Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 654 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good experience The staff bordered on being rude from the doorman to the wait staff to the guest services people on the phone, nobody seemed interested in providing quality service. On top of that the elevators stopped on every floor due to some glitch and we ended up taking the fire stairs from the tenth floor because the wait was so long. The public hallways were poorly kept with trash sitting out for longer than a day. At the club lounge when I asked for a cup of coffee at 9am, I was told there was no more even though they were open until 10:30. What is wrong with the people here? May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Service, Nice Stay Everything about our stay was excellent, from the SPG recognition to the amazing 24th floor view, to the comfort of the room. But the staff REALLY makes this place special. From the front desk to the helpful doormen, everyone was efficient and friendly. Topping our list: housekeeping. An hour after we left, my wife discovered she had left in the room an antique pin that meant a lot to her. I called, and the housekeeping coordinator was wonderful, kind and thorough. 15 minutes later, she called to say Derricka (spelling?) had gone in and tracked it down. Thanks to all. March 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a More Thorough Cleaning I stayed at this hotel for one night, Wednesday, December 11. I received a large conrner room which was nice. However, I wanted to heat up some water to make some tea but the coffee machine looked dusty/dirty. Also the blow dryer in the bathroom had a layer of dust on it as well. Although the rest of the room seemed fine, I wonder when was the last time someone did a thorough cleaning.... December 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Somewhathappy I have stayed at this Sheraton for a few years, especially around the Xmas holiday. Why are there No refrigerators in the rooms. Also what is the additional $50.00 charged on my account. What is it for and why. My bill was $265.00 total, but what is the additional $50.00 for, please explain. Thank you. January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean but slightly dated This hotel is clean and comfortable, but slightly dated in room set up. No free internet. No choices in dining. Fees are expensive. The lamp switch broke off and the cleaning lady left it on rather than having it fixed. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff I especially want to commend this hotel on its choice of staff who are professional, attentive, helpful and charming.Special praise go to Toni and Edward at reception, Eric at the Concierge desk and Shawn in the Club Lounge restaurant. A hotel can be judged by its staff and because of them my stay was memorable as they went out of their way to be helpful. The choice of staff is a reflection as well on the hotel which has chosen them. December 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Discovery I found the hotel as a pleasant discovery. The staff and service was very good, helpful and friendly, reflects the MGMT, which is also very good. The Fitness Center was well equipped and a nice size, never crowded. Club Lounge service was excellent, especially the morning person. Hotel is doing some renovations, upgrades of the property Near by there are plenty of dining and pub establishments and shopping, short walk from hotel. The only issue I had with the hotel, was at check in, the front Desk Staff needs to improve/understand Platinum Benefits/Upgrades, November 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommendations I have been using you hotel with the Antique Auto Club for many years. May I say that I was very disappointed to see the main lobby clock missing this year. It was like an old friend had passed away. I can understand change, but being older I will never like it. In any case, may I suggest a large city mural on the "clock wall" area as a replacement, as I realize you are modernizing anyway. The only other problem that I had was a room employee ignoring my "do not disturb" sign. I carry valuable electronic equipment with me and do not want room service. Thank you February 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel is very accomodating I enjoyed being there with my granddaughter who is an artist and my son and his wife. hhe doorman and consiere were very helpful. The service was excellent. April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Little attention to detail Check in was fine. When I got to my room I got a nice whiff of tobacco smoke smell, which I'm allergic to. I called the customer service line and was transferred to the front desk, and was put on hold. I was hoping to change rooms before I got unpacked. About 3 minutes later the phone just hung up. I called customer service again, waited about 10 minutes, then just hung up and gave up. About 30 minutes later, a guy showed up and squirted some Fabreeze around the room. The handle in the shower didn't work well, one of the bathrooms on the mezzanie level had no toilet paper. Some of the juices and food trays ran out for the breakfasts of the meetings. I just felt like these were some basic operational details that a high-quality business hotel should get right. November 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was not what I expected One of the most important factors that I look at when I stay at a hotel is whether or not the hotel is clean. This hotel is unsatisfactory as far as cleanliness. The hallways are very dirty and had the same trash items laying on the floor for my whole four day stay. My room had a pretzel on the floor when we arrived and it was still there when we checked out four days later. Toilet paper was not replenished when used and I needed to call the desk to get more. One of the days when we returned to our room there was blood on a blanket and I needed to call the desk to get that replaced. Not sure what the housekeeping did that got blood on the blanket. The front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating each time I called to them. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Other than the extended wait to check in because our room was not ready. Our overall experience and stay was EXCELLENT. The 1 king bedroom room was very spacious, sexy and comfortable. The room looks exactly like the picture on the website. Sheraton staff, keep up the good work. Customer service means EVERYTHING! November 10, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but dissappointing Checkin and lobby staff as well as the staff answering the phone, were friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and met my needs. I used the courtesy coffee maker in the room each evening while I was working. Unfortunately, only some of the "supplies" were replaced the second morning and each subsequent day less and less was replaced until nothing was replaced and there was no longer coffee. I did not see anything related to the "green" use of towels mentioned in a different review. I tried to set my towels up for reuse but they were replaced. August 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient ...big hotel Convenient to sites and public transportation. Affordable price for the city. Followed another reviewers recommendation. Parking at the hotel is outrageous just go around the corner on Vine St and there are numerous commuter lots. This is a big hotel. Lobby is huge so it feels like a convention center hotel. Elevators are slow. TV stations were quirky. Bed comfortable, room clean, bathroom very clean, would stay there again. Check the cancellation policy to see if it meets your needs. Hotel web site had a cheaper rate after I had booked through Starwood. September 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by room service Room service food is fantastic and the staff delivering are very friendly and helpful. January 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs some updating Lack of in-room refrigerator was a disappointment. Bathroom door was warped and rubbed against the floor, resulting in noisy door when open/close. Drawers in table holding coffer maker would not close, and remained open. There was no printed guide in room showing the TV channels, which would have been helpful. While the hotel was OK, there are probably better options in the local area. No free wi-fi in room. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay but this Sheraton is starting to show some wear Great stay overall. Always enjoy this specific Sheraton. Have stayed here twice over the last 2 1/2 years. The bed was great - super comfortable. My only gripe is some of the furniture (Desk/chair) are starting to show some major wear and tear. The carpet was randomly bunched up in different areas. Typical lack of attention to detail I see in hotels in Philadelphia to be honest... nothing major though. The bathroom was fine... no major concerns. Rooms are overall fairly cramped, but it's a downtown hotel built in the 70's or 80's I assume, so that's par for the course. Staff always great at this Sheraton so have no complaints about them or the breakfast service at the restaurant in the lobby. I would recommend staying here to anyone. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is worst Sheraton I've ever stay at; DO NOT GO HERE I have SPG Platinum status and travel about two weeks every month, primarily staying in Starwood properties around the country. Also, as I travel for business, my associates often stay in the same hotel. This was, by far, the absolute worst Sheraton in which I've stayed. It was terrible--I had awful experiences from the moment I checked in until I, mercifully, left. Each one of the clients I saw and had the misfortune of coming to the hotel encountered problems. It was almost comical, if it wasn't so awful. Whatever you do, stay anywhere but here. April 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by First Disappoint of a Sheraton Property Housekeeping issues seem to be the theme of others who have stayed at the hotel. In addition, the room keys have issues, in-room movies have sound problems, lack of towels, housekeeping taking unopened bottles of water, hearing about a guest who found cockroaches didn't surprise me. As a frequent traveler, I find this Sheraton to be one of the most INFERIOR I have ever stayed at. The front desk did bend over backward to make sure I was satisfied. Maybe a training session with Housekeeping would be a good place to start. Fitness center was okay. August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you to the staff I wanted to write this review specifically because of the assistance I received from our waitress Amanda who was working in the Lobby Lounge the evening of October the 10th, 2012. My business partner and I were looking for a great steakhouse to eat at. We asked for her opinion, as both of us have never visited Philadelphia before. She not only gave us recommendations but also made reservations for us and told us that transportation was available right outside at the bell hop stand. She went above and beyond her call of duty. Thanks very much. October 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was a great disappointment to us We had stayed in this hotel in years past. However, this time was very disappointing. The hotel was dirty. We had to change our rooms twice since the ceilings in the bathrooms were seriously damaged from water leakage. Once we changed rooms, we were charged a higher rate and had to bring the overcharge to the staff's attention before it was corrected. The hallways were not vacuumed during our entire stay and were filthy. We were very disappointed and are now looking for an alternate place to stay during our visit to Philadelphia next month. September 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Acceptable For Business Traveler My king room was ill equipped for a business traveler. There was no arm chair in which to sit and read, leaving the only option of sitting at a desk or laying in bed. There wasn't even a pin or pad by the phone. Light bunt out by bed. Bedding was shoddy, not even a bed skirt and I could see the bottom of the mattress (a piece of the plastic trim was even laying on the floor below in plain view. I complained to on-site management and was told that the room is 'Up to the Starwood Specs." If that's the case, then the specs need to be revisited. I booked the hotel because of a conference and decided to stay simply because of access to conference and difficulty in switching hotels. Otherwise, I would have checked out immediately upon seeing the room. TOTALLY disappointed. October 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wait for the refurbish to complete I heard late night construction and trucks dropping off supplies at night. Not a restful night. The lack of food service past 11:00pm is a crime against business travelers. I arrived @ 11:30pm after an airline delay and found myself having to scrounge through local pizza shops and Chinese food shops that woudl deliver late. No room service. During the day, food service was limited to the lounge and its very limited menu. The fitness center was great but the rest of the hotel was very low budget -- not a fair exchange for the room rate. September 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I'd stay here again I just spent 3 night at the Sheraton Philly and overall enjoyed my stay. Location was good for driving as most of my meetings were outside the downtown area. Highway is right there. As a Platinum I was upgraded to a suite with was very nice and comfortable. I found the Club Lounge to lack good options and the gym wasnt great. The $38 for parking is very expensive but there are special spots for Platinum members (not that there is anything stopping non-platinums from parking there) Staff was good and took care of anything I asked for. March 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not stay here again. I can not begin to express my disappointment with this stay. The paint was peeling from the walls. The door would not close completely. Air conditioning didn't work. I had to travel over three floors to get ice. This was quite a task since the entire stay at least one third of the elevators were out of service. I definitely expected much better of the Sheraton name. When I shared my complaints with the staff, their response was, "Oh sorry to hear that, have a great day." No attempts to correct or acknowledge the deficiencies. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Housekeeping Service Due to a misunderstanding, my wife & I left several items in a hotel room drawer when we checked out, not realizing it until we were at the airport. The Housekeeping staff did a fantastic job locating it quickly, then mailing it promptly to our home. Very professional and caring. We are sincerely grateful. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel Very nice and comfortable room, the front desk and conceierge staff are very helpful. Had a nice time staying there. December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I was disappointed overall in my stay at the Sheraton. I was in town for a conference being held in the hotel, but it seemed that the staff of the hotel were not prepared for the number of guests who were attending the conference. it took over 2 hours to check in (after standard check in time) to get a room upon arrival (despite being in the waiting area with an infant, who clearly needed to get into the room). also, service in the restaurant was inconsistent at best. the "salad bar" special at the restaurant for the conference was grossly understaffed and underprepared (not enough food for everyone, took over 10 minutes to bring out new plates when they ran out, etc.). staff in the restaurant (with a few exceptions) were slow, unresponsive, and impolite. May 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location - but cleanliness leaves MUCH to be desired My family and I came to stay here over the President's Day weekend to view the sights. First, the Good: Great location - we had stunning views of the Philladelphia Museum of Art and we easily walked to Chinatown, Rittenhouse Square and the shopping along Walnut and Chestnut streets. The Bad: Hotel was very disappointing in terms of the usual Sheraton 'hardware'. By that I mean that the facilties were average (the pool seemed dirty to me) and the gym was overrun by unaccompanied children abusing the hi-tech equipment. The downright Ugly: The rooms (we had 2 connecting rooms) were FILTY. Not just a little dirty. We did not switch on our air conditioning unit the entire 3 night stay as there was a layer of dust, food particles and other unknown substances in plain sight on the grille. It made us worry about the rest of the room's cleanliness. Despite 3 phone calls to guest services and 1 talk with the front desk officer, nothing was done about it during our stay. Furthermore, on a separate note, we had an incident at the hotel where our 2 year old son fell off the desk chair and split the front of his head open. When I rushed down to the front desk there was only one staff on duty and, despite seeing my son with blood gushing out of his head, did not reach out to assist us. Instead, I had to interrupt her discussion with a guest and ask where the nearest ER was. She did not know and had to refer to a colleague by phone. Luckily it was not far and my son was stitched up and is fine. All this is certainly NOT indicative of the standards of service afforded at the Sheraton usually. All round it was disappointing stay and I only recommend the hotel because of the location. February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Club lounge The club lounge was advertised as open 24 hours, however, it did not say that there was no food, drinks or snacks, except for some sodas, water and apples. It only had breakfast each day which had very little options - cereal, some fruit, breads & yogurt. Hot eggs were only available on two of our five days at the hotel. No hot food was available on three nights of our stay. One morning we had to try three times to get a table. The cost of lounge was not worth it. November 13, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23 next>>