Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

  • 777 Waterside Drive
  • Norfolk,
  • Virginia
  • 23510
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 439 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great .... but The staff was uniformly exceptional - friendly, not obtrusive and charming, The food at the city Dock was wonderful!! I Especially the she crab soup!! If I were to change anything, the first would be to improve the wi fi and add it to every room, it was weak or nonexistent in meeting rooms and not reliable en the room. My husband loved the TV. I wish there were more of a grab a quick sandwich place in the hotel. Hotel had plenty of ramps for me and my walker. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My review of Norfolk Sheraton The view from my window was the first thing that impressed me. I took pictures of it to send to my friends and family. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent. The staff were MOST accommodating, particularly Doris and her supervisor. I appreciate their prompt, friendly and courteous service. The only negative thing about my stay was that the hotel is difficult to get to if you are not familiar with the area. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel had excellent staff My friend and I were so impressed with the staff at this hotel. Your reservationist, Shree, could not have tried harder to get us a good room. My hamstring was pulled loose before we came so I could not hardly walk. It was my friends birthday and I planned this for her. MI MI Wldeman, your restaurant supervisor was one of the nicest people we've ever met. Our servers had so much personality and did an amazing job serving us. We never ate anywhere else while we were there. Your staff in the Club lounge were friendly and helpful. Your staff made our trip one we will never forget.You are to be commended on you selection of staff. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! The room was excellent also!!!Accommodations were top of the line!!! We cannot wait to get to come back. We want to bring some of her grandchildren next time. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Staff My husband's birthday fell in the middle of our 5 day stay. I had asked our family and friends to send him a card in an attempt to put together a 'waterfall' of cards during our group event's lunch on his birthday. The staff went above and beyond in helping me accomplish this surprise! Chrystal checked us in and provided everything I needed to get the ball rolling and kept track of all the cards (54!). Mimi, the restaurant manger, took care of cake prep (including candles) and delivery with a hug! And Sharon made every breakfast very enjoyable with her great service and personable ways. I can't thank you enough for the best hotel stay ever! May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Stay I have stayed in 'Dives" that had friendlier staff, we were treated with rudeness and like being an SPG member was not of any significance, our room was not cleaned, we had to call for towels every night- one night the towels were delivered by a man on his knees- "I have a bad back" who was out of breath- we were only on the 3rd floor and didn't he use an elevator? The valet staff basically ignored us upon arrival and anytime we needed help it was like pulling teeth. The internet was non-existent slow when it was available. The tv would shut of randomly after turning it on. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service Great time with my family at this hotel. Excellent customer service from the ladies at the front desk/ladies at the restaurant. Made our stay pleasurable. Rooms were clean and neat. Keep up the good customer service! January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Graduation I have stayed at the Sheraton a number of times, and each and every time I've had a wonderful experience. I love the proximity and what the surrounding area has to offer. June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome room excellent stay My wife and I stayed here a few months ago and it was awesome. All the staff was extremely helpful from the doormen to the severs on the club lounge. The views are beautiful on both the city side and the harbor side. The hotel is near several fine eateries including some local restaurants and some other well known high class establishments. This is by far one of the greatest rooms I have ever stayed in, the atmosphere and surroundings are just awesome. I would definitely recommend that anyone stay here. My wife and i make every effort to get here and stay throughout the year. We love it and you will too!!! October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff. Great friendly, service oriented staff. Everyone I came into contact with was friendly and service was great. Breakfast buffet great. I ordered a pizza…did not meet my expectation and expensive. Food in restaurant seemed expensive to me. But, that may be average to others. Talked to the manager on duty to tell him what a great staff, from room service to parking..all! Everyone worked great as a team. I talked to tim Peters…very nice and sincere. Hard to find people in service industry who have such a great attitude. To me that is a sign of good managers!!! My bed was not comfortable. That may be just my preference. Nice spacious rooms, lobby and event facilities. Lovely decor in hotel. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Norfolk VA Well I read the reviews and I was a bit apprehensive about what I was letting myself in for. But no need - the experience was excellent. I stayed for 4 nights and it was excellent. All the staff were attentive and helpful. The gym was totally adequate, and the bedroom very comfortable. The breakfast chefs were great - catering for my dietary restrictions - I know it's a little thing but it's these little things that make all the difference. Location was ideal for restaurants, the pier, the Wisconsin and the Nauticus centre. I was really lucky, experiencing a couple of days of great sunny weather in March, and the view from my balcony window over the water was really great. A big well done to the staff and especially Fletcher! March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff They have the best, check in, Most caring and efficient staff. Nicki checked in my crew and was a pleasure from start to finish. The view from my room is amazing. June 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement From very wet carpet, to stained comforters and towel racks "hanging on by one screw", this was not an acceptable stay at all. Housekeeping supervisor did move me to a "club room" but the towel racks were loose at the shower and door area of the bathroom. Staff was very nice June 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by potential for greatness I found the desk staff to be indifferent to my party as well as others seeking to check-in or check-out. I had a daytime layover and the housekeeping staff was again, exceptionally loud. Banging doors, turning up the tv's in the rooms they were cleaning, talking loudly to each other down the halls and talking on their cell phones. I have experienced this same issue at this property in the past. Please understand that some of your guests are sleeping during the daylight hours. I called guest services and the operator five times before I could get someone to answer the phone and set up a wake up call. The pool area is nice. The restaurant staff were helpful and friendly but the food was just ok. May 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad for the price We received a low group rate for this room so take that into account on this review. With $8 self parking being so far away we opted to pay $22 for valet and it was well worth it. The valets were the highlight of our trip, and, with us coming and going a couple times each day, the price wasn't bad. The rooms were small but clean and everything worked in the room. The linens were very nice. Construction is going on outside the street side of the hotel but the noise wasn't bad. There are harbor view rooms but no balconies so why bother? Except for the valets, service was spotty. Check-in was handled by an aloof and unfriendly man. We had to have our key reset and he did it without speaking. Next day's clerk was friendlier, when we had to have the key reset again. Breakfast at the restaurant was bad. Food was bad, poorly cooked, service was bad, atmosphere was bad. Seems like a place just hanging on - getting ready to close down - which is unfortunate because the location and view is great. Enjoyed the seating areas in the lobby, which included a good number of computer stations. Location is very good if you need to be downtown Norfolk. It was cold and windy while we were there but its harbor side and so would make for a nice place to walk in good weather. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Omelet girl The girl making the omelets was incredible! She had a line of about 6-7 people and had three omelets going continually for a long period of time. This is not an easy job, but she kept everyone moving along quickly, and made a wonderful omelet. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frequent Traveler This property overall is Excellent & I recommended it for any occasion. The location is excellent directly of the water and central to downtown Norfolk's resturants, activities, and entertainment venues. The valets are professional, courteous and timely retrieving your vehicle. The Staff upon check in are friendly & professional, they quickly recognize my Platinum status and provide to me the services and upgrades that I am entitled even the exclusive Presidential Suite. The rooms are clean, comfortable and smell nice. Overall this place is great. May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 Disappointed for a Sheraton Brand hotel I've stayed at several Sheratons before and was expecting to see a beautiful hotel since the location was amazing, but I was definitely disappointed. We arrived around 10pm in our room to find a dehumidifier running. We were switched rooms and found that room with wet carpet. Switched to another room before settling in. By the third room we were exhausted and just wanted to shower and sleep. The room was ok and comfortable enough but did not have coffee available, bathroom door hook was broken and one of the bath towels had some small stains. The front desk offered us complimentary breakfasts for the inconveniences and was very nice. Just seemed very disorganized and unaware of issues with rooms. August 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Travel Nice hotel for my travel to Norfolk. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel. This is very nice hotel. Great views and close to walking trail. Room are clean and staff is friendly. April 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our stay The staff where not as nice as thay could have been really short with us! Asked if it would be okay when we checked out if we could go swimming for a bit and we where laughed at by the girl behind the desk,as she said only if you pay for another night!? And also called the front deck to get a pizza place number and was hung up on! The only one that was nice to us where the valet parking guy! I don't no his name but he was really nice! You have to pay for wifi? I can go to McDonald's and get free wifi.....but paying $100+ for a hotel room I have to pay $10 a day for wifi I don't get it! Also the AC in out room would not work and word only push out hot air! And you also have to pay for parking!! Not the nicest place to relax June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has it all! My first stay in a SPG hotel. This hotel was in a fantastic location with many attractions within walking distance. Easy access to the parking garage, comfortable, clean rooms. The staff members were friendly, accommodating and met all requests with a smile...not an easy feat on a Memorial Day weekend. June 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay The hotel is old and needs updating. Inside the room the bed was needing to be replaced. The toilet didn't work properly. Overall just worn out. Location is great. June 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do not recommend At 8pm my room was not ready (check-in was at 3pm). I did not receive any assistance from the hotel staff, so I had to contact a Sheraton manager who was not even at the hotel to receive assistance and he had to contact the service manager on my behalf. I finally had a room at 9pm. The shower was gross and the drain was slow, leaving you to stand in a pool of water when showering. Nothing spectacular about the room. It was very warm and stuffy. The air conditioner was not working well. Although it's a smoke free hotel, as soon as you walk out the door, there were consistently a line of smokers within one foot of stepping outside. So you had to walk through a cloud of smoke to get out the door and stand in it while waiting for the valet to retrieve your car. September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Norfolk Four Issues: 1) No working ice machines on ground or second floor. 2) We were under impression that outside pool was heated and opened. No where on the Web Site did it state that the pool is not open until after Labor Day. 3) Parking situation bad enough have to pay to park let alone walk to and from parking facility! Pay parking should be posted on Web site its a bad situation but it is worse getting blind sided. 4) Not a fan of animal friendly, goofball next door had three dogs, barked every time We walked by the door! May 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfully appreciative of their Platinum guests Stayed in late February, 2014. Booked a king room on club floor and was upgraded to a club suite which is huge. This appreciation goes a long way in customer loyalty and I woul dlike to thank the staff and manager of the Sheraton Norfolk for going the extra yard! February 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Water Feature! The waterside location is delightful. You can stand on your balcony relaxing while watcingh the ships, boats, paddle boat, naval ships, yachts, or anything else moving along the water. The rooms are small, but they are comfortable. Beds were sooo comfy. Staff was very accommodating. Nicer than average. May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel needs improvement I was very surprised and disappointed by this property. My room did not have a pen and pad of paper (which I needed), the closet door was broke, there was no room service menu in the room, the room was poorly cleaned (hair on the commode and in the shower, water stains on the faucets), and the maid knocked on my door in the morning and woke me up even though I had a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. September 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attention to Detail I booked the hotel for the Memorial Day weekend. I have stayed at other Sheraton hotels before and have been very satisfied. This is normally a good brand and reasonably priced but, the Norfolk Waterside property left me sorely disappointed. Everything about room was fine on check-in. On day two of our stay we returned to the hotel around 10pm and the room had not been cleaned, nor had linen or towels been replaced. The morning that we decided to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant, the place setting...specifically the glasses, were disgusting. I wish that I had a picture of it so that I could post it with this review. You could tell that someone had drunk out of it, there was a ring of what looked like donut glaze on the lip of the glass and possibly on the linen napkin as well. We went out for the day and again returned to a room that had not been cleaned. This was the second time and second day that we had to call down for service. I was not happy. It's the little things sometimes that can make a stay good or bad, and this was just unacceptable. Overall, great location and a nice view but...attention to detail, or rather lack there of made this a not so great stay. May 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing We requested an upgrade to 10th floor. The room was dusty and the bathroom was dirty. We were moved across the hall. This room was a little cleaner. But, the mattress sagged on the left side. The lights in the bathroom can use a lower wattage bulb. It is too bright and blinding especially at night. The club food was more like what is available in lower grade hotels. September 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Location - Housekeeping Needs Help The hotel was in a good location, we had 9 rooms reserved. Valet was great. However, almost all the rooms were very dirty with hair on towels, stained sheets and overall extremely dirty rooms. Our entire group commented on this. Hope you can work on housekeeping. May 26, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>