Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphie,
  • Pennsylvanie
  • 19103
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique relative à l’âge requis

Les hôtes doivent avoir au moins 21 ans et présenter une pièce d’identité avec photo pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 748 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by TERRIBLE Staff - OK property I am a lifetime Stawood Platinum mmber and have seldom encountered a less caring and less efficient staff in ANY hotel. Check in was DISMAL - starting with the driveway greeting -- there was no "Welcome to the Sheraton" it was a mess on the drive and no one was directing traffic. When I said I wanted to valet ther response was "It's $44 a night" with the tone of can I scare you off- not an informative tone. The front desk liine was a MESS and there was NOT a priority line for Starwood Gold and Platinum as most properties. The gentleman who did check me in was nice and relatively efficient. The room was basic and in need of renovation. The Club lounge was not stocked. On Sunday morning when we arrived at the Lounge shortly after the posted opening time the staff was cleaning the room and we were informed it would be a while before they opened. we have a strict time line so we had to go downstairs and have breakfast nt he restaurant at an added cost and yet another delay. But that's not even the worst of it. Check out was so frustrating I couldn't stand it. Since I had to buy breakfast I needed a revised folio to reflect the charges. That took 12 minutes standing there to get a revised printed folio. And then he forgot to add the valet parking and started to figure that out. I just walked away and hope someday to get a correct folio. DISMAL stay - NEVER will visit this property again. Too many other choices in downtown Philly. March 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was lacking in food and beverage area. The hotel check in staff were efficient and quick. The rooms carpet was dirty. The room was clean. We stay here for an event so the hotel can be very busy. The hotel does provide water and soft pretzels on arrival Saturday which is much appreciated. The restaurant is always a disappointment on Sunday morning for the buffet. They never seem to have enough staff, tables are full of dishes so guest are not seated for long periods of time, food is not filled at buffet for a very long time( waited for a bagel,only one piece of bread left, for 20 minutes & no butter), and they have one person making waffles and omelets in the way of other food so guests cannot not get to the food. The lines for the omelets and waffle station is very, very long. There is no one checking to replenish the food and I told three people and it still took 20 minutes for bread and bagels to be put out. I would not recommend eating at the restaurant in the hotel. They seem unprepared every year for the crowd of people. People expect to wait but not when the rest of your party is done eating and your food is cold. Also we were in the bar a couple of times drinking and our servers do not come back for very long periods of time. Bar was not busy, 3 to 4 tables seated. We took our money up to the bar to pay and our server was texting. A big problem is the elevators always have problems. They either do not work at all or they go to every floor even when no one pushes a button and can be jerky going up and down. May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Dissappointing - No Sleep Very unusual for a Starwood property. The air conditioner on either mode (auto or fan) is very very loud and shuts off and back on every 3-4 minutes. Each time waking us both up (my wife usually sleeps through anything and I tried to sleep with a pillow on my head). It was litterally the worst night sleep either of us ever had in any hotel. I flew out the next morning with a migraine (literally) from lack of sleep. Room 1701, but I believe this is an issue with most rooms because I had this issue previously here, but it wasn't as loud and I had a few drinks to help sleep through it. Maybe they will fix this but the webstie said the renovations were already complete for the rooms or I wouldn't have tried to stay here again.. Additional Issues: -First thing we saw on arrival was a huge roach near the elevators. -Espresso machine in club lounge was broken. -Club lounge smelled bad and was not stocked when we arrived. -Ice macine was broken on my first night floor 24 (different room#. -TV only recieved a handful of channels. -Staff told me the club lounge was closed on Sunday, but when I went there for a water I found I missed breakfast by 30 minutes. -One of the clearning staff #black female brown uniform) speaking loudly in the elevator about how "mad" she was about something to another employee in front of guests, it made it a very uncomfortable ride. Upon exit, she pushed past a guest to exit before her on the ground level. Parking guys and bell guys were great along with the front desk staff. September 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I am less enthused about staying here This hotel is very convenient to meetings I regularly have around twice a year or more. I must say I was disappointed in my latest stay beginning with check-in. I rarely check in very early but did so this visit (approx. 9:30am) and found the front desk experience less than satisfactory. First, there were approximately six people in line ahead of me- three for each of the two attendants. There appeared to be computer problems and all six guests were attempting to get their hotel bills. I waited in the "red carpet Starwood" preferred line for around five minutes with no discernible progress until finally one of the attendants announced they would handle other than billing needs. At that point several other people walked up to the front and checked in while neither of the two attendants made eye contact with the Starwood line. When I finally did attempt check-in I was met with some mumbled response. I asked the attendant to repeat what he mumbled and he said that "my room may not be ready" to which, I replied that I understood but asked if there were there other rooms available. I was then met with an admonishment that "check-in was at 3pm". I travel enough to understand room availability and found the attendant's remark unnecessarily aggravating to communicate to a loyalty program member with standing. When I did check in to my room I also found the bathroom cleanliness to be less than satisfactory as well. I do not know when I will return to Philadelphia, but I know I will think twice about returning to this location which I have stayed at likely a minimum of a dozen times in the past decade. October 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by One of the worst SPG properties After staying at better facilities all over, this disappointed. First I never signed up for go green and the hotel was confused about this. We get to our room and freshen up and find that our sink is leaking profusely. I ask them to come by and fix it and have housekeeping at least pick up all of the towels we put on the floor so water is not everywhere and all they do is put some new towels on the desk for us. The next morning, I asked the front desk to have HK clean our room when we leave at 12:30p to see Philly and no one has come by when we arrive back at 6p. I call front desk and tell them and a lady calls back and says " u signed up for go green" and I told her I had not. I told her that I would take the SPG points tonite and that we would need room cleaned the next day. 5 mins later a nice lady came by to clean the room while we were in it save the beds. The carpet in our room is filthy. The end tables are filled with dust that I had to clean myself. The iron and board were never put away. Lotion and mouthwash never stalked. The soap is ridiculously small. The front desk staff is overall disinterested and not Friendly. Only Mary the concierge and one doorman went out of their ways to help us and were extremely nice (for which they received tips). For $581 for the three nights I paid, this was not a good experience. The hotel is rundown and it shows despite whatever renovations have been made. The conference room liberty is big and chairs nice but there is one small bathroom to serve 300+ people which is unfeasible. I would have not stayed here had my conference not been elsewhere. March 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by problems that need to be addressed During our stay, we have experienced a few problems. Unfortunately, this is not the first time we have encountered this. Every year we stay for the Mother's Day walk and the Susan G. Komen 3 day walk for the cure. This is the second year in a row that we have eaten at your breakfast buffet and have been very dissapointed. When we arrived, it took almost 30 minutes to be seated. Then, we waited in line for the specialty eggs and waffles. It took over 30 minutes to have something made because there was one chef cooking. Most of the food was depleated in the rest of the trays, or it was ice cold. Staff was notified by other guests waiting in line, and it still took almost 20 minutes till fresh food came out. So, our breakfast was cold when we ate. Very dissappointing especially since the buffet is almost 20 a person to eat. I was also dissatisfied because the elevators are not all in working condition. There were periods of time, especially right before noon time check out, that we had to wait 20-30 minutes for an elevator because only 3 out of the 6 elevators were working. I was also shocked to hear that one of your employees were rude to my daughter. She was out front smoking and one of your employees flung the door open and said you need to go to the smoking area over there...there is no smoking here" Then flung the door back open and hurried inside before she could say anything. When she had said something to the front desk, the only thing that they would say is that they were sorry to hear. That is unacceptable. There is NO signs that designate a smoking area, nor signs that say NO SMOKING. My daughter has no problem following the rules, but the signs need to be in place, so people know where to go to smoke. May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has some real issues When I pre-ordered my breakfast to be delivered between 8:00 am and 8;15 am my breakfast did not arrive until 9:00 am. I never received a breakfast menu for my entire stay of 6 nights, 7 days. When I called for room service they estimated a 30 minute wait and it was always over 1 hour. If they would have be truthful and said it would be over an hour, I would NOT have ordered room service. I understand that they are busy but this is unacceptable. Many times I was unable to eat my meal because of the late delivery. The purpose of room service is to allow you to enjoy a relaxing meal in your room. Never happened at this location. Housekeeping - I had to call numerous days to have my room cleaned, they kept asking if I wanted housekeeping in my room. I never indicated that I did NOT want housekeeping. I was attending meetings and would be out of my room from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm and the room was not cleaned. They would park a cleaning cart outside my room with no one assigned to the cart. Funny, the only day they came early to clean my room at 9:00 am was the day I was checking out. Go figure. There was a hole in the wall in my room where an electrical outlet should have been for my coffee maker, therefore in order to use the coffee maker, I had to take it into the bathroom because I was unable to use it where it was placed. The drawers in the room would not stay closed, no matter what you did, they would slowly open. So I had to walk around 2 out of 3 drawers that would remain open. Again, unacceptable. My room was on the Club Level. Last but not least, upon arrival, no one greeted my car, I had to go into the lobby to search for someone to valet park my car and help me unload. I know that everyone is cutting costs but this hotel might have cut back just a little too much. March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sub-par Starwood I travel often both for business & pleasure. I've stayed in several Starwoods all over the world & this Sheraton was by far the worst of them all. I checked into the hotel after a long day at work & was met at the front desk by an abrupt guy who barely even looked up at me. I had a nice corner room, but housekeeping had forgotten to remove the previous guest's used towels from the bathroom door (even though they had replenished the bathroom with new ones). Also the room smelled like chemicals. I went for a run at the gym & was pleasantly surprised - lots of machines, all very new & well-kept. Definitely a plus. I ordered room service that night & again was pleasantly surprised - they had healthy options on the menu that were actually served in a healty way (not drenched in sauces, etc). I had some whole wheat pasta & shrimp that was delicious. I needed a first aid kit/gauze/bacitracin because I had injured myself a few days before & my injury re-opened while I was at the gym. I called down to the concierge & she apparently had no idea if the hotel even had a first aid kit. She said maybe the front desk would have one & I should go down there & check. I asked if it was possible to bring it up to my room since I was sweaty & gross from running & she said she'd call security & see what she could do. A security guard showed up 45 mins later with a some gauze & the tiniest packets of bacitracin I had ever seen. Finally, my day ended & I was exhausted & wanted nothing more than some peaceful sleep. What I failed to notice upon coming into the room was that there was a connecting door to the next room. It was completely not soundproof & all night long the next door neighbors were arguing & yelling at each other. Needless to say I didn't get much sleep that night or the next 2 nights. September 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to the Starwood standard Firstly, the hotel is undergoing renovation, so I can accept some untidiness in the halls, but overall it is possibly the worst experience I have had at a Starwood property. My experience with Starwood properties is typically excellent, so it is more obvious when something is not up to par. For example, at check in I was greeted by a clearly bored employee whose only proactivity was to ask me how many room keys I wanted. I was not told where the elevators were, what floor the club lounge was on, what time the gym/pool facilities were open and where to find them, how to access in room wifi, asked what welcome amenity I would like, and whether or not I would like my folio emailed or printed. Thankfully, as a frequent guest, I knew to ask. On top of that, the hotel itself is in pretty poor shape. The lobby is tired and half closed due to renovation work, the lower level corridors are building sites, the gym air conditioning is practically non-existant (making it particularly unpleasant in this heatwave) and the gym equipment is dirty. My room is just ok, small things like the bed not being made neatly and towels not being straightened suggest that the attitiude at check in is felt throughout housekeeping as well - it seems that they just don't care much. And I'm on the club floor, which seems to already have been renovated - I dread to think what the unrenovated rooms are like. As you walk through corridors, you see mattresses propped up against walls, chairs and tables blocking your path, etc. I understand that renovation causes disturbance, but I have stayed at Starwood properties undergoing renovation before, and far more care has been taken to minimize the mess and disruption. It is in a convenient location, but that is the only redeeming factor. All in all, a really disappointing property and one which I will do my best to avoid in future. July 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dated Big Old Hotel one towel per adult SPG counter staff at check-in was GREAT and check-out was good, BUT no recognition as an SPG member either at check-in or check-out. NO check out invoice under door on the morning; poor. I stayed on the Club Floor for two nights. Room reserved for two adults; only 1 bath towel & 1 hand towel per adult in the bathroom; all other hotels I stay at these past years give 2+ or 3+ per adult in the bathroom, and BETTER towels too. Only 1 bath towel & 1 hand towel is so 1950s. Club Room breakfast was ALL removed before 11AM on Sunday; bad form on a weekend! Think this large hotel had 6 or 8 elevators. Heard in-elevator complaints from other Club floor guests (26th fl) that only 3 elevators were working, hence every trip down was a "local" with 10+ stops on the way down! POOR elevator service from the Club Floor! Why isn’t there a Club Floor Elevator with bypass for the lower floors; otherwise what’s the point of being “special” and paying more for the 26th floor! There was no small “dorm room” fridge in the room which was otherwise nicely appointed. I missed having the small fridge in the room to keep waters and soda cold. Speaking of fridges: only one of the two small cabinet fridges in the Club Lounge were working; one kept the waters chilled the other warmed them up; you could FEEL the hot air being blown from out-of this fridge. I’m amazed that the night security guard who came into the Club Lounge to get his water on Friday night didn’t report this nor that the Lounge staff who kept this fridge refilled with water bottles didn’t report it as broken. Oh wait! Maybe the Lounge is supposed to serve HOT and COLD waters; I didn’t think of that possibility. This hotel is old and dated. It was probably great in the day, like in the 1950s; but it’s a dated relic today that happens to occupy a great location. Location is really the only thing going for it. July 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was a great hotel! But needs to be updated! Before I booked, I checked out several sites that had reviews, most stated the same great location, and staff, but rooms need to be renovated with this knowledge I booked the Franklin Institute - Titanic package, anyway. We arrived at the hotel early, we were greeted by both the valet and the front staff warmly, we weren't expecting our room to be ready, but we were surprised when it was! When we reached our room, I was amazed at our view, it over looked Logan Square, Franklin Institute and the city! When I looked at our room, I was disappointed, not the usual quality of Sheraton that I expect! The room was well-worn, there were multiple stains on the rug, the beds appeared lumpy and half made and bathroom was worn with stains on the tile and dirt in the corner, additionally, the whole room had a smell of antiseptic. Because we were limited on time, I didn't bother to complain, knowing it was just for one night! Before, we left for a day of adventure in Philly, we checked with the Concierge, she was amazing, giving us both directions, recommendations and suggestions! That evening we returned to our room and had dinner at the Phillip's Seafood restaurant; we were treated to a wonderful meal and had great service! After dinner, we went to the pool, it was great, clean lots of towels, and lounge chairs we had a blast! The next morning we did the Hotel Breakfast buffet, for the price it wasn't worth it....but it was convenient, next time I will go to the Museums for breakfast! I did have to go to the front desk several times to get our package tickets as they were never given to us, which was disappointing as in the past we usually received everything at once! As well as maps and coupons and goodies for the hotel. Overall, the staff and the location were outstanding, Phillips was great dinner choice, Hotel breakfast buffet was not! Rooms are not the usual quality of Sheraton, as they are well-worn! April 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Philadelphia Hotel I read the reviews prior to making a reservation and the current reviews were positive but those dating back to 2012 were not. I took a chance as it was the location we wanted as a family. Mistake. The room was not ready until 4 so I placed everything back in the car and went out to explore. On returning absolutely no smiles from the staff, young personnel but burnt out and tired. I requested the club floor as a starwood member and then my cards did not work so I had to go back to the desk and have them recoded.People who were there for a convention were booked on the floor who were not members as I discovered in conversations waiting for the elevator. There was absolutely not even hot coffee in the club room at 4pm or for that matter the rest of the night nothing absolutely nothing and I was told well it is Easter...now what does that have to do with it as this is a Sheraton club floor....we were told to come downstairs....the following morning 3/31...there was only watered down oatmeal so thin if you held your spoon down it just ran off no scrambled eggs etc many disgruntled families who are frequent Sheraton club members with no adequate response from staff....the elevators ...six in all....required excessive patience...sometimes a ten to fifteen minute wait with stops at every floor....this is a hotel which seems to be just barely making it....outdated lobby, dirty smelly elevators, teenagers jumping in and out doing back flips off the side of the pool in four feet of water with no monitoring...what would be the issue if one was hurt...no one around.....so who is the manager for this poorly run facility by the basilica....and for this poorly run facility one is also charged for parking....underground lot hot noisy and also smells with large ventilator exhaust fans...what a disappointment....no thank you...shame on you downtown Sheraton for your management issues and lack of customer service and concern...never again.........New Jersey March 31, 2013 March 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs an update I've stayed here on and off through the years (depending on the rate). However, the property is getting tired, and in need of an overhaul. While the lobby appears OK, the rooms are old and worn out. For this stay, I noticed that the carpets had stains; the bathroom fixtures were dated; and the AC unit was REALLY LOUD. (Luckily I always have ear plugs with me for travelling.) This, despite being upgraded to a room on one of the Club Floors. After checking into my room, I wanted to get on the internet to look up an address for dinner. It appeared that the sign-in options to the WIFI were: 1) access code, or 2) credit card info. I knew not to provide credit card info as this would be billed to a third party (and I should get free access due to Platinum status). I decided to check at the front desk (as I was on my way to dinner (& figured colleague would have the address)) regarding WIFI access. I was told to log in with my last name and room number. When I explained that I only saw 2 options for signing in, I was told that this is not the case (essentially that I was wrong)! Well, when I got back up to my room, I tried AGAIN. (I travel and stay in hotels a lot, so it's not as though I don't know how to log in!). Sure enough, the 2 options I saw were: 1) access code or 2) credit card info. So I had to call down and explain the whole situation again, and FINALLY got an access code. I don't understand why I could not have been given an access code the first time I made an inquiry! Also, a quick note on the Club Lounge. A lot of properties leave bottled water, juices and soda accessible 24/7 in the Club Lounge for guests with access to the Lounge. This was not the case at this Sheraton. I had a quick meeting with a colleague in the lounge one evening, and noticed that the fridge was already being cleared out for the evening. It's too bad that non-alcoholic drinks are not left for Club guests. I'm hoping to see some renovations to the rooms the next time I have to stay here! July 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I wouldn't stay there again I was not very comfortable at the hotel and would certainly not stay there again. My room was clean and orderly with a good view, but the room heater was loud and unfortunately necessary due to the cold winter weather. I am a heavy sleeper but the heater fan was just not possible to sleep through. It ticked me off that there was no free internet available and this was a perpetual hassle during my visit unless I wanted to pay a ridiculous rate. Then on my last night around 11:30pm I got hungry, but room service was closed. The bar in the lobby was still open but had nothing for food, even as a snack like peanuts or potato chips. The in-room menu described vending machines with snacks as being available every other floor, but after searching 6 floors and then calling the front desk I learned that there were in fact no snack vending machines in the entire hotel, only beverage machines. Seriously? If someone gets hungry late at night, there is literally nothing in the 20+ story hotel for someone to get to eat?!? Then incorrect information in the in-room menus sending me on a wild goose chase? So I worked late on my presentation while hungry since I didn't want to venture out in the cold weather for food. Then the next morning checking out of the hotel, there was a huge wait for the elevator from the 18th floor. It was at least 7 minutes just to get on the elevator. Apparently, several of the elevators in the building were not working that morning. Then once I got on on the elevator, it stopped at every single floor on the way down even though it was full since the people on all the other floors were also frustrated waiting for the elevator. The poor people at the 14th floor and below probably had even harder times getting an elevator. Anyway, this added another several minutes just riding the elevator down to the lobby for me. What should have taken <1 min took ~10 min. Checkout was fast, thankfully, but I had to run to the convention center to make my talk on time. This hotel that was probably fantastic 30 years ago but should invest further in the basic comforts and conveniences. February 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by An Average Stay I arrived at the end of March 2012 for a convention. My stay lasted 4 nights. I called the hotel from the airport to ask about a shuttle. The person seemed quite busy and abrupt with me. There was no hotel shuttle to/from the airport, but a pay shuttle service was available ($10 per person). Check-in went smoothly. The room was nice, and I felt very comfortable. One of the curtains was broken. Internet access could be paid for by the hour or the day; however, the hourly service wasn’t working. In calling the front desk, I was told it hadn’t been working for some time. I spoke with the staff 5 additional times during my stay. First, to ask about a shuttle or directions to the convention center. There was no shuttle, but the person gave me walking directions. She was polite. Second, to ask about how late the shuttle ran to/from the airport. The person at the desk was unsure, and had trouble flagging down another person who knew. This other person (a head bellhop? – he seemed to be someone directing other employees) seemed very rushed and didn’t seem to want to be bothered. His answer was quick and abrupt – almost as if annoyed. Third, to ask about local coffee shops and restaurants. It took a while to get help because employees were joking around and talking with each other – one of whom was the same gentleman who seemed annoyed at my shuttle schedule question. He walked away without a word and let someone else help me. The other two times were with maids. Both of them seemed very concerned with my overall comfort – they were quite pleasant to talk to. I ate at the hotel restaurant my last night. Dinner and service were great! Overall, I’d say that my stay was average. However, I wouldn’t normally expect “average” from a downtown Sheraton in such a large city. Problems seemed mostly in the level of service from staff that should normally be trained in how to deal with guests. Only the maids seemed concerned at my comfort. I suggest they be “promoted” to guest services. I wouldn’t recommend this Sheraton. It’s not that it’s a bad location. However, I’m sure that there are better hotels in the area. April 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Stay I have stayed in a lot of motels and hotels all over the US. This is by far the worst Sheraton I have ever stayed in. Everything was bad in this hotel starting from the service to all in-room amenities. Check-in took more than half an hour on a Saturday evening. I have no idea how the reception staff perform on a weekday at a downtown hotel. The receptionists were slow and not very competent. We were given higher floor room as requested. The carpet in the hallway was worn out and dirty. Looked like it was not vacuumed in a week or so. The carpet in the room was not much better. When I sat down on the couch, I noticed that there was a bottle underneath the bed, which was left by the previous guest and was not cleaned by the housekeeper. We turned on the AC and went for sightseeing, hoping that once we come back, the room will be cold. When we came back after 3 hours, we realized that the AC was not cooling the room at all. I called the reception and complained about it. The lady told me she would inform the "engineer" and would get it fixed. After 20 minutes, she called and informed us that the "engineer" told her that it cannot be fixed that night and we would have to move to a different room. HOWEVER, the rooms with king size bed were sold out and we had to take a room with two double bed if we want to move! It was also on the lowest level of the hotel. At that point, we were least worried about lower level. We were sitting in a room with no AC and the temperature in the 80s. There was no apology from the lady for the inconvenience. She said someone will come and give us the keys for the new room. That someone did not show up for 30 minutes. My wife and I had to go down and pick up the keys. Again, no apologies. In the lower level double bed room - the water did not drain properly in the bathtub. By the time you are done with shower, you are literally standing on ankle-deep dirty water, which was very disgusting. In the morning, the coffee-maker was spitting coffee all over the desk, which we cleaned up ourselves. Overall, we were just waiting to get out of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel at our earliest possible. And we just did that. It was the worst experience I have had in all my hotel stays - which ranges from motels to 5-star hotels. June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Service, Outdated Rooms, Overpriced First I would like to say that the staff were great for the most part and very friendly and accommodating when you needed anything, although the check-in staff can be a little more friendly and greet guest with a smile and welcoming salutation instead of "can I help you". I thought the room rate for this hotel was overpriced and I consider it to be a 3 star hotel. I was there for an event 0n the evening of July 28, 2012 for which the group rate was outrageously high for one night, I feel I was robbed. The group rate especially for the event and the organization that gave the event at this hotel was very excessive due to the fact that most of the people there were from the tri-state area and not tourist. The rate should have been no much less per night, the organization which I don’t want to name can clearly pack this entire hotel if the rates were better, I’m coming to an event here in December but if the rates aren’t cheaper I’ll stay at home which is only 15 minutes off the expressway. I have stayed with this organization at other hotels in New Jersey and Wilmington Delaware and paid much less per night for the same type of and/or holiday event. One thing I would like to say also during the time of the even there was lady with a radio who looked to be in charge and a young man also with a radio. These two persons were working their butts off. Everywhere they were needed, anything that they were able to help they were there and they looked to make sure everything was running as smooth as possible. I give both of these people BIG TIME PROP’S, they were very nice and friendly even if under pressure you couldn’t tell because they always had a smile on their faces. I wish I knew their names (Caucasian stocky woman and thin African American young man) to put in this feedback but I’m sure you know who they are. My room was the downer for me. My room looked as if someone was sleeping in my bed before I got there. I actually thought I was mistakenly placed in an occupied room. It was very un-appealing and un-inviting. The towels in the bathroom were folded but thrown on the towel racks and I had only one wash cloth and I didn't even have one of those small boxed shower caps. I was very disappointed with this. I know Sheraton to have great hotels but this one has not changed very much over the past 10 years. It was actually better when it was the under another name. I figure in time things will get much better. August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by That "Not Really Trying" Feeling We stayed at the hotel as part of a quick getaway from NYC to see the Barnes collection. As usual, I wanted to stay at a SPG chain because of past good experience, so I am overall disappointed by the poor service at this hotel. Pluses: The hotel is very convenient for the Barnes Museum and well situated enough that you could walk to most places/restaurants. Lobby is well lit and maintained, very spacious and comfortable. The room we got was generally nice, not the sleekest for SPG, but modern enough and comfortable. Minuses: - One of my most lackluster check-in experience, especially for SPG. The front desk person was almost bored to see me and couldn't come across caring less about my checkin. Never acknowledged me as an SPG member (heck, even a smile and just acknowledging me being a member would suffice) and really didn't want to talk other than get my credit card and handed me my keys. Ice cold. - The room, as I stated above, is fine. However, the shower/tub in the bathroom had issues. There is a panel (I assume for pipe access) right above where you stand that was leaking while I was showering the first evening, so it was dripping on me. The dripping probably came from outside the room, since the dripping did not happen the next morning. The spigot/diverter is either rusted or lodged and require two hands and firm stance to pull it up for shower. The drainage is poor, so I was standing in soapy water. - The service continues to disappoint. I went down the next morning and informed them of the issues I had with bathroom. I was quite pleasant about it, figuring things do break and as long as they can fix it, whatever. I am on vacation, so let's keep it positive. The gentleman (also very bored) took down notes and told me he'll get an engineer on it. That evening, I return and when I got back to the room, I really don't think anything has been resolved. The diverter is just as hard to pull as before. Drainage still slow. No dripping took place, but I am beginning to wonder if the drip was from above (so maybe I got luck that day). The worst is nothing indicating anyone came to look. Not a note, a message, zip. I checked out the next day (2 nights) and when asked about my stay, I mentioned the unresolved issues. The lady (the first person that was actually friendly) took more notes, but can't acknowledge if any work was done. Overall, I am very disappointed by this stay. The general lack of acknowledgement of the customer or their issues is horrible. The lack of follow-up on issues is just out right unacceptable. Very disappointed with this experience for an SPG. May 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed Bag My experience mixed the mark, but not by much. The hotel being under construction must be considered, in the overall experience, its one of those damned if you do and damned if you don't. I think we all agree that its important to upgrade the facility, but during the summer? during convention season. Why not wait for winter when the city slows down. In either case the experience and high expectations of a Sheraton was disappointing. The rates should be reflect the value of the visual experience not realized, perhaps it was in which case it should have been communicated. The restaurant did not serve dinner which was surprising and reflects a second rate hotel which Sheraton is not known for, fortunately several hotels in the area provided restaurants in the area. My question is do you really want your guests in other hotels eating and taking in their experience. Hotel provided six elevators, with only four working. Usually, that would more than suffice, expect if there is a conference in town, which happened to be the case. This was more than an inconvenience when I had to stand in line to get an elevator go to my room, find out the key did not work and stand in line again. The room was average - above average, certainly met expectations for the price point, expect for the additional unwanted guest which came in at 7:00 in the morning. Once the staff was made aware of this, they compensated me with a drink at the bar. If I would have been an irate customer, I feel certain the staff would have accommodated me with larger compensation, but do you really want the staff to deal with irate customer? The demographics of a Sheraton customer reflects more of the customer who would just take their business elsewhere, because they can. I'm sure front desk deals with irate customers, but why not compensate them with perhaps a voucher for a free continental breakfast or give them an option. At night construction noise was reverberating throughout the room and certainly other rooms heard this noise as well. The third night, I realized that the noise emanated in the plumping, I don't believed it was construction. It was a consistent series of noise that repeated itself every 1.5 hours. As I exited the room, a lovely house manager was there and I explained to her the noise. She apologized and made note of it. To my dismay, as she looked into the matter I was scheduled to check-out, which was not the case. I showed her my on-line paperwork and she immediately took care of the matter with a phone call to the front desk. All of this is unusual for a Sheraton experience, and a lot of it, just happens. The combination of all the circumstances, made the Sheraton just miss the mark. . July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Yikes ! I called the hotel to make a reservation and asked if there is a room available for 3 adults in which all 3 adults have a separate bed. They said there was only 1 room that allowed such accommodation which was a 2 double bed club suite which had room space for a rollaway bed. I immediately booked the reservation with the pleasant representative. The next day I reviewed the confirmation to see a rate for 1 adult and no rollaway bed for the room. I called back and spoke to someone that said they apologize for the first representative not adding the bed and right number of guests, however, the charge would be extra because there is an extra guest and rollaway. OK, I can see an the minor mistake by the first representative and was ok with the newer rate. The second representative made changes and sent a second confirmation email. Upon receiving it, it read 3 adults, 1 child and no rollaway bed. I called back the third day to speak to a representative. They apologized for the mistakes of the previous representatives have made but promised everything would be fixed to say 3 adults, 1 rollaway in the double club suite but told me it would be even higher, not only for the extra person and but also for the rollaway bed. What started at one rate for this room is now much higher because these upcharges that previous representatives mistakes? Employees should not be pointing the finger at each other yet not correct the problem. In need of finalizing a “correct” reservation I went ahead with it. The reservation stayed the same as the original error, 3 adults, 1 child, no rollaway but with the higher rate. I called to speak to a supervisor on the reservations hotline who read through all the notes and confirmed that I was not receiving anything I was asking for. She was fair, considerate and expedited my request. She called the property manager and explained the situation. She apologized like everyone else and said the property manager has OK’d the original rate based on Sheraton errors. She upgraded me to gold status because she felt bad which was nice of her and explained the benefits of it. This supervisor sent an updated confirmation of the reservation which had the original rate but still 3 adults, 1 child and no rollaway. I’m not sure where this 1 child came from? I called back to speak to a reservation specialist who called the hotel itself and said that there systems cannot show my reservation to the specification of the rollaway, however, the hotel internally has everything noted and not to worry. Upon checking in, I asked about the room accommodating 3 adults and 3 beds. The representative said she knew nothing of this and it wasn’t possible for that room. The supervisor came by and said there was nothing noted on the reservation. She told me the best she could do is give me a deluxe room for 2 beds that has a sofa. So 1 adult slept on the pull out sofa on the 8th floor. She said it was a better room than the club floor suite. I’m skeptical as to how this deluxe room was better considering it was on the 8th floor, not the 26th floor overlooking Philadelphia and the carpeting was frayed in some areas. Seeing as we wanted 3 beds, we stayed with this deluxe room. They told me that I could still have access to the club floor lounge at night and breakfast in the morning. I called the gold preferred guest line who confirmed with me that I had gold status account and said I should receive a “welcome package” when arriving. When I told the lady on the hotline I never received it, she said that maybe they’ll give it to me when I leave, depending on the hotel?? The next morning at 9:30am, I called the front desk to ask about getting access to the club floor to have some breakfast. She said that room does not allow permission to the club floor. I explained everything to her about the changing of my room but would still be given permission and she said no. An hour later around 10:30am to check out and talked to someone else about my missing welcome package for gold status and being denied club access for breakfast. This person was able to find my gold status and apologized for not receiving it upon arrival. She said gold status included free WIFI, which would have been nice to know since 1 of the guests paid for their laptop to use it. She gave me a card to the club lounge but when I arrived up there at 10:45PM Sheraton employees were throwing all the food out so we returned the card and left. The representative apologized again and said she would waive 1 night’s parking for that mixup. Errors do happen, but this is was a headache with errors on top of errors and no justification. I am disappointed to see such confusion. March 27, 2013
<<prev 22 23 24 25 26