Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • (2nd and Walnut Streets)
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 352 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable bed, not much more I spent three nights at the Sheraton Society Hill in Philadelphia. My room had a comfortable bed but no other comfortable furniture. There was no radio and it was impossible to read the time on the clock. Internet access -- on the Club level -- was very slow. Food was poor as was the quality of the spead in the Club lounge. If you wanted to eat breakfast before an early meeting, only the Starbuks was open. Staff was friendly but, other than a comfortable bed, nothing about the hotel was very good. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We always stay here when we go to Phila. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are always clean. And if you want a drink or a late night snack at their beautiful bar Taste Dan & Kate are the best!! February 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff Needs People Skills I stay at this hotel frequently due to business needs in the area. The location suits me. In the last 6 months, staff has become unresponsive, abrasive and unfriendly. Last visit, I found a bug in the bathroom as soon as I checked in. The bug ran into the room and I killed it. The housekeeping wanted evidence that it was indeed a bug. I refused to stay in the same room. I had to argue with the front desk to give me a different room. It was not easy. One member of the front desk staff could speak hardly any english. The visit after this one was uneventful. It appears that the front desk staff is under a lot of stress. You can forget about the complimentary upgrade to the Club Level. They want $50 for that now. Other hotels are giving full breakfast and evening snacks free!!! December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stay, Thanks! Sometimes it is just the little details that make all the difference. I stayed here for one night while passing through Philly, and the stay was good. I would have rated it a 4/5, front desk people were good, valet door people were great,club lounge was ok (could use improvement) but what converted it to a five was the housekeeping staff who all greated me very warmly (5 or 6 of them) the next morning and again as I was leaving. It left me witha smile on my face for the rest of the day. Thanks! April 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful getaway! From the minute we walked into the foyer and saw that beautiful waterfall to the minute we left , my husband and I were treated like royalty. We enjoyed a quiet cocktail (or 2) in the bar and I loved the indoor pool! The restaurant served us a scrumptious breakfast as well. I had the grilled ham and gruyere sandwich...I am going to try and duplicate it at home! I was in need of some pampering and your Society Hill Sheraton worked like a charm! We will be back! February 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, bad room Overall my stay was below average. The air conditioning in the room was extremely loud, I think the condensor may have been broken. Everytime it kicked on, it sounded like a gun shot. I finally woke up so many times at night from it, that i had to shut off the air and deal with a warm room the rest of the night. At checkout I was never asked how my stay was and was in a rush to a meeting or else I would of told mamagement how poorly my stay was. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great New Year's Eve This was the second year in a row that we stayed here for New Year's Eve; we wanted to see the fireworks. While the desk clerk repeatedly told us that no rooms with a river view were available, nevertheless, we ended up with a room facing the river. The only downsides were a) there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and b) the newly reappointed rooms displayed shoddy workmanship... this however did not reflect on the cleanness and service. January 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Hotel This is where the family stays when we overnight in Philly. Pool is the bonus and the desk staff are always very friendly. Location is good. Easy walk to South St. and Olde City. Recent improvements are a good addition. I will add that if I reviewed this hotel 5 years ago, I would have given it negative remarks. I think I was once there with four wedding parties. It was LOUD. Kudos to staff and management for positive changes. April 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything great but.. Everything was great: staff courtesy, comfort, cleanliness, services as gym and bar/restaurant. Unfortunately the air conditioner of my room was noisy forcing me to switch it off during night. February 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel marred by poor noise controls From prior years we knew this to an strong average Sheraton, neither surprisingly good nor distressingly weak. But our recent stay was spoiled by constant hallway noise as families scampered to and from the nearby pool. While this ended at 10 PM (pool closure), the HVAC cycled loudly throughout the night, and a treadmill user thumped us awake from the health club at 6 AM. Not an upscale experience. March 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basically good hotel Room's are nice and beds extemely comfortable and I have travelled alot. Hallway and Lobby decor a bit pedestrian. The club floor is worth it. Pool is over crowded and they run out of towels and take long time to replenish. There was an issue with loud neighbors - party people. Had to call 3 times to resolve. Staff responsive, but I am wary of staying in a hotel that has such gets. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by aday in philadelphia Excellent locationfor visits to historicaly important sitein Philadelphia. convenient location to airport and central city. facility is very comfortable . February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING We had a spectacular room. I believe it was recently renovated. Comfortable and beautiful. The bed and comforters were luxurious. Your desk staff, concierge, bell boy (man) and maid service was fantasitic. My only complaint was that we did not spend more time at the hotel. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, newly updated facility Very much enjoyed my recent stay. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is looking and feeling great. Can't beat the location for getting around Phila. Close to the sports venues and downtown. Only suggestion is that the restaurant/bar hours be extended. September 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noise level was not acceptable Stayed two nights. Both nights had teenagers yelling in the halls and in their rooms. By the second night, I had to call the front desk and have security sent up to have noise level reduced. Didn't help much as noise level continued until about midnight. March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good hotel A very good hotel: staff is very helpful; decor is solid and functional; very well maintained. I happen to like the area but it is on the edge of the center city. A little bit of a hike from some locations. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel but need to check on.... Hotel is excellent but there is an odor that hits you once you step out on the driveway outside the front of the hotel. July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's the Details The hotel is physically lovely, and it's location for proximity to the historic sites of the city is perfect. The lobby is beautiful, and the rooms are large. Because it is a low lying structure, there are no views of any kind, from what I could tell, but noise from the street/highway was not a problem. However, my stay on the Club Lounge floor, for which I paid a hefty upgrade fee, was a mixed blessing. While I appreciated the breakfast/snacks, the foods were depleted often throughout the day, despite the best efforts of the nice woman who was in charge of it. Further, without any notification, a sign magically appeared on Friday night that from this point forward, a glass of wine would be TEN DOLLARS. The front desk gave no indication that weekend policy differed from weeknight - it was a shock. Lastly, it was impossible to sleep past 6am because of the noise from the fitness center. Despite the fact that my room was on the other side of the floor, the dropping of barbells began like clockwork every morning, and I was not the only one woken up by this every day. It was incredibly frustrating -- I was there on business, and sleep was essential. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Nice Hotel, but confusion during valet/check in. Told the valet that we had a pre paid parking package with our room rate, he said o.k. We also told the girls at the reception desk the same thing, both said no problem. After check out we received and addition to our pre paid rate of $36.00 for parking, plus $6.40 city parking tax. Called the Hotel back and was told the additional expenses would be removed from our bill. I guess you always have to check you're bills> January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and Service Food and service was wonderful! Salmon was perfect - not overcooked. Staff was very friendly and helpful. June 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff could be a lot nicer When I called the front desk to request a late checkout (1 pm), I was rudely informed that checkout was at noon. When I asked if that restriction also applied to Platinum Preferred Members (5+ years), she begrudgingly granted the request. Despite the nice room, pleasant check-in experience, and fun time in Philly, her ill-mannered temperament left a sour taste. There are other hotels in the area with much nicer staff. I stay at Starwood hotels all over the world, and I can easily state that this location has the least hospitable staff. I recommend this hotel due to location, but ,again, there are friendlier, albeit non-SPG, hotels in the area. January 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Renovated Rooms are Great - History at the Front Door I was in town for a large conference (June 2012) and was pleasantly surprised by the Sheraton Society Hill. I enjoyed having so much history right outside the front door and it’s very easy to walk anywhere downtown from the hotel (though it will take 15 mins or so) Cabs were plentiful if you needed to get someplace and didn’t want to walk. I was given a King room (newly remodeled) on the 3rd (Club) floor. Since everything in the room was remodeled there isn’t much to say about it except it was comfortable, clean, new and very enjoyable. The club room was very large and with your room key you could stop in at any time and grab a free water or soda. The gym looked completely new as well and there is also a pool at the hotel. If you want to be in a smaller hotel that has a lot of history all around it, don’t stay downtown among all the financial buildings and stay here instead. The only downside was that on ½ the floor, the emergency intercom was experiencing random static all weekend and the same speakers are in your room. I had several colleagues who were also attending the conference who were kept awake most nights by the static. When they complained to the front desk they offered to send up an engineer but conceded that there was probably nothing that the engineer could do. Since it was a sold out conference, there were no rooms to move them to. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please don't call guests after 8 pm I requested a roll-away bed for my daughter when checking in at 3:30; was not in my room when I returned at 7 so I needed to call to remind staff. It was brought up fairly promptly. However, front desk called the room at 9 pm to ensure it was delivered. My daughter had been asleep for 45 minutes (and I was in bed as well). She thankfully was not woken up. I appreciate the front desk's follow-up, but in the future... 1. Deliver the bed shortly after the first request (in this instance at check-in) 2. Do not call guests after 8 pm. This is far too late to bother guests, especially to remedy something the front desk should have taken care of 4 hours prior March 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Blah Hotel is fine...that's about it. It looks like some things were recently renovated, and those areas are nice but other things were just overlooked. For example, the elevators are shabby & beat up (and smelled funny) and there is no automatic door at the front, so I had to juggle my briefcase & suitcase to even get inside. There was never a doorman to be found & I came & went several times. The room was comfortable and about as corporate as a room could be. It had a strong chemical/detergent smell that gave me a headache. Also, each time the a/c came on, it was like someone started a jet engine. All together, a perfectly fine stay, but nothing special. October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel The best hotel in Philly. Extremely comfortable beds and linens. Great gym with clean brand-new life fitness equipment. Can't beat the location. And staff is wonderful. Received great service from Ali at the front desk – a true professional.. I have stay here several times and it's never disappointed. January 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Understaffed and acquard Understaffed and Confusing This hotel is not up to standards for business travel. First Impression - Inadequate drop off area. I was left waiting in my car for vehicles to allow me to approach the entrance - Unprofessional doormen. Whistling for a taxi, the doorman left my right ear ringing for hours. I have not seen hotels use finger in mouth whistling to hail taxis for some time. Quite pedestrian. - No one helped me with my bags - No one consistently opened the hotel door for me - I had dropped bags for a late departure. No bellman to retrieve when I was ready to leave. Held me up for another 5-10 minutes. NO TIPS FOR ANYONE Confusion - The reception desk view from the entrance was blocked by pillars. I wandered around for 30 seconds looking for the reception. At first view was the concierge desk, not staffed and darkened. - Waited to check in and did not get a welcome, “are you checking in?” - There is only one button for the 3 elevator bank. It is not located in the middle, instead on the left elevator. The farthest right elevator opened, there was no light above the elevator indicating it was ready and the door view was obstructed by the thick walled facade around the door. - Room numbering is completely confusing. Instead of the room legend signs being consistent i.e. rooms 4000-4050 that way and rooms 4051-4099 this way; the signs mixed the numbering convention counting down and then up 4050–4000 and 4051-4099. Not a big deal in itself, but a big deal with a ringing ear, long wait, un-empathetic staff, confusing elevator markings, etc. Amenities - Thank goodness the room was clean, order less and in order. - Hot water took quite some time in the shower - The AC worked great and was in good working order - Tap water tasted good Conclusion This may be a OK place to bring your family where you have a squadron of kids to run around and figure out where things are and have spotters for the elevator but it is no place for the business traveler. Sheraton Society Hill does not value your time; they prefer to understaff to cut costs versus properly staff to deliver a quality service experience. I don’t know how the other hotels in the area stack up and I won’t go out of my way in the near future to find out. July 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is terrible This is an old and awful hotel and is far and far and away the absolute worst Starwood hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel is very old, the walls are thin and the air conditionioning did not work properly. I was there for a wedding and I know several guests (including myself and my wife, the groom, and the best man) who did not sleep well because the a/c would shut off at night, leaving the place very humid, and would make very loud noises which would wake us up when it went on again. On top ofthat, the TV did not work, the sink was backed up, the bathroom smelled, and the fridge stopped working. I won't be staying here again. August 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Thanksgiving Getaway Brandee greeted me upon arrival and was very nice and started my stay off perfectly. There was an upgrade available so I accepted. The room was nice and directly across from the club. Would be a great location if the club door didn't slam shut. A suggestion to install a soft close door, although I understand ensuring the door closes every time it's shut. During the stay there was an alarm set off around 0300 one night. No real issue with the alarm, safety first, but there was no access to the stairwells to walk back to my room, lots off waiting for the elevators as everyone in the hotel needed to get back to their room as well. Overall my stay was great and the staff was outstanding. Thank you! December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too much waiting, too many mistakes I've never had this experience before with a starwood hotel, but we had to wait an hour for our 2 rooms to be ready and we arrived at 3:30PM. The rooms should have been available when I walked in the hotel at that time. Once we got to the room 1 out of the 4 room keys provided worked. I went down to guest services and had them replaced. I go off to dinner with my wife and leave my kids with my Mother and she is locked out of the room because the new keys didn't work either! I ended up leaving the restaurant just to let my family back into the room. The valet was extra slow with a 20 minute wait time for my car. The food from room service arrived cold. Overall I was greatly disappointed with the hotel. December 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE I WAS NOT IMPRESSED WITH THIS HOTEL AT ALL. FROM THE VERY NOISY HALLWAYS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, WHILE TRYING TO GET SOME SLEEP, TO THE EXESSIVE PARKING CHARGES WHICH WE WERE NOT INFORMED OF. I WAS NOT INFORMED OF THE CHARGE WHILE BOOKING THE ROOM, OR AFTER CHECKING OUT. I WAS TOLD BY ANOTHER FRIEND WHO CHECKED OUT BEFORE ME. AFTER I DID NOT SEE A PARKING CHARGE ON MY FINAL BILL, I INQUIRED ABOUT IT. I WAS THEN TOLD YES, SURE, THERE IS PARKING CHARGE, SO SINCE I PUT MY ROOM ON MY CREDIT CARD, THEY WOULD HAVE JUST ADDED THE CHARGES AFTER I LEFT, WHICH I FEEL IS DECEPTIVE. I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT MY FINAL BILL WAS WHAT WAS ON THE PAPER IN MY HAND, NOT $40.00 MORE THAN THAT. November 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>