the worst experience staying at this hotel 3 nights ago. When I checked in, I asked for a quiet room away from the elevator, ice machine and storage room since I am a light sleeper and they gave me a room that the fan was so loud that I wasn't able to sleep even after I turned if off and I finally had to call the engineer to come and fix it at 3am. The engineer then told me that apparently they gave me a room right below the fan on top of the roof that can't be shut off and I need to move to another room and they again promised me a quiet room. They also offered 10,000 points (which meant nothing compare to the inconvenience) but I thought it was a nice gesture but I never received the promised points. In fact, the room they moved me to is close to the elevators and I can hear them going up and down but it was already 4am in the morning and I need to get up in few hours so I just turned on my music to hope to get some sleep. This really messed up my body clock. I never get headaches and I have been getting them for couple of days now and it is 3 am right now and I am unable to sleep. I tried calling the front desk in the morning to share my horrific experience with the manager but no one bothered to even answer my call. After my morning meeting, I called the hotel again and left a message for the manager and have not received any response as of today. Needless to say, I will never stay at this hotel ever again and if you want a quiet night of sleep, I suggest you look else where too! August 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Property construction definitely impacts guest comfort It is unfortunate that this hotel claims ongoing construction will not impact guest comfort. I found this definitely not to be the case. I was forced to stay here for six nights due to the booking constrains of a convention, and those nights were unpleasant ones. The in-room air conditioning control, which comprised of a manual temperature slider straight out of the 1970's, did nothing to lower the room temperature below the ambient 76 degrees. Zero airflow was coming from the duct. And the hairdryer level noise emitted from that duct did not help with peaceful sleep. The elevator call button summoned a car in avg. time of 5 minutes - not an exaggeration as this was timed. From my room, the staircase down to street level was quicker. And staircase access from guest registration, which was moved to the 2nd floor, was blocked for construction so I was forced to wait for the elevator to go one floor down. This property is in desperate need of a room by room facelift and I would most strongly recommend not staying here during its refit. October 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not my best stay There is definitely something missing from my recent stays at the Downtown Sheraton. I have been a Fan, frequent guest and am a Platinum member. Where's your spark, Folks? The elevator service has become atrocious. The customer service levels are just adequate from the Front Desk to the Concierge/Bellman. The gym is functional but needs to be watched at peak loads. The Club service is still very nice but everybody else needs to get back on track. Please step up your game. The charges are too high for such an average experience. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy memories staff is friendly; room is clean, comfortable bed, and spacious; food is excellent; centrally located; you walk out into a mall; safe because there is security roaming around; there is car rental office; parking and the hotel is pricey but it is all worth it. Do not leave without eating at the restaurant. May 10, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>