Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 788 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by very comfortable Very comfortable and clean rooms. Hallways and common areas very well kept. Staff very professional and helpful. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocre The air conditioning was satisfactory. TV, every time I turned it on I had to move the volume up. When I changed channels the volume frequently went down to inaudible. There was no list of channels in the room. When I asked for one I was given a photocopied list with several numbers too faint to read. The food was below average. June 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Under construction I've stayed in many Sheratons across the country and this was the worst one ever. The staff was good to great. The facility was very run down and parts were under construction. Extremely loud coke machine outside my door, no ironing board (took them 2 days to find one), no ice machine on my floor, they delivered a baby crib to my room the last night... So I found it when I got to the room at 11pm, the pillows were way to soft, two of the 6 elevators did not work (the hotel was full)And the food in the coffee shop (Resturant under construction) was flavorless. In general, a lot to pay for the Sheraton experience and not get it. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Difficult Evening We were disappointed with our stay at this establishment. After check in we realized that we would need another set of bed linen for the sofa bed. When we opened it up we found trash inside of it. We tried to call guest services numerous times without any success as to anyone answering the phone. We had to go to reception in order for our request to be completed and then it wasn't even right. We then decided to go to the hotel bar for drinks and our waitress was rude and slow in her service. During check out we tried to explain our frustrations, but we were told that they did their best. Overall not happy with our stay, but would love to visit the area again. November 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little disappointed I was a little disappointed after my last stay as an SPG member in San Diego. This hotel did not offer the amenities for preferred members that San Diego did. They were kind enough to provide us amenities when we asked though. Also, the first day the room was cleaned they overlooked emptying the trash cans which was surprising. The next few days I elected to not have the linens changed, but did expect that room service would come in and do basic cleaning, but found that they did not even come in at all. Everything else about my stay at the hotel was very good and the staff was very helpful overall. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is unforgettable. As we arrived, the hotel looked beautiful. We enjoyed the relaxing, spacious lobby and the service in all of the areas. The employees there engaged us in friendly conversation without any useless small talk; they were authentic. The view from the 19th floor was AMAZING! We enjoyed the large contemporary room with the extremely comfortable bed and pillows - so many little extras.The food and service in Phillips Seafood Resturant was outstanding. From the delicious courses to the fabulous servers, the experience at the wedding rehearsal dinner was perfect. The atmosphere at this hotel contributed to the pleasure of spending tme with our family and meeting new friends. August 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by No wake up call missed my hospital tests! Hotel was kind enought to let me check in early after one of my many hospital tests. It was a 2 day process of tests. On way out I told them my heat was not working and needed a wake up call for my hospital tests. When I got back from hospital the heat was not working. They moved me and I asked to make sure my wake up call was in the manager said yes. The next day no wake up call had to tuck and roll. Ran late for tests. Morning manager paid for my cab. Concierge had to print me direction to hospital to new area where doctor was. Manager never called to say sorry or not even a letter. The next day I had to have a friend drive me an hour and a half each way due to missing most of my cancer screening tests. The manager made the staff pay me for the cabs I never heard a peek or met a manager. March 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good conference facilities I was on the eighth floor and traffic noise was bad. For the hotel itself, the floors could have been cleaner. Staff and food exceeded expectations. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meets needs for biz travel This hotel has a good location and a great fitness center. It also really needs updating. The hallways have bad lighting, old looking brown wallpaper, etc., the Club Lounge is small and gets crowded. All in all, it's fine if not fancy but i have two complaints. First of all housekeeping left only decaf coffee packets in my room. Secondly, i absolutely HATE the follow up call from room service. Please don't bother me 90 minutes after my meal! If there had been any problems i would have contacted them. I order room service usually because i have work to do and i do not appreciate the interruption. March 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service needs work You have a few customer service stars at this location. But, overall this was lackluster service. There seemed to be inefficiency, lack of communication and low morale. I had an experience where no one answered the guest services phone when I called down. Or when someone did answer instead of facilitating my request on their own, she immediately and quite abruptly transferred me to the concierge on an issue which she could have taken care of. Not to mention I had housekeeping bang on my door at 8:30 AM (check-out is 12) and when I answered, she said "Oh, just checking." You better have a better reason than that. February 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Typical week I have been traveling to Philadelphia for a few months now, and typically stay at this hotel. I just received Gold status but still dont see any of the benefits. If there is a conceirge floor, they dont tell you. Nor do they even acknowledge a welcome gilf? thought both of those came with status? One of the main reasons I do stay at this hotel is the exercise facilites. For a hotel its great. Even if some of the machines are broken. Another problem I have with this place is the inconsstent room cleaning service. Sometimes I get towels, sometimes not. Sometimes I get my coffee supplies refilled sometimes I don't Sometimes I get the paper in the morning, sometimes I don't. June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel were friendly I am a resident of Philadelphia and had a teacher's conference to attend. I decided to treat myself to an overnight stay and glad it did. What I noticed throughout my stay was how friendly and accommodating the staff was. No matter where I was whether elevator or walking the halls..they always greeted me with a hello and a smile. They made me feel welcomed and that was what will bring me back. THe only complaint I had was the food at the luncheon but not sure if that was what conference provided or the PFT conference had outsourced?? Anyway, I would come back if just for another weekend get-a-way. March 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well located Well located near museums. Good service. June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel is dated but needs improvements I like the staff at this location. The concierge at this location is amazing. Mary, without a doubt, is the absolute best! She is friendly, helpful and will do whatever necessary to help a traveler with his/her needs. I believe this location needs cosmetic improvements and updating; however, I will come back again and again to stay here because of Mary. The restaurant/bar inside lacks good service. I found several nights it was hard to get recognized for service and there seems to be a issue with servers having a sense of urgency. Needs major overhaul and improvement! Management take note! March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort in the midst of busy busy I have to say Hats off to the Downtown Sheraton in Philly!! What a busy busy graduation weekend and also they had the SGK Cancer Walk on Sunday! And that hotel catered to all needs! It was such an exciting weekend. We needed a fridge in the room for my husband's insulin and bingo they brought it up! He forgot his toothbrush and voila the desk gave him one! We were walking all day and to come back to such a comfy bed to sleep soundly was a great relief. Thank you for having pleasant staff and a superior Hotel. It made our son's graduation from Penn a very relaxing one! Thank you for your exceptional service! May 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need major update Stayed at the hotel last week due to convention hotel assignment. Front desk and valet are were friendly. The hotel looked very out dated and need major update. My room had old carpet that looks dirty. It also had individual air conditioner by the window which is so noisy that I had to put ear plug on to sleep. When I left at 6 am to catch my flight, there was no bellman. I got onto this taxi and driver didn't even get out of the car to help me with the luggage and same when we got to the airport. He continued to pressure me to pay cash when the credit card machine was there in front of me. Please do not use those drivers that always find a way to pressure passengers to pay cash! June 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel that nickel and dimes you This is for the downtown Sheraton hotel. Rooms were clean. Parking was outrageous at 38.00 per day park yourself plus about $20 dollars misc fees per day for a total of $58 per day in additional charges. The sister hotel a few miles away charges approx 20 per day for parking which is more reasonable. During my stay I had many issues with my television signal going in and out. Staff was not helpful only saying the were aware of the problem and seemingly made no efforts to fix it. They even seemed to be annoyed that I had the audacity to come and complain on three separate occasions (7 am, 9am, then 5PM). November 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by positive experience The room and hotel were generally what one would expect from a Sheraton - inviting, clean, above average. However, it was the staff here that made this place stand out. Despite computer problems, the check-in staff found a way to help us settle in and kept us informed thru a necessarily extended check-in. Plus, the concierge and bell staff were engaging and extremely helpful. In fact, after I had already been turned down for an expanded reservation at a local five star restaurant, the concierge managed to smooth it over and get everything back on track, plus came through with an excellent lunch suggestion as well. I would definitely come back to this hotel, especially for the staff!! February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location for museuma and centre city I was pleasantly surprised by the proximity of the hotel to the 30th St. train station. I walked over to the hotel (small overnight bag carriers only) and enjoyed the lovely end of fall weather. My room was available, I checked in and was off to the museums. If you like to walk, the pleasant walk up to the avenue to the Museum of Art is in order (about 15 minutes or more depending up your speed). The bar menu was delicious for a Saturday night dinner. I recommend the crab cake. The staff was attentive to my needs. The room is your basic king bed with great TV reception and in room coffee (Starbucks). November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A major component to my amazing weekend The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating at all hours even in the midst of a MASSIVE Indian wedding party that was happening all weekend. The hallways were well maintained and everything looked spotless. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you Sheraton, I look forward to our many years of friendship. <3 - Dan May 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Thoroughly Forgettable I spent less than 12 hours at this hotel, but I can say it's quite acceptable. Room looks very tired, with scuffs, and dirty looking carpet, but I guess I found it acceptable, considering its cheap. Location is ok. Check in was quick enough considering how big the hotel is. Achilles heels was the Club Lounge. Probably the worst one I've ever seen. Single poor staff member completely overrun, many items missing at breakfast, cutlery missing, PC and printer out of order, just depressing. This is just a place to put your head down for a night if you're on a budget, and get away as soon as possible. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel. I miss the clock! The hotel rooms and restaruants are nice. It is conveniently located near restaurants and other areas of interest. We were a bit disappointed when our group arrived to find the huge clock had been sold. I'm not sure why the hotel would get rid of something with that much history behind it. Every year for the past 6 years we have taken a group photo in front of the clock. I wanted to say what a pleasure it is to come back a couple times a year and be greeted by Amanda's smile and courtesy. She recognizes our group and always provides excellent service when we enjoy time in the lobby lounge/bar area. December 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by room for improvement The staff member at the door was exceptionally kind and prompt. Some of the front desk were as well, while others seemed less experienced and bothered by having to interact with guests. My room was quite small and the toilet ran the whole time. There was no room service menu in my room. When I called and asked for one, I was informed that room service was not available until the evening. The menu never did arrive. I stayed here for a conference at the Convention Center. Not the closest hotel by a long shot, but it was about a 10-minute walk. Very convenient. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Experience As a business traveler my lodgings are very important. The Downtown Sheraton satifies the highest standards a traveler like myself requires. They offer great accomodations, excellent food, phenominal service. The staff, from the parking garage through the wait staff, to everyone you encounter on the property is wonderfully friendly and helpful. I will not consider another location when I am in the Philadelphia area. May 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by You cannot send guests to a different building. It was upsetting when they sent my friend and his family to a different building. How can they do that when he arrived with a small kid and an infant passed their bedtime. My friend had called the hotel and informed he'd be arriving a bit late in order to secure a room too. They didn't even give him discount. I stayed there with a bunch of people and this upset everyone. Our room was comfortable but the drain in the shower room wasn't quite working. Eric who was working at concierge was great to us. Thanks to him, we were able to get late check-out, which we really needed. He deserves bonus! November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel, but a little outdated I spend a few days every week in Philly and this hotel is my second choice when my first choice is not available. The rooms are comfortable, but a little claustrophobic with low ceilings in the rooms. The HVAC systems tend to be a little noisy, and even after they did a "renovation" earlier this year, it still feels like a relic of the 80s. Overall, it's clean, plus the beds are comfortable. I fount it frustrating that they did not send my receipt which I will be required to call the hotel and request it. April 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Linda S Blue I was not happy that I had to return to the service desk two different time because i was not able to enter the room #2519 the first time them I went back to the service desk to get the room key fixed returned and the room was already, opened the door there was someone in that room. I had to return to the service desk again and the clerk indicated that she gave us the wrong room ended that our room was #2518 so I was not happy that I had to go through all of that. the staff should get it right the first time. I Ask to speak with a manager but she stated she would take care of the issue. December 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs improvement/Disappointment on certain areas We were in our hotel room. At 1am, someone wanted to come into our room, waking us up. But their keys did not work and we were not worried. Those people went away but came back in a few mins - trying again. At that point, we got up and spoke to them behind our door. It turned out that they were assigned the very same room. As a platinum member for many years, I stayed in a lot of hotels, many of which were SPG properties. Having two groups assigned to the same room I have never seen (and I checked in to that room 2 days ago). The people went away. Soon after we received a phone call from front desk, asking for identification. At that point, the front desk staff knew that we were "real" and offered to give us some points for compensation. Good. But having jet lag coming back from Europe, it took me a long time to fall back to sleep after the waking up. The next morning I went to the front desk and asked VERY politely for an explanation, as I am genuinely curious what went wrong. I was told that the manager - by the name of Jennifer - will call or send me an email. Of course, she never did. For the remainder of the stay, we worried about other parties assigned to our room and got in. I genuinely think that the hotel has some management issues. Let me give another example. Before I made a call, I asked the phone operator how much the call would cost. Because the call was just to New Jersey 5 miles away (a different area code), it would be $1.5 and 10 cents per minute. Fine. I took the call and talked to 22 mins (what the bill said). Fine $3-$4 dollars. The initial bill charged me $72 for that call - in spite of what the operator told me. Of course, the expense item was withdrawn from my protest. But it should not have happened in the first place. June 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Dirty Stay Checked in and they changed the particulars of my rate! When I booked it said breakfast in restaurant, they forced me to eat in the lounge. Food was not refilled and could not get a table. Room was not cleaned until we called at 5 pm. And to add insult to injury they are not posting my points, because I used a suite upgrade!!! Horrible horrible horrible!!!! June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what you would expect I would begin by saying the staff were wonderful, from check in, to concierge, to the lovely waitress offering complimentary coffee, to check out. But, unfortunately the hotel was not what we expected for the cost. The hallways were dingy with peeling wallpaper, the furniture was stained and the room was small. In addition, although the room was a no smoking room, the smell of stale cigarette smoke was very strong and must have been in the carpets and draperies as it did not dissipate. Parking was not free for hotel guests and WiFi was expensive. Overall, this was a disappointing stay. July 31, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 27 next>>