Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 102 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by First stay This hotel is a historic building and could shine but needs some aesthetic attention. The one upholstered chair in my room definitely needed to be replaced. I would not pay for "club" level again. The evening appetizers were granola bars, tortilla chips, and salsa. A room amenity would have been better - maybe even just a drink voucher. Room was clean , bathroom amenities were nice. February 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Not sure where the favorable reviews came from; this is one mediocre property. I favor SPG properties wherever I go, and this is the only one in Columbia--I should have gone on to Charlotte or stayed somewhere else. No platinum recognition at all except for a "city view." I'd hate to see the other views. There is no club lounge, though it's advertised on the website. Instead, a small space is set aside in the restaurant for evening appetizers and continental breakfast. Don't bother with either. The building is a historic bank, so you can understand the unique layouts and other shortcomings, but this hotel hasn't seen another renovation since the original upgrade some time ago. The rooms are worn and generally dated, items such as bottled water were not stocked, and housekeeping was not thorough. February 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by In need of a renovation. Very nice staff but a bit understaffed. Great location and very good value. Needs a renovation to bring us to SPG standards. January 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic Charm and Character I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Downtown Columbia, and would definitely return. The hotel is in a beautiful and historic building (a bank, I presume) with an early 20th century vibe. The small lobby is overlooked by the mezzanine dining room. Off to one side is a walk-in bank vault which has been converted into a cocktail bar, and in the opposite corner is a small coffee shop serving Starbucks. The roof features a bar, and the basement has a pub that I am told is being converted into a Starbucks (too bad!). The staff was professional, polite and very helpful. My room was attractively furnished, with plush beds and linens and nice furnishings. The wood floors and tile in the bathroom showed their age, as did some of the carpet in the stairwells, but it didn't didn't detract from my stay. I enjoy historic buildings, wear and all. January 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by phenomenal stay Everything about this motel is Phenomenal.Staff,food,drinks,bed,T.v in bathroom it's all perfect January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Comfortable and Great Location Although parking can be frustrating here, the facility is very unique and well located within the capitol city. The employees are always helpful and gracious. Very nice rooms with unique ammenities like the rooftop restaurant and bank vault bar. December 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by wonderful staff but... Extremely noisy location!!!! Sirens ALL NIGHT on the street and a train at 3 a.m. that blew it's whistle from Columbia to wherever! But the front desk staff- all young people while we were there- was incredible! Professional, helpful, friendly, courteous, impeccably dressed- GREAT JOB!!!! Wonderful downtown location with shops, restaurants, galleries and easy access to USC! Bring ear plugs and enjoy the stay! November 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old charm with modern amenities The hotel has the charm of an older hotel but has modern amenities. Its location is good for walking around downtown. The staff was great and very helpful. The POSH was understaffed but the food was great. November 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience We always stay at this hotel as it is the halfway point to our final destination. We have always been happy with our stay. Although we had a good meal at this hotel at one of our stays we prefer eating at the Cracker Barrel and Waffle House that are a safe walking distance right across the street. We plan on a trip next spring to visit the Distilleries and look forward to staying here again! November 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by So Bad It's hard to know where to start. I'm not sure if there are enough characters available to, express in full detail, how bad this hotel is. In an effort to sum it up as best I can; this is one of the worst hotels in which I've ever stayed. This includes college spring break and high school senior week. The only good thing about this hotel is it's location, which justifies the one star. Other than that, this hotel is bad on every level. To top off my stay, the window cornice fell to the floor as I left the room. The perfect ending to a miserable stay. November 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Valet parking was an issue, not enough staff to manage. Also the breakfast was mediocre at best. Grits tasted like they were instant, my guess is they were. All in all, the hotel was nice, like the location and room size. November 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Boutique Hotel with Great Service Located on trendy Main Street in South Carolina's capitol city, this historic boutique hotel is within walking distance of great restaurants, an art museum, the state capitol, and Vista shopping. It has several exciting venues on site including a rooftop bar with great views of the city, a charming city bar in the old bank vault, and a restaurant on the mezzanine, "Posh." The staff is very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Stay Quick trip, in for the Gamecocks loss to Tennessee...We were able to check in at 2, but didn't get back to the hotel till midnight. The Director of Sales was great and Matt at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Nice complimentary upgrade to suite. Within walking distance of good eateries. Staff exceedingly pleasant. Though rooms were on the small side, they were updated in decor and well appointed. Only drawback was some spotty wifi service November 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible First upon arriving the staff was friendly and quickly got us in our room. They room was dirty and the shower had mildew in it. Also the bed was extremely squeaky and uncomfortable. As we were leaving to go to dinner we asked where to park when we returned for the night and one of the employees told us we could park anywhere we saw a meter because it was free after five on Fridays until Sunday. Well we did as he said and the next morning we come out to find that our car had been towed!! We have a newborn baby and I needed to be at a wedding that I was a bridesmaid in early that morning. We walked back in the hotel and the staff could not of been ruder. It was ridiculous how we were treated! We had to search to where our car has been towed. After we found the towing company that had towed the car the owner of the towing company said that they have festivals every weekend and the hotels knows that. I could not believe that we were told to park there when they knew it would be towed. Worst experience ever. I will NEVER be back and will be telling anyone to not stay there as well. October 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No help for double billing I was billed twice for a room. It has now been over 3 weeks with no resolution. I get nothing but lip service from the location. Columbia S.C. If this is how they handle their billing issues I will NEVER stay here again. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding reception Entire family stay for wedding. Very accommodating. Shuttle great to and from. Valet service excellent. Breakfast extremely good. Highly recommend this 19th century hotel. October 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by rooftop lounge and bar first of all, I will say that the room was fine and the doorman and desk reps were great and it was Sunday evening and restaurant seating was not available. So, we took our drink vouchers and went to the outdoor rooftop lounge. We were only offered bar fare and did not discover later from lobby personnel that we should have been offered the full menu. It was in the 50s and my wife had to ask 2 or 3 times if the bartender would please turn on the heaters. I guess he was too busy talking to his buddies worst experience we had had with a Sheridan October 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stay away from the POSH restaurant First the front desk staff at this hotel was great! They were friendly, and always there to answer your questions with a friendly smile. Second the room nice. Large bathroom and plenty of room in the bedroom to work or relax. Unfortunately, I would never recommend anyone eat at the POSH restaurant on the second floor. I have stayed at this hotel twice, and ate at POSH at least one night each stay. Never again. I will gladly stay at this hotel, but I will be eating elsewhere. This last stay I ordered a Cobb Salad. The chicken was dry, the avocado was old, but the worst part was the lettuce was brown and slimy. I was able to return the salad, after hunting down the server, and I ordered another dinner item to go. October 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Substandard I had a decent experience once before at this hotel, but my most recent stay was deplorable. The room was clear, but the bathroom was missing a number of items (including a wastebasket), one of the TVs did not work at all, and the bed was the squeakiest, noisiest thing I have slept on in a while. Oh, and no recognition for SPG membership, and no late checkout. Very disappointing. September 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the price We have stayed at many different hotels in Columbia. I picked Sheraton for Parents Weekend. I decided to spend a little extra. After all for $400 a night per room, which I had 2, the hotel should be worth the price. Check- in was easy. The rooms need some attention. The beds were fine along with the pillows, however, the rugs are tattered. The bathrooms were a little dirty-hair in the corners, wallpaper peeling, stains on the wallpaper, just didn't feel clean. Thanks for the opportunity to express but we will not be back. September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed With Lack of Policy Flexibility I am writing this review despite not actually staying at the property, although I wanted to detail my negative experience prior to visiting. I was planning a Friday stay prior to a home game for the Gamecocks, and needed to cancel the day before our arrival. The web site indicated that I would need to call to cancel my reservation, without penalty, by 4:00 p.m. hotel time, or face a large cancellation penalty. Admittedly, I called the SPG Platinum customer service desk about a half hour after this cut-off, so that part of the equation was irresponsible on my part. The customer service rep, Karen, could not have been nicer, and she said she would be happy to call the hotel to get things squared away. She returned a few minutes later, apologetically, and indicated the hotel was not willing to offer leniency on my penalty. She seemed puzzled and told me that this is the first time a request of this nature was not positively received. We spoke with Matt, the front desk manager (I think), and he said it was a policy the General Manager had implemented and there was no wiggle room. I asked to speak with him, so we conference called with he, myself and Karen. He was quite short with us, and indicated he would not budge on the policy, noting that they stick firm to this policy due to it being a football weekend. Although I understand the policy, because I called only 30 minutes past the cut-off, and it was the day prior to the stay, I really see no reason for them to stick so closely to this policy. Karen told me that Platinums are typically allowed to cancel, without penalty, until 6:00 p.m. the day OF arrival, and given the fact I called 24 hours in advance of this, it seems puzzling they would not extend this to me. Needless to say, I will not be seeking out the Sheraton in Columbia, South Carolina in the future. I have had such wonderful luck with the SPG program in general, and am staying a total of 7 nights at four other properties during this particular holiday. I feel they missed an opportunity to extend some enhanced customer service to a loyal guest and failed to do so. Although I am not completely innocent, this was an easy one to get right, and they alienated a valued SPG member. Thanks for taking the time to read my review and I hope this will, perhaps, help to change an unfortunate policy. September 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping Towels were not replenished and my personal shower cap was removed. After calling the front desk I received a bath mat only and they could not locate a shower cap to replace mine. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel This historic hotel offers a great night's sleep with nice amenities and a location in the heart of the city. August 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Downtown Columbia, SC By far the worse Sheraton that I have ever stayed. I would not recommend this hotel if you are in the area. I had several hotels to choose from and I selected this one and it was a mistake. August 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average This is a perfectly acceptable hotel, but is so completely overpriced...not a good value. I would not stay here unless I got a deeply discounted room deal, which we did. Certainly not worth the premium rates they normally charge. The room, while clean, was very small, loud with street noise and nothing special. When I called the hotel directly 4 days before my visit, I was promised that we could have a roll away bed for my daughter and they would move us to a bigger room to accommodate that request. When we arrived, there were no notes of the conversation on record and the hotel does not have roll away beds. They did get an air mattress for her, but it deflated and she slept on a hard wood floor. That being said, Ray, the valet, went above and beyond the call duty, helping us unload our car and load a cart to take to my daughter's apartment next door. He was wonderful and service oriented. Would stay again for the location, but only on a "deal". There are much better deals in town that offer more space, comfort with the same convenient location for a much lower rate. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Room was cozy but well appointed. August 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decreased amenities Decreased all amenities and increased starpoints. August 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Columbia SC Sheraton Review Awful experience; took 2 - 3minutes of ringing to get hotel operator to answer. had to get operator to transfer me to inroom dining as they didn't answer their phone either. dinner was 30 minutes late in delivery. tried to call valet parking to bring my car to door but no one answered any phone number at all. Had to go down to lobby to get service. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel at the heart of Columbia If you are looking at visiting Columbia and having everything at walking distance, then you should stay in this hotel. Me and my friends stayed there and restaurant/bar hopped almost every place on main strait. We also visited the state house which is just a minutes walk away. Overall would recommend the hotel. Only minus to the hotel right now is that there is some construction going on next to the hotel and you can hear the construction noise inside your room. The construction starts in the morning probably around 8am. If you wake up usually at 8am anyways, then this won't be a problem :). August 13, 2014
  • 2015-11-28 T10:56:38.454-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_102, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_1783, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>