Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • (2nd and Walnut Streets)
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 439 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll be back What a great location - walking distance to so many attractions. The rooms were exceptionally clean. It looked like it had been recently renovated, everything was like new. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't get a chance to take advantage of the pool but it looked very inviting as well. We enjoyed a drink at the Taste and although the bartender/waiter was very busy with a large wedding party we weren't ignored. I checked into hotels to stay while attending a concert at the Susquehanna Bank and this was the perfect place. We booked the Philly Overnight Pkg which included parking and the rate was still cheaper than a lot of other hotels. We will definitely be going back for a night of partying in Philly. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definition of "accessible" a bit inconsistent While we enjoyed our stay overall, I must say that the room was a bit confused about its accessibility. The bathroom in the room was very accessible, although the mirror was at eye level for a standing person, not a person sitting in a wheelchair; alas, I was only able to see the top of my head. The size of the room and maneuverability were great, but the top of the mattress started up close to my armpit, rather than more level with my seat, making it impossible for me to get myself into bed without help. Once in, though, the bed was tremendously comfortable! November 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location to Historical sites Hotel was clean and comfortable. The Club Room food and amenities were among the best. Only criticism was the size of the bathroom. Very small and not enough surface to lay out toothbrush, make-up, etc. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but... If not for the noisy rooms and lukewarm water, I would have highly recommended this hotel. The water was warm when turned to the hottest setting, but worse than that was the noise. Room doors echoed, showers and toilet flushes seemed to be coming from my bathroom, but were from others around me. We were tucked back at the end of the hallway, so I don't know if it would be better or worse somewhere else. If you sleep deeply, you should be fine, but for a light sleeper like me it was torture. Hotel location is excellent with lots of transportation options and great restaurants and bars nearby. Lobby is nice, workout facility includes separate treadmill room and weight room with dumbbells up to 50 lbs. Room was nice, but very little dresser drawer storage. I would love to be able to recommend this hotel, but the rooms are just too noisy. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this hotel! My family (including 7 and 9 year old kids) stayed here for our first time to Philadelphia. I chose this hotel for its location and price--I'd choose it again because of its fantastic, quality staff! People really make a difference here! From front desk, to concierge, to valet, to maid service, to bartender, we were never disappointed. Stephanie H. in customer service was absolutely the best--I just didn't expect this level of service! The room was very nice, too, along with a great bathroom. We originally booked three nights there, but ended up extending it to six because it was just too comfortable to leave. Having the Hertz cars at the hotel made it super easy to just do day trips from there! I would absolutely recommend this hotel! August 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Price to park, Food cost The hotel is very nice, used my SPG points for entire 4 day stay. (I would not have paid those room prices) as I am budget conscience. If you want to park on the hotel property, you must use their Valet service (which unless you ask when making a resv. they usually don't mention it.) Parking is at least $ 32.00 each night, (parking next door (security?) is only $12.00 per night). Food although very good was expensive. (If you want to eat in the room, order the food from the restaurant and get the coffee, juice from the 'Starbucks' stand, (you might save a few bucks). They know that once you get back to the hotel (for the night) you probably won't leave for food. Also, the Sheraton sign (on the back of the building is covered by trees). August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valentine's getaway The facility itself was quite nice and modern. The room was clean and roomy. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We were awakened by a woman crying in the hallway at 3am followed by a man calling her name down the hallway and several doors slamming at 5am. Not the fault of the hotel, just the other guests. Dinner at The Taste restaurant was very good. Breakfast buffet the next morning at the same hotel restaurant was quite nice but all of the food was lukewarm or cold. We would likely stay at this hotel again. February 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great historic location Very nice fourth floor (top?) room. Some odd noises at times. In otherwise lovely bathroom (shower only - which is fine with me), while standing at sink, I'd hear a noise like rattling from left-hand side of wall. When I put my hand on the wall, it stopped. When I removed my hand, it resumed. Very odd. Couldn't hear noise in other parts of room, though. A few small, nonthreatening insects in bathroom. A/C was loud and vent was pointed right at the bed. Had to be sure to turn away from it when sleeping. Convenient Hertz car rental desk in hotel. August 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy, noisy, noisy There was an event going on during our stay and there were a lot of very happy and inebriated people roaming the halls until about 3:30 in the morning. This led to very poor sleep for me and my family. The second night, after the event, was much quieter. Almost all of the noise came right through the door - would a thicker or more soundproof door be better? Almost certainly yes. April 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Location, location Came here with my teenage grandson. Connecting rooms were perfect for us. The staff out front of the hotel were extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist us with directions and recommendations. The concierge inside was either away from the desk or, if there, didn't seem particularly interested in helping. All in all it was a good decision to stay here. One thing though, why do you not have ice machines on all floors! It is very inconvenient to have to go to another floor. That is assuming you can find it -- a little confusing. July 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Old City Hotel but Expensive I booked the hotel for a family of four for 3 nights using Star Points. The booking process was seamless and check-in went smoothly. Valet parking is available but not self-parking. The fee for valet plus city tax was outrageous so we moved our rental car to a nearby parking garage for less than half the daily price. The rooms were nice but did not have a small refrigerator. The hotel restaurant was convenient but also very expensive, which leads me to believe this hotel is better suited for the business traveler who is not on a budget. July 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad stay My check in experience was not good. They did not review my profile, placed me in an accessible rm when the hotel was not full and did not offer the Platnum offers. Jordon the manager on duty was very responsive after I reported late room service with cold food. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, Great Stay! Was in town over the holiday weekend and there was not a single moment where the staff was not cordial and professional. After checking in, the front desk clerk remembered me and acknowledged me every time thereafter. Restaurant staff was exceptional all weekend. We ate and drank in the lounge throughout and everything was wonderful. I can also not say enough about the location of the hotel. You can easily walk to restaurants and entertainment locations. This WILL be my preferred location from now on when staying in Philadelphia. December 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased We were very pleased with our stay. ALL of the staff was very friendly and pleasant from front desk to room attendants. My kids loved the indoor pool with skylights. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, so I did not rate this area. We would definitely stay here again. April 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ups and Downs This hotel is an amazing location. 5 stars for placement to anything in the city. Beyond that, there's room for improvement. Slow, and unhelpful staff that were less than accommodating, loud noises through out the hotel all night long, and little to no communication between the staff when requested. At one point to call the front desk had a 6 minute wait time. Very disappointing considering I hold starwood to the highest standards, as when staying in other locations, your service was impeccable. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overnight stay for a wedding Hi, Great stay. Hotel is very beautiful and clean. Staff was wonderful. Love the valet parking. Had a wonderful time. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton - Society Hill Philadelphia One of the best nights sleep in a hotel ever. The bed and pillows were perfect and the bedding added to the experience, thanks. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but poor internet We spent 4 days in the hotel as a part of a meeting. The rooms are comfortable and surprisingly spacious. The meeting facilities, exercise area, and restaurant are all very nice. It was fun to be able to to take a short (10 minute) walk to get to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. Internet service in my room was horrible. For practical purposes, it wasn't possible to work in the hotel room; instead I needed to go to the hotel lobby. March 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable bed, not much more I spent three nights at the Sheraton Society Hill in Philadelphia. My room had a comfortable bed but no other comfortable furniture. There was no radio and it was impossible to read the time on the clock. Internet access -- on the Club level -- was very slow. Food was poor as was the quality of the spead in the Club lounge. If you wanted to eat breakfast before an early meeting, only the Starbuks was open. Staff was friendly but, other than a comfortable bed, nothing about the hotel was very good. February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location We have stayed at this property several times. The location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping. There are many great restaurants withing walking distance. The staff is friendly and helpful. I have 2 complaints from our most recent stay. First, we could hear EVERYTHING in the rooms next to ours. So much so it was as if we shared a room. It was both bothersome and embarassing. Second, the bathroom was quite cold. There was a large window in it and neither the ceiling vent or the old baseboard unit produced any heat. February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Front Desk Staff esp Kaitlin We stayed at this hotel as a quick weekend getaway from New York and also to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived early at 11:30 AM and there was no issue getting into the room. We left the hotel and came back several hours later. To our surprise, there was a bottle of wine and a cheese platter in the room. The Front Office Staff has taken a time to surprise us. Now this is what I call "Going an extra mile with a service". One issue was that our room was close to the swimming pool (there was a terrace outside and above that was a pool) so we could hear kids screaming on top of their lungs in a swimming pool. Also the smell of chlorine from the pool was really strong. We are very thankful to the Front Office Staff especially Kaitlin for the nice gesture. We will definitely comeback and stay with you again. February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GARBAGE I WAS THERE 3 DAYS AND DID NOT SEE GARBAGE OUTSIDE FRONT DOOR EMPTIED. IT WAS OVERFLOWING THE ENTIRE TIME. FIRST THING YOU SEE AT HOTEL WHEN YOU GET THERE. LOUNGE ON 3RD FLOOR ALSO NO KEPT AS CLEAN AS IT SHOULD BE WHEN PEOPLE ARE THERE. April 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleaningness/HVAC The room was clean, the coffee machine was not cleaned, it had the coffee bag from the previous guest. We left the hotel and came back that evening and the coffee bag was still in the coffee machine. The bathroom sink had yellow stains abound the drain. The HVAC was too loud. I asked the front office to look into it and I never got a call back or a message left regarding it. It woke me up about 5 times on both nights that I spent at the hotel. Because I am a starwood employee i did not want to complain to the staff. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable bed but little else My bed was very comfortable but I have little else to say that was good about this hotel. Noise from the swimming pool made my room very unpleasant. The Executuve Club lounge was not open in time for breakfast before 8 AM meetings. The food was not good. There was no radio in my room. The front desk was inept. The staff person working at the Starbucks each morning was very nice but the selection there was too limited. Not even decent orange juice. I was happy to leave. February 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly staff, very enjoyable stay The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Never had to wait long for any type of service. Room walls are a bit thin - heard TVs from both sides of our room, but nothing that was too distracting. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Received an unrequested upgraded room due to being a Starwood guest. Great taxi service, convenient to the attractions, but far enough away to avoid the large crowds. Elevators were always prompt. Food and drinks at Taste were great as were the bartenders. Would definitely return. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cobblestone charm Situated on a cobblestone street, this hotel is within walking distance to the historic district of the city and many restaurants. The doormen were extremely helpful with getting our car quickly and efficiently any time we needed to leave. The men and women at the front desk were pleasant and welcoming. The lobby had several different seating areas for people to socialize comfortably. We requested a refrigerator for medication and were told that we were on a list as there weren't any available. Within 15 minutes, a gentleman arrived with a fridge!! We were erroneously charged twice for parking one day. We left a message for the accounting department and the problem was rectified immediately. The staff goes ABOVE AND BEYOND to please their guests!!! Can't wait to go back. March 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice hotel but expect parking to break the bank i booked the hotel with spg, wasnt informed about the whopping $45 parking. the hotel room was nice but the pool area was disgusting. the chrome all over showed rust. the paint was peeling all around pool area with mold in one corner. i stubbed my to with a pipe sticking out by the kiddie pool area. the management promissed points to myselfand family that came with me because we came on a family vacation and the pool was disgusting. i was the only one in the party to receive the points, not the others in my group. July 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay The hotel lobby was beautiful and hotel over all was nice. The room was a great size. The bathroom was not as updated as some other properties but it was clean and functional. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again if I am in Philadelphia. The staff was very nice and the hotel offers afternoon tea, coffee and cookies. The cookies are great. The staff members at the bar/restaurant were great. Very attentive and very welcoming. We had breakfast and before dinner drinks at the hotel and it was great each time. March 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisey During February 25th & March 5th I had three different reservations at this hotel. the overall hotel esthetics are great!. However, with each stay the noises emitting from the furnance and room doors was a bit overwhelming. The room doors close with a loud banging/rattling sound. The furnance sounds like a steam engine when it comes on and continues until it shuts off. It is difficult to get any restful sleep here. Additionally, the rooms could use better dusting. As SPG members we expected much better. March 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room by pool area a drawback this visit We have stayed at this property a number of times in the past year. With this visit, we were upgraded to the club level with our SPG status. However, we were put in a room facing into the indoor swimming pool. There was nothing to look at but a concrete wall and an extremely uninviting "patio" area with no furniture, just a big concrete cube. The room also was musty and smelled very strongly of chlorine. There were lots of kids using the pool and the room was very loud. Fortunately the pool closed at 10 pm, but the moving of the metal furniture woke us up in the morning and the kids were back by around 8:00 am. We had friends to meet for dinner, so I didn't have the time to hassle with changing rooms. I'll return to this property but will not accept any of the interior facing rooms. July 3, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>