Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 831 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was dingy and smelled of cigarette smoke. Carpet and upholstery were dirty with obvious stains and worn areas. Entryway and bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke. To the staff's credit, they did supply an air purifier upon request, and it made a little difference, but the room overall (and the hallway) just are in need of sn update. Even with the 15% discounted rate I got for paying online upfront, this hotel room was not worth the price. May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Updating The rooms was comfortable and the furniture was nice, but you can see that the hotel needs to be updated. It is time for a floor by floor makeover. This could be an excellent hotel. The location is perfect. It is nice place but it is time for refreshing. July 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is Lacking Service needs improvement. We ordered a refrigerator upon our arrival. It never came. Waited for hours. Had to call again the next day. We ordered room service for breakfast for two people. It took them 3 trips to deliver all of the components of the meal. Worst of all, the coffee and waffle toppings arrived last (after my waffle was half eaten.) We called the Bell Captain to help with our luggage when leaving. After a half hour, we gave up. They said they mixed up the room numbers. The air vents were really dirty with large pieces of dirt hanging. They only gave us one soap (for both sink and bath.) There was no hotel directories in the room, outlets did not work etc. The maids were yelling in the hallway about how we didn't want our room cleaned until later. Hotel is in a good location. There were not enough mirrors for a woman to do her makeup.Just not set up well and disorganized. November 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Management is an issue I had added an extra day to the front of my stay. I had so much trouble. Housekeeping thought I was checking out on multiple days. I had to get new keys 3 times. I was not able to charge a meal to my room on at least one occassion. Very frustrating. Dirty glasses stayed in my room for days. Coffee pot not cleaned or resupplied. Had to ask for a hairdryer. Worst elevators I have ever experienced. February 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a pleasant experience When I stepped out of the elevator, I found out this was not Starwood Preferred guest level, nor did the front desk recognized my membership status. The alarm clock was ill set up. I didn't touch anything but the radio was turned on at mid-night, there was also an alarm at 4AM which made my mom could not sleep from then on. I do need explanations or other type of response based on my feedback. May 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pure room was nice option After reading many mixed reviews and complaints about cleanliness, I was hesitant to stay. But I received a quick reply to my emailed concerns from the manager, so decided to give it a try, Allergic to dust, I was happy to see the Pure Room as an option. I found everything in the room very clean. Other than a fire alarm in the middle of one night, all was quiet. Front desk staff were friendly. January 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could Have Been Better My husband and I were on the 14th floor. There was no ice machine, no microwave, no refridgerator, sour coffee creamer in the room, and no working phone (the phone jack was pulled half way out of the wall). We had VERY ROWDY room neighbors next to us - at 4AM Sunday morning mind you - and I had to use my personal cell phone to call the front desk and have them come up and tell them to be quiet. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by tHIS HOTEL HAD A GOOD STAFF WITH ONE EXCEPTION OVERALL THE STAFF WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL HOWEVER THE BLONDE WAITRESS WORKING NIGHTS IN THE TERRACE BAR HA A TERRIBLE ATTITUDE AND DISPOSITION YOU WILL MORE THAN LIKELY GET SEVERAL NEGATIVE COMMENTS ABOUT THIS ONE EMPLOYEE. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No sleep I was there this past weekend for a long and exhausting fitness conference. Saturday night next to our room with a group of men that would not be quiet -- talking, partying, etc. We called to front desk many times, security did come and talk to them, but after they left, they continued. We were not able to sleep. The walls are thin as paper and heard everything. Not an enjoyable weekend. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great features This hotel has a great central location in Philadelphia. There are beautiful views of the city and the bed is comfortable to sleep in. Thanks for a good nights rest and friendly hotel staff. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is nothing more than average. I was not impressed with the hotel. The rooms were not clean. My cleaning person never took the plastic bucket liner out of the ice bucket the entire time I was there. I was there for 6 days! July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great refuge in a storm This hotel was a great refuge in a bad storm. We found a clean modern comfortable room with unexpected thoughtful touches such as a curved shower curtain rod so that the curtain doesn't stick to you while showering,and coffee and tea in the room. The staff was extremely solicitous and helpful. Only complaint is that the underground garage had puddles of water and floor wan not too clean. February 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Sheraton standards From check-in to check-out, I continued to run into problems and unpleasant experiences. The hotel was run-down and dirty.My room was not ready at 3 pm check-in and I was oddly pressured to accept a different type of room instead (and I refused). My room was dirty throughout when I did eventually get into it and housekeeping did not service it well each day. I had to asked for room amenities that were supposed to be standard. The Club lounge was shabby, dirty, poorly-maintained, lacked even minimal amenities and the staff (when someone actually was there) was rude -- they could be heard to complain about other guests and about management. The hallways carpets had the same pieces of lint, dirt and bits of paper throughout the five days, indicating that it did not see a vacuum cleaner. I was served undercooked food in the restaurant after waiting a long time to be seated in the empty space. The front desk staff with one notable exception was not professional. At checkout, I was comp'd one of my 5 nights for the series of inconveniences (without my even asking for it by the only staff member who seemed to be trained and interested in the guest experience); however, that did not make up for the dreadful condition of the hotel. This place needs a total revamp of facilities and staff. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food and facilities need work Food was poor, club room was poor in terms of amount and variety of food, space in club was limited. Hotel and staff seemed to not be able to handle amount of flow of conference attendees. Service at lunch in hotel as part of conference was poor, service at breakfast was poor. I asked 3 times for coffee and did not get it until breakfast was over. Maid service was poor. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by check in horror you would think that a hotel could figure out how to check someone in ...why it takes 10 minutes for each customer is beyond me July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by limited dining, otherwise great Location was very convenient to museums, and taxi service to the historic area was readily available. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The hotel was excellent in every way---except for the cafe. Why does it only serve breakfast.? I would have likes some options in the hotel besides the bar and full restaurant. The cafe facilities were there, but they only served one meal--breakfast. October 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The view from the 18th floor at night is spectacular The view from the 18th floor at night is beautiful. The bedding was extremely comfortable. What I found odd was the mixture of what can be great about a Sheraton Hotel vs. it had some contrasting features. The carpeting was a bit old, and the toilettres were lacking. The room was odd mix of old and new. Would like to see some areas upgraded. It was clean and quite, will stay there again. August 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocre The air conditioning was satisfactory. TV, every time I turned it on I had to move the volume up. When I changed channels the volume frequently went down to inaudible. There was no list of channels in the room. When I asked for one I was given a photocopied list with several numbers too faint to read. The food was below average. June 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by dirty This is the dirtiest Sheraton I have stayed at and the staff makes no effort to clean it either. My room was not cleaned during my stay, carpets are dirty, front desk staff is not consistent, wifi does not work in all rooms (you'll have to speak with att to resolve) and the "Guest Services" phone line is not picked up after 11 PM. Pros - location and club loung. overall, dissatisfied. May 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton ever Horrible staff, dirty and noisy room. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly and most helpful hotel Right from the Doorman you're made to feel at home. On arrival the Doorman was able to provide change to enable me pay the Airport Shuttle. Throughout my stay the staff were most helpful and friendly and always ready to go the extra mile. At breakfast there was only bacon which I do not eat, the staff tried to find alternative to no avail. After full apologies I was given a discount. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I listened to the elevators I booked a "oversize" room because we were traveling with kids. First room we were given was just a regular double bed room. Hotel was nice enough to change us to a larger room, but he new room was directly next to the elevators. We listened to the elevator machinery humming up and down all night long. Next time I will try to remember not to complain when I don't get what I paid for. September 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay on April 10, 2013 I was disappointed here. Examples why; Assigned a room that was used as a smoking room, had to change Overcharged for room service, delivery fees were listed twice ($3 each, cost not the problem, fact that it was charged twice) Room service food was mediocre, at best No plastic bag in the room for dirtty laundry Bathroom was not really clean I won't stay at this property again April 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lodging: Satisfactory. Shuttle Van: Disgusting! Overall, stay was satisfactory and met my needs for 2 nights. Carpet was stained and bedspread ridiculously heavy. Guest booklet pages were curled like it had gotten wet at some point. Here's the icing on the cake: When checking out, I was offered a ride in the hotel shuttle van to the airport versus a taxi which I thought was great ($10.00, not free). However, when I got in the van, it wreaked like someone had been living in it. Filthy, cracked windshield, torn seats, stained headliner, grimy vinyl, disgusting floor, etc. The creaks and vibration noises seemed like it was about to fall apart at any moment and when the driver accelerated on the freeway, the engine made a high pitch sound like it was begging for mercy. Truly tarnished the image of the hotel for me and I would be embarrassed to offer guests a ride in that jalopy! I challenge management to take a ride in it and not immediately determine that it's high time for a new van. May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Housekeeping Needs Some Work The housekeeping staff were really not attentive to the number of towels that needed to be replaced each day of my stay. I started out with two sets of towels and as my stay progressed I was sometime left with only one set of towels. Also I was disappointed that the pool was being serviced/repaired in the middle of one of the hottest summers on record...that was a true bummer! August 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4th of July Stay The hotel was very conveniently located to everything I needed and wanted to do in Philadelphia. i thought the location of the Pool was a little out the way, especially for someone who has trouble walking. Overall my stay was excellent. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location I was plesantly surprised at the location and overall condition of the hotel, however was overwhelmed at the cost of a long distance call from my room. On two calls, one to my home then my wife's cell (I min each, hung up when picked up by answering machine), was $33.04. I have learned a lesson to keep my cell charged. When I did connect, 2 minute call was $19.18.... beware! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome stay! Stayed at Sheraton for a seminar and was plesently surprised. The location is perfect, within easy access to everything. The staff is more than eager to help with finding the local attractions and best places to eat. The hotel itself is beautiful and comfortable. The rooms have the most comfy beds and pillows and are spotless. My expectations wre not only met but surpassed. May 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel is within easy reach of many museums, Rittenhouse Square, and other tourist sites. The Club Level was great, the view from our 25th floor room spectacular. Everything was clean. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A major component to my amazing weekend The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating at all hours even in the midst of a MASSIVE Indian wedding party that was happening all weekend. The hallways were well maintained and everything looked spotless. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you Sheraton, I look forward to our many years of friendship. <3 - Dan May 28, 2014
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 29 next>>