Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 857 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping issues but excellent staff responsiveness Stayed for an extended weekend and will stay here again next time iI visit Philly. First room assigned smelled like vomit and had an air purifier going on (not very effective I must say). Second room assigned was a smoking one (when we pointedly asked for a non-smoking). Third room smelled nice and fresh. One of the beds was missing the thin comforter, there were no hand towels and the bathroom floor had some sticky dark stuff all over. Nevertheless the response of the guest services staff was excellent in dealing with the issues, so I'll definetely stay here again August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, but currently encountering renovations The hotel rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable. Currently, the restaurants/bars are under construction, which provides for limited options in the hotel. Nonetheless, it is in a great location that has much to offer. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Perfectly adequate if not exceptional I've started coming to Philadelphia semi-regularly on business, and this was my third stay at this Sheraton in the past 14 months. It is an older hotel, but I have always found it to be perfectly adequate for my purposes and a good alternative to some of the more expensive properties nearby. Still, I am wavering on whether or not to stay here next time for reasons I'll get to shortly. Pros: Comfortable rooms and good bedding. I really appreciate the thermostat in the room that allows you to select a specific temperature as opposed to "warmer" and "cooler." Staff is not overly friendly but not rude either. I would call them professional and certainly met my expectations. Good room service. The salmon is excellent. Good fitness center. Cheaper than many nearby properties. Cons: It is older, though that really doesn't bother me. Yes, there are stains in the carpet. I don't think this is a big deal, though some people seem to be turned off by it. Lastly - and this is the one that has me reconsidering for next time - it is apparently quite common for the fire alarm to go off. I was just sitting down to breakfast in the hotel restaurant on the morning of August 13th thinking I had plenty of time when sure enough the fire alarm went off and everyone had to evacuate. This was about 6:50 in the morning. By the time the all clear was given to return to the hotel I had to rush in and eat my breakfast - now completely cold - in about two minutes so I could make my meeting in time. This was annoying because the breakfast was fairly expensive. I would normally chalk this up to a fluke and "life happens," but I overheard a housekeeper mention this was the fourth time in six months this has happened while she was working, sometimes in the middle of the night. It seems unlikely to me that guests would pull the fire alarm for kicks this often, so I am guessing something is triggering false alarms. For a business traveler who needs to be "on" it isn't good to have it in the back of your mind that there is a roughly 1 in 40 chance you could be aroused from your bed in the middle of the night by a wailing fire alarm. For this reason I am considering another hotel next time. Still, all in all I would give this hotel a cautious, if not enthusiastic recommendation. August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service I called two days earlier to request fridge raider for myself into coworker reason why I have that allergy and I tried it with allergy medication upon my arrival I check with the front desk will then confirm to me that there was no record showing that I had requested the fridge either for myself or my fellow colleague I was vary disappointed for the week that I was here I went without fridge I had to throw out my meds August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super stay in Philly The staff was amazing! From bartenders to concierge, best staff I've seen in a long time. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a perfect stay! The staff here is exceptional, always smiling and always taking the extra step to make your stay perfect. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Beautiful hotel , within walking distance to local attractions .Large rooms (no refridgerator or microwave ) Flat screen TV Could not use guide to search for programs , had to look up channels in book provided . Air conditioner a bit confusing , thermostat on wall not in inside window unit , housekeeper showed me how to use. Excellent staff ,very friendly . August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff, clean and comfortable. Staff was incredibly courteous and helpful. Room was clean and would stay here again. Hotel restaurant food was good. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by You pay for what you get... The title says it all. The cheap room price is representative of how staff treat you and the quality of the over all hotel. The rooms are outdated, not comparable to the west coast or larger major cities at all. everything is old. Some staff were ok, but others were just rude, and forgetful. I was a vendor at one of the ballrooms and I asked if I could pointed to a bell cart. One, very young boy in a suit said "Oh, I'll bring one up to you sir" and after I packed everything up, which took me about 40 minutes, there was no bell cart in sight. They forgot about me. Another person at the front desk told me I had to carry everything upstairs when I stumbled in through the front doors, exhausted from carrying the over-sized boxes. I didn't even get "would you like me to help you with that?" Overall, it may just be how Philly people do it out there, but there's something this hotel, and its staff could get a lesson on, such as hospitality. After all, this is your so-called expertise, is it not? August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not SPG Quality This hotel should not bear the Sheraton name. It is not up to the quality. Several items in my room were broken: shower faucet, sprinkler system, air conditioner, and the outlets on the walls were missing face plates. The towel rack on the wall was falling off. More importantly, the carpet in the hallways were dirty and stained. The inch of carpet along the walls (all the way down the halls) were caked with dust. The wall paper was peeling off of the walls. This was the most disgusting SPG property I have ever seen. The Sheraton name should be removed until this place is renovated. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Centrally located and very comfortable This is our 2nd time at this hotel, it is in a good location and parking is convenient and inexpensive. This time around we had spectacular view and when we had an issue with our room key the responsiveness was quick and efficient. Check in took forever because a group came in, but they were handing out water bottles and tried to keep everyone happy. I did not rate the food because we ate out. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Place for a conference The hotel hosted a conference and all of the conference spaces were nice. they did a good job of setting the rooms up and having them ready in time for all the attendees. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is okay, not great. I tried to rent a movie and waited 10 minutes for it to load and then called the front desk to let them know. I had to wait 10 more minutes on the phone before I spoke with someone. By then, I didnt have time to watch the movie. They took the movie fee off my account, but wasn't particularly apologetic. Cleaning services was very nice. Room was spacious. It was a good 10 minutes from the conference I was attending at the convention center. August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay Waht was good was complimentary WIFI. Bad was that due to reconstruction, no bar where on could get a cold beer in the evening. August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Facilities and service not commensurate with price Spacious and reasonably responsive front desk staff. BUT: No bath mat 1st day (maids forgot?), tea bags not replenished in time, no safe nor mini refrigerator/cooler in room at such a high room rate. The breakfast restaurant staff seemed stressed and unresponsive. August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs an upgrade I was a participant in a large convention that included several other Philly hotels. I chose Sheraton because of my SPG status. The room was clean, but its features were dated. The phone didn't work, but I only found that out on the last day of my stay. The open food service in this hotel was extremely limited, though the food that was part of one of the conference events was creative and tasty. The wine served was barely drinkable--never finished my glass. August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Sheraton standards From check-in to check-out, I continued to run into problems and unpleasant experiences. The hotel was run-down and dirty.My room was not ready at 3 pm check-in and I was oddly pressured to accept a different type of room instead (and I refused). My room was dirty throughout when I did eventually get into it and housekeeping did not service it well each day. I had to asked for room amenities that were supposed to be standard. The Club lounge was shabby, dirty, poorly-maintained, lacked even minimal amenities and the staff (when someone actually was there) was rude -- they could be heard to complain about other guests and about management. The hallways carpets had the same pieces of lint, dirt and bits of paper throughout the five days, indicating that it did not see a vacuum cleaner. I was served undercooked food in the restaurant after waiting a long time to be seated in the empty space. The front desk staff with one notable exception was not professional. At checkout, I was comp'd one of my 5 nights for the series of inconveniences (without my even asking for it by the only staff member who seemed to be trained and interested in the guest experience); however, that did not make up for the dreadful condition of the hotel. This place needs a total revamp of facilities and staff. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by conference hotel great meeting space; classic conference hotel. Staff was over the top in trying to accommodate you -- especially the concierge desk . The restaurant for breakfast was beyond horrible -- cold eggs, coffee had to ask for, poor service; other bistro option was in renovation. Rooms were absolutely fine but would have preferred to have continual fan running to cut noise in hall and not have on and off AC -- woke me up a few times. overall, staff excellent, food service needs improvement. GREAT location near Barnes, walk to Phil Museum of Art, 20 min walk to Liberty Bell. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable beds; great gym! This hotel was really welcoming, and the beds were really comfortable. The gym was far better than I've seen in most hotels. The decor in the hallways could have used some sprucing up, but otherwise it was a great experience. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spring Break with my kids I stayed here for a spring break vacation with my kids and to visit nearby family. The hotel was immaculate and the hotel staff was friendly and very attentive. When we arrived in our car there was quite a few staff members tending to us...I felt like a VIP!! The great attention made us feel as if we were diplomats or something. My kids really enjoyed the pool and my older son worked out in the gym which was clean and centrally located. The housekeeping staff was so nice and helpful. I would definitely go back, in fact the Starwood family of hotels is my preferred goto hotel chain domestically and internationally. One of the best things about staying at a Sheraton hotel is the bedding!! The down duvet cover and cozy pillows were like sleeping on a cloud...best sleep EVER!! August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chapman Family Reunion Our family had an exceptional experience during our stay in early August. It exceeded our expectations in every way...even the "PECO Surprise" Sunday morning turned out to be fun for the family! Every department, from the front desk folks, the concierge, to housekeeping, bellmen, food & beverage were all friendly and efficient! Even the random Sheraton employees we met around the hotel were gracious and helpful! Please extend our special thanks to all the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown staff for us for making our reunion a terrific success! August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't measure up No internet access unless you pay extra. Coffee maker spits steam in the air and then delivers less than half a cup. Two little plastic cups provided. Ice machines on odd numbered floors and only one in four of them actually work. Electricity failed at 7:00 am on my last day and was still not restored when I left at 10:00 am. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fire in the Basement There was a fire in the basement and the information given to the guest was not enough and horrible. The alarm told us not to use the elevator or the stairs so we were on lock down but later we were told that we were suppose to have left the hotel. The updated info. was just not done the staff should have been updating us every hour at least especially since it started at 4:00 am and didn't end until 12:15 pm. The food at the restaurant was not great and the waitress was no where to be found and the restaurants' manager was rude when we asked about the apology letter we received about the fire. I heard several people mention that this was a Sheraton Hotel only in name not in what is expected for this Hotel Chain. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay except for morning of departure Came down to Philadelphia for weekend vacation. Arrived at the hotel, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was ready and checked in a little early which was a nice plus. Room was clean and comfortable. Housekeeping was very accommodating asking if I need anything to let them know. The only reason I am not giving them 5 stars is that the morning of my departure, power went out at 7am and there was no communication with guests until 7:50. They first said that it would be fixed shortly and then came on a little while later and said they didn't know how long it would take to be resolved. I wasn't going to check out until close to 11 but decided to check out early because the room was getting warm. I was not enjoyable showering by cell phone light. They also had only one elevator working because certain parts of hotel had power. Took about 10 minutes to get to the lobby in a very cramped elevator. When I checked out they gave me a complimentary breakfast buffet which I appreciated but they need to communicate with guests a little better. A worker there mention it happened last week as well. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was very nice We were there when the evacuation occurred and the hotel staff were more than courteous and obliging to our needs. August 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton ever Horrible staff, dirty and noisy room. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Perfectly situated in downtown Philly. Concierge recommended a local diner for breakfast (within walking distance) and it was AWESOME! August 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Messed up service I arrived from a long flight across the Atlantic to find a set of paint tools inside the room. I informed the guest services and it was cleared as expected. After a few minutes, as I was unpacking, I received a call from the reception that I will be moved to another room because of necessary Engineering works to be done in the room. I was informed that the keys will be delivered within 5 minutes despite the fact that i offered to go to the reception and pick it up. I received another call from guest services asking whether the paint materials were cleared. It was fine until the keys never arrived for almost an hour of waiting. I called the guest services and was transferred to the reception and then again vice versa. It seems that they have checked me out and they have no idea of my details. As this moment that I am writing this review, I am supposed to get a call from the "manager" or the reception, at least, to inform me what will be the resolution of this issue. It has been almost 10 minutes now when I am supposed to receive the call that was promised to be sorted out within 2 minutes (as per the lady).. I don't understand if is it the miscommunication among the staff or that the staff seems to be incompetent. I have received a call just as this moment and the lady even has got my name wrong. Thank you very much for the start of a perfect stay. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great recovery We were in Philly for convention 7/20 to 7/26 2014..Had a little evacuation...BUT wow was everyone super duper accommodating:) We wanna take our family to Philly in 2015 and we would stay here again! Thanks to Carlton and Stella for just BEING awesome people! July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff is excellent! Hotel is nice, clean Hotel staff was superior in helpfulness and hospitality. Room was nice, understand that updating of rooms is planned. Location is OK, not central, but near many museums (the Barnes, Franklin Institute, Rodan,etc.) Shopping district is several blocks away. Near Cathedral Sts Peter and Paul. Depends on what your interests are if this location is good or not. Drinks in the lobby bar were good! July 30, 2014
  • 2015-05-21T19:58:25.932-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_857, tr_857
  • loc_en_US, sid_1776, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 30 next>>