Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

  • 228 Duffield Street
  • Brooklyn,
  • New York
  • 11201
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 405 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service standards could improve... Stayed here this week for a 3-day/3-night work project. While I would rate my stay between "average" and "good" as to relates to the facilities, cleanliness and comfort, there were misses with service that ultimately soured my experience. This would include wait staff in the restaurant who took 20 minutes to serve me and who seemed put out about the whole thing. It would also include gross miscommunication and misrepresentation about their laundry service, which was 12 hours overdue. Lastly, it would include poor communication about the logistics of their car valet service, which resulted in late departures to business meetings. February 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unresponsive Room Service Did not bring milk and coffee cups for breakfast. The coffee was brought in an open end container, insuring that it got cold very fast. I called room service back three times and asked them to bring up milk. I was ignored. The third time I told the employee at the front desk, he just put me through to room service again. The result was the same. Service in the restaurant the night before was just as bad. I waited over a half an hour for a baked potato and it was cold. By the time I got a hot one, i wasn't hungry anymore. Had to leave table there times to seek out someone for various reasons, such as; , no sugar for coffee, etc. February 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Alright for Business Pros: - Comfortable beds - Lounge has decent food Cons: - Small Rooms - Loung doesn't have alcoholic beverages, and sometimes they have a wine guy in there but don't be fooled - he wants to charge you $5 for tasters! - Staff is not always in a rush to help you (lines form, no real line if you are platinum guest), and also didn't honor my reserved room (even though I had a higher status and have literally been staying there for months) July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfied customer My stay at the Sheraton was 8/19/12 through 8/24/12. The hotel entrance is on a very narrow one way street. Upon my arrival, there was a limo blocking part of the street where guests could park their car to check-in. Since I didn’t think there was a place to park, I drove around the block and found a parking lot to park my car while I walked to the hotel to check-in and inquire about the parking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Sheraton doesn’t have any parking, but they recommended a lot one street over. You can have valet service parking which is $39 a day w/ in and out privileges or you can walk over and pick up car on your own for $25 a day which I chose to do. Now on your first day at the hotel, they will have someone drive your car to the lot without being charged the valet cost. However, you will have to pick your car up on day of departure if you don’t want to pay $39 a day. Not a big deal since lot is a short walking distance, but it is in a sketchy area. The best thing to do is not have a car to park. There is plenty of public transportation. Buy an MTA card with unlimited usage, depending on your stay, and you can take the bus or subway all day long. I bought a 7-day card for $29 and never had to use my car. Anyway, back to the hotel. It’s very nice. The room was very clean with white linens. Bed and pillows were very comfy. I had a room with two double beds. There was an armoire sized closet to hang clothes, but no drawers. There is a safe for money or jewelry. Easy to use with a swipe of a credit card instead of having to remember a code. There is a large desk and chair if you need to work. I didn’t because I was on vacation, yay! There is a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee available. Water was provided for a charge. Not sure if coffee was free or not since I’m not a coffee drinker. The 42” TV was nice, although the cable connection needs fixing. Short breaks in programs every now and then causing missed dialogue. Maybe wifi has something to do with it, which is free in the lobby. The view from my room was horrible. Looked at a construction site with large crane… lovely. Didn’t really bother me though because the location of the crane was actually helpful when trying to get my sense of direction outside the hotel. I could just look up and find the crane and know where hotel was. The hotel has a small pool, hot tub, and sunning area on the second floor. The second floor also has a work out area that can be accessed with your room key, which is really a card. (who uses keys anymore, right?) Also, you’ll need keycard to use elevator to go to your room. Pain in the pants, but good security measure. Another feature to your room, you can earn $5 coupon if you don’t have maid service every day. Keepin it green gets you $5 off at their restaurant. Grubsteak is the hotel restaurant. Had breakfast there one morning with coupon in hand. No other customers were in the restaurant probably because it was like a freezer in there. The thermostat had to be set at 600, so much for going green. Brrrrr. I like it cold, but that was too cold. I think it probably drove a few customers away while I was there too. Now, about the surrounding area. During the day, there’s plenty of hustle and bustle. No need to feel afraid to roam the streets. Junior’s restaurant is very close. Junior’s is a diner that’s famous for their cheesecake. There are also plenty of pizza shops to buy a slice of pie. To go downtown Manhattan, the Jay St. subway station is just a couple streets over from the hotel. Brooklyn Heights is a very nice area that you can get to on foot. To get into eastern part of Brooklyn, walk to Myrtle Ave. and take the B54 into Ridgewood. This is during the day. At night, you have to be more cautious. The area is dark and deserted. Keep in mind when returning to your hotel. The area is in transition with lots of construction going on. The price of this hotel is much cheaper than in Manhattan and quality of hotel is probably better, as well. I enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to stay here again. August 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to standards Although the desk staff on check in was gracious and accomodating, I was not impressed with this facility. Had to wait on a busy, crowded street for several minutes to even get the attention of the valet person, who in turn took his time about summoning a bellman (I am in a leg cast at the moment) to assist me, and to actually take my vehicle. Found room to be small, crowded, and bathroom layout/lighting/fan noise poor. Service at the bar was slow, inattentive, even though it was very quiet, low number of patrons. Desk staff on checkout failed to send bellman, even after 2 calls, and was slow and uncaring during checkout. Will not recommend this property. April 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Would've had 5 Stars Everything was terrific overall. Clean room with a very nice bathroom. However, our AC went out on the last day. If there's an issue with ac units freezing the staff should notify guests of this and advise them to turn off the units when they leave. We're from South Florida so, we know this issue all too well but, also how to avoid it. So that was a problem on the last night but the manager and front desk staff were very courteous and helpful in resolving this issue. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well Situated Hotel I found the hotel to be well situated and close to the subway. Hotel and rooms were comfortable. Club Room was very good and breakfast was adequate. I did have one issue. The Club Floor is directly in the vicinity of the Club and on Friday night a private function went on till 4:00 am with blasting rap. It was impossible to sleep. I was told the music would stop at 1:00 am. It never did. As A platinum Member I should have been warned ahead of time and given the option to move to a less noisy location. They did move me on Saturday night but the damage was done. Hence I would not recommend this hotel as I would be concerned that someone would have the same experience. October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Compassion and Consideration I stayed here with my sweet 16 year old cat who was undergoing chemotherapy for lymphoma. She went into a partial remission during our stay but sadly died a week after we left the hotel. I cannot say enough about the compassion and consideration we both received. Everyone, including the people at the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, and in-room dining inquired about how she was doing and spoke well wishes often. At time of checkout, I wrote a lengthy note to the general manager of the hotel indicating this. This is my choice for stay when I am in Brooklyn and the number of friends and family I have recommended it to since my stay. I look forward to returning soon! February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST HOTEL VISIT! This was the first time i ever went to New York . I choose this hotel because it is right next to a subway station (at end of street). Hotel was quiet, staff was very nice, and overall I had a great stay at this hotel. Would recommend it to anyone. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay at the Brooklyn Sheraton I stayed at the Sheraton for one night and had a great experience. The staff was incredibly helpful. They went out of their way to provide great service. The total experience made me want to stay there again. I went to the bar before check in for an appletini. It was excellent. I would come again or after work drinks. I used the club lounge during my stay and enjoyed the appetizers and breakfast. The appetizers were just what I needed to hold me over before dinner. The room size was better than expected. There was enough room to spread out. It was generally quiet so I was able to get a good rest. Great experience. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel AC does not always work We stayed two nights, the first night, we got in very late and the ac in our room did not work, it was over 80 degrees but hotel was sold out. The manager Victor, did move our room in the morning and sent a very nice room service tray to us. He also said he would put 4000 points on my spg account but, he never did. He also offered us free breakfast but their resteraunt on site was pretty bad and the service was awefull. The hallways of the hotel were about 85 degrees and we overheard alot of other guests say their ac was not working either. Also, currently there is construction and the street to the hotel is sometimes closed and impossible to drive to. We had to drive around the block 10 times and finally gave up and went to some parking garage a few blocks away and walked. June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great getaway!! When I first arrived, I was given the keys to the wrong room and was a bit annoyed, but Elizabeth at the front desk was apologetic and so friendly that once I opened the door and saw my king size bed everything was Kool and the Gang! i would also like to give a special mention to Eduardo. I arrived late and ordered room service. When I opened the door I was greeted with the warmest smile and personality. He is professional, attentive, and a joy. Eduardo deserves a promotion and a raise!. Last but not least, the new man on the block, Bill, was also very professional and pleasant when he delivered my breakfast and lunch on my last day at the Sheraton. The very best to you Bill. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great server Jasmine was very attentive, friendly and overall, a great representative for your hotel and restaurant. July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected We were there for our wedding night and had booked a 1 bedroom suite and when we arrived we were told our room was downgraded because of AC issues. We encountered drunk rowdy people on our floor and the people next door to us were in and out all night and slammed their door everytime waking us continuously. It was not the experience I wanted to have on my wedding night! June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by first,short visit telephone operating instructions are not satisfactory as fine print in upper corner of a stick-on label. should have details in an easy-to-read folder. during night, telephone randomly flashed a white light onto the window curtain. very annoying, July 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incredibly disappointing... My stay at this hotel was nothing but a daily disappointment and let down by management, saying they would fix things and not following through. First, upon arrival they did not have a king room as my reservation was listed, they said I could asked to be moved the next day, I did, still no King rooms. Secondly, I have to call each day to have my room serviced, that prompted the Guest Services Manager "Victor" to call me, he came to my room to move me to a King Room on the 3rd day of my stay, offered me some free breakfast vouchers, which I never received, and Starwood Points for my inconvenience, again, I never saw that or heard from him again. This was such a let down after my stay the previous week at the Sheraton Austin were everything was perfect. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, and I am a big proponent of Sheraton and Starwood Resorts. So disappointing! June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, poor location Nice hotel, hard to get to based on local construction and one way streets. Parking was a pain at $45 a day valet with only 1 in/out privilege. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable The room was very comfortable. Great bed, pillows. Plenty of space. I will say that it was a little noisy being next to the housekeeping closet and the ice machine, though. Also, the very helpful and kind staff gave me complimentary internet, but I had problems logging in. Had to call down multiple times. The one time I was connected with technical support, it worked for a little while. Kind-of a bummer, but not a deal breaker. The 24hr gym was very nice. And really everyone at the front desk was lovely. I wasn't bothered by the nearby construction. I brought earplugs, but didn't need them. March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Club Lounge is this hotel's best feature. If the staff at the Club Lounge changes, I will not return to this hotel! July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The staff is rude and very disrespectful I stayed at this Sheraton on 6/22. I arrived to the hotel after a long day of driving at ~10:00PM at night. They provided me a wheelchair accessible room. I am not handicap and I really did not appreciate that the shower had no door so all the water could leak all over the floor. Secondly, the toilet did not work. I called the staff about requesting another room with a workable toilet. The man, absolutely not a gentleman, told me to wait for the engineer, the hotel was 97% occupied, and it was not his problem if the toilet doesn't work because he would still charge my credit card for the night. My boyfriend went down to the front desk where he talked to the same staff member and another woman at 10:30PM at night. They still were very rude, disrespectful, and insisted that we continue to wait for the engineer. Finally, at 10:45PM a manager was made aware of the issue and switched our room. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Brooklyn Sparkles The Sheraton Brooklyn offered a clean, comfortable room for our night's stay. The staff at check in was quiet friendly and professional. We were told of the facility's restaurants and lounges. Also, directions to BAM (Brooklyn Academy of Music) were provided orally and in print. Parking proved a hassle with cars being "parked" curbside, but no valets available. This caused a few dangerous situations and some mini-road rage episodes. Husband finally drove around the block to the parking area. Suggestions: a small dresser, with drawers, in the room. A few more amenities in bathroom (e.g., shower cap, swabs, sewing kit, etc.), and extra towels. A hotel guide might be helpful. TV channel/ program listings. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is a NYC gem! The Brooklyn Sheraton has become my go-to hotel for travel to NYC. Close enough to both major airports, and 3 Subway stops from Manhatten. The staff here is always nice, and they are quick to help with anything you need. I've spent 45 nights in this hotel during 2013; and every room I've been in has been extremely clean and well taken care of. The city noise is barely audible in this building; which is always nice when traveling for work. The room service is fast, and the food quality is great. I've stayed here all 4 seasons, and the cooling/heating is also very comfortable during all months. December 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great neighborhood hotel! The rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds are great for sleeping. The rooms are not sound proof so we were very lucky to have our white noise machines with us. We did buy the Club Room package. Appetizers were ok, breakfast is very good. For dinner, We walked to a great neighborhood restaurant "Queen Italian" at 84 Court Street. Great food! Mayor Giuliani, Koch, and De Blasio have all eaten there. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent stay My wife and I stayed at your hotel for a wedding June 29. The hotel was recommended by the brides family, and we were pleasantly surprised by everything the hotel had to offer. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Very nice hotel 2 major issues. The parking situation is terrible and wifi is not free which I think in this day and age that should be standard July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel Needs Help The staff was courteous and helpful. This unfortunately was not enough to overcome the facilities pitfalls. The restaurant/ bar is subpar in both quality and professionalism. The house keeping leaves something to be desired as well. There is no taxi stand. I was offered a Towncar after about 5 minutes of walking around trying to find out how to get a ride. The driver didn't know where the museum was and was on his phone the entire trip getting directions. Then I was charged $20.00 for the ride. In my experience this is a very amateur organization that runs this hotel. April 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A big disappointment We usually stay somewhere else in Brooklyn but decided to try the Sheraton. We won't be back. The big problem was with the heat in the room. The thermostat consistently read 74, but we were shivering all the time. An engineer came to check it out, said it was working now and the room should warm up after a while. It didn't. We couldn't even close the vent, which sent a loud, ferocious wind across the bed all night. But there were other problems: weak water pressure, no phone by the bed, and no drawers in the room (really?). The hotel is also in a strange place-taxis couldn't get to it. All that said, the staff were all great, attentive and friendly and the room service food and service were excellent. April 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel did not impress. Valet was a nightmare, not only did I have to wait over 40 mins I was spoken to by the valet like it was my fault. Check in was great though, the young man was amazing & full of information. Unfortunately later that evening when we asked where we should get a drink & food the woman @ the desk told us to go across the street. I was confused by this considering the hotel I thought had their own restaurant & lounge. Lastly a day after check out I get a revised bill were I was charged for a bottle of water we never touched. So needless to say we will not be staying here any time soon. October 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by My June stay I was so disappointed in this stay that I am not sure I will stay again. It cost a lot of money to stay and I do not feel you meet the criteria any more.A positive is the beds and linens are amazing!! The air conditioning was loud and did not work properly and I did mention it and it was even worse after that. The staff seemed way too busy to personally help me. The hot tub again was not working and then it was fixed and very luke warm at best and the jets were not working properly so what is the point!! So disappointing. And then none of the tv's worked in the restaurant bar so why go in there and watch the World Cup and on top of that they were out of chardonnay!! A bar out of wine on a weekend what is up with that??!! Unbelievable!!! I do feel that certain employees were delightful and made some of these issues dealable.. It is also impossible to get a taxi and no one is willing to call one!! I think I need to try another hotel on my next visit. And the saddest part not one manager even addressed me on this trip especially after I asked to speak with them!! Very disappointing.. I do love the rooms and the beds are fabulous but since the air conditioning was so loud and then stopped working it made for a very stressful sleeping situation. This hotel is only four years old and I am so sad by all these issues. July 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Elevator/Bellhop The hotel was great. On Mon., Sep 10th I called for a bellhop at 8:40 AM, expecting to be meeting my limo at 9 AM. Not only was I not told that one elevator was inoperable, there were tons of people trying to check out at the same time. It took an hour, two phone calls to the front desk (Jessica) and two by the chambermaid on my floor (room 406). I almost missed linking up with my aunt's funeral procession in Jamaica NY because I was unable to get a bellhop in a timely manner. I could have taken a bag down at a time, had the front desk told me that one elevator was inorperable. September 14, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>