Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 831 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great service, wish the room had a fridge The hotel was almost perfect. the staff, especially Mary at the concierge desk, was amazing. She greeted my family upon check-in, and remembered my children's names for our entire stay. She always greeted us with a smile and helpful attitude. The hotel is in a perfect location, close to anything you want to see in Philly, and reasonably priced. The only complaint is that our room did not have a mini-fridge, a necessity when travelling with children. I will definitely stay here again when in town. September 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vacation runied. Had family and rented 2 rooms. made early request for adjoining rooms but request was not honored. arrived at 11:00 p.m. on 18 July and brought all the luggage in, even got help from staff, only to be told no power. was sent to the Marriott. returned on Sunday and given the worst rooms on the 14th floor, also not adjoining. then on 23 July to be awaken at 4:00 a.m. by emergency signals. had to evacuate. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Convenient Starbucks located in lobby. When kiosk was closed, hotel provided free coffee which was awesome gesture. Downside is lobby carpets were dirty as were hallways where rooms were located. Bathrooms had no exhaust fans, only one sink, and shower liner curtain did have some mold. Room definitely was in need of a good dusting as well. Big minus for us was that room refrigerators were not included .. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay and value This was the second time I stay at the Sheraton PHL. Although the lobby and exterior are going through renovations, the nice rooms and great beds more than make up for that inconvenience. I must mention staff member Lorraine who called our room to see if we needed anything in particular, and asked me to advise her in the future of my future stays to help me with my room preferences or special requests. Great service from her part. The buffet breakfast is complete and service polite and friendly. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything but WiFi This is a really nice hotel. I've stayed here several times with conferences. The place is clean and the staff is very friendly. My only complaint is that you have to pay for WiFi. With the rooms being the price they are, you would think they could include WiFi. They obviously have the capability to do it. That's it. Everything was great except having to pay for WiFi - which I refuse to do. Everyone I was with refused to do so too. So I can't think they're making any money by charging for it. December 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is comfortable Nice bed. Good rates. Close to shopping and restaurants. Good food. Good in room coffee. Great view from 26th floor. Valet could be more attentive and assist guest with carrying luggage upon arrival and departure. Reception desk and bell boy friendly and professional. Bell boy welcoming and took time to show me room and coffee maker, etc. Asian bar man is nice. Room service delivery somewhat slow. Good hotel. I will recommend and return to this hotel. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed in Philly SPG was never mentioned. We had to ask to have our number and points put in. The key did not work when we arrived at our room. The bellman retrieved new keys. The room was small. We had to move sideways to get around one table. We requested a King room and were given Queen without telling us. Our Internet service was intermittent. We were refunded for that. Maid service was great. Guest Services were responsive. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by you have excellant help great hotel but should have safes in rooms. August 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by You pay for what you get... The title says it all. The cheap room price is representative of how staff treat you and the quality of the over all hotel. The rooms are outdated, not comparable to the west coast or larger major cities at all. everything is old. Some staff were ok, but others were just rude, and forgetful. I was a vendor at one of the ballrooms and I asked if I could pointed to a bell cart. One, very young boy in a suit said "Oh, I'll bring one up to you sir" and after I packed everything up, which took me about 40 minutes, there was no bell cart in sight. They forgot about me. Another person at the front desk told me I had to carry everything upstairs when I stumbled in through the front doors, exhausted from carrying the over-sized boxes. I didn't even get "would you like me to help you with that?" Overall, it may just be how Philly people do it out there, but there's something this hotel, and its staff could get a lesson on, such as hospitality. After all, this is your so-called expertise, is it not? August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too noisy The hallway was dirty and too dark. The paint in the bathroom and closets were dirty and peeling. My room was at the end of the hallway and I can hear doors to rooms banging. Front desk person was very nice and courteous. I never signed the agreement of the rates for the 3 days I stayed there. When I checked out, the receipt was not available either and was told it will be emailed. I've stayed in other Sheraton hotels in the past and this location is sub-par compared to the other places. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, but currently encountering renovations The hotel rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable. Currently, the restaurants/bars are under construction, which provides for limited options in the hotel. Nonetheless, it is in a great location that has much to offer. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable room. The room was very comfortable and clean. Wasn't sure how to control the heat; it was kind of cold - even though we keep our house pretty cool (65 degrees). Bed was yummy. View seeing art museum was nice. The elegant restaurant was mostly quite good. The 2 breakfasts were not very good, especially the coffee the first morning. The bar-restaurant seemed understaffed and everything was very, very slow. The food was ok (though not really hot), but not better than that. Everybody was nice. February 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by shady hotel I arrived at 1:30am in the morning, having called that I'm going to be late. When checking in I was told that there is unfortunately no room left for me. After pointing out that this is the 2nd time in a row that I didn't get a room despite a reservation and that I called to let them know that I'm going to be late a handicapped room was available. I'm pretty tired of this and not going to stay at this hotel anymore July 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't measure up No internet access unless you pay extra. Coffee maker spits steam in the air and then delivers less than half a cup. Two little plastic cups provided. Ice machines on odd numbered floors and only one in four of them actually work. Electricity failed at 7:00 am on my last day and was still not restored when I left at 10:00 am. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor billing procedure My assistant took great care in calling to confirm that the faxed Credit Card Payment Authorization Form she completed for my stay would allow me to check in using our school credit card & cover room & taxes for my one night's stay. The reservationist said he didn't have any such form on file, & it was only to guarantee for late arrival anyway. Poor communication & misrepresentation. I've used this method of credit card coverage for many hotel stays but never had a mix-up like this. February 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by What a headache... I was LUCKY enough to stay at this facility for a professional conference and was bombarded by a national fraternity party. The staff couldn't keep up with the incessant party; a garbage can full of chicken bones and catering bins lined the halls. I originally was housed on the 26th floor but called to get the room changed. When the front desk clerk could hear the noise through my call, he upgraded my room but it still was a tragic space. The bathroom was dirty, furniture smeared with LORD knows what and the carpet needed to be washed-- or burned, I'm not sure which. I elected to stay here because of sheer convienance and ended up regretting it. The high note-- the staff were all charming, restaurants very accomodating and tasty, proximity to everything-- sure it was there. Beyond that, it was like a Sheraton and a Motel 6 had a baby... not the quality I was expecting or paid for. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst hotel I'm not a "frequent flyer" but I do stay in hotels 20 to 30 night per year. There was dirty old soap in the shower. Dirt on floor. I would not go back to this hotel ever. The cleaning staff was marginal. Requests were ignored. We asked for extra coffee creamer is all. Never left it. Lots of little cleanliness issues. Loved the pillows and the mattresses were very comfortable. Fitness center to crowded Noise and loud people in hall in early morning. Staff did help with this one. November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Several Stays The fire alarm goes off consistently. I have not received my starpoints for "Make a Green Choice" for my last 3 stays (4-5 days each). The facilities are not continually cleanly. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room 2234 - 01/11/2013 thru 01/13/2013 3rd time at this hotel. Very pleased previously. This time there were some issues. 2 lamps in the room did not work, go on. Called and waited 75 minutes for the "engineer" to show up. Changed one light bulb and ordered another lamp for the second non-functioning unit. Why didn't the previous occupants report this. In addition, the rug between the 2 beds was well worn and "bunched" up in several areas. A definite tripping hazard. Outside the room all was the usual 5 star service. January 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Service and Knowledge I've stayed once at the Sheraton, just this past weekend, and I will never go back to any Sheraton or any hotel in conjunction with the Sheraton again. I had a horrible time from the 40$ overnight parking, to a unsatisfactory check in, to even worse check out. Upon check in, the man at the counter took 10 minutes trying to explain why there needed to be another credit card on file for 50$ room charge that would be refunded in 5 days for incidentals, then upon check out the next day, when we paid CASH for everything, my credit card was not charged 50$ for incidentals, it was charged the entire room fee of $140, after we had paid cash. Worst of all, only getting in contact with a machine when trying to get my questions answered really set me over the edge, I will NEVER be staying at this hotel again in my life. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by philadelphia treasure we were delighted by our recent stay at the downtown location. we were able to arrange a rental car for the rest of the trip as well as get shuttle info to and from the airport by contacting the concierge before our visit. the property itself was very nice; the public areas spacious and inviting. our room was nice enough that we didn't mind spending an afternoon in when it was raining buckets. we were close to virtually everything we wanted to visit. would definitely return. September 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by very disappointing Right from the moment we arrived this hotel started to let us down. I reserved a King many weeks prior and they did not have that available. We ended up with the smallest room in the hotel. The halls were filthy, the cleaning staff very careless. A coffee spilled, that I reported, was never cleaned up. The gym had many broken machines, the televisions did not work. The lobby was really cold, the breakfast room was cold, the bar restaurant service was slow and careless... December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff We had an great stay. Marcus at the front desk was so friendly and went out of his way to make our stay wonderful. Our room was clean, had an excellent view of the city, and was more than comfortable. The location of the hotel is also fantastic. We had a short walk to The Franklin Institute, where we spent most of the day. We also had a fabulous dinner at Phillips on the property. The only problem we encountered was that the pool was too hot to take our child swimming. January 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Facilities and service not commensurate with price Spacious and reasonably responsive front desk staff. BUT: No bath mat 1st day (maids forgot?), tea bags not replenished in time, no safe nor mini refrigerator/cooler in room at such a high room rate. The breakfast restaurant staff seemed stressed and unresponsive. August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Club lounge The club lounge was advertised as open 24 hours, however, it did not say that there was no food, drinks or snacks, except for some sodas, water and apples. It only had breakfast each day which had very little options - cereal, some fruit, breads & yogurt. Hot eggs were only available on two of our five days at the hotel. No hot food was available on three nights of our stay. One morning we had to try three times to get a table. The cost of lounge was not worth it. November 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by You need to do better The room service delivery charges are obscene and the quality of the food both in the buffet and room service is average at best. They charge you for wi-fi which is usually now included in most room rentals as part of the room charge or loyalty program. Issues brought to the front desk are not resolved unless you speak to a manager. Wow! I haven't seen service like this anywhere in years. It's a "no" for me. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is old and needs a lot of improvement I expected much better from this hotel. While the room was good and I got upgraded to the club floor because I am a platinum member, the facilities were below average. The club lounge looks shabby and old. The front desk has average service, they never pick up the phone. I tried calling room service and the front desk about 5 times at night and got no response. I was in a suite on the 26th floor and had to go down twice, once because they deactivated my room key and the second time because there was a cockroach in my room! and I could not get through to anyone in Guest Services. The people at the front desk seemed almost annoyed that I had come down to tell them about this. I travel quite a bit and the other Sheratons I have been to are definitely not like this. I really hope the hotel gets the facelift it so badly needs. July 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Great facilty, great location, wonderful friendly staff make me look forward to each time I visit this hotel. It is convenient to all downtown businesses, events, and tourist attractions. The staff, from top to bottom, is friendly and go out of their way to assist guests in anyway possible. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Philadelphia. November 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by mostly a great trip the hotel staff were really great. I did have an issue with the air conditioner, I mentioned it twice however it really didn't seem to get fixed as my room remained fairly warm in the 95 degree heat. It also leaked all over the carpet and up the bed frame. Upon my checkout, I did mention it again and the staff took parking off my bill due to the inconvenience which I really did appreciate. I will definitely stay here again as I come to Philly on a regular basis. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has professional customer service. I'm looking forward to arriving this weekend and also expecting that my request for separate beds or an addition will be arranged .As the occasion for our visit is both personal and professional I'd like our hotel experience to be perfect. I spoke with reservations today about my request and received excellent service from a professional customer agent who was polite and cooperative. My previous Sheraton experience at a different location was memorably good. April 9, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 29 next>>