The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel Beijing

  • 10 North Dong San Huan Road, Chaoyang District
  • Beijing,
  • Beijing
  • 100125
  • China
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 2.7 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Professionalism I left some money in my laundry while they were being sent out for washing. The housekeeping staff found them and contacted me immediately. Money was return fully intact ! March 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but needs a renovation This hotel is in the central part of town, and has easy access to transportation. A traditional hotel, that also has good history. Club floor lounge provides good meeting space, and the 24-hour lounge service is a nice touch. February 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by about the TV system i think great wall sheraton hotel is almost excellent, but maybe just only one thing could not be satisfied, it s TV. I wish this hotel could equip new flat TV when i stay again next time. February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by GOTTA GET WITH THE TIMES OVERALL IMPRESSION: When I came to China the first time in the eighties, this property was the showplace of the nation and in comparison with what else was out there, afforded a level of comfort and luxury unknown in China. But times have changed, the hotel hasn’t. This would no longer be my choice for accommodation in the Capital. SPG RECOGNITION: They do try but in such a factory-like atmosphere it is hard to feel special. Upgraded to a full suite. THE ROOM: Basically two standard rooms (with two standard baths) connected with a common foyer - the strange set-up meant we virtually never went into the “sitting” room. Decor while pleasant is dated and in need of a re-fit. LOCATION: Beijing is so sprawling that virtually everywhere is a taxi ride away but one pleasant exception in the lovely new upscale shopping and entertainment centre at Sanlitun Road just a short walk from the hotel. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Unfortunately most were only just met and none exceeded. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: In the new service-oriented China, this place really feels like an anachronism. Some really intensive re-training in line with new customer expectations would definitely be in order. As would be a full property restoration. March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location, easy access Great location, easy access. Club lounge was nice. However, no LINK@Sheraton in the lobby, and no workstations at the lounge July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not the best hotel to stay at 1. the front desk staff didn't know what she was talking about. She shoo me away when I asked if I can check in on the 17th floor since i booked the elite room. i repeated myself several times but she refused to acknowledge my question. 2. the swimming pool was in a bad shape. August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Hotel in Need of Renovation, but Excellent Front Office Staff I needed to book this hotel for a one-night stay to be near the embassy district. Already knew that this hotel was old and tired and in dire need of renovation (this hotel still uses the old CRT TVs!; haven't seen those in a four- or five-star hotel in a loooong time!). All previous reviews about the hotel's condition are spot on. No further comment about that. However, I must point out the EXCELLENT attitude and service of one Front Office staff member, Gilda. She was exceptional in her friendliness and willing to please. Checked in at the SPG Platinum Desk, and she was there waiting with a warm smile. Presented all my credentials including my SPG Platinum Card. When, she handed back my SPG Card, she said "Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood". I must say that, in all my years of travel, I have NEVER had anyone at check in to thank you for such loyalty. It is usually "Thank you for staying at our hotel", etc. Caught me a bit surprised, actually. Went back to the Front Office later in the evening to check on some things, and Gilda was there. She remembered my name and addressed me very friendly. Helped out with my requests, etc. Checked out next day afternoon, and once again, Gilda was at the Front Desk. She again remembered my name and addressed me as such. At the end of checkout, she once again said "Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood. Your points will post in three days. Have a wonderful day". There was no fake smile or pre-scripted dialog about her interactions. Everything was so genuine and her service from the heart. She put a very nice "star" on top of a mediocre stay at an old hotel. Hope she does well; she will go far with such good service and attitude. I hope her superior or the hotel GM gets this message. October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Wall Sheraton Hotel: Under promise and over deliver The hotel surprised me positively with every single thing. From check in, timeliness, adhering promptly to requests, personalized service, etc. Rooms had a great view of Beijing, the SPG dining room was a pleasure to enjoy breakfast in, the front office executed every request first time right, and on time. It was a great experience which few hotels will be able to match. There location is great and central. I will without doubt recommend this hotel to anyone and I already have friends who wants to go to Beijing next year so guess where they will be staying. Really well done and thank you for the effort from the general management and front office management. April 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok, but does need improvement I stay here several times a year because it is in a location that works for me, it is a category 2 Hotel and one can get reasonable SPG Point rates or point and cash rates. I do not book revenue rates here. There are better SPG Hotel nearby but I come back because it is reasonable and everyone knows this Hotel as it most be one of the oldest International Hotels in Beijing. As a Platinum member I do get Junior suite upgrades, but rooms are still small compared to other Hotels in city. The Club lounge is ok. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not qualifier to be a real 5-* I booked a non-smoking room and came in with sort of smells. The hardware is poor compared to its 5* level. For e.g., floor is made up of stone but it's very easy to find there's some broken parts... The TV set is using 1990's device. Painting is not professional. Actually the whole basic condition in this hotel is quite good. Everything is not qualifier a little. When it's accumulated, the feel is very bad. The table at reception is messing up The only reason I book next time (if any) is the close distance to airport. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place to stay in Beijing for SPG member Stayed 3 night with pleasure. Both the room and services met my expectations. Location of hotel is very convenient to bus stop and subway. I've read the reviews online before I go. The hotel was built earlier than the others. So I don't expect a brand new in everything. All staff are friendly especially who cleaned the room. All of my guest requests were fulfilled on time. Room is clean and space is OK. Free WIFI is available in room which made me happier. There were some singing performance around 9pm every evening. The only thing made me uncomfortable is the small switch to turn on the shower. I have to pull very hard to make the water come out from the shower head. I guess it is very old. Hope they can change it during future renovation. All in one word, it was a good stay. Thank you! July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value but facility needs upgrading The location is convenient and service quality is good as per Sheraton standard. However the hotel itself is a bit run-down. I tried going to swimming pool for a swim and gave up the idea when I saw there were molds on the swimming pool floor. July 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Is this a SPG hotel? I been to many of SPG hotels around Asia region and I must say that this hotel is one that I never felt its a SPG. The main issue here is the service. Staff are not attentive to me, and was trying to negotiate with me on a different room types as what was both stated in the room booking confirmation as well as in my SPG profile. Calling the Express service asking for several items but what arrived was short of what was being asked or the items are not what was being asked. I guess the service level of this hotel remain at the ' Great Wall' and have not integrated into the SPG service standard. October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Service, Worst pool in SPG I love the location of this hotel and the service is above average. The bones of this hotel are good-I cannot fathom why they wouldn't do an update. Case in point, the windows in the first floor lounge are huge and the space is great but the view is of what looks like an abandoned amusement park from a horror movie. If they just knocked all this down and replaced it with grass it would be fantastic. The price is more affordable than the other SPG hotels in the area, but is still too much to pay for this. The breakfast itself was excellent. The area you dine in couldn't be more tacky. Don't try the pool-it looks like what you would find in a soviet training camp in the 70s. Please please please update this hotel. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always return to this hotel I will stay at Great Wall Sheraton hotel in Beijing again ,because its location,food and comfortable room ! July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel and great staff! The staff is friendly and very helpful. We loved the plates in the Silk Road Trattoria. The rooms were comfortable with tick curtains that perfectly block out the light! What else?! Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed is just the best! July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good service and SPG recognition, but hotel needs to be renovated. Overall a nice hotel, great SPG recognition, good service, and location is ok. However, quite outdated and in need of an upgrade. Carpets in hallway is stained and soiled, common areas bit dark, old big box Tv and limited channels, only wired internet and very slow, although the hotel has great potential with some modernization. Fitness center etc. is large, but very run down and equipment is old. Food at hotel is not to be recommended, quite bad. Overall, great potential with some new investment to modernize, and better chefs to improve on dining expereince. March 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible hotel My family and I just recently stayed at this hotel and switched hotels after a few nights. The staff was not nice or welcoming, the rooms were very dated (no flat screen TVs, etc), the thermostat controls didn't work in the room so it was VERY hot, the toilet kept running, the pool was in desperate need of attention (the bottom was stained and the paint coming off). I have never written a bad review in my life, but this was one of the worst hotel experiences we have had and we travel internationally several times a year. April 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing I booked this hotel for my friends and me while we were visiting Beijing. I booked a 3 bed room and asked for it at the check in again. I booked and aske as well for a Non-Smoking room... We have been placed to a room with a single king size bed and no space for an additional bed and it was a smoking room as well. After a long day of traveling it took the staff more than 45 min!!! to change the room for us. Additional issues: -No free wifi on the room (even if I'm platinum member) -No-one helped to carry the lugguage even if enough people from the staff have been staying around in the lobby - check out took 20 min while our car was waiting - breakfast just average/poor (e.g. no fresh omlete or anything cooked fresh offered) This is not Sheraton style! March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Oldest Western Hotel In China Knowing that I was staying in the first Western hotel in China colors my view of our experience. Yes, the outdoors carpets were very worn. Yes, the décor was somewhat dated. Yes, the television was pre-HD. But overall the building was clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful when we checked in and out. The only need for improvement is to replace worn carpeting, new television, and fix the outdoor patio area so that this can be restored to the five-star that it appears it once was. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 star service It is the best SPG hotel among those I have stayed across United States, Canada and China. Firstly, I like the excellent service here: the baggage delivery to the room, baggage storage within 30 days of guest leave, beverage zone at 17th floor. More importantly, the front desk ladies were very patient to address my questions and concerns, they have even provided the solution smartly. I appreciate such professionalism. Secondly, I like the view from my room, it gave me much chance to stay around the big window and see the changes made in the past in this beautiful city. The first thing my 2 kids in the morning to do is to watch the buildings, sunrise and the moving cars/bus on the avenues. Surprisingly, the room is pretty quite and we can't hear the noise outside although this hotel is next to one of the heaviest traffic roads in Beijing. I am very satisfied with the hotel and would definitely stay here in the future, furthermore, I would strongly recommend my friends and colleagues to visit. March 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Back To The Future This property has not been refurbished since Michael J Fox installed the Flux Capacitor. Bizarre property for a Sheraton/Starwood. Major gripe is the fixtures and furnishings in room that resemble a set off the Brady Bunch and the price you pay for that. Value for money poor and rates should be relative to standad of Hotel. They're not. Staff make an effort given the drab surroundings. Some good Starwood Properties in Beijing. This needs a major refurb to be at a level even close to others. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sevices becomes lower especially for breakfast, June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel but good price Hotel facility is old, location and price is quite good in Beijing June 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel needs a lot of improvements This is the oldest Starwood hotel in Beijing and needs a face lift or renovation badly. However so far only 2 levels have been renovated. I don't get the normal platinum welcome such as welcome fruits, free pressing of garments etc here. To make up for the old rooms, you would imagine the hotel would be generous on other services. Food at the executive lounge is mediocre at best, a much better variety is badly needed. The hotel is old, but that doesn't seem to be the only problem. June 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worn out Ive stayed here 10+ times over the past 2 years. For those 2 years they have been saying we are renovating, but there are no signs of improvement. Hotel is close to airport and lounge is sufficient. Never have been able to figure out what the two floor types are, club vs elite. Pictures online show elite to be new, but I have never seen one, even after asking to be downgraded from a suite to just a plain elite room. Hopefully they will renovate in the next decade. April 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Definitely have better Sheratons out there From the point of arriving at the hotel, there really wasn't much passion shown from the doormen. They didn't offer to help with bags or really say much, but rather just looked us up and down and continued on their conversation. Check-in didn't take too long but there was absolutely zero platinum recognition from the staff. I had to tell them that I'd prefer the 500 welcome points and they kind of agreed. No explanation of any of the benefits and thus I went to the wrong floor cause the Club Lounge is actually on the 17th floor. The best part of the hotel was the staff in the club lounge. They were very welcoming and continually asking if there was anything that I needed for both the afternoon and the following morning's breakfast. Overall, it was a place to sleep, shower and continue my journey but nothing that really warranted me to go back again. July 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Spg property This is absolutely the worse Starwood property. They should not even be under Starwood group. With all of the inconvenience. When I complain to the manager. He didn't do anything. Even he was the one who give wrong info. Bizarre hotel. Worse than budget hotel May 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service The facilities and the rooms are nice. The concierge service and the front desk services need major improvement. Inspite of being gold and having requested the 2 rooms days back - they could not even find the reservation. Check in took 30 minutes. And check out was disastrous too as they invoiced the room to my 13 year old! The concierge was completely unhelpful and we had to mostly figure things out through the net. October 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Severely Dated Hotel This hotel looks like its from the 70's and the rooms feel the same way. As a platinum member we were upgraded to a "jr suite"room. First, this room looks nothing like anything they advertise on the website. Tube Tvs, (who knew hotels still had these) barely any spacce to walk. The bathroom is a joke, as a tall american my head almost touches the ceiling while showering. It reminds me of my college dorm years. January 10, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>