Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • (2nd and Walnut Streets)
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 467 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Conference Choice This site was the one assigned for our conference, and I must say that it was excellent all the way around--great food, comfortable accommodations, helpful staff--it was all there. Right down the street from fascinating historical landmarks. Will stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved my stay! This was my fourth stay at the Sheraton Society Hill and it never disappoints! This visit was for a work conference and the food, staff, and accommodations were fantastic! I have also chosen this hotel for a romantic night away (I actually stayed there my engagement night) and for nights "out on the town." Great experiences overall! June 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Hotel This is where the family stays when we overnight in Philly. Pool is the bonus and the desk staff are always very friendly. Location is good. Easy walk to South St. and Olde City. Recent improvements are a good addition. I will add that if I reviewed this hotel 5 years ago, I would have given it negative remarks. I think I was once there with four wedding parties. It was LOUD. Kudos to staff and management for positive changes. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location, pleasant atmoasphere and staff Great location in historical section of Philadelphia. Staff is very accommodating and responsive. Concierge lounge is very well set up and organized. Front Desk very helpful and the bar personnel and bellman are also excellent. June 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valet needs work Your hotel is beautiful and clean, great location. However Valet needs some work. We called down at 1030 for our car, no one answered the phone (because it was so busy), then we got down stairs and waited 50 minutes for our car (we were told 15). If it's going to average 50-60 mimutes to get your car, that should be made known. We would have called downstairs (or walked down) at 930. Thats the only issue. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel marred by poor noise controls From prior years we knew this to an strong average Sheraton, neither surprisingly good nor distressingly weak. But our recent stay was spoiled by constant hallway noise as families scampered to and from the nearby pool. While this ended at 10 PM (pool closure), the HVAC cycled loudly throughout the night, and a treadmill user thumped us awake from the health club at 6 AM. Not an upscale experience. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The beds were very comfortable Was a great place for a business conference. Loved the history of the town too. September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basically good hotel Room's are nice and beds extemely comfortable and I have travelled alot. Hallway and Lobby decor a bit pedestrian. The club floor is worth it. Pool is over crowded and they run out of towels and take long time to replenish. There was an issue with loud neighbors - party people. Had to call 3 times to resolve. Staff responsive, but I am wary of staying in a hotel that has such gets. March 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A little underwhelmed Hotel lobby and exterior were very nice. Major complaints- TV did not work- many of the channels were blurred or not working at all. There was no attendant in club lounge on a busy Saturday morning to restock things- coffee and food were out. Room service could be little more flexible with times. Most hotels I've stayed are more than accommodating if you want to order lunch at 11 am. There should at least be a brunch menu. Not everyone wants eggs and pancakes til noon on the weekends. I was impressed by the overall appearance of the hotel and shocked that these areas were so lacking. I would still recommend the hotel because I'm guessing I was just unlucky during my stay and these things are not the norm. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel For a family of 3 plus a dog, this hotel was great...the Sheraton is much more family friendly than the Westin in Philly...this was my 4th time staying at this hotel and will definitely stay again in the future... I really appreciated the ladies at the front desk accommodating me and my family's travel needs... January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why did I pay so much money for this? Free wifi in lobby but then you want to charge $9.99 a day for room access? ludicrous. I order breakfast to the room, eat half, go to another friends room for an hour and when I get back someone had come into my room, took the tray and the rest of my food off my desk. Unbelievable. I did call to get a refund on the food they took and as they should have they refunded me half the bill. A/C in the room could only be set to Auto or turned on constant Low speed for about 30 minutes until it would switch back over to Auto. Room was too hot. For the price of the room there should be free WiFi and the A/C should be able to be set to constant low or high. Water never got cold in the sink in the bathroom either, at best room temperature. For the premium price this hotel asks I was expecting a top tier experience and instead received a mediocre stay with valet only parking that cost nearly $40 per night. If this hotel was half the price then this experience would have been acceptable. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel choice... This hotel is optimal for a business stay and for holding meetings, events, etc. I would highly recommend to anyone planning an event in the Philadelphia area. The bed was awesome! May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Hotel Hotel situated in a lovely area in walkable distance to the historical district of Philly. Room was comfortable and quiet. Sheraton room for breakfast and snacks was lovely and more than adequate. My only complaint and it would be in most downtown hotels is the price of hotel parking. The $36 (I think my price is correct) is high, but the additional tax of $7 was excessive! September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING We had a spectacular room. I believe it was recently renovated. Comfortable and beautiful. The bed and comforters were luxurious. Your desk staff, concierge, bell boy (man) and maid service was fantasitic. My only complaint was that we did not spend more time at the hotel. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, newly updated facility Very much enjoyed my recent stay. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is looking and feeling great. Can't beat the location for getting around Phila. Close to the sports venues and downtown. Only suggestion is that the restaurant/bar hours be extended. September 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by good view from room - that was it The river side of the hotel offers wonderful views of the bridge and lights on the river at night , but the rooms themselves were average and in need of updating. It also could have been cleaner for the price we were paying. The windows had hand and even face prints on them! Carpets and especially the upholstered furniture were stained and old looking. There were also stains on one of the duvet covers on the bed. The brochures, menus and written material left out on the desk were misshapen and wrinkled from drinks being spilled on them and we didn't even want to touch them. There was no refrigerator in the room which was a negative for us. We also had a bad exchange with the valet service. I couldn't even ask a question before he told me he was "too busy for special requests" - and he didn't even know what I was going to ask him!! Front desk people were efficient but not friendly. Granted we were there at a very busy time - lots of weddings going on that weekend, but even so, it's their job to be extra helpful to all guests all the time. There was a "green" option for the cleaning service, so we chose not to have our towels replaced or the room cleaned during our 2 day stay, as did many of the other guests (cards hanging on doorknobs) but the cleaning carts seemed to always be in the hallway all day long. It was very annoying to have to squeeze by the carts when we were all dressed up for the wedding and later going out. I was shocked at the price we had to pay per night to keep our car in the hotel's own parking garage - with tax on top of it to boot. Over all it was not one of our better hotel experiences. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noise level was not acceptable Stayed two nights. Both nights had teenagers yelling in the halls and in their rooms. By the second night, I had to call the front desk and have security sent up to have noise level reduced. Didn't help much as noise level continued until about midnight. March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel - Bad breakfast Breakfast entre - English Muffin, Ham, and Cheddar was pricey and awful May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good hotel A very good hotel: staff is very helpful; decor is solid and functional; very well maintained. I happen to like the area but it is on the edge of the center city. A little bit of a hike from some locations. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's the Details The hotel is physically lovely, and it's location for proximity to the historic sites of the city is perfect. The lobby is beautiful, and the rooms are large. Because it is a low lying structure, there are no views of any kind, from what I could tell, but noise from the street/highway was not a problem. However, my stay on the Club Lounge floor, for which I paid a hefty upgrade fee, was a mixed blessing. While I appreciated the breakfast/snacks, the foods were depleted often throughout the day, despite the best efforts of the nice woman who was in charge of it. Further, without any notification, a sign magically appeared on Friday night that from this point forward, a glass of wine would be TEN DOLLARS. The front desk gave no indication that weekend policy differed from weeknight - it was a shock. Lastly, it was impossible to sleep past 6am because of the noise from the fitness center. Despite the fact that my room was on the other side of the floor, the dropping of barbells began like clockwork every morning, and I was not the only one woken up by this every day. It was incredibly frustrating -- I was there on business, and sleep was essential. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel but need to check on.... Hotel is excellent but there is an odor that hits you once you step out on the driveway outside the front of the hotel. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and Service Food and service was wonderful! Salmon was perfect - not overcooked. Staff was very friendly and helpful. June 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff could be a lot nicer When I called the front desk to request a late checkout (1 pm), I was rudely informed that checkout was at noon. When I asked if that restriction also applied to Platinum Preferred Members (5+ years), she begrudgingly granted the request. Despite the nice room, pleasant check-in experience, and fun time in Philly, her ill-mannered temperament left a sour taste. There are other hotels in the area with much nicer staff. I stay at Starwood hotels all over the world, and I can easily state that this location has the least hospitable staff. I recommend this hotel due to location, but ,again, there are friendlier, albeit non-SPG, hotels in the area. January 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable stay but food/beverage was pricey Many hotels offer free breakfast but your hotel had just the opposite, a very expensive breakfast. $5 for a cup of coffee is a bit extreme. The $5 green vouchers helped but your customers shouldn't have to make a sacrifice in order to get a good meal and a fair price. On a positive note, my room was very comfortable and clean. The LAN was pretty fast for a hotel LAN with so many people sharing. I also liked the close proximity to many of the historic sites in Philadelphia. I did catch a cold while I was there. I can't be certain if it was from the room or not but I recommend your cleaning crew disinfect the surfaces and the glasses between stays. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Renovated Rooms are Great - History at the Front Door I was in town for a large conference (June 2012) and was pleasantly surprised by the Sheraton Society Hill. I enjoyed having so much history right outside the front door and it’s very easy to walk anywhere downtown from the hotel (though it will take 15 mins or so) Cabs were plentiful if you needed to get someplace and didn’t want to walk. I was given a King room (newly remodeled) on the 3rd (Club) floor. Since everything in the room was remodeled there isn’t much to say about it except it was comfortable, clean, new and very enjoyable. The club room was very large and with your room key you could stop in at any time and grab a free water or soda. The gym looked completely new as well and there is also a pool at the hotel. If you want to be in a smaller hotel that has a lot of history all around it, don’t stay downtown among all the financial buildings and stay here instead. The only downside was that on ½ the floor, the emergency intercom was experiencing random static all weekend and the same speakers are in your room. I had several colleagues who were also attending the conference who were kept awake most nights by the static. When they complained to the front desk they offered to send up an engineer but conceded that there was probably nothing that the engineer could do. Since it was a sold out conference, there were no rooms to move them to. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel in Society Hill! The building is beautiful and very well maintained. The staff is uniquely outstanding; always respectul, quick to respond thoughtfully to a clent's personal needs. An ideal location for a roomantic getaway, family trips, business or any other special occasion. The rooms are impeccable, The interior design of the rooms and lobby is bright, cheerful and substantial. The beds are extremely comfortable. The location is off the beaten path for a safe, very quiet and relaxing experience, yet minutes accessible to the historic district and countless dining options. August 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great hotel, just don't park there I attended a formal dinner on April 26. The dinner was fine, the very seasoned wait staff was just fine. Everything was great UNTIL I tried to get my car back. There was a 45 minute wait but mine was an hour wait because they messed up the tags. The Sheraton used to have self parking which worked well. Somebody decided they would be all valet which just ruins an otherwise nice experience. Unless they bring back self parking, I will strongly recommend that we hold no more affairs there. So, Sheraton, you decide. Would you rather assume the risk of self parking or watch your event revenue decline because of the horrendous end of the evening valet experience. May 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Blah Hotel is fine...that's about it. It looks like some things were recently renovated, and those areas are nice but other things were just overlooked. For example, the elevators are shabby & beat up (and smelled funny) and there is no automatic door at the front, so I had to juggle my briefcase & suitcase to even get inside. There was never a doorman to be found & I came & went several times. The room was comfortable and about as corporate as a room could be. It had a strong chemical/detergent smell that gave me a headache. Also, each time the a/c came on, it was like someone started a jet engine. All together, a perfectly fine stay, but nothing special. October 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please don't call guests after 8 pm I requested a roll-away bed for my daughter when checking in at 3:30; was not in my room when I returned at 7 so I needed to call to remind staff. It was brought up fairly promptly. However, front desk called the room at 9 pm to ensure it was delivered. My daughter had been asleep for 45 minutes (and I was in bed as well). She thankfully was not woken up. I appreciate the front desk's follow-up, but in the future... 1. Deliver the bed shortly after the first request (in this instance at check-in) 2. Do not call guests after 8 pm. This is far too late to bother guests, especially to remedy something the front desk should have taken care of 4 hours prior March 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Understaffed and acquard Understaffed and Confusing This hotel is not up to standards for business travel. First Impression - Inadequate drop off area. I was left waiting in my car for vehicles to allow me to approach the entrance - Unprofessional doormen. Whistling for a taxi, the doorman left my right ear ringing for hours. I have not seen hotels use finger in mouth whistling to hail taxis for some time. Quite pedestrian. - No one helped me with my bags - No one consistently opened the hotel door for me - I had dropped bags for a late departure. No bellman to retrieve when I was ready to leave. Held me up for another 5-10 minutes. NO TIPS FOR ANYONE Confusion - The reception desk view from the entrance was blocked by pillars. I wandered around for 30 seconds looking for the reception. At first view was the concierge desk, not staffed and darkened. - Waited to check in and did not get a welcome, “are you checking in?” - There is only one button for the 3 elevator bank. It is not located in the middle, instead on the left elevator. The farthest right elevator opened, there was no light above the elevator indicating it was ready and the door view was obstructed by the thick walled facade around the door. - Room numbering is completely confusing. Instead of the room legend signs being consistent i.e. rooms 4000-4050 that way and rooms 4051-4099 this way; the signs mixed the numbering convention counting down and then up 4050–4000 and 4051-4099. Not a big deal in itself, but a big deal with a ringing ear, long wait, un-empathetic staff, confusing elevator markings, etc. Amenities - Thank goodness the room was clean, order less and in order. - Hot water took quite some time in the shower - The AC worked great and was in good working order - Tap water tasted good Conclusion This may be a OK place to bring your family where you have a squadron of kids to run around and figure out where things are and have spotters for the elevator but it is no place for the business traveler. Sheraton Society Hill does not value your time; they prefer to understaff to cut costs versus properly staff to deliver a quality service experience. I don’t know how the other hotels in the area stack up and I won’t go out of my way in the near future to find out. July 22, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>