Rated 5 out of 5 by Antnancy Sheraton Duluth MN
The hefty 239.00 nightly fee should have included free Internet service.
July 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by jormor Good hotel but beware of "Green Service"
This is a good hotel with comfortable rooms and excellent beds. The complaint I have is the way they sold the "green service" when I checked in. I thought it was the typical "reuse your towels, don't change the bed every day" type option. I do this anyway. However at this Sheraton it means the service does not even open the door! And for a five night stay this meant bed not made (not a problem) , toilet never cleaned, waste baskets never emptied, no check on toilet paper or kleenex, no refills for the in-room coffee maker. I tried it to see the result and this is carrying it WAY too far. I am happy to go green but not to go dirty!
June 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by FrequentTraveler13 SPG TRAVEL ADVENTURE HOTEL # 1
I took on a mission to travel across the United States and stay at all SPG Hotels located in the US at least once for leisure.
I started my SPG TRAVEL MISSION on May 24th, 2013 with the Sheraton Duluth Hotel located on Lake Superior in Northern Minnesota.
I drove from Minneapolis to Duluth and if you stop to rest it takes anywhere between 3-4 hours to reach this SPG property.
CAUTION: Once you get off highway 35 and reach the hotel then its a challenge to find the parking ramp. The ramp is located behind the hotel with no clear markings on it. It is rather confusing. Just call the hotel if you get lost and they will give you directions. There is sign that says $1/1 hour located right at the entry of the ramp.
SKYWAY: After you park, you will have to make your way to the 2nd floor and through a desolate skyway. You will reach a secured door and then will reach a elevator. Take the elevator to the lobby (Caution; do NOT take the stairs opposite the elevators down as the stairs are never ending and winding). The elevators are extremely SLOW but will get you there. LADIES AND GIRLS, PLEASE BE CAREFUL IN THE PARKING RAMP AT NIGHT AND WALKING THROUGH THE DESOLATE RAMP/SKYWAY ALONE IS NOT RECOMMENDED. ITS BEST TO HAVE SOMEBODY ESCORT YOU.
STAFF: The young ladies at check in were very courteous and friendly. I must extend a special thanks to RYAN, REED AND THE MANAGERS STEVEN AND MATTHEW. The staff were just amazing. I must thank SCOTT at the Sheraton entrance who greeted me.
There were cupcakes at the check in desk as this property was celebrating its 6th birthday.
I was given a beautiful suite with a lake view and a special cheese plate was delivered to my room. The room also had a jacuzzi.
Duluth is a quiet little town. I ate at Black Woods Grill located close to the hotel. The fish menu was amazing. Also took a brief walk on Broadwalk but it was rather chilly and I retreated back to the cozy hotel. I also ate at the AMAZING GRACE CAFE and the food was just amazing, Its a cozy romantic bakery and cafe. The bread is delicious.
Check out was effortless. Please remember to validate your parking ticket at the hotel front desk and just insert the ticket upon exit into the machine and it will let you out of the parking ramp.
Overall, great staff, cozy hotel and suites have a lake view. The club lounge is on the 6th floor and snacks plus breakfast are available at specific times.
If you are in Duluth, Minnesota then check this hotel out.
May 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by travelinggirl Nice Hotel
The Sheraton Duluth is the nicest hotel I've stayed in, in Duluth. The Shuttle Driver volunteerred to help me out to my car in the garage with my luggage and the front desk helped me with some envelopes that needed stamps and mailing. They also had a microwave and refrigerator delivered to the room for no charge. So the staff is helpful and try to go out of their way to make your stay a good one. The rooms pretty clean but housekeeping kept forgetting to leave refills of coffee cups etc... I do wish the parking would have been closer and more convenient, but at least it was free and covered. Overall, I recommend this hotel for a comfortable, pleasant stay.
January 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by JustinKRo Duluth Stay
Hotel comfort, quality of sleep and amenities met expectations however, the staff did not.
During our check-in process, our room was not ready by the guaranteed check-in time of 3pm. The front desk associate let us know that he could upgrade us for our SPG status but it would be 30-45 minutes He stated that he would call when it was ready. 45 minutes passed and when we returned to the desk, he stated that "he forgot" and had to get someone to clean a room. Needless to say, this is not how SPG members should be treated.
Furthermore, during our checkout, the associate was far from excited to be at work. She didn't smile once and never even asked how our stay was.
July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hubbyinhospital This hotel was lacking good staff
The lady that checked us in was rude. The room was dusty. Tuesdays paper was under the door and we checked in on a Thursday afternoon. There was not an extra blanket provided for the pull out sofa bed. The glass water glasses were smudged. The checkout process was horrible. There was a food/beverage charge on our bill and the staff did not know how to remove it. We did not charge any food or beverage to the room during our one night stay. It took over 45 minutes to checkout. I'm still not entirely sure if the amount charged to my credit card is entirely accurate. The staff at this hotel at the front desk is lacking in skills.
February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by madtown99 Overall good stay
Paid for a lake view and were very disappointed/confused as to how our 2nd floor room was classified as a lake view. Looking straight at the window was the 2nd story of a building directly across the street. The small sliver view of the lake was only visible when sitting on the far side of the window and looking out at a 45 degree angle. Not major, but were also shorted clean towels and didn't have garbages emptied on last day before checkout, which has rarely happened in previous hotel stays. Rest of room and hotel was very nice as expected for the price we paid. Front desk staff were very helpful and location was very good.
October 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by abcxyz123456 too expensive for what you get
This hotel was too expensive for what we got. No fridge, microwave, not enough towels in the room when we got there. The pool was much smaller than I had expected. When we got there we found that from where we had to park, you had to go in 3-4 different elevators just to get to our room. It wasn't very convenient in any way. When we checked out I looked at our bill and it had food and beverage charges added for each day we stayed and we didn't eat anything there. I don't recommend this hotel unless you want to pay a lot of money for very little ammenities and like elevators and like to walk a lot just to get to your room.
July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Antonio Sheraton Duluth is a disappointment
I planned my road trip from Minot to Sault Ste Marie, so I could stop at the Sheraton Duluth. I arrived at 8 pm, the SPG lounge was already closed, so I asked for a complimentary snack in the bar where I could watch the NBA all-star game. Not possible. My room was OK, slightly dated. In the am, I was surprised to find the exercise area had only bike and running machines, few if any weight machines. Even more surprising was management's attitude when I raised this. We will add them when the other equipment wears out!
The SPG lounge was a disappointment - only sweet cereals, no bananas or berries, and one bagel. Again, management's response was disappointing - meh!
July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by RamFam Awesome flexibility!
My mother was unexpectedly transferred to St. Mary's Hospital in Duluth on a Friday evening. We were able to make reservations for Saturday to be with her for her procedure the next day. Upon arrival in the morning we were able to get into our room and out to the hospital. The staff was wonderful and fun! We enjoyed dinner at the 301 Restaurant and had Olivia as our server, she was amazing and helped us put one over on our two children (10, 8) by giving them their bill (they sat at another table). It was priceless when they began to negotiate to do dishes the next morning. We would certainly stay here again! Thank you.
June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stolzy Would recommend and stay again.
My room was set at 59 degrees upon arrival. It was freezing to say the least. I adjusted temp and went down for dinner. Upon returning to room the temp had not moved. I contacted the front desk and they went through trying a couple different settings on the temp control box. He called back 10 minutes later as he stated and nothing changed. They sent someone to the room immediately and checked into the heat. It didn't change. They arranged for another room for me and we very concerned about my needs. They definitely went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable and even brouhgt me some hot tea later. E xcellent customer service. Will definitely stay here again.
September 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Juhlsgrandma Stress Reducer
We stayed at the Sheraton as my husband was having tests at St. Mary's hospital. Convenient location. Shuttle service to the hospital available. Late checkout possible. The staff succeeded in reducing some of the stress in a very stressful situation. Thank you.
November 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brian56 Brian G.
I made a reservation for" King Suite Club Floor Lake View" several Mounths ago... Requested Room 612... It has a fireplace. I called the G. M. Doug Bremer a week before check-in to confirm the room. I left a message on his voice mail to confirm my request. He never responded... I did not get the room I requested... I was very disappointed he did not respond to my voice mail or request. I still have never heard back from the G. M. Doug Bremer. I feel that is was very unpoofessional not to respond or have an explanation why I did not get that room...?
October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by NickMN Great location, comfortable rooms
Rooms were clean and fairly nice. Bed was comfortable. Bathrooms were awesome, loved the huge shower. The layout of the hotel is a little weird, especially coming from the parking ramp (situated behind the hotel).
Location is great -- downtown and several tasty restaurant options are easily within walking distance. It's also only a few blocks to Canal Park and all that has to offer.
Very likely to return on my next stay in Duluth!
October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Scooter68 wireless internet fees
As a former Duluth native, I really appreciate the modern accomodations now available on the east side of downtown. The entire hotel promises to change my visiting experience in Duluth. My only criticism is the sneaky charge for internet. We spent one night, and after my family connected their devices I had 3 charges for $4.95 each for internet (although one had automatically been reversed by 'JP'. The room rate was very reasonable - if a surcharge must be attained for this service, why not just bump up the rate by $5?
Otherwise, I found everything else professional, convenient & all around impressive.
December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by oldtrout Friendly and helpful staff
On early arrival we were greeted by Nicole who advised us our room did not appear to be ready but she would check.
While waiting for housekeeping to replay she offered several suggestions for short tours of the area and places to dine. Thanks to her precise instructions we had a most enjoyable afternoon drive which concluded with a wonderful meal at one of the recommended restaurant .
While Nicole was speaking with us housekeeping called to advise our room was ready and we were able to check in prior to departing for our drive.
Overall we enjoyed a a great afternoon and evening thanks to Nicole.
September 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotelman Hope you are ready for a hassle...
After my stay there, a week later than the hotel charge on my CC, I get another charge on my CC for an additional night stay. After 4 calls over a week and a half in which I was continually transferred to the manager's voicemail and assured he would return my calls, I finally got him to answer. He said that it looks like they put me down for 2 reservations for a room for one of the nights by accident and charged me for a no show. Honestly the first time I have heard of charging for a no show, especially on a weekday. He said it would be refunded that day. 2 weeks have gone by without seeing it yet and being sent to voicemail yet again. You might want to think twice about staying here. There are plenty of other decent hotels in Duluth that have to have better customer service.
July 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pigashalaka Not as expected
I spent last Saturday night at the Sheraton with for my wife's birthday. Upon check in, we were greeted nicely and then went to park. Upon walking back into the hotel, there had been a fire alarm of some sort....chaos seemed to be going on. The elevators were out of order, so we had to lug out luggage up stairs to our room. It felt very weird going to our rooms when alarms are going off, but we were told it was okay. I had difficulty carrying my luggage, due a herniated disc in my back. It would have been nice if they would have brought our luggage up for us or something later.
The rooms were comfortable, however the air is extremely dry in the rooms. My wife and I both woke up with sore throats and stuffed noses, which were relieved by the outside air later in the day. Our "city view" was a view of an aluminum grate, not what we expected.
Upon check out, I waited in line for several minutes to get my parking validated. There was another employee standing by front desk, doing nothing to help the long line. He answered the phone once, didnt try to serve people who were in line. It was frustrating to me.
I have never complained about service anywhere, but this hotel was a very expensive night for me and I just thought things should have been a lot better for the price we paid for a room. Outside of my concerns, things were just fine, but I do want to stay here again, for I can get the same level of service at a much cheaper place.
November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by mjj6 Water in the room
I was disappointed with having water in the room. I thought it was "free" as the small bottle was marked. We also drank the large bottle, assuming that one was free too as it was not marked. Found out later they charge for the large bottle. Please label them or do not put them in the room unless you want guests to use them at no additional cost.
October 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by grant55 great play to stay, but slowly on the decline
We have stayed at this hotel for many years. Duluth is our favorite weekend getaway destination. We try to stay on the club floor.
The quality of food in the club lounge has steadily gone downhill. There used to be a warm entree in the evening, but this last time there was none. There also seems to be a huge turn over in staff as the last few times we have stayed the only familiar person was the shuttle driver. On check-in, our reservation was not right. First, we were told there were no other rooms as they were "full" but then when pressed, they actually found a room to match the type I had reserved. It used to be the policy that dogs were delegated to one floor, but now they are all over the place.
March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 House Keeping
Housekeeping proceeded to let themselves in my room at 9AM while the do not disturb sign was on the door. If I had not used the inside security lock, the maid would have found me getting dressed.
We were not due to checkout until 12pm, it was 9AM.
The maid said its their policy to check rooms - even though there is a do not disturb sign on the door?
September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LauraM1960 Wonderful location
We stayed here for 3 nights and used our SPG points. Everything was very good for comfort, location and fun. We enjoyed the option to add 500 points to our accumulation for not having our room serviced while we stayed there. The only complaint I have is the young woman who staffed the Club level breakfast both Sat. and Sunday was rude and NOT efficient. Many items were low and the counter was very messy. She was sitting in the back room, not to be seen, playing on her phone. We had to search her out and ask for items... like napkins BOTH days. Otherwise, our visit here was very nice.
September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by TravelBlast Disappointed
We have stayed at this hotel previously and have even recommended to others that they stay here. This time, however, we were quite disappointed. We made a reservation on the Club floor with a lake view, and when we arrived we were told no such rooms were available. Furthermore, we were told that was not the room we had reserved. Fortunately, I had a copy of my reservation showing we had in fact reserved a Club floor room with a lake view. Instead we had to settle for another floor. We were offered additional SPG points, however I have not seen the additional SPG points on my account. Otherwise, we enjoy the location, the fitness room, and the restaurant. Next time, we won't trust the online reservation.
October 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by JKevM Jkevin
The staff was excellent, the hotel is in a great place for watching the ships under the lift bridge. We had a great stay. The ONLY problem is the walk from the parking ramp to the room.
October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Skimmer Great Hotel
We stay at the Sheraton in Duluth a few times per year. It is a great Hotel, easy to get to Canal Park. Great staff. We LOVE it at this Hotel!
October 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Red77 Not as reserved
Beautiful hotel, first time there and circled property three times attempting to figure out where to park. After calling twice the front desk finally answered and explained we had to park in public parking and then be validated. It was very difficult to find our way from parking structure to check-in desk. Had reserved King with Lake view, at check-in this was not available. We did have a nice room but it had an odd layout and there was no King size bed. We needed to print boarding passes and 2 of 3 computers would not print, front desk assisted and printed for us.
August 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bill1740 Two maintenance problems- Room 536
1) I reported a non functioning toilet to the front desk but regretably this was not repaired after an absence of 6 six hours. On reporting for the second time, on checking out, the front desk lady did add 500 points to my SPG account. I had to resort in manually taking off the toilet lid and manually operating the water flap in the tank. every time the toilet used.
2) At 4:00am the low battery fire alarm commenced a high piercing alarm every minute. A front desk staff member came up and removed the fire alarm after some time.
August 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Edward147 This hotel internet speed is really really slow
This hotel internet speed is really really slow
October 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by MNBound Nice hotel but...
Not having a fridge in the room is a bummer. Also, it's great that you allow small pets (or by our neighbors account a 100# Bermese mountain dog), but it would be WONDERFUL if you actually had a place to take them outside to do their business without walking the entire hotel & skywalk & parking ramp to get to an alley (that is in really poor condition from snow buildup). Maybe a rooftop location with a special access card would work? Since I am commenting i would also like to say the club member breakfast leaves ALOT to be desired.....very disappointing.
February 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by 84Ryan Needs refocus
I've been staying here a long time. As the hotel has gotten more popular, I feel that the environment has become much noisier and loud people and parties occur more frequently, especially on weekends. Occasionally, I feel like with the increase in business, less attention has been given to maintenance issues like rattling HVAC intakes, hot water temperature/pressure, banged up walls and furniture. While the staff is attentive, professional and very friendly, I think it would be great if personal follow up of reported issues with a room was forthcoming.
December 21, 2013