Sheraton Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

  • 711 South Hope Street
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Children under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 2.7 out of 5 by 193 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under remodeling but worth it The hotel is undergoing remodeling. the staff recognizes the inconvenience and helps their guests out throughout the stay. December 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude bellman, our license plate got stolen We had a 4 night stay at the Sheraton. Upon check-in, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. However, the bellman was very rude, telling us he "didn't have anything to do with" the white paper I asked about - which was the parking pass to exit the deck. Each time we asked him questions, he snapped at us. When he loaded our bags for bell service, he was rude. My friend let him know that he was being rude and he said he thought he was being helpful. We chose to do valet parking and asked him if he needed our license plate number and he said no. So we handed over the vehicle key and headed to our room. He also failed to tell us to contact the front desk with our bell number so they will bring our bags up. The hotel is older and kept clean, but you can see that it's an older property. The elevators were terribly slow. The rooms were comfortable, except the air conditioning was an antiquated sytem and never cooled the room to our liking. Upon checkout, we called valet for our vehicle and bell service for our bags. The bellman who helped us was very friendly. When we got to the vehicle, we realized that the license plate was MISSING! We completed a report and met with security to prove that the plate was there when we checked in. The security cameras only showed the front of the vehicle. They claimed that there was no plate on it when we arrived. Hmmm. Once we checked in, we never took the vehicle out of the hotel valet parking until check out four days later. We KNOW the plate was on there when we arrived. They said they would remove the valet parking fees from our bill, which has yet to be done. We told them about the rude bellman and they said he's a new employee. The hotel is under a mile to the Staples and Convention Center. So a good downtown location. Several restaurants within walking distance. If you stay here, take a picture of your license plate on the vehicle! February 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room not ready I checked into my room to find the last guest had smoked and the room reeked. A closet door wouldn't open and the toilet seat wouldn't stay up once raised. I reported this to the front desk. The offered me a brief apology and another room on the same floor. The next room was in better shape but the bathroom sink dripped. I probably cared more about this than I should because though my gold preferred guest status was acknowledged I wasn't offered a drink at the bar, in room internet access, or additional points. When the first room was in such poor condition I really felt I should have been offered something. The minor defect in the second room was the straw that broke the camel's back. It's probably worth noting this hotel is starting to either show its age or a lack of maintenance. I suspect the former. The rooms, particularly the bathrooms, feel old. The entire place with the possible exception of the lobby ought to be updated. March 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Stay With all the construction going on, it was an awkward and frustrating stay, with some inconvenient amenities. The room (2204) smelled of smoke. There was dry wall dust in the corridor. There was no water pressure in the shower, basically a trickle, the toilet paper roll was in the closet, not next to the toilet. The coffee pot overflowed because the coffee pouch was too big for the tray. When we spoke to the front desk, we were told the water pressure was a normal thing because of the shower head that was installed, and it's the hotel policy to keep the toilet paper in the closest and not next to the toilet. Lastly, the construction workers started banging away at 7:25 AM.....not the way to wake up. I've stayed at this hotel over 20 times in the last 2 years because it convenient for my business which is located in Macy's Plaza. After this experience, I'll stay up the street at the Bonaventure, or at Hilton Checkers. November 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice! Upgraded to a beautiful corner room! Lounge and room service were excellent. Friendly, helpful staff. Location is central to downtown. May 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff training and room checks needed! Sheraton Los Angeles please properly train or upgrade your staff! The staff - I'm not quite sure how to describe it but between the incompetence at the front desk (quite shocking actually, not rude just completely clueless), to the incredibly rude bellman then on to experience the unorganized valet service your team is in need of some serious customer service training. The room - First thing I see is a large hole in the bathroom door as I enter the room, (this was on the club floor, not that it should matter) sugar all over the desk next to where the coffee maker sat and a layer of dust that I had to wipe off the nightstand before I set anything down, the best part was the large puddle of water on the bathroom floor that soaked an entire bath towel (I still wonder if the room had been cleaned or just made up for an existing guest). I tried to call to speak to someone and low and behold no one answered the ever ringing phone. I've never written a review good or bad, and maybe if it was another hotel I wouldn't have bothered, but I stay in SPG properties around the world knowing I will receive a certain level of cleanliness and service. LA Sheraton you didn't meet the minimum on either one. February 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Attentive Staff, and Lovely Rooms I spent several weeks travelling to LA and remember fondly the downtown Sheraton. It's central location makes every part of LA accessible and, the management were willing to work with my company to ensure that we were well-looked after. The day that I earned platinum status for the first time, the management sent a bucket of champagne to my room. Unexpected kindness and surprising attention to details made me feel very comfortable. Of the many very good Starwood properties near downtown, this was my favorite. November 27, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 This hotel needs work. Spacious corner room with views from 2 sides of the room. Bathroom plenty of square area, but not much counter space. Sizeable closet about twice the length of most standard hotel rooms. Comfortable bedding. Well insulated against noise. Provided daily complim bottle of water. Not sufficient lighting throughout the room, desk area, and bathroom. Wired internet about 1.5 mbps. Central heating not working. No television channel guide. Fitness center being rennovated. Elevators slow February 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing stay Facility was below standard Sheraton quality, staff was unprofessional and comparable to lower end hotel staff. My husband and I were woken up by construction sounds at 7:00 a.m. When I contacted the front desk manager regarding high level of noise, she disappointingly offered no resolution, no apologies...blamed the noise on nearby plaza. November 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by UNDER RENOVATION THE RENOVATIONS VERY BAD, BAD FOOD IN LOUNGE, BAD ATTITUDE AT CHECK OUT, DID NOT WANT TO KEEP THE PROMISE THEY MADE AT THE CHECK INN REGARDING FREE INTERNET, VERY VERY BAD ELEVATORS, STAFF VERY RUDE AND BITTER, NEVER SMILE November 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE THIS HOTEL THE SHERATON IS ABSOLUTELY MY FAVORITE HOTEL. I TYPICALLY STAY AT THE ONE IN CERRITOS, CA OR ALBUQUERQUE UPTOWN. THE BEDS ARE WONDERFUL AND THE SERVICE IS EXCEPTIONAL EVERY TIME. STEPHANIE SEELY HAS ALWAYS BEEN EXTREMELY HELPFUL. November 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and Clean Stayed here for a conference. Yes, the hotel needs updating, but the bed was wonderful, and I kept the AC on the highest setting all through my stay and was very comfortable. I had all amenities expected in the bathroom and there is a safe available at the front desk. The banquet staff was super attentive during our conference. There was never an empty water glass or coffee cup or dirty dish left on the table. November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Overall Hotel for Business Travel I have stayed here about 50 nights this year for work. The hotel is in a very good downtown location and overall I have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have always found my room to be very clean and everything in good working order. The workout facilities are exceptional and the Club Lounge is very good for a quick, convenient breakfast. May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Downtown Good location for downtown activities and business mneetings. November 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in Downtown Overall nice Sheraton property in downtown LA. Property is a little older, but it's still a good value given the location. The club lounge needs to be enhanced...or maybe just closed. It's not a true club lounge. So, I wouldn't recommend spending extra for club lounge access. That said, I would return to this hotel in the future. June 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel bathroom was dirty, and the front desk employee was rude - called me a liar The bathroom was dirty, door and ceiling needed painting. The front desk employee lady said I was lying when I had a problem with the movies on the TV. Other problems too. Worst Starwood Hotel I ever stayed in. February 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel ever experienced Dirty rooms, louzy customer service, double billed my card December 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles The staff at this Sheraton is always fantastic, helpful, and treats its SPG guests like family...maybe even better! And the Club Lounge is great. I recommend this property highly! I've read some negative reviews and I am dismayed - if you treat any member of Mr. Gomez' staff with even a modicum of respect, they will resolve any issue you might incur - even at a property as busy and popular as this one is. The Sheraton Downtown Los Angeles Hotel is a keeper!! March 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience ever! As a frequent traveler with status with 4 hotel chains including Starwood, I have had one of the worst experience staying at this hotel 3 nights ago. When I checked in, I asked for a quiet room away from the elevator, ice machine and storage room since I am a light sleeper and they gave me a room that the fan was so loud that I wasn't able to sleep even after I turned if off and I finally had to call the engineer to come and fix it at 3am. The engineer then told me that apparently they gave me a room right below the fan on top of the roof that can't be shut off and I need to move to another room and they again promised me a quiet room. They also offered 10,000 points (which meant nothing compare to the inconvenience) but I thought it was a nice gesture but I never received the promised points. In fact, the room they moved me to is close to the elevators and I can hear them going up and down but it was already 4am in the morning and I need to get up in few hours so I just turned on my music to hope to get some sleep. This really messed up my body clock. I never get headaches and I have been getting them for couple of days now and it is 3 am right now and I am unable to sleep. I tried calling the front desk in the morning to share my horrific experience with the manager but no one bothered to even answer my call. After my morning meeting, I called the hotel again and left a message for the manager and have not received any response as of today. Needless to say, I will never stay at this hotel ever again and if you want a quiet night of sleep, I suggest you look else where too! August 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by under renovation, everything was a hassle. When we booked for an overnight, we didn't realize this hotel was under a major renovation. When the valet took our car it was hard to find the elevator to get to the 2nd floor to register. Then back to the elevator (slow) to 9th floor room. Drinks and free appetizers on 26th floor but impossible to figure out how to get up there. The elevator was stopping at top floors and when the doors opened it was dark and totally under construction. Very eerie. Staff was not very courteous and spoke more Spanish among themselves (valet) than acknowledging the fact that they were in the process of getting our car. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy memories staff is friendly; room is clean, comfortable bed, and spacious; food is excellent; centrally located; you walk out into a mall; safe because there is security roaming around; there is car rental office; parking and the hotel is pricey but it is all worth it. Do not leave without eating at the restaurant. May 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better then expected I read some of the other reviews on the site and went there not sure what the hotel was like...yes the hotel is a little dated but the staff makes up for it.. from Jessica who checked us in to the Bell person Geovanny who gave us great direction to the Staples Center and places near by...even the House keeper notified maintenance about our slow drain and was repaired before we got back to our room...we had a great time and will be back if we are in that area again March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice and convenient LA downtown hotel This is what one would expect from Sheraton brand! Friendly staff, good valet parking, comfortable room with everything you need while travelling, good club lounge with helpful staff and tasty food, convenient localization in LA downtown. i was very happy to spend there almost 3 days. Thank you! March 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very bad experience Recently stayed 5 nights in the hotel as part of my family's 3 weeks' vacation in West Coast USA, the experience is the worst among all the 8 hotels. Understand the hotel is undergoing renovations and hence some inconvenience is expected (which I can accept), however I must say that security was unexpectedly poor for a international hotel chain. Two incidents happened during our stay: 1) When we were walking back to our hotel one evening (around 5-6pm), we were approached by a shabbily dress lady near the lift lobby. She was holding some roses (guessed pretending to sell) and kept asking us where is the lounge. We ignored her and entered the lift, she actually followed us in. Fearing for my family's safety, i decided to alight at Level 2 and went to the recept. The lady actually continued to follow us. All these while, I was very sure the valet parking staff/bell boy on level 1 or concierge at level 2 must have noticed her, but NO ONE did anything. Very disappointing. - we noticed 2 men eating the complimentary breakfast during one of the morning. Again they were dressed very shabbily (actually clothes were dirty) and do not looked like a hotel guest. They were looking around at people very suspiciously as they consume the food. My family did not enjoy our stay nor rest well due to concern about our security. We were very relieved when our final day came and we checked out. Never have the same problem in the other hotels that we stayed in US. November 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by LADT I hope the renovation gets done soon. This is a fine hotel with excellent proximity to the metro system. Services and amenities are suffering during the renovation. November 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 3 NIGHTS IN CLUB ROOM NICE LOUNGE AND SPACIOUS ROOM. BUT INTERNET SPEED IS HORRIBLE. PLUS, DONT EVER SCHEDULE ANY TRIP WITH THE BELL SERVICE ATTACHED TO THE FRONT DESK -- REMEMBER!! January 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be Mindful of Construction Going On The staff did a great job of accommodating my needs; however, there is a constructuion project going on that results in a delay in elevator wait times and some noise starting at about 6:45 am and lasting through the day. Because of our corporate rate and the location, I would stay there again, even with the construction, as I did not find the issues to be "deal breakers." Just be aware of the project before you book. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok Stay We stayed here for one night while in town for a Dodger game. Their location is great and the room spacious and the bed/ pillows very comfortable. Check-in was quick and employee was friendly and helpful. The reason for my 3-star overall rating is for my check-out experience. There was no hot water when we returned Monday night about 10pm and again the next morning for our shower. The water was 'warm, would get cool and then back to warm'. I was able to shower, quickly. My disappointment was when I mentioned the inconvenience at my checkout, the employee's comment was an unempathic "oh - I have not heard about no hot water from anyone else? It much have been just your room." And then continued to process my check out. Really, that is your response to a customer? Why did you even ask me "So how was your stay with us?" if you don't really care. Empathy needs to be added to your customer service training. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No next time Aware of construction but not aware of no restaurant. Dirty hallway, terrible bathroom--no vent, mildew on sink and bathtub, not nonslip tub mat, amenities not replenished, no bottled water. Two of four elevators not available. Charge for wifi. Low quality towels. Construction noise. No apparent security when entering at night. Unfriendly staff. Good things---comfortable bed and nice man at guest services. September 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Knew about construction but not about restaurants Only 2 SLOW elevators and access was from the street with no security Terrible bathrooms ----mildew, not nonslip mats low quality towels, amenities not replaced, no vent. Overall felt like a motel. September 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>