Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • (2nd and Walnut Streets)
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 411 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable, great staff Internet connectivity in the rooms was terrible. Taste restaurant was mediocre at best, but expensive. Conference facilities were good, but noisy between rooms. Staff were all very helpful. Rooms very comfortable. Green environment program/$5 day voucher good, but not usable anywhere useful in hotel. February 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty Bathroom Dirt and hair on floor and sink in bathroom. Towels seemed old and not changed out . Actually disgusting . Other than that the restaurant is nice for a cocktail . The door staff is very understaffed for any event . It took 40 mins. to get my car from the valet. The valet is $40 for a night !!!) unreal with the cost of a night in this semi-nice hotel in a very nice area of old city Philadelphia. Bottom line, bring flip flops and your own towels for the bathroom experience. October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Car, Room, Wi Fi, Front Door When I returned home I found that the front door on my new 2013 car with 1000 miles on it had a ding ( paint chipped) on front drivers door. In the room I found what looked like dried blood on the bathroom door and toilet bowl. In this day and age of nickle and diming your $10.00 Wi Fi goes right along with the airlines luggage charges. The front door to hotel must weigh a ton because it took 2 people to open it, need to think about automatic opener. Not a happy guest. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff very friendly and helpful I was greeted at arrival by a very courteous valet who carried my bags to check-in at my request.. Person who checked me in was very pleasant.. Room was great March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience with this hotel This is a great hotel with clean facilities and helpful, friendly staff. I have stayed a number of times now and will keep coming back. March 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room not ready It was disappointing to arrive at the hotel at 4pm and to be told that the room was not ready. We had hoped to have time to relax before getting ready for the wedding we were attending. Others in the lobby had the same problem. We had made the reservations over 6 months before and were inconvenienced by the wait. When we sat in the lobby, the tables were covered with other people's garbage. Because of the wait, my husband did not have time to use the pool there. November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great potential, but noise and service delivery issues. I love the location in historic Society Hill. The hotel is in walking distance of many attractions. The room was nice, but my king sized bed had a queen size flat sheet on it. After a call to Guest Services the problem was quickly fixed by a very congenial attendant who put the proper sized sheet on the bed. However, no apology was offered. Early in the evening there was a large formal event in the atrium area. The roar of the crowd and the band could be heard even though I closed the vestibule door in my room. Plus, the smell of garlic and other cooking from the various food stations was overwhelming. I left the room for dinner and returned to find that party wrapping up and the smell diminishing. I thought I was set for the night. But unfortunately, after a period of quiet in the mid-evening hours, noise again ensued after midnight and continued to 4AM. My sleep was disrupted at 2, 3 and just before 4AM by people (who sounded like they were intoxicated) loudly talking, laughing, yelling and even screaming in the atrium area. Things finally settled down about 4AM but I have to say my night's rest was ruined. The hotel is really beautiful, the location is great. I'm sure banquet revenue is important ..as is late night bar revenue..to the whole business case of profitably operating a hotel. But, that said, I'll think twice before giving you any hotel revenue in the future. After all, facillitating a good night of sleep is the central value proposition of that same business case. Kind regards to all in the City of Brotherly Love. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great stay Room was comfortable and hotel was great March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, clean hotel!! This hotel was the cleanest hotel we've ever stayed. We checked in and everyone was pleasant and helpful. The pool and hot tub-GREAT! Things to work on; Coffee shop should be open throughout the day. The service in the restaurant needs to be dealt with. The waitress in the bar area was too busy sitting at the bar flirting with the men, we had to get the bartender to help us. Nice bartender! Overall, I would stay here again, but would eat elsewhere for dinner. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family-friendly We would highly recommend this hotel to families with children. Sheraton Society Hill features the warmest and cleanest pool we've experienced in a hotel. Our kids (4 and 9) has blast staying at the hotel for 3 nights, and enjoyed the pool, very spacious lobby and the Sheraton Club Lounge. Great location for walks within historic Philadephia, to the South Street and waterfront. Fast and professional guest services. Our expectations were fully met and exceeded. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many time returning guest Always extraordinary in every respect. Front desk representatives Nadia and Caitlin are very personable, knowledgeble and professional. March 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but don't bring a car I was shocked by the daily rate to park a car overnight. Take into consideration the rate $35/night add the crazy City taxes and its $42.00/night. The hotel and staff were very nice, clean and attentive but I would suggest you take a cab from the airport. The city is mostly walkable or a short cab ride to almost all the best places. By the way!, the bathrooms don't have fans/vents for those times when you might want to vent the room. December 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Front Desk and Valet Stayed at this hotel for a wedding recently, and was very disappointed with the service by the staff. Didn't have a room ready when we showed up at 6PM and front desk staff was not very friendly or apologetic for this inconvenience. Disappointed with this service and would expect alot more from a hotel in this area with high rates. When checking out had an hour wait for valet. Need to work on service here, but facilities are nice and well kept, and clean. July 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extended Stay The hotel was excellent for an extended stay. My stay was 10 days. The staff was attentive; the facility clean; amentities promoted with available at all times; and, the location perfect. I was able to park my car and walk everywhere I needed to go. I highly recommend this facility. February 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property with great location. A very enjoyable stay and one of the best Sheraton properties of which I have stayed. Liked the open atrium with the glass ceiling. I had a room with a view of the atrium instead of an outside view. So I cannot comment on what others may see out of their window. My only complains was check-in. I was told there were no rooms available at that time and they would phone my cell-phone when one became available. After 4-hours of waiting in the lobby - I decided to check and see if one was available. Yes there was and no one had called my cell-phone. My other complaint was housekeeping. I was out of the room at 8am and returned about 3pm wanting to relax and get ready to go out for the evening. But the room had not been made-up yet. So I went to the front desk requesting it be made-up and it took about another 1-hour for it to be cleaned. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great location but missing a few things Wish there was a fridge in the rooms. Shocked to find that you had to pay 9.95 per device per day to hook up to the wifi. The resturant was good but the breakfast was wayyyyy over priced. $5 for a cup of coffee four of us just having eggs and toast with a few home fries came to over $70.00 the Buffet was 25.00 a person. The facility was nice and clean. It is in a great location for many attractions. The doorman/valet was very nice and a hard worker. August 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historically Pleasant This hotel is off the beaten path a bit, but it makes it a nice retreat from the busyness of Philly. The ambiance is a bit more quaint than your typical hotel which is nice . And the rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Was only here for a good 12 hours, and the only complaint I had was the business center. Needed to print some itineraries and the computers were beyond slow and the printer was broken. Overall, a great option in Philly. May 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Valet Service I was in town for a meeting and had valeted my car. I called down 15mins before I needed my car, expecting it to be there waiting for me. 1hr later my car finally arrived. I was late for my meeting. There was no sense of urgency from the staff to get my car. Also, the hotel promised to email me a copy of my receipt instead of placing it under the door (this was in an effort to be more "green"). I still have not received an email with my receipt. August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointment A birthday trip for my wife. Stayed here many times before. Jacuzzi was unavailable due to "maintenance". Staff could not tell us when it would be back in service. Hotel website did not advise of the lack of this feature so that we could have considered other possibilities. Almost two weeks ago I sent an email to the local hotel "concierge" email address concerning this issue. I was also disappointed that I never heard back regarding that email. September 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The #1 best things was the location. Easy to walk to everything. Room was small, but very clean, well decorated, and comfortable The worse thing was the pool was closed with continuous promises to open tomorrow. Unfortunately, tomorrow never happened. So, we had no pool and the staff didn't seem to care And, like everyone else's comments..... One place in the hotel to get ice..... Which was quite a long walk and multiple floors from our room August 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room needs proper cleaning The room was not clean. We had to dust our drawers to place our clothes into them. In addition, the first room we entered did not have a bedskirt and you could see the dust that was under the bed. The next room had a bedskirt but the same amount of dust which was very thick was under the bed. The rooms are small and not the cleanest. I was very disappointed with the rooms. However, the lobby and public areas were very inviting and beautiful. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by AC unit kept us up almost all night email was sent to Sheraton Society Hill Hotel with original complaint about the AC unit being so loud, it kept us up almost all night. I complained early the next morning at the front desk and only received an explanation, not an apology. I have not heard anything from the hotel, as of yet. Very disappointed! We have been faithful patrons of Sheraton for many years and feel they should be concerned about us making a "first" complaint! July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2 mishaps 2 great results The bed is very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly from the kitchen waiters, bartender to the front desk. They were all very professional and helpful. On my first night I my room lock was inoperable. The FD clerk called security to fix it and apologized for the inconvenience. I was starving so he gave me a box lunch and a free drink coupon. The lock was not repaired but the security staff was waiting for me to let me in. January 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location near historic sites I was here for a meeting, and the facilites are good. Best of all its walking distance from all the historic sites and a great variety of food and entertainment options. February 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by no hot water i stayed here for business last week and two mornings in a row i had lukewarm water in the morning. i said something the first morning and they said they would have an engineer look at it. the next morning same thing. the desk person did credit my account $50.00, which was nice but barely covered the exorbitant amount it charges to park there. Wasnt happy with the parking charges and wasn;t happy with just barely warm showers. February 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservations I reserved a room with 2 queen beds for me, my wife and two 16 year old boys. We were given a room with one king. I called to confirm three times that day because the same thing happened the last time I stayed at this hotel. The second night there, with 2 roll always in the room it got pretty hot and come to find out the thermostat in the room was broken. I just don't know why I reserved this room 6 months in advance. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We always stay here when we go to Phila. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are always clean. And if you want a drink or a late night snack at their beautiful bar Taste Dan & Kate are the best!! February 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel in Old City Philadelphia The location was great, the rooms were comfortable, the staff was friendly, but the only restaurant choice, Taste, was abysmal. The service was slow bordering on non-existent, my breakfast order was wrong, my "green voucher" was never applied. An expensive disappointing experience for both dinner and breakfast. Also, although I stayed for four nights I only got two green voucher instead of the three I was promised. April 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor housekeeping At check in the staff was friendly and courteous. I was pleased we could check in early due to an early flight arrival. However, this is where the breakdown starts. The bathroom floor was covered in hair from the previous occupants. The table beside the chair was covered in dust. I particulary notice these issues due to allergies I have. Housekeeping awoke me at 615am knocking on door across hall delivering towels. December 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valet needs work Your hotel is beautiful and clean, great location. However Valet needs some work. We called down at 1030 for our car, no one answered the phone (because it was so busy), then we got down stairs and waited 50 minutes for our car (we were told 15). If it's going to average 50-60 mimutes to get your car, that should be made known. We would have called downstairs (or walked down) at 930. Thats the only issue. October 7, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>